Contrast Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Contrast is a 2D/3D puzzle platformer in which you can shift between the striking 3D fantasy world and the mysterious 2D shadowscape.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Contrast - Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    80
    With a very well made atmosphere, a good storyline and a high quality Jazz soundtrack, Compulsion Game's title takes the player in a very seductive world. But the true strong point of the game is in its addictive gameplay, the possibility to shift between 2D and 3D serves both the game and the story by providing us with a peep of the real world, seen through a game of shadows. Without being flawless, Contrast manages to be a very good platform game that will win the hearts of most gamers for sure.
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    70
    Contrast is a nice puzzle game with an amazing art direction but not so amazing gameplay. The dualism between light and darkness is nice, as the setting, a noir grotesque version of the ‘20s, but the game itself lacks on the technical side, and, after a while, even the puzzles become boring.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    If you cannot think outside the new game genres, try at least some unusual combination with the current ones. That's the message of the artistic arcade game Contrast. It's a character-driven piece of work where two gaming styles along with their atmospheres unite. However, it's lacking both in richer content and more enjoyable controls to reach excellence.
  4. Nov 15, 2013
    60
    When it works, Contrast is a beautifully executed vaudevillian tale of sadness and intrigue, but when it doesn’t, the frustrating glitches and awkward controls will drive you mad.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 28, 2013
    60
    Simple, yet poetic game of shadows and light, which would benefit from a little more polish, so it wouldn’t grate on its players’ nerves. [Issue#237]
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    60
    Contrast is a game with a beautiful mood, great music and a lovely film noir-inspired visuals. The plattforming and gameplay is mediocre, with few and short highlights.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    45
    Many of Contrast’s individuals parts are beautiful, special, funny and even a little profound. Viewed as a whole though, with a little distance, the end result is confusing and difficult to look at. Contrast is rushed, messy, and, just like that, it’s done.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Waited 2 years for this game and i loved playing it. Soundtrack is great. Hope there will be a DLC available soon, cause the game has onlyWaited 2 years for this game and i loved playing it. Soundtrack is great. Hope there will be a DLC available soon, cause the game has only stunning 5 hours of playtime. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2017
    9
    The game doesn't take long to complete 4hrs of gameplay but is great along the way. The concept of manoeuvring the game through the shadows toThe game doesn't take long to complete 4hrs of gameplay but is great along the way. The concept of manoeuvring the game through the shadows to get from point A to point B is unique. It makes that the puzzles in the game get a different feel to it. The atmosphere in the game is great with a great soundtrack and nice art style that really sell the game and bring you an intriguing story. It is difficult to put the game away and it wouldn't surprise me if you would play through the game in one sitting. All in all great game which I would recommend everyone to play. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    This game was an excellent puzzle/platformer with some very creative puzzles and very fun platforming sections. It asked the player to look atThis game was an excellent puzzle/platformer with some very creative puzzles and very fun platforming sections. It asked the player to look at and use their environment in interesting ways and did not baby the player with excessive hints. The story element were quite good and the voice acting was also of a high quality. That being said this was by no means a perfect game. When I was trying to figure out a couple puzzles I managed to get myself stuck completely in the environment by trying some odd things and the rest of the physics in general could be kind of shaky. The game needs a bit more bug fixing as one time when I messed up a box puzzle and fell to my doom along with the box, said box failed to respawn and I had to restart the chapter. The biggest problem with the game is that it is far far too short. While the story definitely feels complete and gives a good feel of closure while answer most of the questions the game presents (with the rest being answered by the collection items), all the characters could have been better fleshed out and the themes could have been explored deeper without making the game drag as the pacing of gameplay to story was top notch. Despite all the flaws of the game I still think it was great fun and worth a play through for most people. I hope to see more from Compulsion and hope that they build on what made this game good and give a more full experience next time. Overall I would give this game an 8.5 but metacritic won't let me so I will bump it to 9. Collapse
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    Contrast is a very unique game. While it did get a bit glitchy at times when moving the boxes or getting stuck on something at random. It's aContrast is a very unique game. While it did get a bit glitchy at times when moving the boxes or getting stuck on something at random. It's a really great game, the story with Didi and her parents really gets you into the world of Contrast. While it's a short game, you have trouble putting it down, even when the puzzles seem impossible or downright confusing, it's the story that pushes you to want to keep playing. And let me say, what an experience.

    It's definitely worth the $15. It took me about 3 hours to beat the game, but going back, getting the collectibles and achievements makes it all the more worth the extra hours. Also worth mentioning, this game is absolutely gorgeous, you really get a sense of truly being in 1920's Paris. I'd definitely recommend this game to people who likes puzzle games such as Portal.

    I give it at 8/10
    Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good game overall. The soundtrack is fantastic. The 3D 2D silhouette switching works well for the most part, and some of theThis is a good game overall. The soundtrack is fantastic. The 3D 2D silhouette switching works well for the most part, and some of the puzzles are good. Graphics art style is excellent and very atmospheric. Voice acting is pretty good and contains some professional actors (Elias Toufexis, Bruce Dinsmore & Vanessa Matsui, etc).

    I would have given it 80-85%, but sadly it gets only 70% due to a number of game-breaking bugs (mostly clipping collision detection issues, ie, getting stuck in the floor after jumping down from a height or an object in the wall (especially in some areas of the circus). It's not broken as in "you can't finish it", but expect to reload a few times in one or two areas if you bump into the "wrong" thing. It's a shame as the game has a "fresh" feel to it, is very atmospheric and would have been superb had it been released bug free.
    Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    великолепна.
    Геймплей легкий.
    Очень задание. Не интересно. Существуют 8.
    великолепна.
    Геймплей легкий.
    Очень задание.

    Не интересно.
    Существуют 8.
  7. Nov 16, 2013
    2
    I was quite enjoying the game for the first 30 minutes until I shifted somewhere I apparently wasn't supposed to and got stuck literally inI was quite enjoying the game for the first 30 minutes until I shifted somewhere I apparently wasn't supposed to and got stuck literally in the middle of a wall. After recovering from save the game forgot to give me back the "luminaries" I collected to the point making progress impossible.
    What is it with game companies lately? I understand its a small independent developer and cannot afford a proper QA department but just get one of your children to play through and get rid of at least the obvious critical bugs before releasing.
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews