• Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: Apr 24, 2009
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 150

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    This game i found to be slow to start but as the game wore on it became addicting. The story line was beautiful and this game had me jumping in my seat at certain times in the game. Overall it was a great game
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game would be fantastic if it stuck to the atmospheric horror a few of the chapters focus on. The best scares in this game came from trying to navigate the frozen ship and hearing a door slam behind you, the howling of the wind through a broken window, or fear of dying from lack of heat. Instead the majority of the game is cluttered with clumsy, coverless firefights resulting in lots of cheap deaths. Poorly optimized graphics mean sudden single digit dips in frame rate happen often before, during, and after battles. A flashback system fleshes out a great narrative about a captain losing control of his ship with another overarching story told by a narrator with sketches that runs parrallel to the plot. Along with time travel elements and numerous trippy encounters, there was the framework for a great story and game here. With some more focus on puzzle solving and non-combat survival this could have been a great game. As it is, this is an average survival horror at best. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The only problem with this game is its advertising. It's advertised to be a first person horror shooter and puzzle adventure. In fact, it is none of that. It takes place in the first person perspective, you shoot things, monsters run at you and can kill you quickly and the atmosphere is heavy, and there are puzzles. But all of that is minuscule. Cryostasis: The Sleep of Reason is aThe only problem with this game is its advertising. It's advertised to be a first person horror shooter and puzzle adventure. In fact, it is none of that. It takes place in the first person perspective, you shoot things, monsters run at you and can kill you quickly and the atmosphere is heavy, and there are puzzles. But all of that is minuscule. Cryostasis: The Sleep of Reason is a mystery game. Everything about the game, from graphics to lighting to monsters to cutscenes, is part of the environment that tries to tell a story. These pieces of information scattered about are all for piecing together of the absolute most amazing tale in video game history. Symbolism is heavy and atmosphere is so thick you can cut it with a knife. It's not just a game, but a spiritual experience. It shows more than any other release that games are art and a valuable storytelling medium. Buy it, at least if you make sure your computer can run it. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    Cryostasis is a unique mix of different game play mechanics that you won't find in any other survival horror. Unique weapons from a world war time period to new inventions and the story makes you think unlike other games were the story is fed to you with a silver spoon. You will fight an array of different ice zombies and boss fights, each with different tactics to defeat them, requiringCryostasis is a unique mix of different game play mechanics that you won't find in any other survival horror. Unique weapons from a world war time period to new inventions and the story makes you think unlike other games were the story is fed to you with a silver spoon. You will fight an array of different ice zombies and boss fights, each with different tactics to defeat them, requiring you to think on your toes. Using heat as a source of health and energy is also unique, keeping you stressed about staying warm in a arctic environment. The graphics are actually quiet remarkable for a 2009 game, but at the same time they require good hardware for top settings. Only reason i am not giving this game an 10 is because the games bugs are evident and the lack of re-playability let this game down. Besides that.. A great game from a unexpected source. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Call me stupid or whatever, but I found the storyline pretty confusing. There were a lot of "what???" moments. The gameplay itself is pretty okay, nothing spectacular. It's not good, but it's not bad either. The atmosphere is pretty good and the mechanics and features of the gameplay are pretty interesting. No FOV slider in menu, but enabling the console and entering r.fov X into it solvesCall me stupid or whatever, but I found the storyline pretty confusing. There were a lot of "what???" moments. The gameplay itself is pretty okay, nothing spectacular. It's not good, but it's not bad either. The atmosphere is pretty good and the mechanics and features of the gameplay are pretty interesting. No FOV slider in menu, but enabling the console and entering r.fov X into it solves this issue. My biggest gripe is that it's the same damn thing all the time. You go into a room, kill some dudes, flashback this dude, go into another room and the cycle repeats. Add in some cutscenes and you have a game that is pretty mediocre, but not bad. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    3
