• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 25, 2013
User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5939 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    i love this game. great graphic, gameplay and historically accurate. Just like in the history book, despite what some brainwashed individuals here claim. What more could you possibly want from a game.
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    9
    It’s a beautiful, gritty and spectacular strategy game, and while it doesn’t do much particularly new, it doesn’t have to. [VG] Enough said! For a RTS its 9/10 in my book
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    1
    I was so dissapointed, wneh I bought it. Storyline begins in GULAG. Where else? Killing people, that live in MY country, kill people, that FIGHT for my country... For Russia and other CIS countries its abusively.
    DO NOT buy this game, graphics|gameplay|storyline|A.I. is
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    Greatest game ever! This game shows all of us that Red Army was an army of stupid rats with cruel generals and just bastards. Our character is an a good guy tho (I won't do spoilers).

    ___________________ I don't think that veterans of CoH 1 will love it, but i'm sure that any any guy who like this genre at all will fall in love. This game is the best RTS of the year! Recomended
    Greatest game ever! This game shows all of us that Red Army was an army of stupid rats with cruel generals and just bastards. Our character is an a good guy tho (I won't do spoilers).

    ___________________
    I don't think that veterans of CoH 1 will love it, but i'm sure that any any guy who like this genre at all will fall in love. This game is the best RTS of the year! Recomended

    Anyway, 10/10.
    Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Amazing RTS game. Russian player does not know the history of their own country and trolling. Game is very cool. Beautiful graphics and good gameplay. I recommend!. 10/10
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    1
    The historical accuracy it's good! But forcing ordinary players (most of whom are children) to kill their countrymen it's awful! Good luck gentlemen, keep up the good work (this is sarcasm, by any chance, some Canadians do not understand
  7. Feb 18, 2014
    0
    Relic READ HE BOOK, NO at least read the Wikiipedia. You are dishonored the millions of the soviet soldiers and officers, you are dishoneored my grandfather. Curse you
  8. Nov 16, 2014
    4
    after i have played COH and its expansions for 5 years, i expected better game than this
    everything is too samey and actually the game is worse than COH becuz its high spec requirement and dipping fps. the graphic is not great even though it used all resources on my gaming laptop
    dev took vacation for 5 years and suddenly run short of cash so they decided to make sequel with a little
    after i have played COH and its expansions for 5 years, i expected better game than this
    everything is too samey and actually the game is worse than COH becuz its high spec requirement and dipping fps. the graphic is not great even though it used all resources on my gaming laptop
    dev took vacation for 5 years and suddenly run short of cash so they decided to make sequel with a little improved graphics? i think this should stop from gaming industry. dev loses passion, they take long break from beloved franchise then they got back into developing new games with little idea and ambition
    the result of it has clearly shown in this game and total war rome2 (another disappointed title in this year)
    like hard shelled breads in cabinet for 2 years, this game feels like stale stuff and nuisance to get rid of quickly
    Expand
  9. Oct 20, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Concept: Adds in more realism and gameplay elements at the sacrifice of the aspects that made the first game the strategy juggernaut that it was.

    Graphics: The graphics update is appreciated, and looks great from a distance certainly, but don't expect the same level of quality up close.

    Sound: Sounds are clearly one of the game's highlights, with realistic explosions and feedback chatter spinning around at all times- realistically disorienting the player as well sometimes.

    Playability: Once you figure out the controls, it's a blast to play. Key words: once you figure out the controls.

    Entertainment: The game is a good one, albeit an extremely flawed one, and one that could have really been something great given a little bit more time.

    Replay Value: Moderate.

    Overall Score: 7.5
    Expand
  10. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Company of Heroes to kontynuacja jednej z najlepszych strategii, kontynuacja najlepszej strategii 2-wojennej, szkoda że dwójka nie radzi sobie już tak dobrze jak jedynka, ale dalej jakoś trzyma poziom. Twórcy postawili na dość ciekawą fabułę, przedstawienie wojny z innego punktu widzenia, do tego w strategii było zaskakujące. Do tego klimat 2-wojenny, elementy w zimie, czy ogólne inne noweCompany of Heroes to kontynuacja jednej z najlepszych strategii, kontynuacja najlepszej strategii 2-wojennej, szkoda że dwójka nie radzi sobie już tak dobrze jak jedynka, ale dalej jakoś trzyma poziom. Twórcy postawili na dość ciekawą fabułę, przedstawienie wojny z innego punktu widzenia, do tego w strategii było zaskakujące. Do tego klimat 2-wojenny, elementy w zimie, czy ogólne inne nowe elementy wychodzą dobrze. W grę gra się dobrze, do tego dawno nie widzieliśmy tak dobrej strategii 2-wojennej. Problem polega jednak na tym że bardziej opłaca się grać w jedynkę. Twórcy mało poprawili. Nie dosyć że grafika wygląda średnio to gra jest zbugowana, niedopracowana, często boty uprzykrzają nam życie swoją głupotą a sama gra po dłuższym czasie staje się monotonna i trochę za trudna. Prawdziwi fani CoH chyba powinni po prostu zostać przy jedynce. Moja ocena 7/10 Expand
  11. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    Company of Heroes 2 is overall a good game that is fun to play. The game however has a campaign only memorable for the wrong reasons, mostly by being incredibly offensive to the country you are representing, a main protagonist that just annoys the player, and almost no historical resemblance in the main campaign. This however makes the game terrible. It's a great game to play for it'sCompany of Heroes 2 is overall a good game that is fun to play. The game however has a campaign only memorable for the wrong reasons, mostly by being incredibly offensive to the country you are representing, a main protagonist that just annoys the player, and almost no historical resemblance in the main campaign. This however makes the game terrible. It's a great game to play for it's solid game mechanics, which do require acule use of tactics, to a degree. Overall I'd say it is a great game, but unless you need the achievements skip the main story. Expand
  12. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    While the game is not bad, it does not live up to the brilliant predecessor. The graphics are good, but not any better than those of the first game. The sound effects are impressive, the voice over on the other hand is not. The characters and troops speak with a Russian dialect which sounds frankly speaking quite ridiculous. The story is rather unspectacular and not worth mentioning. TheWhile the game is not bad, it does not live up to the brilliant predecessor. The graphics are good, but not any better than those of the first game. The sound effects are impressive, the voice over on the other hand is not. The characters and troops speak with a Russian dialect which sounds frankly speaking quite ridiculous. The story is rather unspectacular and not worth mentioning. The gameplay is still pretty good since it has not changed much since the first game and it makes a lot fun navigating the maps with a small group of soldiers, capture control points and obliterate the enemy. To conclude, the game is good, but not what you would expect of a successor to one of the best RTS games in history. Expand
  13. Oct 30, 2013
    4
    The game is fine but it is not a huge step forward from the last two games. If you look that is almost a 5 years between the last game Opposing fronts". I am a huge fun of Close Combat series, and I enjoy a lot this sort of game but I am not convince that it a good game. It is ok. If you play single battle against AI it is almost impossible to finish it. The campaign is nice and notThe game is fine but it is not a huge step forward from the last two games. If you look that is almost a 5 years between the last game Opposing fronts". I am a huge fun of Close Combat series, and I enjoy a lot this sort of game but I am not convince that it a good game. It is ok. If you play single battle against AI it is almost impossible to finish it. The campaign is nice and not boring. I like it but the rest not at all. Expand
  14. Oct 17, 2014
    0
    This game I thought it would be cool and promising was in fact just that. Tries to be cool and is full of promises, promises not fulfilled. I would have expected a lot more from the widely acclaimed Relic developers after their brilliant Homeworld series but this series was a flop. If you were expecting some big glorious Eastern Front portrayal which was a serious and vital part of WW2This game I thought it would be cool and promising was in fact just that. Tries to be cool and is full of promises, promises not fulfilled. I would have expected a lot more from the widely acclaimed Relic developers after their brilliant Homeworld series but this series was a flop. If you were expecting some big glorious Eastern Front portrayal which was a serious and vital part of WW2 then you will be disappointed. It does show the chaos and destruction in the Eastern Front in Ukraine and Russia but by the wrong side. It gives neither side a fair portrayal or point of view, never justifying their actions.

    Russia is made to be some kinda stupid place, corrupt and as evil as their adversary, brutally killing their own like cannon fodder. You never really relate to anyone nor feel any connection or empathy as they die in their droves like stupid ants. This is not the Relic you knew of old, the veterans have left the studio to a bunch of racist, fascist illiterate historical failures as they failed to include the necessary facts to back up their excuse to throw in something 'edgy' so the game feels more 'deep' or 'emotional' but it ends up like a typical Hollywood movie a big over budget Michael Bay throw in as much Russian Soviet Stereotype in as possible and becomes some kind of sick dark comedy and loses all seriousness and credibility it tried to add.

    The German side too is made to seem like mindless zombie brutes and pure evil laying waste to cities and people for no reason or none really mentioned or explored by these so called 'Historians'

    This game feels like its made for Patriots and I mean American Patriots who actually believe in these Soviet stereotypes and want an action packed over dramatic soap opera epic action game. They added not 1 nor 2 but 3 DLC add-on packs not focused on the Eastern Front anymore, heck its not even about the USSR or Russia but 3 American Faction packs. Essentially rehashing the old CoH, it makes it like the Eastern Front portion never had existed. They want to milk your every dollar, Vehicle Skins = DLC
    Commanders = DLC
    No Mods, only Map tools because they want to sell you the mods in the form of DLC.
    no proper LAN or offline mode, no proper AI Multiplayer Bots to practice on. You need Online to enjoy the game and to play 80% of the game. DRM is a pain.
    Units are still imbalanced, lack of unit variety, weapon variety and functions. It feels too 'dumbed' down and streamlined but making up with 'graphics' which are average at best.

