• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2007
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 224

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is quite an old game but maybe somebody will still decide to buy it know. This is THE best RTS game ever. The single player is very good but multiplayer is grand. The newer games like warhammer series may have a more detailed graphics but they fill to me more like an childish arcade game. In CoH you have by far more tactila options, there is a greater variety of different troops. IThis is quite an old game but maybe somebody will still decide to buy it know. This is THE best RTS game ever. The single player is very good but multiplayer is grand. The newer games like warhammer series may have a more detailed graphics but they fill to me more like an childish arcade game. In CoH you have by far more tactila options, there is a greater variety of different troops. I really hope that we will see a new addition to this franchise. Expand
  2. CarlosVasquez
    Mar 9, 2008
    4
    El mejor juego que he jugado, pero tiene muchos parches y actualizaciones,lo mismo de windows; hacen el producto mal y despues sacan 1000 actualizaciones; es el juego con más errores que he visto en mi vida y ni se diga de poner usuario y password para jugar la campaña individual.
  3. Atz.
    Aug 18, 2009
    0
    Cannot play a single player, offline game without crawling under the desk and yanking my network cable, due to an idiotic authentication system which demands I sign in if any internet connection is present. Why is there no option to just play with the CD in the drive, as you can do with no internet connection at all? Nor does it actually have any warning that this will be the case on the Cannot play a single player, offline game without crawling under the desk and yanking my network cable, due to an idiotic authentication system which demands I sign in if any internet connection is present. Why is there no option to just play with the CD in the drive, as you can do with no internet connection at all? Nor does it actually have any warning that this will be the case on the box. Will be returning product, refusing to purchase any further Relic games in case they employ the same stupid system. Expand
  4. TakeshiJ.
    Dec 28, 2007
    6
    I loved the first one, expecially the online features, but this game is great. Awesome graphics, game play, and sounds, but unfortunatly quite bugy. Online play can be quite irritating if objects are rainbow coloured, units won't move, or shortcut keys are locked up. Other parts need to be ballenced more, British artilliry is really irritating if it can hit your German headquarters I loved the first one, expecially the online features, but this game is great. Awesome graphics, game play, and sounds, but unfortunatly quite bugy. Online play can be quite irritating if objects are rainbow coloured, units won't move, or shortcut keys are locked up. Other parts need to be ballenced more, British artilliry is really irritating if it can hit your German headquarters all the tie, killing whoever is there or repairing it. Relic made a good choice to create an expansion to the original CoH, but they didn't quite get the bugs and ballances quite right. Expand
  5. MatthewC.
    Feb 9, 2008
    1
    Nice game but absolutely disgusted with over-the-top anti-pirating protection. Since most other game publishers/creators don't need to go to these ridiculous lengths, why does THQ/Relic? It's greedy and just creates bad feeling. I will henceforth steer away from THQ/Relic in the future.
  6. JJJ
    Feb 4, 2009
    3
    Your typical zerg rts game. Nothing special here at all. Get really boring quickly. You can mount no defense, computer just zergs with tanks, you have no counter. I want my money back.
  7. TimothyT.
    Mar 30, 2009
    0
    Shoddy support, terrible matchmaking, horrible (just awful) patches. Relic has proven, once again, that they can make an amazing game and turn it into utter rubbish. I played Brits for months, and Relic hates them. A truly amazing game gutted and ruined by the Relic team.
  8. Phil
    Dec 24, 2009
    10
    I've been playing company of heroes since day one and by far this is an amazing addition. Who ever says the match making system is bad and its just a zerg RTS does not know how to play the game and is horrible. Like others say, I believe this game tops some of the most popular RTS's out there and the multiplayer is very addicting and competitive. Yes the match making system can I've been playing company of heroes since day one and by far this is an amazing addition. Who ever says the match making system is bad and its just a zerg RTS does not know how to play the game and is horrible. Like others say, I believe this game tops some of the most popular RTS's out there and the multiplayer is very addicting and competitive. Yes the match making system can be scewed at times, but only at midnight to 8 AM where no one plays. Again, who ever says this game is bad is just bad at the game. Graphics and physics are enjoyable and very little bugs. I would never take the time to write this crappy review for any other game but this one. Expand
  9. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    One of the WORST!!! Games i have ever played... just a bad camera position, far too close to get a good overview, especially because you have to micro your soldiers all the time!! all of your units... they get nothing done and often do things first after the 3rd or 4th direction. They are unable to find the shortest way and some times just run in with enemy fire instead of attacking, veryOne of the WORST!!! Games i have ever played... just a bad camera position, far too close to get a good overview, especially because you have to micro your soldiers all the time!! all of your units... they get nothing done and often do things first after the 3rd or 4th direction. They are unable to find the shortest way and some times just run in with enemy fire instead of attacking, very unuseful for a mortar for example. The online don't run anyway and there is no support... i am scared of THQ giving their name for such a crap. If you want do something good, don't buy this! Expand
  10. JASONCROOK
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    well if this update is as good as the main game,then all i can say s uhhh thank you,i found the main game,great and the graphics ect where out of this would also the talking or shouting you get,language i find great.but only downfall about the hole game is that there are no updates to play maps on it or even upload new skirmich maps,the campaign is also short lived there could be more.well if this update is as good as the main game,then all i can say s uhhh thank you,i found the main game,great and the graphics ect where out of this would also the talking or shouting you get,language i find great.but only downfall about the hole game is that there are no updates to play maps on it or even upload new skirmich maps,the campaign is also short lived there could be more. other wise i realy am happy that i decided to get this game.

    i think the puplicher of this game should make it easer to get updates and new maps ect ect....but thank you
    Expand
  11. MisterYoon1
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    I assure that the game and the skills of Relic is the best, but its management is still one of the worst ever. The prove is, as you can see, Relic made the orst failure with Company Of Heroes, which could be one of the best and one of the most successful game. And it's all because of suck management, ignorance of player's suggestion(example: still no observer system), and suck I assure that the game and the skills of Relic is the best, but its management is still one of the worst ever. The prove is, as you can see, Relic made the orst failure with Company Of Heroes, which could be one of the best and one of the most successful game. And it's all because of suck management, ignorance of player's suggestion(example: still no observer system), and suck patches. But the game is still the best, so there is still lots of players(of course, far less than the expectation) and still have lots of possibility. I hope that relic to keep tracking this game and make it better Expand
  12. JanR.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Excellent in all aspects: Good learning curve Good pace Good graphics Ballanced Nice "physics" effects (recoil, item/building destruction, shell deflection) Good AI Nice online matching system Flaws: Not enough multiplay maps (subjective feeling) Czech version patch makes problems sometimes Not very stable at 4+ players + AI (as of 2007-09, may be patched soon enough) Recommend to all RTS Excellent in all aspects: Good learning curve Good pace Good graphics Ballanced Nice "physics" effects (recoil, item/building destruction, shell deflection) Good AI Nice online matching system Flaws: Not enough multiplay maps (subjective feeling) Czech version patch makes problems sometimes Not very stable at 4+ players + AI (as of 2007-09, may be patched soon enough) Recommend to all RTS fans out there, definitely worth a buy! ;) Expand
  13. FrankG.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    This is already above and beyond what anyone should expect for an expansion. The fact that it is also a stand alone and can be played without the original is a nice bonus as anyone interested in picking up the awesome Company of Heroes game can be informed and choose what factions they'd prefer (if for some reason they don't want both...)
  14. R.H.
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    A worthy sequel to the original. The British appeal more to the turtle defensive players and the Panzer Elite appeal more towards the offensive players, which brings many different combinations that you can do with the older American and Wehrmacht factions. The game does have some bugs and balance issues but Relic is going to be working hard to fix them. THQ forced Relic to release the A worthy sequel to the original. The British appeal more to the turtle defensive players and the Panzer Elite appeal more towards the offensive players, which brings many different combinations that you can do with the older American and Wehrmacht factions. The game does have some bugs and balance issues but Relic is going to be working hard to fix them. THQ forced Relic to release the game two months early so it's not there fault at all. If I had to think of one thing that would make me buy this game again it would be the German campaign on Operation Market Garden. It's very cool that you can FINALLY see the war in the German's point of view. It gets very old and boring playing the allies all the time. Don Expand
  15. AdamW.
    Oct 4, 2007
    7
    This definitely feels more like a full game release and less like an expansion pack. After playing both scenarios (Panzer Elite and Brit's) you definitely feel like it was money and time well spent. When it comes to playing multiplayer it's a completely different story. There are so many bugs and issues waiting to be patched that this game only deserves a 7 at best(If This definitely feels more like a full game release and less like an expansion pack. After playing both scenarios (Panzer Elite and Brit's) you definitely feel like it was money and time well spent. When it comes to playing multiplayer it's a completely different story. There are so many bugs and issues waiting to be patched that this game only deserves a 7 at best(If multiplayer was working properly,9.5). Expand
  16. P.F.
    Oct 5, 2007
    8
    I have been playing only SP for now, and i love the new sides. They are quite different from the first opus ones. The brits (love the voices) with the lieuts, captain and tank commander giving the att/def bonus, plus the command point costly but efficient defense, and the Panzer Elite wich I really like becasue I am an infanry fanboi. Panzer Elites have some good heavy armors too, but if I have been playing only SP for now, and i love the new sides. They are quite different from the first opus ones. The brits (love the voices) with the lieuts, captain and tank commander giving the att/def bonus, plus the command point costly but efficient defense, and the Panzer Elite wich I really like becasue I am an infanry fanboi. Panzer Elites have some good heavy armors too, but if you like Blitzkrieg tactics, these are for you. Soldiers can repair and Halftrack can regarnison squads. On the other side, I got some crash (hate to play an hour without saving and to redo everything), and some missions are not THAT good. Expand
  17. Raoul
    Oct 10, 2007
    8
    Very good multiplayer, took me a long time to work a strategy from the new battle groups, with their strengths and weaknesses. Single player is deff not as intense as the first coh, yet the ai is slightly smarter. great game, that took a little getting my arse kicked to work out the kinks, and fully enjoy.