    This game has: One pretend deep plot, a dozen frames per second graphics performance, a few gross of grey rooms, grey doors with big rotary handles and grey crewmen-turned-zombies, three clumsy melee weapons, dull puzzles that don't give much of a challenge, but rather force you to redo them until you guess what you are supposed to do. Note - it's not "How do I do this and that?", it'sThis game has: One pretend deep plot, a dozen frames per second graphics performance, a few gross of grey rooms, grey doors with big rotary handles and grey crewmen-turned-zombies, three clumsy melee weapons, dull puzzles that don't give much of a challenge, but rather force you to redo them until you guess what you are supposed to do. Note - it's not "How do I do this and that?", it's "What the love am I supposed to do here?!". Example - one puzzle features a crewman dead in a chair in front of a broken window. His chest is full of glass shards. You possess him and... five seconds later you hear a siren blaring, twenty seconds later you hear (or even see) the glass break, then you see a failure screen. You can exit the room, you can enter another one, but it won't matter. Have fun guessing what the problem is. This game doesn't have: a point where it becomes interesting, a point where it actually starts making sense, a point where the story told by the sketches becomes somehow relevant to the ship's story. Also there's the heat-as-health mechanic, which is as innovative as it is idiotic. Because, somehow, warming your hands at a lightbulb helps you survive a few more hits from a fireman's axe. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2013
    3
    Omg. Finally its over. Im so happy that i got it from a cheap bundle. In level 7 i had enough and i started to use god mode cheat. The melee weapons (especially fire axe) are soon useless for fighting enemies. Axe swing will disorient you so much that u are pretty helpless against faster enemies. Both Mosin rifles are EPIC fails. Reloading time is like 20+ minutes...reloading time andOmg. Finally its over. Im so happy that i got it from a cheap bundle. In level 7 i had enough and i started to use god mode cheat. The melee weapons (especially fire axe) are soon useless for fighting enemies. Axe swing will disorient you so much that u are pretty helpless against faster enemies. Both Mosin rifles are EPIC fails. Reloading time is like 20+ minutes...reloading time and inefficiency is a BIG problem also with other firearms. And that folk-story wtf was with that...How exactly should that fit in with the main plot? AND WHY AM I LOSING HEALTH WHEN I LISTEN THAT DAMN FOLK-STORY U idiots!
    So yes, this game got very fast boring and frustrating. Im very disappointed.
    Expand
  8. Aug 9, 2011
    8
    Picked this game up on Steam for pocket-change and wasn't expecting a perfect experience if the reviews were anything to go by. Those reviews couldn't be any more wrong. For what I paid for this game, I received an incredible experience. At the time of writing this game is a few years old but this is hardly noticeable as the game looks gorgeous even by todays standards. This is a bit of aPicked this game up on Steam for pocket-change and wasn't expecting a perfect experience if the reviews were anything to go by. Those reviews couldn't be any more wrong. For what I paid for this game, I received an incredible experience. At the time of writing this game is a few years old but this is hardly noticeable as the game looks gorgeous even by todays standards. This is a bit of a horror game so it would it wouldn't be very good if it had bad atmosphere but I can safely report this game has one of the best atmospheres in any game I've played in a long time. It's extremely immersive and you just get sucked right in to the experience. It's paced extremely well which befits the cold an dark environment in which you play in. Expand
  9. May 18, 2011
    6
    This game is plain weird. While the shooter aspects of the game are not that great, the suspenseful story is dramatically built piece-by-piece which keeps you coming back to finish it. Completing the game felt like an accomplishment, but I don't think passing this one by would have left me feeling like I missed out.
  10. Mar 13, 2011
    5
    The convoluted story probably tricks the weak minded into thinking they're enjoying an amazing tale, but in fact the story makes little sense and succumbs to plotholes and timeline errors under the weight of appearing deep and complex.. The Sleep of Reason is right. The graphics are alright, and the overall mood is well done, but the levels feel empty and tedious, the combat is mediocre atThe convoluted story probably tricks the weak minded into thinking they're enjoying an amazing tale, but in fact the story makes little sense and succumbs to plotholes and timeline errors under the weight of appearing deep and complex.. The Sleep of Reason is right. The graphics are alright, and the overall mood is well done, but the levels feel empty and tedious, the combat is mediocre at best, and the game bogged my system down when even today's titles won't. It's worth checking out if you're a diehard survival horror fan, but don't expect it to make sense, and be sure to pick it up for under $10. Expand
  11. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    For once my score agrees with critics' average. It is an enjoyable and unusual game and I give it credit for that and for the scary atmospheric feel. It is similar in concept to Amnesia: The Dark Descent but Cryostasis lacks on execution and the story. The graphics are good but spoiled by ugly lighting and shadows - and I was running it at max settings. Also, the game has crashed on me tooFor once my score agrees with critics' average. It is an enjoyable and unusual game and I give it credit for that and for the scary atmospheric feel. It is similar in concept to Amnesia: The Dark Descent but Cryostasis lacks on execution and the story. The graphics are good but spoiled by ugly lighting and shadows - and I was running it at max settings. Also, the game has crashed on me too much at the end spoiling the immersion - perhaps it does not like 64-bit environment. It has innovative game mechanics, scary atmosphere and that feel of hopelesness with no clear direction despite being totally linear. But somehow I fail to connect with the game even though I speak Russian and designers did a great job recreating likely setting of that era. I also think the final boss scene is very disappointing - it almost feels that the designers built a game that kept going and going and then they had a brainstorming session to wrap it all up to meet release deadline. In my opinion it fits neither with the main story nor the secondary.

