User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 85
  2. Negative: 4 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    Double Fine Dose it again! With a funny creative innovate new game! The combat is really fun and the costumes are amazing also with the graphs and jokes! I recommend getting this for halloween (And Christmas) With the Christmas update its amazing
  2. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Double fine has done it again! "Costume Quest" is a creative and adorable Halloween themed adventure game that carefully combines turn-based battles with small RPG elements. It's filled with little morsels of in-jokes, clever dialogue and some truly imaginative visuals. CQ is a unique game that brings back the days of trick-or-treating with the wonder of being something greater the oneDouble fine has done it again! "Costume Quest" is a creative and adorable Halloween themed adventure game that carefully combines turn-based battles with small RPG elements. It's filled with little morsels of in-jokes, clever dialogue and some truly imaginative visuals. CQ is a unique game that brings back the days of trick-or-treating with the wonder of being something greater the one day of the year where costumes bring out the adventurer in all of us. There are a few issues I had with the repetitiveness of the battles but it is so minor compared to the game as a whole. The characters are sweet and brave and their costumes are colorful and reminiscent of home-made costume making. There are two full quests in the game and plenty of achievements to forage for. If you have a need for fun with a Halloween theme you can't do any better than Costume Quest! Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Very nice; a sort of Halloween Zelda mishmash-ed with Final Fantasy but still unique. Very entertaining! You just get caught playing and hours are disappearing with you realizing.
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    This is a really original and great game that is a bit too short and repetitive to be perfect. Finished the main campaign in four hours (haven't played the DLC yet), but loved every minute of it. My advice is buy it, but if you are uncomfortable with the current full price for a short game, pick it up during a sale. You'll most likely not regret it
  5. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Good and creative game. I personally enjoying Double Fine games because they have some good childish craziness. And this one is not an exception.
    But I remove one point because game is too simple and actually you don't need some powers in combat.
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    Adorable story, cute characters and story. This game is brilliant just needs expansions for yearly holidays IMO that should be patched in. The only problem I could ever have with the game is it's semi short. (4hrs for a quick run though 1-2 more if you hunt for everything. But hey, it comes with the expansion on steam which is about another 2-3hrs.)
  7. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Costume Quest is easy on the eyes, witty and very full of life. The music and graphics both pop, the game fits together very well and overall just feels "right". There's enough variety in the game play to keep it fresh, but there are sections where you seem to be going from battle to battle, which really brings out the repetitive nature of the combat.. There were two specific moments inCostume Quest is easy on the eyes, witty and very full of life. The music and graphics both pop, the game fits together very well and overall just feels "right". There's enough variety in the game play to keep it fresh, but there are sections where you seem to be going from battle to battle, which really brings out the repetitive nature of the combat.. There were two specific moments in the game where I couldn't progress any further simply because I couldn't figure out where I was supposed to go., however, that may have just been me. All in all a fun game that's worth your time. Expand
  8. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This game is just another complete rip-off of angry birds. The game itself is exactly the same except the graphics quality is much lower and the gameplay is significantly less user friendly.
  9. Mar 7, 2012
    0
    If you would have asked me if it was possible to turn trick-or-treating into a fun video game, I would have laughed. But after playing Costume Quest, I'm simply left in awe. It is so clever, witty, and charming--a perfect game for kids or just the kid in you. The look, feel and gameplay is somewhat similar to On the Rain-slick Precipice of Darkness. There's a lot of thought that went intoIf you would have asked me if it was possible to turn trick-or-treating into a fun video game, I would have laughed. But after playing Costume Quest, I'm simply left in awe. It is so clever, witty, and charming--a perfect game for kids or just the kid in you. The look, feel and gameplay is somewhat similar to On the Rain-slick Precipice of Darkness. There's a lot of thought that went into the costumes, quests, battle stamps, and the special attacks. I challenge all doubters to say they can't find an enjoyable game in here. Two thumbs up. Collapse
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 2 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    80
    Creativity-infused cartoon combat blends perfectly with trick-or-treating nostalgia to give this humorous little download some tremendous pull.
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    77
    The decision to make a season-specific game deserves recognition, even if the gameplay and script might lack the imagination required by my favorite holiday.