    Campaign is boring, Skirmishes are boring, too short and small scale, its more like a 3D person top down shooter than anything as it focuses too much on squads and individual infantry than the wider greater scale of a battle or war. Its more of a RTT than an RTS with simplistic resourcing, capturing points etc and simplistic economy system doesn't need a genius to play and thus leaves no room for skilled players or hardcore veterans or gamers. Its made to be a casual strategy game, fast paced like CoD or WoT rather than a test of skill or knowledge. This leaves the Multiplayer filled with idiots, kids and other 'Historians' who troll you with random hordes of units and stupid tactics. There is not much of a challenge online and not balanced enough to become a Tournament game or an e-sport.

    Honestly this is a let-down of a WW2 game. There are many better ones with a more accurate portrayal with real life events, evidence and emotional connection. Not really worth it, Not really worth a AAA title and is worse than many cheaper Indie games.
    Expand
  15. Jan 21, 2014
    1
    DLC's: the downfall of this boring ass game; single player story: childlike, rushed, predictable at best; TOW: same as skirmish battles but with limited features; Multiplayer: Laggy, usually up to the first tank rush
  16. Apr 19, 2014
    2
    As much as the Russian front needs to be brought to the game series and decent graphics (seriously it could have been better), it is plagued by serious technical issues that are on the developers end and not user end. Even with systems that far exceed the requirements like mine (4770k, HD 7970 OC). Patches that come out that has not been tested, patches to fix patches and constant annoyingAs much as the Russian front needs to be brought to the game series and decent graphics (seriously it could have been better), it is plagued by serious technical issues that are on the developers end and not user end. Even with systems that far exceed the requirements like mine (4770k, HD 7970 OC). Patches that come out that has not been tested, patches to fix patches and constant annoying and frustrating crashes to desktop during mid-game. Yes 75% of the time the game crashes mid combat for no reason at all. On top of that a clustered UI. Looks like a kid designed it. Disappointment in the series. Might as well keep playing CoH 1 :P Expand
  17. Nov 21, 2014
    0
    I signed up just so I could leave my comment.

    Buyer beware. This game is severely not worth the purchase. After some 200 hours of gameplay, here are my thoughts about the inescapable letdowns: 1. Ludicrously imbalanced multiplayer. The lobby is a ghost town, consisting of the same 'pro'-level players who decimate newbie and mid-level players by team-stacking against them, using
    I signed up just so I could leave my comment.

    Buyer beware. This game is severely not worth the purchase.

    After some 200 hours of gameplay, here are my thoughts about the inescapable letdowns:

    1. Ludicrously imbalanced multiplayer. The lobby is a ghost town, consisting of the same 'pro'-level players who decimate newbie and mid-level players by team-stacking against them, using the game's exploits to their advantage and having the benefit of playing the same maps with each other. In short, unfair matches due to lack of varied player pool.

    2. Ugly-looking UI. It lags, has ambiguous tooltips, it's unpleasant to look at, it has typos. They can't even keep the font and punctuation consistent.

    3. Pay-to-play nickel grabbing. You want to stand a chance to be on a level playing field in PvP straight up? That'll be another ~$50 on top of your game purchase, please. Core game content has been stripped and replaced with DLC, stuff that should have already been there, like a wide choice of commanders to choose from.

    4. Overpowered Allies infantry vs. Axis infantry. They'll get halftracks, riflemen, conscripts, AT guns, flamethrowers and numerous mortar and HMG crews out before you can say "Kampgrupper Lehr".

    5. Single player campaign that (*gasp*) makes you pay to play more.

    Company of Heroes 2 is the reason why RTS died.
    Expand
  18. Dec 31, 2014
    10
    super addictive online game, great -balanced units frequent updates, you do not need any more of this game
    Russian do not recognize the truth and give a low score
  19. Jun 29, 2013
    5
    In the historical part of the game too many inaccuracies, which spoils the impression to the end of the game. Russian monsters in the game are shown, not the characters that did not fit deystivitelno. Authors of the game should open a textbook on the history of American propaganda is not crap. Shame relics. Also not very balanced multiplayer component. I do not think that the relics couldIn the historical part of the game too many inaccuracies, which spoils the impression to the end of the game. Russian monsters in the game are shown, not the characters that did not fit deystivitelno. Authors of the game should open a textbook on the history of American propaganda is not crap. Shame relics. Also not very balanced multiplayer component. I do not think that the relics could do a similar game of the Americans or the British, whose role was secondary to the Russian. Expand
  20. Sep 20, 2013
    2
    I'm not gonna say it's good.. cause it isn't.

    Anyway, there are way too many russians complaining about "anti-soviet" and "anti-russian". First off, anti-soviet would be good. Second of all, it's not anti-russian. It's just that what you think is real history is just what your government tries to teach you, that they were the nicest and best people on earth, it's natural.
    I'm not gonna say it's good.. cause it isn't.

    Anyway, there are way too many russians complaining about "anti-soviet" and "anti-russian". First off, anti-soviet would be good. Second of all, it's not anti-russian. It's just that what you think is real history is just what your government tries to teach you, that they were the nicest and best people on earth, it's natural.

    Unfortunately, commissars were often bad people. They sacrificed loads of soldiers. Many russians during the time were uneducated and therefore perhaps not the smartest people on earth, because that's what communism does. It relies on the mass to be uneducated. I don't quite understand however, how they can portray them as coward-ish. Well, some people only went to war when drunk, many in-fact. But they still loyally charged when told to, they had no choice after all. They might have taken some aspects a little too harshly, but overall it's not as "unrealistic" as some people here say. Then again, what they think is right is very unrealistic.

    Either way, this game fails to bring in new content and new ideas, the balance is off in some places, and I assure you it is not only the germans that are "unbalanced". I would recommend just going back to company of heroes 1 instead, it's nicer and more innovative.
    Expand
  21. Aug 18, 2013
    7
    I'm Russian and I hate the plot, but game play is very good. I suppose, 95% of haters from Russia don't play at this game, they just... i don't know how it can be described...
  22. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    MID OR FEED MID OR FEED cyka cyka cyka
  23. Feb 12, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Blitzkrieg was way way better. This is just a garbage game that was created by Nazi's. Horrid graphics and optimization. I was so excited for this game, only to have it turn out to be garbage. I'm glad I never bought it. Expand
  24. Jul 27, 2013
    6
    A lot has been said already about the portrayal of the red army in this game. I am a Russian native and i don't really have a huge amount of historical knowledge on the subject. However whatever knowledge i do have suggests that a lot of the scary stuff in the single player campaign is completely crazy. Burning civilians alive, machine gunning retreating soldiers (order 227 did exist inA lot has been said already about the portrayal of the red army in this game. I am a Russian native and i don't really have a huge amount of historical knowledge on the subject. However whatever knowledge i do have suggests that a lot of the scary stuff in the single player campaign is completely crazy. Burning civilians alive, machine gunning retreating soldiers (order 227 did exist in reality however only deserters caught deep behind the frontline were really executed by firing squads). In reality saving the life of a valuable officer would probably get you promoted and not executed on the spot. So yeah, the single player is basically a huge load of ****

    Having said that it a shame actually how good the multiplayer is in this game is. In its current state it is not as good as the predecessor in my opinion, however i think it will be on par once more balance fixes are introduced.

    New gameplay mechanics, especially the true sight system, brings additional tactical dimensions to already good competitive multiplayer. In fact the only thing i can complain about is the new approach to commanders. I feel they completely lack any kind of unique identity compared to the prequel. Another thing that i don't like is the overall responsiveness of the game. UI in its current state feels clunky and you often have to fight with it to get necessary information.

    Technically the game is a sight to behold, but sometimes performance grinds to a halt on otherwise my pretty good hardware.

    All in all this is a good multiplayer game and it will get better once more balance and (hopefully) UI issues are resolved. The absolutely abhorrent single player campaign is the only thing stopping me from giving it a solid 9.
    Expand
  25. Apr 26, 2014
    1
    This is false, anti-Soviet, anti-Russian game that has nothing to do with the real history! It offends the memory of the entire Soviet people (at the moment all the people living in the former Soviet Union), who sacrificed their lives and fought for their motherland, their country, their people, their relatives.
  26. Aug 28, 2013
    4
    This is Company of Heroes for the Call of Duty generation. Not that there's anything wrong with CoD, I like it, but I prefer a more thinky game when I'm playing a strategy. If you want the RTS equivalent of CoD go play Starcraft, where speed and reaction time beats tactics and it's dominated by wunderkinds from the east.

    They tried to make it more exciting, and faster paced. What they
    This is Company of Heroes for the Call of Duty generation. Not that there's anything wrong with CoD, I like it, but I prefer a more thinky game when I'm playing a strategy. If you want the RTS equivalent of CoD go play Starcraft, where speed and reaction time beats tactics and it's dominated by wunderkinds from the east.

    They tried to make it more exciting, and faster paced. What they did was take away from everything that made CoH1 and CoHo great.

    Gone is the crisp differentiation between units, gone is the extended and incredibly important "early game". It's been replaced with lots of very powerful explosions, dominating tanks, and a faster paced game. Ooo, more action. "Yay".

    The UI looks shinier, but it's actually harder to see what's going on than in old CoH. Nice looking artwork has taken priority over clear and logical iconography.

    Balance is off, Germans are better in every way EXCEPT much larger weapons teams, cheap and good tank destroyers, and molotov for Soviets, which makes them actually more powerful when those are exploited fully. Bit of a kludge way to balance it. The appeal of playing both sides is obviously lacking as well at any time there are at least TWICE as many players searching for a game as Germany than the Soviets typically it's 66-85% German vs 15-33% Soviet.

    The much touted weather system is a massive let down. It simply doesn't add much in the way of tactics or fun. They recently allowed vetoing on automatch maps, and rather embarrassingly the community overwhelmingly vote out winter maps most of the time.

    The online aspects, which we all thought were going to be pulled from the excellent CoHo (Company of Heroes Online), have turned out as a limp, boring shadow of the fun stuff in CoHo. Determined not to imbalance the game they've made them boring as hell. 4% more armour on a vehicle woo. I can barely hold back my excitement. 2% greater range on a machine gun wow! Yeah, very lacklustre.

    Is it fun? Yes, it's still a decent RTS, and it's better than many. The AI is greatly improved over the original game, the graphics are slightly better not 7 years better by any means, but then CoH1 was incredibly advanced in that area to begin with.

    Do I regret my purchase? Yes, unfortunately I do. As a massive fan of CoH1, I bought it in the week of release back in 2006 and it's probably my most played game since then, I was really looking forward to this. It's a big let down. There's not been any DLC or in-game purchases yet, but apparently they are coming, and that will only serve to further annoy me. I won't be investing any more money into this game or buying expansions until they're on an incredibly cheap steam sale for a couple of The £35 I spent on CoH1 7 years ago was the best value I've ever spent on a game, the £30 I spent preordering CoH2 is looking to be the worst.
    Expand
  27. Sep 20, 2013
    4
    The so called Company of Heroes 2 has 2 major failure leads to massive Negative user reviews.
    1. Game lacks flash point compares to the original CoH, original CoH came out in 2006, the graphic, story and strategy playing drives player want to lead his/her company to victory, and yes it's a revolutionary game. CoH2 however does not improve much about the original and even step backward in
    The so called Company of Heroes 2 has 2 major failure leads to massive Negative user reviews.
    1. Game lacks flash point compares to the original CoH, original CoH came out in 2006, the graphic, story and strategy playing drives player want to lead his/her company to victory, and yes it's a revolutionary game. CoH2 however does not improve much about the original and even step backward in game UI, unit AI and map design. Relic fail to impress players in new tech, and snow effect/true sight weren't a completely new area in a RTS game. Disappointing.

    2. The story-line, a insult to former Soviet people and their sacrifice, Relic claim that story was historically accurate and lots of people says "you brain washed people should learn more about history." it's a joke, saying US and CA people know a more accurate version of soviet history than soviet people is a joke. Even if we take all the political stuff away the story-line wasn't even interesting! using a neither interesting nor historically accurate campaign as a political weapon to back stab an already collapsed nation, which I think it's Epic-Fail. Can't imaging Relic the game developer who made so many great games have done this trash. Disappointing.

    PS: Why I won't mark this game as 0? I love CoH, this is one of my favorite RTS. for most part, this was still CoH anyway, but without improvements and a bad campaign.
    Expand
  28. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Company Of Heroes 2 is an actually great game, It has it's ups and downs compared to it's procedure, CoH1. The game-play, in my opinion, is smooth and just a big fun adventure. But I think that lots of people are hating because CoH1 was such a great game, everyone compares it to that, so it's unevenly judged. I think it's a great game, and should buy it if you like a fast passed but strategic RTS.
  29. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    Wow, so many Russian crybabies without jobs on this site rating this game as a zero probably so Vladimir Putin won't put their families in jail. Here is actual fact: Joseph Stalin was a power hungry madman who is responsible for tens of millions of Russian deaths. Where the nazis employed the SS, the Russians deployed the NKVD, who were fanatics who enforced a no retreat mindset and ledWow, so many Russian crybabies without jobs on this site rating this game as a zero probably so Vladimir Putin won't put their families in jail. Here is actual fact: Joseph Stalin was a power hungry madman who is responsible for tens of millions of Russian deaths. Where the nazis employed the SS, the Russians deployed the NKVD, who were fanatics who enforced a no retreat mindset and led millions of soldiers to unnecessary deaths by charging German defenses and shooting them if they retreated. Make no mistake, both armies did terrible things, but these Russian dogs on this site are claiming it was only the nazis who raped and pillaged?? LoL what a laugh! Lastly, the Russians encouraged their soldiers to rape as many German women as possible in 1945 as a sort of reparation for the Germans invading their country. In Berlin alone, half a million German women, young and old who did not flee the city were raped by the Russian dogs. Expand
  30. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    i loved the first one, and i also love this one. Its different, i think it lost some of its pacing etc. but its still so much fun to play :)

    espacially in Multiplayer its total awesome... the campaing, thats a different story
  31. Feb 19, 2014
    0
    This game is historical **** People of the nation that destroyed red race in North America, two hydrogen bombs dropped on two densely populated city, and blew two skyscraper with live people inside, say Red Army Russian world evil.
  32. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    after completing the campaign i had to change my score from 10 to 6 because of how much i was offended by the content of the campaign, this game is completely disrepectful to the russian people and their sacrifices on world war 2, it makes germans looks like saints (forgetting to mention completely atrocities like holocaust and concentration camps) and russians like absolute monsters,theafter completing the campaign i had to change my score from 10 to 6 because of how much i was offended by the content of the campaign, this game is completely disrepectful to the russian people and their sacrifices on world war 2, it makes germans looks like saints (forgetting to mention completely atrocities like holocaust and concentration camps) and russians like absolute monsters,the character development is completely unexistant,their actions lack of motivation but at least you can skip cinematics which i suggest for more players to do,the story is really terrible, and the protagonist completely unlikable, this not the truth people,this is antirussian cold war propaganda at a new level,it makes enemy at the gates look like a prosoviet film, the best thing that relic could do was to skip cinematics completely and just give us more missions, if you can skip all that you get a really good game and it's sad that is ruined Expand
  33. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    WW2 is outdated for CoH. And nothing new. Like an expansion pack. :P Don't waste your money and time for this. I am still waiting for new "Modern" Company of Heroes.
  34. Jul 2, 2013
    5
    I was never a big fan of the series, but having played the first sequel of the game, I had great expectations towards this title! A day later I was disappointed...
    At first, I thought I will have no problem with the system requirements, but then some minutes later after the game start, I was stunned how bad this game runs. I even thought that because of SEGA it must be some low quality
    I was never a big fan of the series, but having played the first sequel of the game, I had great expectations towards this title! A day later I was disappointed...
    At first, I thought I will have no problem with the system requirements, but then some minutes later after the game start, I was stunned how bad this game runs. I even thought that because of SEGA it must be some low quality console-port like GTA IV was, but no it's just badly optimized. The game does not just lags, but the textures float and blink, even after patching and refreshing drivers. On every map and even in the graphics quality test. So thanks for the new effects, but this fact would make most game unplayable, but I decided to give it a try despite this.
    The story? Well, for me it looks like someone is trying to copy Call of Duty? So CoH was a great historic WW2 game, but they turned CoH2 a sensationalist unfinished "something". Yes, we all know that many aspects of the game is true, but those that are not make it untrustworthy.
    The game itself? Improved. A little. Though there's still only one campaign, with lots of monotony.
    As an RTS, it's just average, nobody is going to swap SC2 for this. As a WW2 RTS, it's worth a try the enthusiast might even like it, but for the average it's not recommended.
    Expand
  35. Aug 6, 2013
    7
    Well I guess it boils down to this. How close to the quick do you want to cut in your depiction of war? The Russians may want to be shown as the Allies, which they were without question, but they did order and authorise firing on their own troops, so you can't have it all ways. Historical accuracy isn't going to paint the prettiest picture.

    Plus, if the stories coming out of Russia just
    Well I guess it boils down to this. How close to the quick do you want to cut in your depiction of war? The Russians may want to be shown as the Allies, which they were without question, but they did order and authorise firing on their own troops, so you can't have it all ways. Historical accuracy isn't going to paint the prettiest picture.

    Plus, if the stories coming out of Russia just now are to be believed... What they are doing to their own people right now for what sexuality they are is pretty damn grim and does not in any way "represent the best of human qualities like bravery, cunning, self-sacrificial courage and honesty". That's another story though.
    Expand
  36. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Everything that doesn’t show Russians as ultimate heroes is offensive to them. No wonder anyway years of post-war communist propaganda twisted so many facts that even now we can’t know the whole spectrum of cruelty and atrocities done by the Red Army.

    The reason for the overwhelmingly negative users score: A bunch of closeted Stalinists have rated the game poorly. Stalin was a monster.
    Everything that doesn’t show Russians as ultimate heroes is offensive to them. No wonder anyway years of post-war communist propaganda twisted so many facts that even now we can’t know the whole spectrum of cruelty and atrocities done by the Red Army.

    The reason for the overwhelmingly negative users score: A bunch of closeted Stalinists have rated the game poorly. Stalin was a monster. Apologists for his regime are betrayers to their countrymen and humanity.

