User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9600 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Counter-Strike series is one of the essential games that can improve your reaction and aiming skills in gaming. There are no unlocks, perks, level ups or anything related to these. Just your wrists and your reaction. That's what I love about gaming. If you're looking for a team-play skill-based shooter, then this game will be your perfect choice.
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    There is something for everyone in this game, unique mods/modes, different maps, and it's a blast to play with your friends or alone in a zombie server! Released in 2004, this game is still popular and strong as ever. Sometimes you just find yourself needing a quick fix of some CSS.
  3. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    Excelent calification for an excellent shooter, plays well after so many years it lauched, it's very competitive and the graphics are just fine.

    A must have FPS to play online!
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    It's fast-paced and a little goofy, but it's also very tactical and teamwork based. The learning curve is very steep (the maps are easy to learn, but the shooting system is hard to perfect). The Source engine gives the game a solid feel. And if playing the standard way is not your things, there is a wide variety of custom maps and game types (minigames, zombie mod, jail break, hide n seek, surfing, etc...). Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Amazing game and lots of fun but if you have little or moderate experience with shooters be warned. I have played this game on and off for years, used to be in a bunch of clans which added to the fun. Especially doing scrims against other clans. I would not recommend for the faint of heart due to its competitiveness and the fact that you will get killed alot if your reflexes/hand eye coordination is average. Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    When I first bought Counter Strike Source I remembered all the times that my friends demanded that I try it. Once I did buy it I discovered that it is amazing! While it has a steep learning curve, and I still want an offline mode, I can't stop playing it! It's extremely realistic, with it showing how vulnerable we humans truly are unlike games like Modern Warfare 2 where you seem to be bulletproof at times. In my first CSS game ever, I played de_dust alongside a bunch of people who've been playing for years and while I felt completely out of my league, I never felt useless. I managed to kill an expert with my default 9mm pistol and learned to play better. I must say that CSS is a masterpiece. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing.(This is enough:)
  8. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Much, much better than Call of Duty crap. This is the best online shooter out. With no doubt. The graphics are still nice, and gameplay is awesome. A must-have for PC gamers abroad.
  9. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    Counter-strike Source is a just a classic game.