    To sum up this game has more goods than bads overall and at current prices (as of July'11) it is an absolutely great deal to try something novel.
    Expand
  12. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    The best of the game, getting the dive, the sublime ambience, the scares that gives the game (much more than Dead Space), the sound gets acongojarte, all without music, which is a great merit (a Unlike other games like Silent Hill that base much of their potential in the excellent music), the pace of play, how to get into the story, graphics, * the original so they have establishedThe best of the game, getting the dive, the sublime ambience, the scares that gives the game (much more than Dead Space), the sound gets acongojarte, all without music, which is a great merit (a Unlike other games like Silent Hill that base much of their potential in the excellent music), the pace of play, how to get into the story, graphics, * the original so they have established the''life''in the game, continuously seeking warmth to avoid being cannon fodder, the visions that has the protagonist, the realism of the guns.

    Fantastic game, one of the best games I've played in recent years.
    Expand
  13. Dec 30, 2012
    8
    This is a great game. Yes its old school, with relatively low poly models and textures and such. But the devs really put some thought into the design. Lots of odd features you'll remember. How ice melts as you turn on the power. How the ships slowly comes to life. The disjuncted narrative. The use of a heat mechanic to induce suspence, instead of enemies.

    If you can enjoy older FPS, and
    This is a great game. Yes its old school, with relatively low poly models and textures and such. But the devs really put some thought into the design. Lots of odd features you'll remember. How ice melts as you turn on the power. How the ships slowly comes to life. The disjuncted narrative. The use of a heat mechanic to induce suspence, instead of enemies.

    If you can enjoy older FPS, and enjoy Horror-Suspence, this is a great budget game. Its also very long.
    Expand
  14. May 17, 2011
    8
    This game was recommended for people who loved Amnesia : The Dark Descent . I was rather skeptical about it , but since people highly recommended it , i gave it a try.
    The Story is enough to keep you interested in the game , since it tells it in small chunks.
    The Core mechanic of the game is very nice , only i don't understand why Heat considers as Health also , if they would've added
    This game was recommended for people who loved Amnesia : The Dark Descent . I was rather skeptical about it , but since people highly recommended it , i gave it a try.
    The Story is enough to keep you interested in the game , since it tells it in small chunks.
    The Core mechanic of the game is very nice , only i don't understand why Heat considers as Health also , if they would've added health kits , it would've been more immerse.
    The graphics are okay enough , but the engine sadly wants too much of a PC for it to handle.
    But other than that , this game will be a blast for most story/horror lovers , but i don't recommend the 20â
    Expand
  15. May 22, 2014
    1
    Games like this shouldn't be released in their current forms. Plagued by a mess of poor coding, bad Physx implementation and performance drops no matter how powerful your hardware is- its fairly obvious that the developer payed dearly for trying to push the envelope visually. What players (or people that actually payed money for this abomination) get is a completely broken PC game. AGames like this shouldn't be released in their current forms. Plagued by a mess of poor coding, bad Physx implementation and performance drops no matter how powerful your hardware is- its fairly obvious that the developer payed dearly for trying to push the envelope visually. What players (or people that actually payed money for this abomination) get is a completely broken PC game. A game that is incapable of delivering a worthwhile experience simply due to its performance issues (wink wink nudge nudge know what I mean?). Which is a shame as their is a very solid game here, with decent combat mechanics, decent level design, and more than adequate (though lumbering at times) gameplay. Its just not obtainable on any human beings machine since the games engine is functionally broken. If you are looking for something in the same vein however, the Penumbra series has your back and is by all accounts, a much better game (it will also run at 60 frames per second and won't crawl to single digit frames at any point like Cryostasis will). If you are still adamant on playing this title I will caution you once more- its presentation suffers from severe coding issues and it contains a poorly translated main storyline encompassed by an even more poorly translated folk tale that was supposed to draw everything together. Expand
  16. May 31, 2011
    8
    Great graphics, great atmosphere, solid gameplay, and a really interesting story. My only complaint being the blatant amount of technical problems it had at release.
  17. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Another thoughtful, exciting and atmospheric FPS from Russia. It has the basic FPS elements but intertwines a gripping and chilling (pun intended) story into a fun and scary thriller. It boasts some great visuals, interesting characters with some great voice acting. The weapons are simple, as they should be, since this takes place on an icebreaker in the late 60's. The idea of usingAnother thoughtful, exciting and atmospheric FPS from Russia. It has the basic FPS elements but intertwines a gripping and chilling (pun intended) story into a fun and scary thriller. It boasts some great visuals, interesting characters with some great voice acting. The weapons are simple, as they should be, since this takes place on an icebreaker in the late 60's. The idea of using heat for health is unique and genius. There are certain parts where the baddies scared the crap out of me. The flaws though are few though. The game engine is a bit clunky and slow. The movements are unrealistic at times and can be annoying. Switching and loading weapons is also slow and infuriating when in a pinch. In a few instances, the mutants get stuck in corners or objects. Lastly, the interactivity is limited as some items can't be used, picked up or moved. Overall, it works well and is a very exciting and smart adventure. 75/100. Expand
  18. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    Outstanding graphics and rich setting, unique gameplay that thankfully never resorts to run-of-the-mill FPS action, and an atmosphere so thick you can chew on it. After several years I still haven't finished the game because it's so intense I nearly **** myself each time I play it.
  19. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    This game is actually an amazing survival horror game... if your computer can handle it, that is.

