Cortex Command PC

Cortex Command Image
Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mine precious gold from the deformable pixel terrain in order to buy more and better ships, soldiers, weapons, digging tools, and deployable defenses. Use these assets to defend your disembodied brain and bankrupt your opponent! Old-school 2D sidescroller pixel graphics coupled with anMine precious gold from the deformable pixel terrain in order to buy more and better ships, soldiers, weapons, digging tools, and deployable defenses. Use these assets to defend your disembodied brain and bankrupt your opponent! Old-school 2D sidescroller pixel graphics coupled with an extremely detailed physics simulation makes for a mix of nostalgia and surprising gameplay. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    65
    Despite some issues with the price and the struggling about understanding the mechanics behind it, Cortex Command is simply a good retro-looking game.
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    Cortex Command is brilliant, but unfortunately still incomplete. The strong community is trying to fix the many problems the games has, but as of now it still not enough. For almost twenty euros we can recommend the game only to the most patient gamers.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    50
    Playing Cortex Command breaks my heart. With online multiplayer, improved AI, more scenarios and a more fleshed out campaign it could be something truly great, but for now it's just a number of cool ideas and great looks grafted onto noticeably repetitious level design and sub-optimal local multiplayer.
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    50
    After a decade of Cortex Command development we've lived to see its "final" version. That alone is a cause to rejoice. Unfortunately, you will be merry until the very moment when you find out the game is still a semi-finished product with a hint of great gameplay.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    40
    In a way, Cortex Command seems like it's asking for a lot of concessions because, for the most part, it still feels like an unfinished game.
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    40
    Occasionally entertaining, but plagued by AI bugs and hamstrung by a clunky user interface. Less than the sum of its parts.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 2, 2012
    30
    An unfinished game that requires much more attention before it can realise its incredible promise. [Dec 2012, p.82]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 14 out of 54
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This is up there in my top 10 games. There is nothing like this in gaming. Give this game 2 hours of your dedicated time, and you will playThis is up there in my top 10 games. There is nothing like this in gaming. Give this game 2 hours of your dedicated time, and you will play for 300+ hours and then... get some mods... Wow another infinite amount of hours right there. All of the best games take time to get used to, if you do not agree with this statement, stick to AAA titles which have been dumbed down at the cost of gameplay. A true gem. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Cortex Command is one of the best and most unique indie games out there. The game can create so many hours of fun for you and your friendsCortex Command is one of the best and most unique indie games out there. The game can create so many hours of fun for you and your friends with the 4 player local co-op or vs. Cortex Command is constantly being developed so more content is on the way so patience is key; However as is this game is great despite a few bugs which are to be expected from a game still in development. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    First off: REALLY IGN?
    Now: This game is great and fun! The game is fun to mod, and if you like games with mods like quake, this would be
    First off: REALLY IGN?
    Now: This game is great and fun! The game is fun to mod, and if you like games with mods like quake, this would be recommended, BUT NOT FOR THE CAMPAIGN. The 2 hour long campaign is very hit and miss, where as there are also difficulty bumps. What are difficulty bumps? Difficulty bumps are where there is a easy level then the next level is REALLY hard, and afterwards and the next level is REALLY EASY, The tutorial, however can be useful and fun. Mods can be crazy and fun, like for example, There is a mod that gives you ALLOT OF CRAP, that can be fun to screw with! Endless Skirmishes can be fun too, and lets not forget multiplayer (It's local ONLY, so a controller MIGHT be recommended). I have heard of some bugs but I never found any. So overall SCREW THE CRITICS THIS GAME IS EPIC, only pay attention to the reviews because of: Bugs? and/or the hit and miss campaign.
    Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    First let me begin by saying what is wrong with the game, for some of these things might make you not want to play the game right off theFirst let me begin by saying what is wrong with the game, for some of these things might make you not want to play the game right off the back, first very poor settings, in the options, you get very basic res options, sound options, and that's basically it. It even lacks a full screen option, it puts the game in a small little windowed mode, of course when the game pops up it clearly states you can put it in full screen by pressing Alt+Enter. This is hardly a problem, but just goes to show how they didn't add some simple options. The games controls are difficult to understand, and even after playing hours of the game, you will still get enraged when you press Esc to close the buy menu and you exit the game. The tutorial is very lacking and you will have to result to youtube to learn how to play. Lastly the A.I. is very poor, but in a game like this i see why, so it doesn't harm the fun I have in this game. For example in the beginning of any campaign almost everyone has at least once flew their drop ship into the enemy brain for an easy victory. There are many ways of defeating the A.I. in a matter of seconds in the start of a match, and if you let him live, winning will be hard, because they spawn units faster than humanly possible. I A.I. will fall into simple holes and take awhile to get out, which the developers have done a very good job of getting around. Now on to the good things. Most of all the bugs don't really harm how much fun you will have with this game, before i even knew how to play, I had a blast with this game, Just the making a hole, hiding in it, poking your head out, shooting something that explodes and ends up killing you with the debris, just a blast. The game has a very fun combat, and when playing with friends (using the same computer because Online isn't in the game) is just a blast. If you set up some simple ground rules, like don't just run your dropship into the other person's brain on game start, and other small rules, you can have a very fun and competitive time with your friends. This game has a decent modding community behind it, which makes the fun last even longer. This game is pretty complicated with the right click button opening up a menu of sorts that allows you to click many commands that you have to use all the time. These commands range from reloading, the buy menu, dropping and picking up guns, changing which gun you are using, and telling the character you are controlling what to do after you control a different character. This game has an interesting mix of managing your own A.I. and playing a character to defeat the enemy A.I.
    All in all, i have had a great time with this game, and if they added Online and made more options to change in the options and made some balancing to the A.I. and how it works, this game would be an easy 10/10
    Thanks for reading hit me up anytime through steam if you have any questions/comments.
    Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    6
    This game has a very unusual concept. In deed, I've never played a game like this before. Unfortunately, Cortex Command feels absolutelyThis game has a very unusual concept. In deed, I've never played a game like this before. Unfortunately, Cortex Command feels absolutely unfinished and unclean. Okay, I've be warned, this game is not yet finished, but after 11 years development, I've expected more. The game control is cumbersome and fuzzy. The AI is disastrous stupid... is mostly unimaginative and never adapts to the game. The campaign makes fun, if we ignore the stupid AI. It turns out to be a kind of tower defense and action-sidescroller mixture that can be a lot of fun.
    The different factions are designed very lovingly and original.
    There is also no lack of weapon variety and equipment for the troops.
    And I like the grafic. But the low content, much bugs, and the bad game control, detract the good expectations and impression of this unusual game immense.
    It hurts when such a good concept after 11 years of development has been so poorly implemented.
    There is no consolation too about the many modifications made ​​by long-time fans for Cortex Command. All in all, and with modifications the game has just tied me up for a week, unfortunately.
    Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    5
    this game is fun but as said in IGN review it is a bunch of cool ideas tied together , no on-line? I am ok whit that but whit out a goodthis game is fun but as said in IGN review it is a bunch of cool ideas tied together , no on-line? I am ok whit that but whit out a good campaign and more missions it have the punctuation that it deserve. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    The game was releases unfinished. It was under the promise that it will be finished. Since over one year, there has not been a single patch orThe game was releases unfinished. It was under the promise that it will be finished. Since over one year, there has not been a single patch or even a word from the developer. He took the money and ran.

    The game has numerous game breaking bugs that can be classified as show stoppers. Given the price of 20$ for this game, this is simply unacceptable.
    Expand

See all 54 User Reviews