    Even through the graphic isn't the best, the game play and the actual game is very funny!
    This is defiantly work buying!
  10. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Very good game for the price, this is mainly due to it's endless ways to play. I've played 1110 hours and I'm still having fun. There's literally hundreds of game-modes to play due to the huge community of the game. The community for this game is also fantastic and the amount of user made content is just insane, anyone can download their map making tool, watch some YouTube tutorials and make their own custom content. Although the game is very punishing to new players, I'd say it's one of the hardest FPS' to play, but once you've played this game for a while, you can pretty much pick up any other FPS. Overall I'd recommend you purchase this game, it can suit anyone, there's mini-games for those who enjoy fun over serious game-play and then there's gaming leagues for those who just enjoy fragging. Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    You know how to find the enemies? I cannot find them until I have been dead.But the surrounding is really cool.this is a game,not competitive.Is this the successful STEAM make valve addicted to the business value and forget what makes them great.I think people like to see the FPS reborn, not DOTA2.
  12. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Although this game is not newbie friendly, for the community that has been involved CS since the Betas of the original counter-strike this game is a blast. The most fun I have ever had with a first person shooter. Sure it sucks to wait every round if you die early but this just gives you an incentive to practice and get better so it is not you who has to wait the whole round. The learning curve is not too bad but not too easy. The graphics and physics are nice. The hit boxes could be better but all that can be fixed and adjusted with rates. Most people complaining on here dont know what a console is so they dont know how to adjust any rates and just cry. Expand
  13. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    With almost 150 achievements to collect, hundreds of user made maps, and the constant challenge of improving your K:D, Counter strike is not only one of the hardest but also the most exciting games I ever played. It rivals such hits as Call of Duty, Halo, and Valve's own Team Fortress 2. The game is difficult and new users will quickly learn that this is not your ordinary shooter. It is fast paced and breathtaking. Few things can outdo the strange feeling of accomplishment that you get when you earn your next achievement, or when you punch a hole through a terrorist's head. Each gun has it's own unique advantages and disadvantages.
    Truly, CS:S is a monumental game, and you should thank the forces that be that you can get this game, along with several other of Valve's earlier games for only $30! Now go save the world!
    Expand
  14. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    I can't say that it's much better than cs 1.6 , but it's real fun, and if you are new at it or just, want to be better without playing with others, you can play with bots, that is great.
  15. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Obviously this game's graphics are out dated. Obviously this game's player base is full of pros. Hell, even I only started playing in 2010. However this game is a diamond in the rough for both casual and hardcore gamers. People complain that good players constantly dominate them. And yes, yes they do. Like myself, new players will always need to rise up and play, play, play to reach the point of these 'pros'. To begin, there is no penalty for loosing. There are no leader boards, there are no K/Ds. In failure, you might get some angry words thrown your way, but this is inevitable in a PC community. Nonetheless, you don't even need to start in a 'Reg' or 'Scrim' server. There are a handful of mods to play, like Minigames, JailBreak, DeathRun, Zombie Escape, Napalm, ZRiot, Bunnyhop, Surf, and more. In the midst of having fun while playing these gametypes, you will find your skills gradually climb upwards. This game defines fun in my eyes, sprouting a huge player base and community to fuel it. New players are actually very welcome, and it's just time to beat, not other players. Definitely a game to recommend to anyone looking to divulge into PC gaming. Expand
  16. May 23, 2013
    9
    If you think Call of Duty is competitive don't even bother buying this game. This is for the die hard FPS fans. Huge learning curve. It will take a long time to hone your skills. This game is timeless and one of the most intense shooters ever released.
  17. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    Ce jeu est super, tout est bien fait, les serveurs sont sécurisés, les équipes bien faites, les mini-jeux cool.
    Le -1 viens des grapgiques qui ne sont pas a jour.Je le recommande a tout ceux qui veulent un petit jeu de tir sans payer un triple A 60$
  18. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    An incredible game. It's unlike games such as Modern Warfare 2 (which you can't really compare it to) in the way that you don't have to just do the regular killing enemies. On CS:S, you can do very different and very fun things such as Deathrun, Jail mod, Surf, Minigames, Soccer (football), and much, much more. This game excels in the way of variety, and is just about for me now, the best game out there. And remember, this IS 2010. Expand
  19. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    Although in my own personal opinion, Counter-Strike itself is not the best shooter I've played ( what I mean is, default gamemodes, etc. ). - the modifications make it all the fun. There are so many of them, too. Deathrun, Zombie Mod, Zombie Escape, Jailbreak, Surfing, Gungame - they are the main ones I love. Modifications make this game, and it's definitely worth getting for those reasons alone.

    -1 point because I don't really like the main gamemodes.
    Expand
  20. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    The Best Team based 1st Person shooter on the market, And probably will be for a long time yet. Out of every shooter I've played online.... This is BY FAR the MOST ADDICTIVE! If you don't have it in your collection GET IT! P.S - What are you still doing reading this... GO BUY IT NOW I SAID! Go Go Go! Frag Out! =P ha ha ha ha ha!
  21. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    I've had so much fun on this game and have spent hundreds of hours on this game, shifting from gun game, to zombie mods, deathrun, deathmatch, normal team deathmatch, bunnyhop servers, you name it. This game is beyond amazing and is great fun at LAN parties. This is one of my all time favourite games, and even though there are a few problems with it like tick rate on certain servers and stuff like that it's still a solid perfect working game and I love it.