    The mechanic to gain warmth to stay alive helps the innovation and the immersion. Many imaginative ideas well implemented in this game. It could have just used a smoother implementation of its physics; as a result many of you will spend time configuring your settings for optimal play. I
    This game is actually an amazing survival horror game... if your computer can handle it, that is.

    The mechanic to gain warmth to stay alive helps the innovation and the immersion. Many imaginative ideas well implemented in this game. It could have just used a smoother implementation of its physics; as a result many of you will spend time configuring your settings for optimal play.

    I recommend any fan of the genre pick it up.
    Expand
  20. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    The storyline its very beautiful but the game very very bug...
    The graphics engine is very heavy, slow and not at all optimized (my pc configuration i7 whit, amd radeon HD5800 creative x-fi and 6gb of ram), the final levels from 15 to 18 of the game keeps crashing every 15-20 minutes
  21. Oct 7, 2012
    7
    Cryostasis is largely comparable to Bioshock namely for its approach to terror mixed with combat, but relies instead on jump scares over suspense and buildup. Conversely, the combat is clunky, which helps to make your encounters more frightening. It's heavy heavy on philosophy, told through a complex to assemble and albeit slow-to-tell story that's very satisfying to unravel, but someCryostasis is largely comparable to Bioshock namely for its approach to terror mixed with combat, but relies instead on jump scares over suspense and buildup. Conversely, the combat is clunky, which helps to make your encounters more frightening. It's heavy heavy on philosophy, told through a complex to assemble and albeit slow-to-tell story that's very satisfying to unravel, but some parts are very difficult to figure out in relation to each other, even to Portal 1 veterans. The characters are excellently portrayed, and the player's interaction with them through the "mental echo" ability is highly emotionally compelling, but sorting out who's who is difficult, partially due to the English dubbing. Animations are unnatural, but the graphics more than make up for it. And above all: the atmosphere. Like so many other games made in eastern Europe, it's all about immersion. And the arctic atmosphere really intensifies the unique health mechanic of keeping warm instead of popping pain pills or ducking into cover to regenerate punctured flesh. All that said, there are some bugs about, which makes it strangely reminiscent of STALKER. But don't even dream of an open world, as this one is a strictly linear story. In the end, I recommend getting this game on STEAM, and saving it for a nice autumn day where the wind from your opened window makes your fingers burn on your keyboard, because that'll suck you right into this fun, satisfying, and poignant story. Final note: the end "boss" has a highly difficult learning curve, and there are three ways to choose how to get to the same ending. All three are equally excellent! Expand
  22. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    I have just finished this game and I must say I enjoyed it immensely. Not particularly scary, but it does have some GREAT moments and gameplay sections that will you'll remember long after finishing the game. If you enjoy something deeper in your game and expect something "different" from a first-person perspective, this is a must-play really.
  23. May 2, 2012
    8
    For awhile this game had some popularity from appearing on early DirectX Benchmarks, then dropped off the map for some reason.

