Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Contrast is a 2D/3D puzzle platformer in which you can shift between the striking 3D fantasy world and the mysterious 2D shadowscape.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    With a very well made atmosphere, a good storyline and a high quality Jazz soundtrack, Compulsion Game's title takes the player in a very seductive world. But the true strong point of the game is in its addictive gameplay, the possibility to shift between 2D and 3D serves both the game and the story by providing us with a peep of the real world, seen through a game of shadows. Without being flawless, Contrast manages to be a very good platform game that will win the hearts of most gamers for sure.
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    70
    Contrast is a nice puzzle game with an amazing art direction but not so amazing gameplay. The dualism between light and darkness is nice, as the setting, a noir grotesque version of the ‘20s, but the game itself lacks on the technical side, and, after a while, even the puzzles become boring.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    If you cannot think outside the new game genres, try at least some unusual combination with the current ones. That's the message of the artistic arcade game Contrast. It's a character-driven piece of work where two gaming styles along with their atmospheres unite. However, it's lacking both in richer content and more enjoyable controls to reach excellence.
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    60
    When it works, Contrast is a beautifully executed vaudevillian tale of sadness and intrigue, but when it doesn’t, the frustrating glitches and awkward controls will drive you mad.
  5. 60
    Simple, yet poetic game of shadows and light, which would benefit from a little more polish, so it wouldn’t grate on its players’ nerves. [Issue#237]
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    60
    Contrast is a game with a beautiful mood, great music and a lovely film noir-inspired visuals. The plattforming and gameplay is mediocre, with few and short highlights.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    45
    Many of Contrast’s individuals parts are beautiful, special, funny and even a little profound. Viewed as a whole though, with a little distance, the end result is confusing and difficult to look at. Contrast is rushed, messy, and, just like that, it’s done.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Waited 2 years for this game and i loved playing it. Soundtrack is great. Hope there will be a DLC available soon, cause the game has only stunning 5 hours of playtime. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    Contrast is amazing! Really incredible art, emotionally engaging story, and seriously fun shadow mechanic make this game something of a rarity. I can't express how underrated I think this game actually is. Granted there are minor technical hiccups and the game is short, but it was also made by a really small independent team, and none of the glitches I encountered were game breaking. All in all highly recommended! Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    This is a great game with moderately challenging puzzles. The texture and art style made me droll, as it is fantastic. The dialogue was also great making me really bond with the characters. The story line and game concept blew my mind, and I truly believe it will blow yours as well. I can not stop listening to the sound track either. The only downfall the game has is that it is only five short but amazing hours long, depressing me that it is over. Over all this game is just simply brilliant. I highly recommend it. It will blow your mind. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    Contrast is a very unique game. While it did get a bit glitchy at times when moving the boxes or getting stuck on something at random. It's a really great game, the story with Didi and her parents really gets you into the world of Contrast. While it's a short game, you have trouble putting it down, even when the puzzles seem impossible or downright confusing, it's the story that pushes you to want to keep playing. And let me say, what an experience.

    It's definitely worth the $15. It took me about 3 hours to beat the game, but going back, getting the collectibles and achievements makes it all the more worth the extra hours. Also worth mentioning, this game is absolutely gorgeous, you really get a sense of truly being in 1920's Paris. I'd definitely recommend this game to people who likes puzzle games such as Portal.

    I give it at 8/10
    Expand
  5. May 5, 2014
    7
    If you are into Jazz, Contrast is worth playing just for the sake of the soundtrack.

    If the premise of a bluesy, gloomy, artsy, early
    1900's Paris atmosphere - which this game reflects brilliantly - doesn't particularly appeal to you, you might want to think twice.

    Contrast's gameplay is entirely based around blending 2D and 3D. It's a good idea, fits well with the semi-magical atmosphere, but unfortunately doesn't feel like it's been used to the full potential. The biggest challenges lie in the 2D platformers, whilst the 3D part feels underexploited (and the keyboard controls clunky - this was clearly designed for a controller). The 3D world just serves as an aid to model the 2D world, or as a link to reach the next 2D surface. At some moments, you feel like it's almost there and regret what the game could have become if the 2D and 3D had been made to blend in a bit more crazily.

    Some of the puzzles are brilliant, some of them just about mediocre, but it all ends too soon. The game is extremely short (only 3 levels, count about an hour each). WIth no extra difficulty or challenge, with all collectible lying out in plain sight of the linear path, the replay value relies on just one thing: the really compelling atmosphere, characters, and the excellent voice acting.
    Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    великолепна. Геймплей легкий. Очень задание. Не интересно. Существуют 8.
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    2
    I was quite enjoying the game for the first 30 minutes until I shifted somewhere I apparently wasn't supposed to and got stuck literally in the middle of a wall. After recovering from save the game forgot to give me back the "luminaries" I collected to the point making progress impossible.
    What is it with game companies lately? I understand its a small independent developer and cannot afford a proper QA department but just get one of your children to play through and get rid of at least the obvious critical bugs before releasing.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews