Commandos 2: Men of Courage PC

Commandos 2: Men of Courage Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A tactical action/strategy game set against the backdrop of WWII. Take control of an elite group of commandos who must venture deep into enemy territory and utilize their combined expertise to complete a series of mission-based objectives. Go covert into new environments based on authenticA tactical action/strategy game set against the backdrop of WWII. Take control of an elite group of commandos who must venture deep into enemy territory and utilize their combined expertise to complete a series of mission-based objectives. Go covert into new environments based on authentic WWII locations: the heart of the third Reich, a northern European submarine installation, and the headquarters of the Japanese army. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 93
    Shines as one of the most addictive and compelling strategy titles of 2001.
  2. Truly one of the most beautiful games I have seen this year.
  3. Computer Gaming World
    90
    Although it’s shot through with bugs and screw-ups that would remand a lesser title to the bargain bin, the game itself is so damn good you’ll forgive almost anything to keep playing. [Jan 2002, p.94]
  4. The game uses a completely new 3D engine that allows for the rotation of environments so you can see where the enemy’s path is going to take them, in even more detail than ever before.
  5. I loved it! It made the hours fly by like minutes...Once you get used to the interface and become more efficient at positioning the camera just right, you'll soon become totally addicted to this title.
  6. A hard game. Those without degrees in strategy gaming will find their task daunting and, in many cases, too hard to accomplish. Lucky for me I'm well versed in the ways of the special forces.
  7. Next Generation Magazine
    60
    Insanely difficult. Non-masochists need not apply. [Jan 2002, p.90]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. Albertw
    Sep 3, 2009
    10
    i laughed at the NGM magazine review "insanely difficult, non masochists need not apply", i breezed through the game on very hard, 2 days i laughed at the NGM magazine review "insanely difficult, non masochists need not apply", i breezed through the game on very hard, 2 days after i bought it. This game is without doubt my favourit game of all time Expand
  2. NeilL.
    Jan 10, 2002
    10
    Played the first one, loved it, played this one and loved it even more. The boys at pyro studios have really out done themselves this time. Played the first one, loved it, played this one and loved it even more. The boys at pyro studios have really out done themselves this time. Excellent work guys. Expand
  3. IgorK.
    Jun 16, 2003
    10
    This game is just da best !!!
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    There's this excellent aura that works well with pretty graphics for 2.5D and its level of difficulty. There's nothing more fun than settingThere's this excellent aura that works well with pretty graphics for 2.5D and its level of difficulty. There's nothing more fun than setting up a plan and killing a myriad of enemies. At first, it was really hard and only because I kept rushing. Finally I got around to accepting this wasn't a rambo-esq style game but more of a stealth and conquer. All in all, if you want superb strategy, try out this iteration in the Commando series.

    Design gets a 9 for the time it was made.
    Sound is just enthralling and the voice-overs are spot on.
    Gameplay is fluid and not restrictive for 2.5D
    Plot is average, nothing too enticing but it pans out nicely
    Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2016
    9
    It's funny seeing people complaining that this game is hard. This is what these kind of games are meant to be! The storyline is nothingIt's funny seeing people complaining that this game is hard. This is what these kind of games are meant to be! The storyline is nothing special, what makes the game so impressively interesting and exciting is that each scenario adds another level of difficulty and towards the end of the game you really have to be skillful to be able to get through. That's what the genre and this saga is about and that's what makes any non-whiny league of legends kid love this game.

    Also, it's the kind of sequel you could expect, keeps the spirit of commandos but adds a lot of new features that improves the possibilities a lot and they are very welcome.
    Expand
  6. CBZ
    Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Amazing game, great strategic elements and a very immersive music. Graphics are great cosidering when the game came out.
    Best of the
    Amazing game, great strategic elements and a very immersive music. Graphics are great cosidering when the game came out.
    Best of the commandos series and a must play for the strategy stealth lovers.
    Expand
  7. CalumL.
    Jul 31, 2007
    0
    Utterly balls. worst graphics. worst gameplay, worse than any other game i have played. Runaway and X3 got far worse scores but are far Utterly balls. worst graphics. worst gameplay, worse than any other game i have played. Runaway and X3 got far worse scores but are far better games. I doubt that anyone who reads this will rate Runaway or X3 so you know im right when i say that all commandos games are shit. please save yourself a fiver and dont buy this crap. buy company of heroes if you like that sort of thing or if you want adventure, give runaway a try. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews