• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2003
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Possibly the thing that most amazes me about this title is the fact that rather than unbalance the original, as expansions are infamous for doing, it levels the playing field. Civilization III is a totally rejuvinated game with Conquests installed. [Jan 2004, p.155]
  2. There are so many tweaks and nuances that make an already great game damn near perfect - and each of them is worth a mention.
  3. The tactical level of this game is brilliant and the strategic significance of many of the Conquests scenarios really up the ante in terms of involvement and fun.
  4. Think of Civilization III: Conquests as you would an even more densely programmed History Channel. If you found yourself at all invested in the first, you're going to want to check this out. And if the first one intimidated you a little, be afraid. Be very afraid.
  5. Firaxis not only added a pair of high-difficulty levels, but also clearly improved the A.I. [Apr 2004, p.88]
  6. A welcome addition to the ever-evolving series with enough new content to make it a worthwhile purchase.
  7. This expansion helps make the previous game even better with the addition of new and challenging conquests, new Wonders, and myriads of other things that will rob you of your sleep at night.
  8. The great thing about Civilization III: Conquests is that a majority of changes have streamlined the gameplay of this excellent turn-based strategy series.
  9. 85
    Rather than trying to remake the entire game, the team has instead presented us with several "slices" of history (the slice being the basic unit of history) that use the same concepts as the main game but offer plenty of new toys, techs and trials.
  10. Between its entertaining and engaging scenarios, the improvements and enhancements to the regular epic game, and the functional multiplayer, it's the expansion pack that Play the World should have been, and much, much more.
  11. 85
    This expansion is everything "Play The World" should've been and will breathe a whole new life into your Civ experience.
  12. The complete list of changes Conquests offers makes it well worth the price of admission – especially if you were able to kick this horrible addiction for a while.
  13. The Firaxis tweak-stick has hit the main campaign big-time and if you're a veteran returning to Civ III, you'll find the main game more finely tuned and balanced than ever before. [PC Zone]
  14. I definitely prefer playing this game in the core form rather than playing the scenarios but I suggest it for both of the interests.
  15. A thoroughly worthy addition to the Civilization family. [Feb 2004, p.56]
  16. What makes each Conquests scenario so compelling is that it demands a unique strategy. [Feb 2004, p.75]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. brianclark
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Each game is different. It's a challenge to see how difficult I can make the game forOne of the best games I've ever played. Each game is different. It's a challenge to see how difficult I can make the game for myself, and yet still keep it fun. This is one of the few games that offers more than a Ridiculously Easy Mode, or an Impossible Mode. Full Review »
  2. Bobbobbo
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  3. CodyS.
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    Good game (because its a civ game), but all Civ games are basically the same just better graphics, more units, civs, terrain etc. Hopefully Good game (because its a civ game), but all Civ games are basically the same just better graphics, more units, civs, terrain etc. Hopefully Civ IV will offer a change. Conquest maps are way overrated, personally i hate them. Civ III Conquests is good if you want to sit down and obsess in Civ but realisticly it is no better than Civ III and really shows no sign for improvement. I hope Civ IV brings something new to the table. Full Review »