    This is not to say the game is without it's faults. Other users have pointed these out, extensively. But, seriously: 1.4? (The current average user score on metacritic.) No way. 8.0 (or higher, if the game is patched more)? Definitely.
    Expand
  37. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Very good game, well done guys) for their fellow citizens ask forgiveness for all that inappropriate behavior, false cries. We are always so in the CIS. Cry for freedom, while they themselves call for a ban on all, alcohol does terrible things.
  38. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    CoH1 was probably superior. UI is tiny with lots of crap covering the screen, making a mess of readability. The AI obviously got no attention from coders and is unduly difficult due to its ability to attack on all fronts simultaneously. I can do 2 battles at once, but not 7. The game comes off clunky and there is, of course, a store built into the game to buy upgrades. So you can getCoH1 was probably superior. UI is tiny with lots of crap covering the screen, making a mess of readability. The AI obviously got no attention from coders and is unduly difficult due to its ability to attack on all fronts simultaneously. I can do 2 battles at once, but not 7. The game comes off clunky and there is, of course, a store built into the game to buy upgrades. So you can get small increases for your "character" (commander) by giving them money. Great balance... Expand
  39. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    Personally I have only played CoH 1 for multiplayer skirmishes against the PC and it is likely that CoH 2 will almost only be used in this sense. Therefore, it pleased me and my friends greatly to find out that the AI in CoH 2 has gotten a major overhaul from the predictable patterns of CoH 1.
    After getting used to the new supports, new UI and new way of playing, we are finally getting in
    Personally I have only played CoH 1 for multiplayer skirmishes against the PC and it is likely that CoH 2 will almost only be used in this sense. Therefore, it pleased me and my friends greatly to find out that the AI in CoH 2 has gotten a major overhaul from the predictable patterns of CoH 1.
    After getting used to the new supports, new UI and new way of playing, we are finally getting in the position that bashing normal AI's can be won.
    I get that a lot of people are ticked off because CoH 2 has not become a successor of CoH 1 in the strictest sense; but for me it is definitely an improvement.
    Expand
  40. Dec 13, 2013
    0
    Well done, you have collected the worst that was in a few cases and created this story! Apparently it was hard to gather the best that was in most cases, to remind the world about the heroism of Russian soldiers who defeated Nazism?
  41. Feb 4, 2014
    0
    I do not understand why the international community allows such "creations" in general to be born and exist. Why did not anyone close to hell their office that makes such gaming industry abortions? Deliberate distortion of historical facts, the propaganda of fascism, blackening the image of Russian soldiers and Russia as a whole, and it is not a complete list. I am just interested to lookI do not understand why the international community allows such "creations" in general to be born and exist. Why did not anyone close to hell their office that makes such gaming industry abortions? Deliberate distortion of historical facts, the propaganda of fascism, blackening the image of Russian soldiers and Russia as a whole, and it is not a complete list. I am just interested to look into the eyes of the people who created it. Where was their conscience and morality? Expand
  42. Jul 12, 2014
    0
    This game is a DO NOT BUY. Shallow content. CoH1 was far superior. Few maps, few units. Its as if they took our beloved original and consolized it. Performs poorly, maps are very uninspired and boring. Like city maps, sorry. This is a cash grab game and people that really know the first one will be sickened by this attempt.

    I knew it was beyond suspect playing through the beta and not
    This game is a DO NOT BUY. Shallow content. CoH1 was far superior. Few maps, few units. Its as if they took our beloved original and consolized it. Performs poorly, maps are very uninspired and boring. Like city maps, sorry. This is a cash grab game and people that really know the first one will be sickened by this attempt.

    I knew it was beyond suspect playing through the beta and not enjoying it. They simply took the old game and swiss cheesed it, removed sweet features and content. The only positive thing I can mention is the variable weather but even that leaves a bit to be desired. Its more like snow blizzards that come in cycles.

    Beware of fake reviews. After reading most of the reviews, most of the highly rated ones are blatantly bogus.
    Expand
  43. Jul 23, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Govno! Expand
  44. Jan 4, 2014
    6
    I really don't know how can someone play this laggy game. How can I play Max Payne 3, Tomb Raider (2013) and Far Cry 3 on high video settings and this games forces me to play on minimal (really crap graphics) with less than 30 fps? Impossible to play like this! Relics don't give a "sheet" for their broken game.
  45. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Рassed all CoH2 Really amazing game about east front Мission as a journey Interesting episodes .Russian players so aggressively not like the game because it showed the truth. They are sick they need help. Expand
  46. Aug 23, 2013
    1
    Now, I am, I was, I hopefully still will be a fan or Relic Games if they prove that they can come back from such a sorry excuse or a game. Company of Heroes was a great game, the combat mechanics left a little to be desired but the story was great as there wasn't one, it followed a few good campaigns and kept away from personalities of actual characters. The game became brilliant with theNow, I am, I was, I hopefully still will be a fan or Relic Games if they prove that they can come back from such a sorry excuse or a game. Company of Heroes was a great game, the combat mechanics left a little to be desired but the story was great as there wasn't one, it followed a few good campaigns and kept away from personalities of actual characters. The game became brilliant with the Blitzkrieg mod and remains one of my most favorite RTS games.
    I am also a big fan of the Warhammer games they produce.
    Company of Heroes 2 on the other hand is shocking, more terrible game mechanics lead into crappy missions that lead into terrible story lines that lead into terrible characters that no one cares about.
    The graphics are not that great, i have a very powerful and expensive rig and i felt like i had just rubbed vaseline on my TV, depth of field is off, i cannot zoom out far enough to select many units and other such things.
    The army customisation is rubbish, pointless, so is the different generals, i felt like i was playing an arcade game where you select a hero and his special powers, not a game where i was meant to control millions of men against millions of other men.
    So because i cannot be bother to keep typing and moaning i shall say two more things:
    One, i hope that Relic will not disappoint again because i am hanging by threads of their older games.
    Two, i did not give them a zero because that would be too harsh, i gave them a one because (i liked the way the snow moved around the soldiers legs)... oh, i mean, its because i believe they will learn from their mistakes and make a better game when the time is right.
    Expand
  47. Jan 17, 2014
    8
    The game is pretty good. It's not perfect of course. Graphics are very nice and the game runs very smooth on maximum settings. The gameplay is unique and fun.
    All those negative reviews comes from russian fascists who falsificates history. Red army were no heroes, they were scum, same as nazis. Neither of them are winners. So thanks to developers for not falsificating the history.
  48. Sep 19, 2013
    6
    This game does not improve on anything really, in fact, it makes it worse. But it is still a mediocre strategy game, albeit horribly racist. Thanks for your time!
  49. Oct 12, 2013
    6
    Quel déception par rapport au premier opus.
    Il reste un bon jeu de stratégie, mais son mode solo offre une espérance de vie bien trop courte.
    Là ou son ainé offrait une immersion et de la diversité, Company of heros 2 ne fait que copier avec maladresse...
  50. Nov 17, 2013
    5
    I'm happy that I waited for a sale to purchase this game. However, I wish I waited a little longer. In my experience video games seldom exceed the expectations of the consumer yet COH2 doesn't even come close. I gave this game a 5 because it isn't great nor is it horrible its just plain average. I really wanted to like this game but had a very hard time finding and keeping interest.I'm happy that I waited for a sale to purchase this game. However, I wish I waited a little longer. In my experience video games seldom exceed the expectations of the consumer yet COH2 doesn't even come close. I gave this game a 5 because it isn't great nor is it horrible its just plain average. I really wanted to like this game but had a very hard time finding and keeping interest.

    Personally, when I purchase a sequel to a amazing game, I'm expecting to be blown away. Unfortunately, that was not the case with this game and after a weekend of trying I finally gave up. The following are some of the major issues I saw:
    1) Game has little in the way of innovation (unless you like micro transactions)
    2) Graphics are mediocre and show little improvement from the original
    3) Campaign is terrible (The writer, producer and most of the development team should be unemployed right now)!!!

    In conclusion, Relic basically gave us all the bird on this one! I am not only disappointed, I'm insulted. This will be my last purchase from this company!
    Expand
  51. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    despite what people say and i don't honestly care for what any of them say the game is well worth the money. when i preordered it i got every CoH game there was, all DLC, everything. it has a pretty good multiplier to my taste. and the story is ok. the theater of war is really fun to. the game may need a little tweaking but im sure it will get better.
  52. Nov 29, 2014
    1
    Excellent game for Adolf Hitler. Especially for you we have gathered the worst stereotypes about Russia. Balalaika vodka cruelty blood winter. Glory, honor, brave men, well-planed attacks didnt give the win, but "best" stereotypes about stupidity did it, My Fuhrer!
  53. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Very good game, intresting history with real view, nice strategy.I'm not a big fan of stragies but enjoyed playing for few hours. Graphic looks good, weather conditions are a big plus.
  54. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best RTS in the last few years. Good campaign, enjoyable gameplay and solid story, Relic did a great job. I didn't encounter any bugs so far.
  55. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes, try to invent on his true history, all over Europe only you still to believe it,
    we all know what that Krasnaja Armia, she ate soap, stealing clocks and did not know what this bike.
    by the way

    you know who invented the bicycle?
    Russian

    ... in the attic of a German
    Expand
  56. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    No where near as good as the first one, but still a solid RTS. And seriously people, make your rating based off of game play and not some part of the campaign where its "offensive towards Russians."
  57. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    A good game that leaves a lot to be desired!
    Now a days it seems like it's common practice to release games which are clearly not finished and patch them to completion over a 6-12 month period, COH2 is no exeption.
    At it's core COH2 is a great strategy diamond, just like its predecessor, but unable to shine due to all the poop covering it. *The game suffers enormously from lack of
    A good game that leaves a lot to be desired!
    Now a days it seems like it's common practice to release games which are clearly not finished and patch them to completion over a 6-12 month period, COH2 is no exeption.
    At it's core COH2 is a great strategy diamond, just like its predecessor, but unable to shine due to all the poop covering it.

