• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 5688 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is 1941 and the beginning of what will become the most brutal conflict of World War II, as Germany launches a full-scale invasion of the frozen tundra of the Soviet Union which would result in over 14 million military casualties. Take command of the iconic Soviet Red Army in brutal frontline warfare to free Mother Russia from the invading Nazis. Your strategic skills and tactical expertise hold the power to tip the very balance of this conflict in the sequel to the critically acclaimed and multi award-winning Company of Heroes. Engage in visceral tactical combat that will define you as a military leader and challenge you to wield the might of the Soviet Empire as you smash your way to Berlin. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 82
  2. Negative: 2 out of 82
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    100
    [A] shining example of what an RTS game should be: a mix of classic mechanics with new features and technology.
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    90
    He who does not sweat through at least a T-shirt in an online game of Company of Heroes 2 has already lost or has a downright frosty soul.
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    Company of Heroes 2 is curiously forgettable as single player, even though cliched horrors of war and overdose of fake accents try their best. As a multiplayer it shines, although beginners usually think otherwise. [Aug 2013]
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    80
    It’s a beautiful, gritty and spectacular strategy game, and while it doesn’t do much particularly new, it doesn’t have to.
  5. 80
    Band of Brothers of the Eastern Front. An atmospheric, intensive and exciting game proving a real-time strategy is not a dead genre. [Issue#231]
  6. Jun 26, 2013
    80
    But despite some minor misfires, the core gameplay is stronger than ever, and while it may not break the kind of new ground the original did, Company of Heroes 2 is still a terrific RTS with a ton of content that no fan of the genre should miss.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    20
    Company of Heroes 2 might be the steepest tumble from game design genius to crassly missing the point that I’ve ever seen.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    People are hypocrits. When DoW II came out people kicked and screamed that it was completely changed from the original. Now Relic takes a well working formula and makes it even better yet people complain. Funny how Blizzard has taken RTS gameplay from 1998, put a fresh coat of paint on it and people were all over it. But Relic takes a much deeper and demanding game but no, they're not allowed? Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Company of Heroes 2, despite what many naysayers will claim, is not a bad game. If there had never been an original Company of Heroes and Company of Heroes 2 was released on its own the game would score very well; however, it is following a very tough act.

    The remarkable innovations of the original game are still evident in Company of Heroes 2, and the game itself continues to take steps forwards with new and innovative features such as the ColdTech and the TrueSight mechanics. It is fun, and it is enjoyable.

    But it is not the original Company of Heroes, and I think that is what everyone is going to think when they sit down to play this game. Though all of the aspects of what made the original great are here (the game's engine is gorgeous, the audio is fantastic, gameplay is fresh and innovative, the multiplayer is balanced-ish) the game ultimately falls short of what diehard Company of Heroes players were expecting, because it is impossible to recreate the experience of the original while still making changes, which is what any development studio has to do in order to stay competitive.

    The only actual failing of the game, in my opinion, is that of the multiplayer. Though the multiplayer itself is balanced enough to be enjoyable for the moment and will become more balanced over the next four or five months, the approach to the online atmosphere seems to be directed at cooperative play and online play versus AI. The inclusion of the Theater of War mode was well-done and adds an enjoyable amount of replayability to the single-player side of the game.

    While I can understand the decision to go the Theater of War-way, as most people who played the original Company of Heroes and its subsequent expansions preferred cooperative play against AI opponents, I feel as though the more competitive side of the online community has been neglected. There are, as far as I have been able to see, no noticeable improvements in the Company of Heroes 2 automatch features, and there seems to have been no real forethought into supporting competitive online play down the road.

    All of the games in the Company of Heroes series have always been too slow paced to ever be treated as a proper e-sport, but I think that in this modern day and age when e-sports are on the cusp of becoming big, it was a serious mistake on Relic's part not to have been proactive in attempting to make Company of Heroes 2 a competitive online game.

    All in all, however, the game is a solid investment and, in spite of any personal grumblings I have about the lack of foresight on the behalf of the game's developers, the multiplayer is a solid component of the game and complements the single player campaign and theater of war aspects well.

    If you played the original and loved it, give this one some time. It is still fun, though you may experience some culture shock in adapting to this new game. If you never played the first game, but enjoy real-time strategy games, you'll find Company of Heroes 2 to be a great experience.

    8/10
    Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    2
    I write my review to rate this game 0, so seems fun when I can't rate it without typing some words. And review must be at least 150 characters long. Done.
    Update: Are you kidding? "Error 503 Service Unavailable"
    Ok, I'll rate 1 for it.
    Update: Are you kidding again? "Error 503 Service Unavailable"
    Ok, I'll rate 2 for it.
    Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Blitzkrieg was way way better. This is just a garbage game that was created by Nazi's. Horrid graphics and optimization. I was so excited for this game, only to have it turn out to be garbage. I'm glad I never bought it. Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    0
    This is an world imperialist propaganda. Trying to dismiss the Great Soviet Victory over nazi Germany. For a long time they are doing it and now it comes to the game industry. Do not repeat Hitler mistakes. Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    0
    I thought it's impossible to make more anti-historic and russophobic thing than the notorious movie "Enemy at the Gate". I was wrong. The creators of Company of Heroes 2 went way beyond thas. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Typical Western propaganda, this game has no historical evidence and the russian's in this game are supposed to be braindead idiots strange how they won the war with such idiots in command). This game actually has an option to also burn soviet villages with people inside using soviet soldiers what a load of dribble, if anyone is to do any research even basic it is in fact the nazi's who burnt entire villages down with people inside them, in Belarus alone over 260 villages were burnt). But who cares right, who cares about remembering the heroes who fought the war in a good light, lets picture them as unbelievable imbeciles. BAD GAME. Expand

See all 1872 User Reviews