    I can't believe this game is almost 10 years old. Everything about this game is still impressive even to this day, such as the graphics, sound, engine, the gameplay.... It really shows the work that Valve and Turtle Rock Studios put into this game considering it's still one of the most played games on Steam almost a decade later.
    Expand
  22. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Counter strike source. Honestly, I can't really say anything bad about this game, because it is simply so amazing. The game is a pure-multiplayer shooter, but it can (And has been.) be easily modded by players, something that keeps me and others coming back for more. The core game experience is this- there are two teams, the Terrorists and the Counter Terrorists. At the start of each round you have a set amount of money that you can use to buy things like weapons, armor, and grenades. Then, you and your team head out to preform an objective- like the Terrorists have to protect the hostages, plant the bomb, etc. And you gain money by killing enemy players and doing the objective. The thing is, if you die you are gone for the rest of the round, so teamwork can be vital to victory. But, of course, then you play on a modded server and everything changes. Servers like Deathmatch have you respawn as soon as you die at a randomized location, and you simply pick your guns. There are servers like Breakfloor, where the map is split in half by a wall that goes down a bit, and the ground is just breakable cubes. Counter strike source is a masterpiece, and if you haven't played it then you are missing out on one of the best experiences ever crafted. Expand
  23. Oct 24, 2010
    9
    This game is totally awesome; i haven't get tired of it after years and years of gameplay. it just full of action, tactics. if you love FPS games this is MUST HAVE
  24. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    This is one of the greatest games and my best spend 50 dollars ever. If you understand this game and compete with others with clan wars, Counter Strike is the best there is, most of the other FPS shooters are focused on matching on console, not in matching on LAN events or Clan Base, ESL, EnemyDown etc. And CSS has a very big Mod community with loads of free plugins to add to your server, like Zombie-Mod, CSS Deathmatch, Gun-Game and so on.

    I have already played this game for 4000+ hours and still not bored,still play it everyday. And with this well thought game play, the older graphics it even doesn't matter, this is a game that is still played by millions of gamers. And there are still updates, they even updated the Source Engine to the Orange Box engine. And remember this game is from 2004 and it still counts in the top game lists. Just name an other game that survives that long... well there aren't any, just check the game stats at steam http://store.steampowered.com/stats/

    For me it's best game ever period.
    Expand
  25. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Counter-Strike : Source is the best FPS of the world with CS 1.6. It's better than COD, and he have a lot of mod, the gameplay is very good.

    AMAZING GAME :) 10/10
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  26. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    A true test of a game is to see whether it is still played years after it first came out. Counter Strike is one of those games, not only Source but the series itself. I won't lie and say its an easy game to play online or even offline for that matter. The AI (CT and T) aren't that smart as AI but they are "haxors" when it comes to hitting you. The online game has a steep learning curve and expect to die lots and only get some kills. I'd say you should start offline playing against bots and gradually increase the AI level then move on to "Gungames" and finally to real games. Expand
  27. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    It is the best on line multi-player game that was ever created surpassing Call of duty nad many other games. I have over 500 hours on it and i love it.
  28. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    Valve has done a sterling job of moving a flagship franchise over to a new engine. Whilst the gameplay guts come over correct and intact, (which may disappoint some), Counter-Strike: Source is an even more engrossing and captivating experience, capable of sapping hours of your time, and even the worst "1337 g33zers" abusing voice chat can't spoil the fun you'll have with it.
  29. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    My all time favorite game. This sets the bar for online shooter because of it's ludicrous balance and excitement. It comes stock with a ton of maps labeled under de_ or aim_ and then there are also a ton of mods to play with too like ze_ zm_, gg_, mg_, etc... Anyone complaining about the shooting mechanics under neath me are probably frequent pub heroes in COD. CS:S has recoil and you need to master that recoil to be good. Anyone willing to take the time to enjoy this game will love it to death. Expand
  30. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT........................................AND YOU WILL TOO. Very good game, great graphics with a beautiful multiplayer experience that you can play for hours and hours, and the more hours. Better than Modern Warfare 2. Buy this instead, cheaper and has got dedicated servers, mods and a great community. An all time classic
  31. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Bestes Spiel aller Zeiten!
    Die LAN-Partys wurden uns durch CSS versüÃ
  32. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    the game is great and challenging (some times). The servers are also great and they can have also their own mods (gun mode after eache kill you get better gun, hide and seek terrorist transform to so object and hide CT has to find them) but there are also normal modes like S&D, TDM and so on. When the player is board at having the same gun skin you can just go on internet find some skins, download them, put it in and TADAA you have new skin!

