City of Heroes PC

  • Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Apr 27, 2004
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 110
  2. Negative: 11 out of 110
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Apr 27, 2004
    6
    hey, i'm like half the people here and haven't even played the game. but who needs to to write a review? what a waste of my time that would be! since i've been a real superhero ever since i was hit by beta rays, i'll use my psychic powers and predict that this game is a 5.
  2. scottd
    Jan 1, 2010
    7
    unlimited custamisation and brillaint powers dont make up for horribly unbalnaced solo experience
  3. Joesausagehead
    May 5, 2004
    7
    This is a great game and it runs smoothly on a 1ghz pc with 512mb of ram and an ati 9200! Ok, my pc is crap but this game isn't. character creation is a blast, if you've read this far you already know that so im gonna let that go. Graphics wise the comic book flare really stands its ground once you get out in to the city and see heros on every corner launching fireballs and This is a great game and it runs smoothly on a 1ghz pc with 512mb of ram and an ati 9200! Ok, my pc is crap but this game isn't. character creation is a blast, if you've read this far you already know that so im gonna let that go. Graphics wise the comic book flare really stands its ground once you get out in to the city and see heros on every corner launching fireballs and sending badguys flying across the pavment. the controls work great and are easliy costumizible. the only reason i didn't give this game a higher score for one reason and thats combat is tedios at best. press '1' press '2' press'3' rinse repeat 'f1' ect... in one of the early missions i was tasked to clear a warehouse of bad guys it took about an hour and had easliy 50+ bad guys after all this i had only collected about 30% of the xp required to level.. and this is only level 3! I can't imagine what the end game levels would be like. over all its definatly a cool game for anyone whos ever dreamed about being a super-hero or writing their own comics. but be prepared for a lot of level grinding. Expand
  4. JustinJ.
    Jul 5, 2004
    5
    I told myself i wasn't going to rate the game after a month or so playing it.. cause i would of given it in the high 8's.. granted it was a lot of fun at the beginning (character creation, super powers and saving the world) but after awhile i started to lose interest in the game.. it lacks substances and the addictive qualities i found at the beginning are not so addictiveI told myself i wasn't going to rate the game after a month or so playing it.. cause i would of given it in the high 8's.. granted it was a lot of fun at the beginning (character creation, super powers and saving the world) but after awhile i started to lose interest in the game.. it lacks substances and the addictive qualities i found at the beginning are not so addictive anymore.. somehow killing the same baddies over and over and over and over and over just doesn't seem to cut it with me. Expand
  5. DaveyDJ
    Aug 4, 2004
    7
    I'd agree with most of the reveiws here. On the one hand, it does rock. Playing a superhero. Get character creation system. Very gratifying pulling out a huge stone mallet and mashing a Mob over the head with it! It's also a great distraction from Star Wars Galaxies, which is broken beyond belief at the moment. However, I've only been playing 2 weeks, and I can begin to see I'd agree with most of the reveiws here. On the one hand, it does rock. Playing a superhero. Get character creation system. Very gratifying pulling out a huge stone mallet and mashing a Mob over the head with it! It's also a great distraction from Star Wars Galaxies, which is broken beyond belief at the moment. However, I've only been playing 2 weeks, and I can begin to see that, once I've played through all the types, there might not be a lot else to do... It is a little light on variation of content. However, it is easy to pick up and put down, so good if your short on time. Feels more like a game, that a life sucking force like most MMORPGS do! On the whole, fun and well worth a look, but if they don't add more varied content, you probably will have moved onto something else in a few months. Expand
  6. CoryS.
    Apr 19, 2004
    6
    This game, at least the beta, is not all its cracked up to be... unless you were a fan of Everquest. Its a BIG level trademill... you go out, you fight with a boring system, and you get a level. Then you go out, and do the same thing again. The idea is great, the flying is fun, but the game itself gets boring REALLY quick. Another thing... there is no PVP, so whats the point of even This game, at least the beta, is not all its cracked up to be... unless you were a fan of Everquest. Its a BIG level trademill... you go out, you fight with a boring system, and you get a level. Then you go out, and do the same thing again. The idea is great, the flying is fun, but the game itself gets boring REALLY quick. Another thing... there is no PVP, so whats the point of even making a character in this game? I might buy it if they add PVP in an expansion, but until then I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
  7. JoeyK.
    Aug 15, 2005
    7
    Combat is fun, and quite unique. For example, there is no autoattack, and every ability costs endurance (=Mana). Endurance is a big problem for players though. It's fixed at 100, and people never have enough. But it's still fun. Missions are cool and have a nice feel, the villains are diverse and entertaining, especially within missions. Then there's Task Forces, in which Combat is fun, and quite unique. For example, there is no autoattack, and every ability costs endurance (=Mana). Endurance is a big problem for players though. It's fixed at 100, and people never have enough. But it's still fun. Missions are cool and have a nice feel, the villains are diverse and entertaining, especially within missions. Then there's Task Forces, in which you sit down for hours and get tons of XP. Task Forces are one of the biggest "Pro:"s of this game. Story Arcs are like personaly, soloable task forces. The classes are well defined, but not entirely balanced. The system and setting is unique, making it a good, fun escape for any casual player, or any any MMO player a little tired of fantasy and complexity. The system isn't the best, but it is unique, and that makes the game fun. What eventually made me lose interest was the lack of depth. There's only combat. Whether you're hunting or doing missions, or solo or teamed, whehter your DPS or support, it all makes the game fun, but there's nothign else besides combat. No equipment, no real loot, no crafting, no side professions. This doesn't make the combat any less fun or effective, but for people like me, it makes the game go stale after about a month. I played it for a month, and it got old. 6 months later, I tried again, and played for about another month, before it got old again. It's fun and addictiing, but it's not a significantly long lasting experience. If you're a casual gamer, especially if you like super heroes, play it until you're bored. If you're a player of other MMO's play this for a month, have a blast, then return to your other games with a newfound respect and refreshed enjoyment of it. One more thing, leveling is pretty hard. There are 50 levels, and by the time you're nearing thirty it already gets slow. I hear the last ten are a real pain. I only got to 28 myself, on my highest level character. And it's not even possible to get the penultimate skill in your primary power set unti level 32. Ouch. Expand