  18. RonaldE.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best, if not the best, RTS's to date and needs to be put in a hallof fame somewhere.
  19. ThomasH.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    Great addition to CoH. Game updates provided by developer seem to be problematic though. The latest patch refuses to install.
  20. KenL.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    As a fan of Dawn of War, my anticipations for Company of Heroes was to say the least sky high. And when that game hit the market I bought, played it through, and have been playing it on the net ever since. Opposing Fronts was an exspansion I was looking forward to. New units, new maps etc etc is all fine, but it was the small tweaks to the original game that I really liked. Smarter tank As a fan of Dawn of War, my anticipations for Company of Heroes was to say the least sky high. And when that game hit the market I bought, played it through, and have been playing it on the net ever since. Opposing Fronts was an exspansion I was looking forward to. New units, new maps etc etc is all fine, but it was the small tweaks to the original game that I really liked. Smarter tank Ai for instance is a real kicker :P The graphics and gameplay is exceptional, probably the best off all the rts out there. Opposing Fronts is worth your money! Buy it! Expand
  21. TonyB.
    Oct 14, 2007
    0
    I bought this game.Upon installation game demanded an update but would not allow me to do so.Obviously I was disappointed and returned it.This has been released without propper testing.Beware.
  22. GrantG.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    The addition of two new armies make the company of heroes experience just that much better.
  23. AndreasD.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    OF is quite sweet. Now with 4 armies which makes online play very exciting when playing 2 VS 2 or more.
  24. BillyE.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    A worthy sequel, improved vehicle AI makes it much easier to manage. One problem is that the missions reuse maps. I would love to see more variety but its only a minor problem. Imbalance issues are present. In my own personal experience, the Artillery range for the British vehicles is way too far. When your American, and your weak vehicles are charging, it is frustrating to see them all A worthy sequel, improved vehicle AI makes it much easier to manage. One problem is that the missions reuse maps. I would love to see more variety but its only a minor problem. Imbalance issues are present. In my own personal experience, the Artillery range for the British vehicles is way too far. When your American, and your weak vehicles are charging, it is frustrating to see them all blow up in a firestorm of artillery. Expand
  25. AndersL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    I thing the documentation is not good. It would be better with more info about all tasks for every mission. Now you have to find out yourself what type of defenses to implement.
  26. TokeN.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Best game I ever played. Been playing every day for 6 months and counting.
  27. MichaelM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Rocks, is better than World In Conflict.
  28. SaschaP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Not perfect, but the best RTS I've seen so far.
  29. DariasK.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    This is the most diverse, well balanced, and fulfilling RTS I've seen in years. Endless complexity is possible for knife-edge gameplay, yet a basic game is deeply fulfilling. The Tactical depth available is complimented perfectly with cutting edge graphics, and an immersive soundscape.
  30. NigelP.
    Apr 19, 2008
    10
    The best RTS I have played, I official got back into COH in August when the Expansion was released. This is better than starcraft, warcraft III, World in Conflict, and any other RTS I can think of. Unlike some people such as Matthew C. you have to buy the game to enjoy it. The fun comes from the multiplayer, its highly addicting. Best RTS graphics, Best Squad AI I have ever seen, the The best RTS I have played, I official got back into COH in August when the Expansion was released. This is better than starcraft, warcraft III, World in Conflict, and any other RTS I can think of. Unlike some people such as Matthew C. you have to buy the game to enjoy it. The fun comes from the multiplayer, its highly addicting. Best RTS graphics, Best Squad AI I have ever seen, the voice over is amazing. This is the only RTS that surpasses blizzard entertainment. I switched to this game from BF2 to this. Their are so many roles to use in this game. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. With its generous two new campaigns and refined online capabilities, there’ll certainly be no argument from us that it’s nothing less than an essential purchase.
  2. Doesn’t do anything terribly interesting outside of adding two new factions (a defensive British division and a highly mobile German counterpart). The added campaigns are very average, but will no doubt be entertaining enough to satisfy the needs of offline-focused players. By all means, grab Opposing Fronts if you simply need more CoH – just don’t expect anything particularly revolutionary here.
  3. Sure, games such as "Supreme Commander" push the science-fiction RTS genre in cool new directions, but the World War II RTS genre has yet to learn the lessons of Company of Heroes. With Opposing Fronts, THQ and Relic keep a great thing going.