    GUNS
    you have bunch of guns PISTOLS, SHOTGUNS, SMG, ASSULT, SNIPERS and few others.

    if you like multy-player or shoting games you can buy it.
    I THINK THE GAME WILL NEVER DIE!
    Expand
  33. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This is the ingle best multiplayer FPS to ever be made. The max players have been moded on some servers to be 64 instead of 32 and the updated graphice from the original is amazing. If someone says you can never be too good then they are wrong. Ive put 1000+hrs into this game and i finally got banned from a server for supposed "wallhacking". other then that easy 10
  34. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    yeah, the best team game ever..., old but very enjoyable, really would like to see a new generation counter-strike already,since I fan of this game, its always new and better, hope they not gonna **** up like call of duty did with their game
  35. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Thanks to the updates over the years, this game is nearly flawless.
    It can be VERY difficult to get into at first, but spending time on some humans vs. bots servers will help with that (maybe Valve should host some training servers).

    Anyhow, I used to hate this game and now I love it.
  36. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    ABSOLUTION! This is so far the best HL2 Mod so far! The only problem: You can end up with you being versus 23 more people. Don't get in servers where people keep switching teams to the other team.
  37. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    Good morning to all here is a small summary of these 7 years of Counter Strike Source. This game always has was very convivial since this taken out in 2004 but afterwards of numerous bet has day to make a game kikou, not serious short not this problem. What rotted game is cheaters. There is more and more and this really becomes there heartbreaking and this insupporte quite a lot of world VAC one it asks in what this serves blow? In finale they are always in spite of them there bet has day in spite of cheaters they are there and they will always be him. Long life has Counter Strike Source !!! Expand
  38. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    After 7 years it still belongs to the most entertaining games ever made. Thanks to the Source engine it contains a lot of opportunities and possibilities for mods and other fun activities such as zombie mod, zombie escape or deathrun.
  39. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Oh yes good ole CSS, Get down and dirty swat style or go and plant a bomb and blow yourself up to find yourself in the afterlife with 40 virgins(yeah right...). this game is a classic what can i say if you didn't play it back in the day you missed out and its too late to appreciate its glory.
  40. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Buenisimo juego ! grandes graficas , gran moto de resolucion y gran jugabilidad , sin mencionar que no produce lag en ningun server . juego de estrategia se los recomiendo , mucho mejor que cs, hl , hl2 entre otros
  41. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Counter-Strike: Source is a great game,but if you dont like being challenged by how good the other players in game are well this game,and PC gaming in general may not before you.I love the heavy competitive feel this game gives and the adrenaline rush of being the last man alive on your team.VAC cheat prevents all forms of cheating in my 2 months of owning this game ive never seen anyone cheat.The server customization and diversity is also great. I would HIGHLY RECCOMEND this game to all my friends. Expand
  42. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    Counter Strike is the game that started it all. If you don't have this game, you need to get it. Counter Strike is a team-based game, that will never be forgotten. 1.6 has a classic feeling and I still play it today, alongside source. It may get boring at times, but play different server game modes, and you'll have fun! Either that, or you don't have any skills... :P
  43. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    This is fun. I got this on August 27th, 2011 because it was on sale for $5. And its really fun. It has great gameplay and good AI. Lots of cool weapons. But my only complaint is that its Multi-Player only. Anyways. Great Job Valve!
  44. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    Without any doubt the best multiplayer team game I have ever played. CSS is a fun and awsome game where you must work with your team to win. There are a lot of weapons to buy, the maps are all great and uniqe, and i definetley recommend this game to all who like team based shooters.
  45. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    This is a very good game if you like FPS. The graphics aren't that good, but you can enjoy a good game play. This is definitely a very good game to buy if you get a sale. Also you don't get tired of it to easy. It takes lots of time to be a pro player, but it worth the hours you will play it.
  46. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Not a game for you if you don't like dying quick...and staying dead, the rounds are very quick to make up for that. But if you're smart, good at shooters, and HIGHLY tactical, you'll adore this game. - 87/100
  47. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Outstanding beautiful game with fast pasted gameplay! (thats how i like it!) I have been playing this since the realease and its surprising it can be that beautiful of a 2005 game! respect to Valve headquarters for doing a hard work on making maybe the best FPS out there!
  48. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    The most hours I've ever spent on any game. Even played CAL-IM back in the day. Very hardcore pc following, however the community is full of little kids and elitists now. Im in the new CS beta. Global Offensive is pretty fun , and hopefully will bring back the veterans.
  49. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Counter-Strike: Source is a game developed by Valve Corporation and uses the Source engine to power the game. With thousands of maps and mods for the game; does Counter-Strike: Source live up to the Counter-Strike name? Originally released in 2004, the same year as Half-Life 2; the game has a round based game style (like Search and Destroy from COD, this game came out before), one team are the 'Terrorists (T)' the other team are the 'Counter-Terrorists (CT)' the T's objective is to simply plant the bomb at a bomb site and protect it, whilst the CT's job is to avoid it and kill the T's. It works and is alot better than S&D from COD because you can have up to 64+ players on a server at once playing the one server. The on top of that you have all of the different mods, like Zombie Mod, Zombie escape, Jail break, Hide and Seek. There are countless number of mods which are all very good and very addictive. I would definitely recommend the game to any FPS fan or even anyone partly interested in should pick it up, and this is coming from someone who has played almost 1500 hours of it in total. Expand
  50. Des
    Jan 24, 2012
    10
    CS: Source defines skill based CQ combat. May get frustrating, if one wants to be the king of the hill on day one. This is a game for those who like to work their way up a crowded ladder of some pretty hardcore gamers.