    *The game suffers enormously from lack of dedicated servers, 9 out of 10 games will lag, either due to poor connection or one of the players having to high settings.

    *COH2 is also lacking content, only 8 maps are in the final version, 13 if you count the winter version of said maps. Seems like the studio spent more time reskinning models so they could sell collectors edition rather than
    Adding content that actually enriches the gaming experience.

    *The game is very poorly optimized, even on a high end PC you may experience low fps. Got a mid range PC? Forget it, game will run super poorly on even the lowest settings.
    Even if the game only looks 5-10% better than vCOH, it runs 80% worse.I have no problem running the previous game on the highest possible settings, but somehow the incremental improvement to the graphics in COH2 demands crazy graphical resources.

    *Bugs and design flaws are all to apparent. There are to many to list here, but it is obvious the game has some way to go before I would call it anything but a glorified beta.

    *A lot of "basic" features which we have come to expect from a game released in 2013 are missing.
    -Unless you are doing a custom game with friends, there is no way to choose which map you want to play.
    -There is no game lobby/server browser, unless u got 8 friends to play with, forget 4vs4 custom games.
    -The game is missing meaningful ranks, leagues and leaderboards. An essential carrot/reward system for a successful online RTS game.
    -No clan system.

    If your thinking about spending 60 bucks on this game, or god forbid even more on the collectors edition, DON'T! While the game is fun despite all of these problems, and probably will be a real GEM in 6 months,
    it's important as a consumer to vote with your wallet and not encourage publishers to release half finished products.

    Then there are subjective stuff like the UI being butt ugly and taking up half the screen for no reason, smaller maps which make the game feel less "epic" if you will and no real innovative changes to the gameplay despite
    The time years that have passed between the games.

    WARNING!
    Expand
  58. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    Looks like the "Russians" are running a campaign to downvote this game through hook or crook. The 0s are way to obvious and cheap. I won't spam votes but I feel the game deserves a fair chance at a very reasonable price it being offered at.
  59. Jan 8, 2014
    0
    The "Mein Kampf" of videogames. Avoid this piece of revisionism. Makes me wonder if Relic are neo-nazi's or just plain ignorant. Maybe both. This game should be banned
  60. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    After the beta I was really confused, the GUI was strange to say at least, units, effects and overall look was quite bad. BUT after that the game was released and I have witnessed great changes that relic did and most importantly because of players feedback.

    The game itself it interesting, units are well balanced, engine looks great (but i think that CoH 1 still looks better in that
    After the beta I was really confused, the GUI was strange to say at least, units, effects and overall look was quite bad. BUT after that the game was released and I have witnessed great changes that relic did and most importantly because of players feedback.

    The game itself it interesting, units are well balanced, engine looks great (but i think that CoH 1 still looks better in that time), battles are paced and clear. The story has right emotional impact and is really well-narrated and don't mention the end which itself is really good. The "Theater of War" can be challenging, but that's what it is for. In the end the overall atmosphere is really emotive and incredible.
    The multiplayer is awesome, it's even better that in the first CoH, mostly because of balanced units (oh and inability to blob rangers or so). I didn't mention True Sight, because in the campaign it hasn't so much importance like in the multiplayer. True Sight is great and innovative (one of the greatest innovations for the last years I would say), furthermore it help to make some tactics useful and functional.

    Let me tell you something about that negative reviews of players.
    Yes, the game isn't optimized as good as it could be and contains some bugs.
    BUT that are minor problems, the bigger problem (in my opinion), is the all "anti-russian propaganda". Now, this may piss off some people. Although sometime it's brought to extreme the point is right, soviet union has great (and I mean really great) losses, they jailed good generals and tacticians and then sent them die in front line, that's just facts (I know that, Russian come to "free" my country again long after war). Problem is that this is topic that's barely pictured. Yes you can love your mother Russia, but don't be blind to what Stalin did. This is controversial topic, but Relic did a great job in telling a believable story, that it's almost unbelievable what they achieved.
    So please, they did a great game (probably the best this year) from an Easter front and they did it the right way, do not blind yourselves wit ANY propaganda.
    Expand
  61. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    Well, this game is not perfect, but I played it for 3 months or so and still like it. I am talking about MP. The single player campaign is so-so, and not historically true, but this is not a historical manuscript, this is just game.
  62. Jul 18, 2013
    5
    I like the game but I give it a 5 because the whole game isn't here. The story is short and lacks and real fun levels and all I can say about the DLC levels is F*CK you Relic/Sega whatever.

    The story is basically a story of bad guy vs bad guy and at the end your are just like yay! we setup the USSR... great.

    Honestly go buy part 1 and skip this one...
  63. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Relic you did it again. Fantastic game with amazing sound effects.

    Pros:
    - best graphics on max settings, smoke, fire effects look very cool
    - probably best sound of 2013
    -dozens of hours of great fun
    -best online game of 2013

    Cons:
    -poor optimization
    -bugs

    Overall best game of 2013
  64. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Brilliant game. Hiden gem with interesting gameplay which requires to think a lot and provides huge tactical freedom. Graphics on my average PC look just unreal!!!
  65. Jul 6, 2013
    5
    I'm sorry but this was a huge let-down. If you have played the original, there is nothing new, instead they removed some content, made worse graphics, smaller maps and added all these achivement-milestone crap that all games uses these days. Regarding the graphics, well it might look more shiny, but the original had more destruction. This is like COD vs Battlefield... If we just pretendI'm sorry but this was a huge let-down. If you have played the original, there is nothing new, instead they removed some content, made worse graphics, smaller maps and added all these achivement-milestone crap that all games uses these days. Regarding the graphics, well it might look more shiny, but the original had more destruction. This is like COD vs Battlefield... If we just pretend like CoH original doesn't exist, then this is actually a rather good game, perhaps a 7 or 8. But because this is a sequel to a 7 year old game, you have to rate it based on how much it has improved over the years, and then, it's not worth more than 5. Expand
  66. Aug 9, 2013
    5
    while I have greatly enjoyed previous installments of Company of Heroes (and for that matter I still am as Tales of Valor is still on Quick Launch), I cannot say the same about CoH2. I have waited for this game anxiously just to find a game that is full of regurgitated gameplay, regurgitated clinches and pretty much nothing spectacular.
    Aside the story being nothing but a posterchild for
    while I have greatly enjoyed previous installments of Company of Heroes (and for that matter I still am as Tales of Valor is still on Quick Launch), I cannot say the same about CoH2. I have waited for this game anxiously just to find a game that is full of regurgitated gameplay, regurgitated clinches and pretty much nothing spectacular.
    Aside the story being nothing but a posterchild for "barbaric, savage soviets" cliches and disrespecting the people that fought that war, the game brings nothing significantly new when compared to CoH aside higher system requirements and snow.
    My advice don't rush into buying this game yet (like I did), look for some other game or wait for the price to get lower if you want to have it. In the meantime play CoH, you won't loose anything important.
    Expand
  67. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    First and foremost, i don't agree with the current started by the russian community, that is completly lacking any constructive criticism about the game itself, only moaning about a storyline in the singleplayer part that is showing the american perspective of the russian war crimes.

    While not all what is shown is a true fact, things like soldiers getting shot when they wanted to
    First and foremost, i don't agree with the current started by the russian community, that is completly lacking any constructive criticism about the game itself, only moaning about a storyline in the singleplayer part that is showing the american perspective of the russian war crimes.

    While not all what is shown is a true fact, things like soldiers getting shot when they wanted to retreat, war crimes like the massacre at Katyn (google for it fellow russians) and Gulags are a historical fact that can't be denied!

    The game itself rates as a solid 8 for me, the gameplay is almost the same as the previous installment, but lacking the content since it had no addons so far. The dynamic weather changes on snow maps add a lot of immersion to the gameplay since you need to constantly micromanage your troops or they will die in the harsh conditions of winter.

    If you want a fresh CoH experience and you liked the previous games, this will be a game for you too then.
    Expand
  68. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Thank you RELIC for this fantastic game. I am a big fan of you guys from Homeworld times and this game proves one more time that you are very talented developers. Keep making great games!

    p.s.: have 370 hours on steam already. Can't stop playing this amazing strategy!
  69. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    The game is phenomenal in it's depth and realism of subject. It offers plenty of options for play(including some fun, though short coop campaign battles). In addition, it is one of the few RTS games I've ever had the experience of playing where tactics are more important than elite units or unit spamming. While you still need to work your way towards quality forces during pitched fights,The game is phenomenal in it's depth and realism of subject. It offers plenty of options for play(including some fun, though short coop campaign battles). In addition, it is one of the few RTS games I've ever had the experience of playing where tactics are more important than elite units or unit spamming. While you still need to work your way towards quality forces during pitched fights, often times the game can hinge on the success you have with your most basic units. Infantry on both sides can drastically change a fight with a smart grenade or molotov thrown. Anti tank weapons can devastate an enemy armored column, or just buy you enough time to redeploy your forces.

    The destructible terrain and weather effects round off a pretty amazing RTS. Killer cold becomes a real challenge as the enemy and yourself begin to realize the advantage of blowing up shelter from them. And being able to crack the ice to put a tank under is one of the most satisfying moments Ive had in a long time.