    It is a first person shooter, but feels much more like a puzzle/adventure game to me. This is the kind of gameplay that FEAR tried to become (or maybe just what I wanted it to be) It is a bit choppy though. Even on pretty decent hardware (ATI 5770 w/ 4core proc)
    For awhile this game had some popularity from appearing on early DirectX Benchmarks, then dropped off the map for some reason.

    It is a first person shooter, but feels much more like a puzzle/adventure game to me. This is the kind of gameplay that FEAR tried to become (or maybe just what I wanted it to be) It is a bit choppy though. Even on pretty decent hardware (ATI 5770 w/ 4core proc) it was a bit choppy and textures sometimes were muddy. Overall however the visual aesthetic made up for that though.

    I really enjoyed the game, the atmosphere was great and I'd recommend it to those who enjoy ]the idea of 'Amnesia', but want more combat and maybe just a tad less frightening.
    Expand
  24. May 30, 2012
    10
    Story:
    The game does a very good job with the story as it is not cliche written or simplistic good and bad. The characters are complicated and have their faults that leads to the situation they are in. They are written as imperfect human beings that can be liked despite the bad choices they may make. There is no good or evil, just people in a unfortunate situation. The past segments
    Story:
    The game does a very good job with the story as it is not cliche written or simplistic good and bad. The characters are complicated and have their faults that leads to the situation they are in. They are written as imperfect human beings that can be liked despite the bad choices they may make. There is no good or evil, just people in a unfortunate situation. The past segments really had me caring for the crew and feeling sorry for the predicament they were in. It lead to me to being compelled to do a good job to save everyone. Also, it does a good job in showing how the crew was handling things and what they experienced that you could care for them despite being nameless. I wish could learn more about the generic crew members and how they felt. The story is complicated and confusing at first that can take a second play-through to piece everything together. It will make sense in the end with no loose holes in the story and a satisfying ending. To me the story is some of the best I have seen in gaming. Just for the story alone is the game worth owning.

    Game play:
    The game is in first person where at first 1/3 of the game you will be using melee weapons until you get a firearm. I should talk about the meters on the bottom left corner of the screen. The small red meter is your health which can be recharged by being warmed up by heat. The big red meter is the heat meter which will recharge your health to high high your temperature is. The yellow bar on your meter is your stamina bar which affects how many attacks you can do in a session and how long you can run. There are not too many times where you need to run though, you can save your stamina for melee weapons or a quick doge when needed. The heavier the melee weapon, the more stamina will be used and the longer the attack animation will be. You can do combos and attack differently depending on what direction you move while attacking. Guns don't use stamina but are old, have no cross hairs, and reload slowly. You can look down the iron sites to aim accurately though. The bolt action rifles and the semi-auto rifle fire slowly, and the SMG uses a lot of ammo to kill someone. It can feel a bit sluggish when using guns though you don't have to use them often. There is a water gun you get halfway through the game if you install the patch that is quite a game breaker as it stuns the enemy while you hurt them and you can get plenty of ammo in the form of icicles.

    The game is linear with 18 chapters to complete. During the game you will come across bodies which you can jump in to change their past before they died. These segments are generally easy though you can't save in the middle of them. Some of them are difficult where you need to really pay attention in order to get through. The monsters you face are strange and unusual with some being creepy . The atmosphere in the levels is gripping and pulls you into the creepiness of what has become of the ship and the crew. Many of the levels are long and difficult with the last 3 levels being very short. The game took me about 16 hours to complete. It never felt tedious to me and always compelled me to continue on. Graphics:
    The graphics in Cryostasis are amazing. On the highest setting, they are amazing with realistic water effects and ice freezing. The water flows in a realistic way when thawing that it can look real. The way the ice crumbles to pieces is neat as you see the little pieces fall part on to the ground and stay there and can be adjusted too in the ini settings. The animations for enemies look very natural and feel real and smooth that even your own fighting animations can be timed in rhythm. If you play the game with PhysX on, the graphical effects are even more amazing. PhysX didn't seem to support anything below shader 4.0 with no window mode. This game has a reputation of having some of the best graphics, comparable with Crysis on the PC. However, it has no multi-core support so it can be rough on all but the high end computers in the 3.0 ghz range