  8. SvenS.
    Jun 28, 2004
    5
    Ok for a while but not likely to hold my attention for more than a month or two. It lacks the addictive qualities I've found in other MMORPGs. I think it's just too simple for my tastes. I want more than just a very pretty level treadmill.
  9. Sep 27, 2010
    8
    Most MMOs out there deal with "sword and sorcery" and are fantasy based. Meaning they have elves, orcs, dwarves, dragons etc. But this game is most certainly a breath of fresh air for any jaded MMO Fantasy player, or just any MMO player who wants something different, or taking a break from the former. You start off with character customization. And let me tell you, I have yet to see anyMost MMOs out there deal with "sword and sorcery" and are fantasy based. Meaning they have elves, orcs, dwarves, dragons etc. But this game is most certainly a breath of fresh air for any jaded MMO Fantasy player, or just any MMO player who wants something different, or taking a break from the former. You start off with character customization. And let me tell you, I have yet to see any game out there that can beat the options available for CoH (one could say Champions Online, but it's basically the same type of thing). Create your superhero/supervillain with a magnitude of options. Choose his/her origin, archetype, and powers. You may change the way your avatar looks at any time at the local Tailor/Facemaker when the mood strikes you.There is no "gear" for you to wear in this game. Instead of the clothing and armor pieces to upgrade your character, enhancements take their place. These temporary/permanent boosts to your own abilities make you stronger with a particular power. They are always easily available at any Store or Auction House (known as Wentworth's for Heroes and Black Market for Villains), assuming you have the necessary funds to purchase them. You also gain special Enhancements through completing story arcs, or just picking them up while you fight your way through a mission. There are no "drops" in CoX in the traditional sense. All drops are automatically allocated to each player on the team, or just to you if you play solo. Instead of gold, or cash, currency takes the form in Influence/Infamy. As you progress through missions from your "Contacts" and defeat various enemy groups you gain influence/infamy for each defeat. This may seem slow at first, but let me assure you it adds up rather quickly. Especially when you work with a team. You also have the option of using Inspirations, (temporary boosts to your powers that only last a short time, but can seriously make the difference in a tight situation between dying and living), these are also available for a price but so very much lower than enhancements.Death has a penalty of course, as most MMOs do. It takes the form of experience debt. Seasoned MMO players will be acquainted with this system. It means you will have to continue on playing your missions and hunting villain groups as usual, only that half of the experience you earn will go towards paying off your "debt" until it is settled. Then leveling up will continue on as normal. Fret not though, just like influence/infamy it is paid off quickly enough, especially when on a team.There are many wonderful story arcs to explore throughout the game. You should love almost everyone of them. The bigger story arcs in the game take the form of Task Forces for Heroes, and Strike Forces for Villains. These arcs take hours to complete akin to dungeons from traditional MMOs, and usually require a full team to start. These offer up many chances to earn Influence/Infamy and plenty of experience points. And of course the prestigious badges. Badges are awarded through achieving certain milestones in your character's career as a hero/villain. You get them for defeating a certain amount/type of villains. For defeating titan like monsters that can only be bested by large numbers of characters. Completing Task/Strike Forces, attending special events, logging in during a celebration, exploration, and many others. Badges are not a requirement of the game, but they offer up a chance for something to "go after". Or simply just to one up your friends or show off to the community. There are also certain power boosts and special abilities you can gain from collecting a certain mix of badges. These are referred to as accolades. PvP isn't as strong here as I would like (at least back when I was playing; I've been told it's changed some since then). In my opinion, it's very unbalanced and in drastic need of an overhaul. But there are plenty of people who like it just the way it is. I think mainly because their chosen archetype is more built for PvP and they have the advantage. There are little in the way of rewards for playing PvP anyway. You of course can gain badges, influence/infamy, but no special enhancements to be had. The developers are keen to add new content updates every few months in form of "Issues." These are completely free, and usually offer up more costume creation options, story arcs, new zones to play in, and maybe a few new powers. All in all you will definitely love this game if you're into comics and/or superheroes. Creating your own personal character is very fun, and you will find it is easy to get attached to your favorite avatar. However, in my opinion, it is entirely possible to end up "seeing it all" in this game. Eventually collecting badges becomes boring, the level cap still hasn't been raised since launch, and not enough Task Forces or high end content are added to keep high level players interested. You should have plenty of fun though, but not forever. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Anyone new to the genre can certainly make this a choice without expecting to get in too deep and losing their way, while seasoned MMORPGers can have a blast playing out their superhero dreams.
  2. The overall quality of the game cannot be denied, and if you're a comic book fan, or like MMORPG's, or both, you owe it to yourself to see what City of Heroes is all about.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    85
    An original superhero MMORPG that has excellent character creation and a well-designed world. Gameplay is quite combat-intensive and the game lacks sufficient content to stay interesting for longer periods of time. [Feb. 05]