    Highly recommend this for any RTS fan who wants a bit more grit and tactics to their fights and a little less unit spamming and super units.
    Expand
  70. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    What more do you need to know, its Company of Heroes 2. Improvement have been made over Company of Heroes that make this game a pleasure to play. This is a must buy game in my opinion, especially if you played and enjoyed the first one. You can read the list of improvements made and the game features somewhere else. This is a review of how I feel about the game, I recommend it!! It's worth it!!
  71. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    I've been so hyped for CoH2. After playing the open beta, I am convinced this is one of the best strategy experiences you can get on the PC. The graphics are amazing, the controls are sleek, there is just so much depth in everything and it feels good in every way. The pricepoint should not put you away from this masterpiece.
  72. Jul 13, 2013
    5
    After a long and very anticipated wait, I was so happy to be able to finally download COH2 from Steam, but I have to echo many of the other comments on here in that it's quite the disappointment.

    As a standalone game it's excellent just like the original, however, being a sequel you will obviously expect more and this game really does fail to deliver. It feels like there's actually less
    After a long and very anticipated wait, I was so happy to be able to finally download COH2 from Steam, but I have to echo many of the other comments on here in that it's quite the disappointment.

    As a standalone game it's excellent just like the original, however, being a sequel you will obviously expect more and this game really does fail to deliver. It feels like there's actually less units, the maps feel quite small and rather unimaginative, there's no tank traps, no sand bags (only the Russians can build a single sandbag wall thing) so you can't really setup very good defences for weak points or your flanks.

    This brings me onto another problem, the population cap isn't very high either so you can't really have very many units at a time. So you can't really setup multiple combinations to protect your flanks against a variety of threats as you simply don't have the population cap to do so. Combine this with very little ability to build defences and you've basically got no strategy just lots of units desperately running about the maps trying to gain lost ground all the time because the AI always seems to send their tanks where you don't have anti-armour units.

    I would have liked to see a much larger variety of units, new units )and not just reused stuff that they've clearly taken from the Russian modded version of the original), better maps and also bring in things such as high ground advantage etc.

    Also, I'm running an i7 3770K, 16GB DDR3 Ram, SSD SATA3 HD and an Nvidia GTX 560Ti 1GB and yet I have to play this at medium settings, despite it not really looking leaps and bounds ahead of the original. The graphics and animations are improved though.

    It's still good fun but very disappointed and certainly not worth the price tag. I'd classify this as an expansion, not a sequel.
    Expand
  73. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Company of Heroes 2 is a great sequel with intense multiplayer gameplay that is varied, competitive, and engaging. I highly recommend this game to anyone with an interest in RTS.
  74. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    So first I want to make this point about 3000 scores of this game are total The history is what it is there are no lies as far as I played. The game should be rated on how good it is. Not on graphics. Graphics don't make a game. Just because the game gets release day dlc doesn't make the game worse. Dlc is optional it should not in any way affect the score of the game. So the gameplay isSo first I want to make this point about 3000 scores of this game are total The history is what it is there are no lies as far as I played. The game should be rated on how good it is. Not on graphics. Graphics don't make a game. Just because the game gets release day dlc doesn't make the game worse. Dlc is optional it should not in any way affect the score of the game. So the gameplay is good it is not bad in any way. The story isn't the best but it is not super bad either. I don't see how you can rate a game like this 0. This game has a user score of 1.5 wtf is wrong with you people. Tell me how can this game be worse than big rigs over the road racing that game was literally unplayable. Expand
  75. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest RTS of all time is back! And now better than ever with True Sight and Cold Tech. Now the player will feel the bitter cold of the Russian Front and play with care or a blizzard might take his army!

    For the first time the player will be able to flank and ambush like never before with the true sight system. This system makes it so that the line of sight is limited by
    One of the greatest RTS of all time is back! And now better than ever with True Sight and Cold Tech. Now the player will feel the bitter cold of the Russian Front and play with care or a blizzard might take his army!

    For the first time the player will be able to flank and ambush like never before with the true sight system. This system makes it so that the line of sight is limited by obstacles and opens new ways to play what already was a great game.

    The new game mechanics like the ones above and the fact that noe tanks can be de-crewed and captured by infantry makes this game an extreme pleasure to play for the true strategist in each of us, no longer build tank and send in for the kill! It might come back to bite you!
    Expand
  76. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    This game has got to be game of the year. Honestly nearly everything about this game makes me want to squeal with delight. The graphics looks incredible especially on those snow maps, the gameplay is just as good as the original with intense battles, mircoing and management. The sound and the atmosphere make you feel like you are there, seriously it is that incredible. There are a ton ofThis game has got to be game of the year. Honestly nearly everything about this game makes me want to squeal with delight. The graphics looks incredible especially on those snow maps, the gameplay is just as good as the original with intense battles, mircoing and management. The sound and the atmosphere make you feel like you are there, seriously it is that incredible. There are a ton of new features like cold tech and true sight which add so much more depth and strategy to the game.

    Take for instance true sight where units vision radius is now blocked by objects such as tall wall as and hedges. This now enables players to set up sick ambushes which can decide the fate of the game,

    This game does have a few problems with crashing searching for a game and a few balance issues. Furthermore there are some features that are not currently implemented. However all these issues will be resolved with time as with every game on start up has it's issues. You have got to remember that coh2 has had a crazy development cycle having to deal with the demise of THQ and with the limited resources they had. It's unbelievable with what the team at Relic have achieved.

    On another note Relic knows how to listen to it's community and treat them well. Many of the new features and balance changes have been the result of Relic discussing with the community. I have had the pleasure of touring the relic studios this past weekend and let me tell you when they say they have "stuff in the pipe line after launch" let me tell you they HAVE FRICKEN AMAZING STUFF. This game has got the potential to rival SC2 if it is given the break that it desperately needs.

    Finally I would just like to say that the community behind this game is like no other. Everyone is there for each other (apart from a few trolls) and willing to help you out if your having trouble or if you would like to engage in some serious strategy
    Expand
  77. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    An amazing RTS that manages to preserve the elements that made CoH 1 great, while also bringing entirely new gameplay elements and a refreshing new setting to the table. In addition, it has done a wonderful job of offending a group of disgusting little creatures that attack in swarms with defective mental facilities that are colloquially referred to as "Russians".
  78. Jul 2, 2014
    0
    Russophobia in all its glory. Of total distortion of historical facts, it feels like a very long time developers beaten on the head, and then given to read Goebbels's propaganda.
  79. Sep 7, 2014
    0
    [RUS] Эта игра х*йня. И вы спросите , а чем тебе не понравилось а? А то ,что SEGA Историю России за 9 класс точно не учила. Там нет ничего связанного с годам Великой Отечественной войны. Прежде чем делать историческую игру , хоть выучите историю. В Call of Duty 1 и 2 частях , пересказывались события Великой Отечественной войны, но они хоть немного постарались. А вы чего сделали, мусор[RUS] Эта игра х*йня. И вы спросите , а чем тебе не понравилось а? А то ,что SEGA Историю России за 9 класс точно не учила. Там нет ничего связанного с годам Великой Отечественной войны. Прежде чем делать историческую игру , хоть выучите историю. В Call of Duty 1 и 2 частях , пересказывались события Великой Отечественной войны, но они хоть немного постарались. А вы чего сделали, мусор какой то.
    [ENG]This game is f*ck. And you ask , what didn't you like? And the fact that SEGA the History of Russia for the 9th grade just not taught. There's nothing related to the great Patriotic war. Before doing historical game , at least learn the history. Call of Duty 1 and 2 parts , retold the events of the great Patriotic war, but they tried. And what you did waste some
    Expand
  80. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    Great sequel for Company of Heroes sieres. Good graphic and AI, singelplayer and multiplayer works. Great levels just need a german campaign. Great work Sega
  81. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    The game is good as graphic, versus,campaign and system but is not really awesome with those tanks because is too less in number but still a good game
  82. Sep 30, 2014
    0
    Wow! The cold war is far from over I see. The cardinal sins here re the terrible story that might only satisfy the brain dead who readily subscribe to propaganda and the lack of optimisation causing the game to stutter, besides it being more of the same old same old. There used to be a game "Soldiers" back in the day... used to be pretty decent, then they released "Soldiers 2" which wasWow! The cold war is far from over I see. The cardinal sins here re the terrible story that might only satisfy the brain dead who readily subscribe to propaganda and the lack of optimisation causing the game to stutter, besides it being more of the same old same old. There used to be a game "Soldiers" back in the day... used to be pretty decent, then they released "Soldiers 2" which was pure terrible wrapped in crap, at the same time the first COH appeared, which was in the same WWII niche doing everything better than "Soldiers 2", actually looking a lot better and running on any PC configuration I had flawlessly as opposed to the aforementioned. COH 2 is lucky there's no other company delivering a similar product. Expand
  83. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Aufgrund der Rezessionen war ich anfangs etwas skeptisch, ob es sich lohnt das Spiel zu kaufen und in der ersten Minuten beim Spielen wusste ich nicht ob es mir besser oder schlechter gefällt als Coh 1...Doch letztendlich muss ich sagen, dass das Spiel absolut Spaß macht und das einige Punkte der Kritik nicht zu treffen. Beispielsweise stimmt es nicht, dass das Spiel nicht ausgeglichenAufgrund der Rezessionen war ich anfangs etwas skeptisch, ob es sich lohnt das Spiel zu kaufen und in der ersten Minuten beim Spielen wusste ich nicht ob es mir besser oder schlechter gefällt als Coh 1...Doch letztendlich muss ich sagen, dass das Spiel absolut Spaß macht und das einige Punkte der Kritik nicht zu treffen. Beispielsweise stimmt es nicht, dass das Spiel nicht ausgeglichen wäre...man muss sich halt zunächst einmal zurecht finden und dann weiß man auch mit welchen Einheiten man kontern kann etc. Genauso hat das Spiel einige Punkte, die man als Verbesserungen ansehen kann. Z.B. muss man nicht mehr so ewig warten bis man ein Multiplayer Spiel anfangen kann, da man automatisch Gegnern zugewiesen wird. Das erspart einem das elende hin und her aus dem 1.Teil in dem es selten zu ausgeglichenen Teams kam. Also Leute... kauft das Spiel! Es lohnt sich! Expand
  84. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    Why metacritic allow to leave comments and rate games without checking users steam profile or something, just to check, did this player actually play this game?
    Because mighty army of hamsters, who did not even play, just came here and unfairly lowered the rating of game.
    First of all, THIS IS JUST A GAME, also scenario is not important here. AND IT HAVE PEGI 18+, so childrens did not
    Why metacritic allow to leave comments and rate games without checking users steam profile or something, just to check, did this player actually play this game?
    Because mighty army of hamsters, who did not even play, just came here and unfairly lowered the rating of game.
    First of all, THIS IS JUST A GAME, also scenario is not important here.
    AND IT HAVE PEGI 18+, so childrens did not allow to play this. Use parental control software if you aware.
    This is multiplayer based game. Just like campaing in battlefield 3/bad company 2.
    And of course, in my country (Russia) our main distributor "1C" took this game off sales, because petition has gathered 15k signatures. What it if not censor? I hope Gabe will ignore the petition.