    Again, an old game, but who cares. Get it. This is a genre defining piece of art.
  51. May 14, 2012
    9
    Still the most effective time waster and the easiest multiplayer experience ever. -1 for incomplete global ranking system. Hopefully CSGO will have the promised global leaderboard done right - and hopefully, just hopefully there will be cross platform gameplay in the future.
  52. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    The ultimate multiplayer FPS for PCs. Pure skill- and reaction-based game with no auto-aim silliness like in CoD and other series. It's a classic that never gets old.
  53. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    After 6 years of semi professional playing i can say, this game is the **** God I spent so many hours playing it, sure if you are new to the genre it won´t be that much fun in the beginnings, but if your gameplay grows the fun grows too!

    Definatly the multiplayer game of my life!
  54. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    This game is difficult. That's an under statement. It's HARD AS FRICK. You must get good at this to have fun. Otherwise, you'll have better luck playing offline, honing your skills (which is what i did). There is a lot of strategy to this. Since you only have one life per round, you have to be careful and think thoroughly. A large selection of guns allows to try everything and find something you're awesome at. However, some of the maps can be confusing, some servers are full of total **** and there are often hackers on servers. So, this game is a great alternative to other shooters, but you have to sink some time into it to find a good server and get good at the game itself. Expand
  55. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    harikaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  56. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    the graphics remains already so many years good=))) this is very nice game=))) it is one of games forever=))) it is so much years and popularity still keeps at level=)))
  57. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Best. FPS. Ever.
    Graphics reduce the game just to the bare minimum, it's basically cs1.6 but it doesn't hurt your eyes.
    It all comes down to the best reflexes, the most precision, knowledge of the maps. Tactics are very important for competitive play, but there are millions of custom maps available, countless custom modes and mods have evolved over time, surf maps, gungame, warcraft mods,
    rat maps, minigame maps, bunnyhop maps, death run maps, ...
    If played this game for approximately 3000 hours, it is worth every penny!
    Expand
  58. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    Should i say anything ? Yes Counter-Strike ! A Valve masterpiece, sequels of Counter-Strike, one of the most played game in the world, get it if you like that kind of games, since it's worth the value.
  59. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Excelent calification for an excellent shooter, plays well after so many years it lauched, it's very competitive and the graphics are just fine. A must have FPS to play online!
  60. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Bad ass. This game seem to be pretty simple plant the bomb and wait until it explodes. However, there is plenty of factors which are putting this game on 1st place in multiplayer co-op genre. Skill, speed and team-play, that's what is all about. Definitely a LEADER in entire franchise of shooting experience. Titles like Call of Duty are way way behind this game. I would give 9.5, but giving it 10 will not be a sin. Expand
  61. May 9, 2012
    9
    Counter Strike Source is epic in many ways, and It's better than the original. It is bloody, fun and strategic (sometimes). Gameplay is extremely fun, graphics are great, but sound effects are mediocre (I know this game is a remake of the original Counter Strike, but they would work more about the sound). So, everything upgraded, except sound. But, anyway, this game is a blast! (9.1)
  62. May 13, 2012
    10
    Absolutely an amazing game, hardcore and fast-paced, your heart will be rushing as you play on one of these fantastically made maps, plus you have tons of different types of game modes, you have things like Jailbreak, mini games, hide and seek, and many more! I recommend this game to anyone who wants a game where you will be able to hang out with a semi-mature community playing some fantastic games. Expand
  63. HeX
    May 20, 2012
    10
    A fantastic game, anyone who doesn't own it must check it out. There is a large learning curve and many people online are fantastic players. There isn't much room for new players, so get a few friends to get it at the same time.