    Sound:
    There is no music in the game and it's all atmospheric effects. This can create an uneasiness to the atmosphere when exploring the environment an helps keep you in the mood no matter what you are doing. So even combat does not ruin the horror but adds to the tension. The sound effects are great from the blowing of the wind, to the power turning on, to the swoosh of a weapon swing. The gun sounds are authentic and sound powerful like you are using a real gun. The voice acting for the game is surprisingly good even if it is in English. The Russian accents are not silly where they will ruin the atmosphere but sound possibly like what a real Russian person speaking English would sound.

    Conclusion:
    You can get this game on steam, DRM free on GOG for $10, DRM free on GamersGate for $13 or you can find it DRM free as a physical copy somewhere. Overall, I would recommend this game to experience great atmosphere and story.
    Expand
  25. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    Only 69/100 from officials? This is highly underrated pc game. Very weird and unique stuff. Story is very good and end of the game is quite epic. Visual effects are cool and well used. Bad things are the usual, monotonous fights and no secrets at all; lack of extras in gameplay. But as said, this is very weird and unique game, in a good way.
  26. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    I played this game without reading any reviews beforehand, which is incredibly rare for me. This sort of vacuum gave me a larger berth to overlook the glaring faults in this game and enjoy the absolutely stellar other parts.

    First and foremost, the environments in this game are dull and boring, and you WILL get tired of them quickly. Do not let that stop you from playing this amazing
    I played this game without reading any reviews beforehand, which is incredibly rare for me. This sort of vacuum gave me a larger berth to overlook the glaring faults in this game and enjoy the absolutely stellar other parts.

    First and foremost, the environments in this game are dull and boring, and you WILL get tired of them quickly.

    Do not let that stop you from playing this amazing game.

    At full spec, the game looks good enough to make the boring environments justifiable, and they do make sense in the space of the story.

    And that's where this game shines- story. Compelling, addicting. You, from the first moments of the game, become desperate to figure out what has happened, and what is going on. It also has pretty amazing voice acting considering this is a foreign title.

    The gameplay is a little rough, but that's the realism of the old-school fisticuffs and bolt-action rifle work. It's slow and clunky, but you're going to be slow and clunky in -30 degrees F weather using a 50-year-old Mosin Nagant rifle, so I liked that bit.

    The flashback mechanic really makes the game shine. The trial-and-error element coupled with a break from the repetitive environs and horrifying enemies is a nice departure, and the game wouldn't work without it.

    That brings me to another point- although there aren't many kinds of them, the enemies are TERRIFYING. Never in a game have I dreaded so much fighting "the enemy" as I have this game. They creep me out to my core.

    Overall, the game has its rough points, but they're all justifiable. The artistic elements, terrifying enemies, solid voice work, compelling story, and temperature mechanics make this game shine like no other.
    Expand
  27. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Ukrainian developers have created an amazing atmosphere of his game. Cold, loneliness, fear all this has to overcome the main character, his way with a team of merchant ships, which led to the catastrophe. Separately deserves graphics in the game even now she is amazing. There's the real physics of water, which is not present in a single match. Bravo and thanks to the developers for theUkrainian developers have created an amazing atmosphere of his game. Cold, loneliness, fear all this has to overcome the main character, his way with a team of merchant ships, which led to the catastrophe. Separately deserves graphics in the game even now she is amazing. There's the real physics of water, which is not present in a single match. Bravo and thanks to the developers for the high quality of the game. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Design flaws and the game's tendency to wax philosophical do not distract from the core idea and its stylish execution. This is what Vivisector, Action Forms' previous project, should have been like.
  2. Cryostasis is a brave, fascinating, often very beautiful game, but I find it impossible to recommend it - and not least because it runs like an exploded dog on most PCs. It's not quite creative enough - its environments fall into a monotony of samey rooms and bulkheads - and its combat is too clunky to be delicious.
  3. Cryostasis is a kind of revelation in the horror genre where you can alter the past to change the present. Game excels in visuals but lacks in combat system. [Feb 2009]