    I am against censorship.
    Expand
  85. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Great game.

    As a casual gamer, I put a lot of criticism on a game that is not able to engage me. Company of Heroes 2 does just that. The game brings a lot to the table, cover is usable by units and comes in unique ways such as sandbags, bunkers and even craters created by artillery over the course of the battle. Expansion plays an interesting role in the game because the territories
    Great game.

    As a casual gamer, I put a lot of criticism on a game that is not able to engage me. Company of Heroes 2 does just that. The game brings a lot to the table, cover is usable by units and comes in unique ways such as sandbags, bunkers and even craters created by artillery over the course of the battle. Expansion plays an interesting role in the game because the territories captured by your troops need to be linked to your headquarters to obtain the resources generated by your capture points. This can become an annoyance to the player, or an ally to the opportunist.

    If you look at a lot of the reviews, you're going to notice a lot of undue bias. As many of you know, Company of Heroes 2 gained a lot of attention in Russia. Do not mind them. I even read one review claiming mines and sandbags did not exist in the game, which I can tell you they in fact do. These are reviews generated by people who have most likely not even played the game.

    The fact is the Soviets were no saints. Neither were the Germans. Both sides were full of normal people thrown into a brutal conflict not of their own doing, but the doing of their leaders. Remember that both countries invaded Poland in 1939 and while the Nazis killed many Jews in the Holocaust, many Ukrainians were killed by the Soviets in the Holodomor. The Eastern front in the European theater of World War 2 was simply a field of battle where two authoritarian regimes battled each other, and forces on both sides had to simply do what they were ordered and what it took to survive. A lot of these war crimes are shown in the game as witnessed by the player are things that did occur occasionally but compacted to fit a a campaign measured in hours. If they ever make a German campaign, I believe they would show the similar war crimes the Germans committed.

    You'll also hear about a lot of crashes. I have experienced this, but on a 6 year old console never built for gaming. I'm no technical expert, but the reason crashes probably primarily occur are because the system could never have played the game anyways and was able to load the main menu and cut scenes (which it did for me) before crashing when the game started. Most likely problem is not inherent to the game, but the outdated systems people tried to play them on. Luckily, I got a new system later on that was able to play it, and while playing the game I have never heard any technical complaints from other people. The problem is most likely blown out to the extreme by the game's detractors.

    Ultimately, my two largest problems with the game are the story and the small number of units. The small number of units in the game is exceptional however, as a all roles are covered, however it would be cool in future expansions to see more units, and possibly sub factions within the Germans and Soviets to breed more variety in gameplay. The plot itself is not very engaging to the main character, as the distance between the character and the player will be made obvious quickly, and some times the player may ask him or herself if is (s)he the main character or some unseen commander sending orders from the rear. However, it's a decent plot line that you must imagine would have been very hard to write and the gameplay more than makes up for it, as every mission is fun to play regardless of the backstory, which can be very interesting at times.

    My final review rests at a 10. It may not be the perfect game a 10 demands but I place it as a step in the right direction for Relic, improvements to the story would be great in an expansion. And as far as World War 2 games go, which are few these days, this game is great and the current leader in World War 2 strategy games.
    Expand
  86. Jul 25, 2013
    6
    Well, I haven't played the sp campaign completely so far but from what I have played of it, it does seem to be not half as well done as was the campaign in CoH1 which I think is the case with the Multiplayer part of this game as well.

    Seriously, after being a fan of company of heroes 1 for years, I expected so much from this game but then I finally played the beta and I was shell
    Well, I haven't played the sp campaign completely so far but from what I have played of it, it does seem to be not half as well done as was the campaign in CoH1 which I think is the case with the Multiplayer part of this game as well.

    Seriously, after being a fan of company of heroes 1 for years, I expected so much from this game but then I finally played the beta and I was shell shocked because it felt like a step back in so many ways. Regardless the community cried out together for the devs to fix the things which were pulling this game down. One example is the terrible ui in this game, everybody who played the beta complained and complained and complained but the devs in their arrogance have changed almost nothing of note in the final product. There are similar problems with balance and then biggest of all for me there's performance issues!

    I have a gtx 660ti 2gb card with an i5 processor and 8 gb ram, one should think that I will be able to play at max settings not just in sp or skirmishes but mp as well, instead the game autodetects low image quality, no AA and medium-low settings but ofc I can play comfortably with max settings anyway. The problem also is with the lag in online play and how much time it takes to find games!! In coh1 I could find games in under a minute 5.5 6 years after the release and play virtually lag free with people all over the world. I must have played 100's of 1v1s and 2v2s and never was lag a significant issue but now I have to wait much longer and the lag so often is a in team games (funny part is that now I have slightly better Internet connection than in those days)

    If this were a separate game from some other developer team and they called it Eastern Front Wars or whatever with everything being what it is, I would have thought it a decent game which 'can' be enjoyed for what it is an ok rts game to fill the time but because it was supposed to be the sequel to Company Of Heroes a game which I and many others still revere today, I can't help but be disappointed with how they COMPLETELY SQUANDERED the opportunity to make a great sequel instead choosing to focus on modernizing the game so that the masses would love it. It's such a step backwards in so many ways that one wonders if they sat down together and said 'right lets take all of the things that players love about and are the hallmarks of Company Of Heroes and tweak them in one way or another so it seems all fresh and new" and then add in some new bs like blizzards and we have a hit on our hands'. Unfortunately for the players, its almost butchered the game. After buying the game now however, I can only hope that they will keep working on the game and that some day it might come close to being as fun and challenging to play as its prequel was
    Expand
  87. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Wow. I need to admit that this is the best strategy game I played in my life. I like everything in this game. I find it very realistic and fun. Online matches are great.
  88. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Dear developers!

    Just cut campaign from game. WW2 is really complex and difficult understand. Make good strategy without any trying to make historical game. There is a lot lie from West about USSR, so, you'll spend rather more time to make a historical plot. Just make multi-player. Nothing else. Add more commanders, more mods. Even add more factions. This will be great. But don't make
    Dear developers!

    Just cut campaign from game.
    WW2 is really complex and difficult understand. Make good strategy without any trying to make historical game. There is a lot lie from West about USSR, so, you'll spend rather more time to make a historical plot.
    Just make multi-player. Nothing else. Add more commanders, more mods. Even add more factions. This will be great. But don't make campaign.

    I played in beta and I'm very glad by atmosphere (special thanks for "Za Rodinu! Za Stalina!" shout) and by gameplay. I known that campaign will be so I waited only multiplayer. And now there is chance that I wont play to CoH2, because of bunch of idiots in RF. You did great work, but campaign was great mistake. I'll say again: just cut off campaign from game and everything will be OK.
    Expand
  89. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    A worthy sequel to the original Company of Heroes games, it seems to strike a good balance of Single and Multi-player aspects.. I admit the RRP is expensive but if you shop around you can get it cheaper, a lot of people are moaning about the DLC but this is unlocked in game and mainly cosmetic,

    I admit I dislike the RPG elements of levelling up, in most games mainly because I do not
    A worthy sequel to the original Company of Heroes games, it seems to strike a good balance of Single and Multi-player aspects.. I admit the RRP is expensive but if you shop around you can get it cheaper, a lot of people are moaning about the DLC but this is unlocked in game and mainly cosmetic,

    I admit I dislike the RPG elements of levelling up, in most games mainly because I do not the time or patience to grind for suitable unlocks, but I am not willing to purchase these as well, but a lot of people must do it otherwise this companies wouldn't do it.. I think a lot of peoples concerns is the lack of maps and no in-game lobby system, which I can understand but as I don't play much multiplayer it doesn't concern me a great deal..
    By giving gamers a Beta version which anyone could play, was a clever idea but for a lot of multiplayer only gamers the full version doesn't offer much difference. as a lot would of already hammered the game..