  64. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    Bonjour à tous
    Si je devais mettre une noteau jeu steam "Counter Strike: Source"Je lui mets sans hisité 10 / 10 car c'ets un jeu FPS de très bonne qualité pour l'année 2004.
  65. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    For a title that had massive boots to fill, it sits proudly ontop of the original. The basic gameplay is faithfully recreated with no new quirks or features weighing it down. The game itself fits well into the beautifully designed Source engine. There's nothing new apart from the graphic overhaul, and that's all the fans surely wanted. Well done Valve.
  66. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    Es ist eines der besten Spiele die jemals rausgekommen sind alleine schon das normale Gameplay ist gut und die Grafik Akzeptabel aber die Mods erst die das Hauptspektakel sind.
  67. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    Valve has delivered Pure fun. Get your mates. Move your computers to your basement, Install CS Source and play. It´s such a great game! Custom modes are awesome and well made aswell as graphics and physics. It´s a must buy for all shooter fans!
  68. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Stay away from this game ... it will eat your social life like it's nothing.

    Some may argue that CS 1.6 is better, but to men, this is the purest and ultimate form of Counter Strike ... endless pleasure of headshots ...
  69. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    this game is great fun to play because it gives you full customisation of your character, weapons and teams and this game also adds in textures for other games such as Garry's mod and many people might disagree with this but it is great for beginners because you also have your teammates their to help you if you aren't doing to well
  70. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    [FR] Ce jeux et extraordinaire ,mais il manque quelques details comme : Les levels , Les armes a acheter avec de l'argent par exemple. Ce qui explique mon 9. Parcontre il et extraordinaire au niveau FPS. 9/10 :) !
  71. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    Fun game to play when you're bored. The community does suck, but there are always servers that will be fun to play on with good communities. There is a very steep learning curve, so it will be hard for newcomers at this time because a lot of current CS:S players are veterans with at least a couple years of CS:S under their belt.
  72. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    if source i dont know you play in steam or what because i just play a bot but i like a weapon first because its amazing and almost hard to kill but i like the headshot 1 shot 1 kil still interesting source in steam i dont know still good game
  73. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    This is a hardcore PC game and thats why I like it its still one of the still truly hardcore games ever and it looks better and is better than the first one so if you have a PC it is one of the best multiplayer games on the PC and there are loads of mods and its still very popular
  74. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    I honestly believe that this game owes its success to its simplicity! tha fact that you don't have to spend a lot of hours to upgrade weapons like other shooter games, but you decide to join either counter terrorists or terrorists forces and have fun with other people on-line makes me vote no less than 9/10! Excellent game!
  75. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This is by far, one of my personal favorite games of all time. I have over 700 hours invested into this, which to some people is not that much at all, but it gives me the room to talk and have a respected review. First things first, as I read from another review, if you want to get better at aiming and being good at other first person shooters, this is the game for you. A personal experience of mine is that all my friends wonder how I can aim with ease and not miss as much as they would. Well this is the game that taught me. Now there's an updated version of this game that even has stricter aiming rules and everything is absolutely inaccurate when moving, but that's another story. This game provides your normal commodities such as the regular game types that you'd expect, in fact I believe it's safe to say that a lot of game types that you see now such as surf, gun game, and zombie mod (Zombies), could have been deprived from this game. But if you're up for a shooter that actually requires more skill then to hold down the Mouse 1 button, this is the game for you. Give it a try, it's cheap, and it's worth the buy.