    It must be difficult to get the balance right for both hard core gamers and people who just don't have the time to commit to playing for loads of hours and I think Relic have done a sterling job.
    Expand
  90. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    This is the best RTS in last 5 years. Amazing graphics and sound effects. Great gameplay. Game also has very interesting singleplayer as well as online modes.
  91. Jul 3, 2013
    4
    This game is really not as good as CoH 1, not even close. The number of day 1 DLCs is total joke. I mean WtF??? this game got DLC like it was free to play game, but it is not. AI is also really horrible.
  92. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    The gameplay in COH2 was substantially similar to its predecessor, with a strong emphasis on the micromanagement of individual units: a large army with troops little different or poorly organized will nearly always lead to defeat, forcing the player to properly evaluate which deploy troops on the battlefield At first missions of the campaign, more linear and simple to manage, follow itThe gameplay in COH2 was substantially similar to its predecessor, with a strong emphasis on the micromanagement of individual units: a large army with troops little different or poorly organized will nearly always lead to defeat, forcing the player to properly evaluate which deploy troops on the battlefield At first missions of the campaign, more linear and simple to manage, follow it where other maps broader compel you to calculate and offensive and defensive strategies effectively position their soldiers. The game environment is in fact extremely vivid and lifelike: houses, ruins, vehicles and shelters of all kinds will be used (or destroyed) by our armed forces, and the examination of the play (for example, through the use of snipers) will be a fundamental practice. In particular, the glacial environment of Russia opens the way to new strategies and difficulties to be faced: the snow will slow down the soldiers, the storms will kill them for hypothermia while the ice will be destroyed by drowning in the icy waters those who pass through it. Overall I can assure you that the attention that will be given to the battlefield will always be high. Expand
  93. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    Amazing RTS as its finest.

    Relic knows his way, they are the new 'Westwood' for me for a while since Blizzard started to stop innovating the genre after Warcraft III.

    Rating it 9 because I was expecting a bit more more new stuff after vanilla CoH and CoH Online even though there is still some.
  94. Jul 26, 2013
    6
    "National myths are extremely powerful, and never more so than with World War II. For America, the war validates ideas about the struggle for freedom. For Britain, it represents pluck against terrible odds. For France, the nobility of resistance. In Russia, it is about the necessity of sacrifice" Colin Campbell, polygon.com
    It's not a bad game, but this game hurt our feelings. No
    "National myths are extremely powerful, and never more so than with World War II. For America, the war validates ideas about the struggle for freedom. For Britain, it represents pluck against terrible odds. For France, the nobility of resistance. In Russia, it is about the necessity of sacrifice" Colin Campbell, polygon.com
    It's not a bad game, but this game hurt our feelings. No brainwashing. It's history of our grandfathers, our history, but Relic doesn't respect it. Maybe this user score reminds to him, whose honor they are vilified. Thank you, Relic!
    Expand
  95. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    The game is great for those players, who have never ever been played CoH before. All other old long termed hardcore CoH1 Players is it disappointing. There are a couple of reasons for disappointments:
    - KI feels unfinished, mainly because the soldiers of any kind of fraction dies to quick and they are running partially all over the place, to cover soldiers behind walls etc. is not
    The game is great for those players, who have never ever been played CoH before. All other old long termed hardcore CoH1 Players is it disappointing. There are a couple of reasons for disappointments:
    - KI feels unfinished, mainly because the soldiers of any kind of fraction dies to quick and they are running partially all over the place, to cover soldiers behind walls etc. is not possible.
    - Graphics still on the first release of 2006, in highest settings this game is unplayable even on a high end pc
    - The gameplay without a proper setup of function keys is absolutely rubbish and I believe after thinking of some other SEGA releases, that it seems to be a big internal SEGA issue.
    But: It is still Company of Heroes and I have to wait what sega/relic will do on the update front for this game. I like it, but I am not happy with it.
    Expand
  96. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    I'm going through these reviews and all i can see are people complaining about the graphics being only 5% better, performance being crap, no sli support, also people are saying this game is racist to Russians?
    Russia lost about 30 million people in world war 2, half of those were soldiers, also have you people heard about the battles around Stalingrad? the Soviet Union lost 1,129,000
    I'm going through these reviews and all i can see are people complaining about the graphics being only 5% better, performance being crap, no sli support, also people are saying this game is racist to Russians?
    Russia lost about 30 million people in world war 2, half of those were soldiers, also have you people heard about the battles around Stalingrad? the Soviet Union lost 1,129,000 soldiers during that battle, Order No. 277 meant that if you tried to retreat you were shot, no matter the odds that were against you, Order No. 270 meant that even if you were encircled by enemy forces if you tried to surrender you became a traitor and you family was executed. This is how things were so everyone stop complaining about that. Now with the performance issues i am running the game on a gt 630 4gb v-ram, It is running fine at 1680x1050 on higher image quality, highest on everything else but AA, which is on low, so i don't know what is wrong there as i am getting a solid 30fps a second. Also stop with the zeros, a game with a zero is an unplayable mess with no ui, 16 bit graphics, etc, not a decent if not good AAA title. This game is not equal to aliens colonial marines. Overall i believe this is an improvement over the first one, a more streamlined command system and a very well designed true vision system. I can not give this game a 10 as there are still crashing issues and the music plays through cut scenes and other moments which it is clearly not supposed to be there, overall this game is worth the price and is a worthy addition to the series
    Expand
  97. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    COH2 is a solid RTS with terrifying and gritty battlefield ambiance. In the explosions and gunfire, you can feel the thrill and panic of positions being overrun, of the enemy turning your flank, of ordering your squads into defensive positions to stem the enemy's advance.

    A lot of the negative reviews I see have to do with the main campaign and its outcome. Possibly the campaign says
    COH2 is a solid RTS with terrifying and gritty battlefield ambiance. In the explosions and gunfire, you can feel the thrill and panic of positions being overrun, of the enemy turning your flank, of ordering your squads into defensive positions to stem the enemy's advance.

    A lot of the negative reviews I see have to do with the main campaign and its outcome. Possibly the campaign says things people don't like or agree with, hence a negative review. I personally haven't played much of the campaign, but I've played a lot of the multiplayer, and I can vouch that the multiplayer aspect is fun and well developed.

    It's an excellent RTS, though perhaps the price could be a bit lower for what you receive...
    Expand
  98. Jul 25, 2013
    5
    This game is a disappointment. It feels more like a Company of Heroes 1 expansion than an actual sequel. There are a few new game play elements with deep snow and lakes with breakable ice being great fun. The Blizzard mechanic on the other hand is a mixed bag of tricks, it causes problems with some graphics cards and having units die from cold after a short period of time took away gameThis game is a disappointment. It feels more like a Company of Heroes 1 expansion than an actual sequel. There are a few new game play elements with deep snow and lakes with breakable ice being great fun. The Blizzard mechanic on the other hand is a mixed bag of tricks, it causes problems with some graphics cards and having units die from cold after a short period of time took away game play value from me personally.

    On the Multiplayer side of things the game lacks almost everything you've come to expect from a modern RTS. There are no Ladders and no lobby. The game will happily put level 5 players up against level 50 players. Level doesn't matter much though, because unlike the excellent Company of Heroes Online there is no account progression which is something I personally sorely missed. To make matters worse most of the players favour Germans, and since Germans can't fight Germans you'll be sitting in queue for quite a long time between games unless you play as Russians.

    The single player side of things is a joke. The actual missions aren't bad, but the Red army is portrayed in a very bad light. In Company of Heroes 1 it was obvious you played as heroes but in this sequel the Russians are the Hollywood version. Basically this means that instead of getting Soviet heroes you're getting James Bond villains.

    Overall I think it's a game you can easily pass by unless you really loved Company of Heroes 1.
    Expand
  99. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Good game and good story. Props to the makers who made a realistic story and good game play.
    I find this game much better than COH 1, i play that as-well, i am still waiting for the rest of the missions and for the pre purchase reward.
  100. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    I`m just wondering why reviewers don`t mention lack of multiplayer lobby or option to choose annihilate. You can only automach VP games or play custom games with friends. There is no option to play custom multiplayer game with random people. For me as a veteran of CoH 1 its game breaking. After playing dozens of multiplayer matches I must say that i`m a little disappointed. At some pointI`m just wondering why reviewers don`t mention lack of multiplayer lobby or option to choose annihilate. You can only automach VP games or play custom games with friends. There is no option to play custom multiplayer game with random people. For me as a veteran of CoH 1 its game breaking. After playing dozens of multiplayer matches I must say that i`m a little disappointed. At some point you encounter hard core players and multi stops being fun. I`ve expected improvement upon CoH 1 not a step back. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 82
  2. Negative: 2 out of 82
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    Company of Heroes 2 is curiously forgettable as single player, even though cliched horrors of war and overdose of fake accents try their best. As a multiplayer it shines, although beginners usually think otherwise. [Aug 2013]
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Relic Entertainment cleared the hurdle the original game set as far as I'm concerned. Tweaking, remoulding and teasing out the underlying systems of the original, and then layering things like cold weather, may not set the world on fire like the original Company of Heroes did but it's still a solid strategy game and with the right support and continued release of content I can see it living on for quite some time.
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    60
    Everything its predecessor was: an intense and enjoyable RTS that gives you the feeling of really being an armchair general. It is just unfortunate that after waiting so long for a sequel, it doesn't offer too much in the way of innovation.