    Cheers
    Expand
  76. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I swear the first time I was playing CS 1,6 for 1 years in Greece after that I went to US I was looking for the CS 1,6 i did not find it because i did not know that is already in steam... And i just buy the CSS from steam i swear from 2009 until now am playing CSS is the best game in steam has everything you want,...
    I never buy game from steam all the time playing CSS but i will say the people who say this game is boring or bad YOUR WRONG...this game has different type of maps games everything. this game created for long time to play and not for a game you will play it 1 month and you will say PFFF boring lets find something else.
    Expand
  77. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    i love it this takes gamers to the next level it this game takes at least way more skills than cod and day of defeat. the point of making a game great is by having it built for hardcore and they went through way more requirements for that than halo.
  78. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Who ever gives this game a low score is a pathetic 8 year old CoD fanboy. This game is awesome, PERIOD. The graphics are amazing for 2004, gameplay is realistic, and requires skill, do not hesitate to try it out!
  79. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Counter-Strike: Source is the best game released ever.
    This game is quite challenging and a good to play as well.
    Best texture details, Nice graphics, Better physics of the game. Also a game of 2004 is still way more better than dozens of today's games.
    Expand
  80. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Still playing, logged in over 2000 hours. Need I say more? Nothing fancy but just a great arcade FPS game. Made many friends on here, had many amazing moments I wouldn't know where to begin.. Buy it.
  81. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    Although rather frustrating at times due to how unique the hit boxes are with the source engine, I've never had an online game that I play for as long at a time as I do this one. Also a joy to play with friends/other people, as most players online are really cool, laid back people.
  82. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    모드
    브드러운조작감과 조작감
    은은한 엔진
    모두를 게임!
    이보다 겁니다
    무엇을 어서사세요!
    세계를
  83. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    I have played so much fps games and the counter strike series and team fortress 2 are the only ones that I have found extremely addicting and highly replay-able. This game have a graphical advantage above every fps game at that time of the gaming industry.
  84. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Although the Counter-Strike: Source is so ambitious, it cannot reach its succeed like the Counter-Strike.however, we can see Valve had put a lot of effort to make this game to be perfect.In addition, it is a good game.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    The game looks more beautiful than ever, with structures that feel weighty and solid and little visual touches throughout. The flash-bangs look fantastic.
  2. Valve has done a sterling job of moving a flagship franchise over to a new engine. Whilst the gameplay guts come over correct and intact, (which may disappoint some), Counter-Strike: Source is an even more engrossing and captivating experience, capable of sapping hours of your time, and even the worst "1337 g33zers" abusing voice chat can't spoil the fun you'll have with it.
  3. Counter-Strike: Source is, once you've gained a knack for it, the most consistently rewarding and surprising team-based shoot-'em-up available on the PC today. It's been dressed up nicely for its relaunch in 2004, but it wasn't broken, and Valve hasn't fixed it.