Crysis Warhead PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 474 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 474

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2015
    8
    It is a game quite ok, really really worth playing. The action is very vague shame that the story is a bit short. .
  2. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    Had a blast playing this game despite it being a pretty old game! Very beautiful environments and has more action/excitement in the gameplay compared to Crysis 1. The AIs are pretty dumb still haha, but i had a ton of fun playing this game. If it goes on sale, give it a try! :D
  3. Jan 23, 2015
    9
    Played this for the first time more than 6 years after its release, and it is an awesome game by modern standards. Loved the original Crysis, but I honestly believe this game is superior. The story is more compelling, there's more action, Sykes is a better character than Nomad, and even the settings are more gripping. There were some issues with getting it to run properly after I firstPlayed this for the first time more than 6 years after its release, and it is an awesome game by modern standards. Loved the original Crysis, but I honestly believe this game is superior. The story is more compelling, there's more action, Sykes is a better character than Nomad, and even the settings are more gripping. There were some issues with getting it to run properly after I first downloaded but I was able to resolve them with some research. If it weren't for that, this game would be a 10. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2014
    3
    The gameplay for this game is exactly the same as for the original Crysis. The island is the same. Graphics are awesome which is a good point. The weapons are the same except with a couple of exceptions. But the story for this "expansion" is horrible. And the last boss is a joke. I completed it in 3 hours. Not worth it, except if you are a huge fan of the series and don't want to miss theThe gameplay for this game is exactly the same as for the original Crysis. The island is the same. Graphics are awesome which is a good point. The weapons are the same except with a couple of exceptions. But the story for this "expansion" is horrible. And the last boss is a joke. I completed it in 3 hours. Not worth it, except if you are a huge fan of the series and don't want to miss the little part of the story related to Psycho and the Warhead. But you can totally omit it, it's a loss of time. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    7
    Crysis Warhead is an another successful game just like the first, and there is so much to be seen in this one too. But the previous one is still much better.
  6. Feb 13, 2014
    5
    Overall a bad experience. There's basically no freedom, they propose the option of having a stealth system but you are always forced to take the enemies head on. The levels are far more linear than Crysis 1. You'll often die instantly for reasons unknown. The checkpoint system is quite poor and the graphics look exactly the same as the previous iteration. Overrated cash grab.
  7. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Crysis Warhead improves upon the original in every aspect. It's more intense, it has one of the best soundtracks I've heard in a long while with each song getting your adrenaline pumping and hairs raise on your arms, it's that epic. The graphics and physics have been worked on so it's smoother and even more beautiful than the original. There are a couple of new weapons but nothing special.
    The game has a much more personal feel to it because it follows the story of Psycho who's a much greater character than Nomad. It has way more story cutscenes which are greatly executed and helps you get involved emotionally too. The game is more linear, the levels are more straight forward and it keeps increasing in intensity and speed throughout the campaign. It has some really epic battles, not just alone but often with other soldiers with you, this time around a whole squad of Nanosuit operatives. You'll get into threeway battles which has you fighting both Koreans and aliens at the same time.
    Expand
  8. Jan 10, 2014
    0
    wow, pretty terrible game. no sense of shooting, no fun in combat, no weapons that make you happy to trigger.

    what's all the hype for this game? one of the worst shooters i've ever played.
  9. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    Co ckney (apparenly a swearword for metacritic) Statham-esque alien destruction in a superhero suit. I mean, if that doesn't whet your appetite I think you need to re-evaluate your life choices.
  10. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Playing as SGT Psycho was one of the best SP gaming experiences i had. This game has all of the good elements from Crysis 1 and ufortunately adds very little to it. Short but great campaing that finnaly has "balls" and you get to fight aliens more than in original game. Final fight is also very good. Unfortunately its not so much open to options on how to deal with enemies and its morePlaying as SGT Psycho was one of the best SP gaming experiences i had. This game has all of the good elements from Crysis 1 and ufortunately adds very little to it. Short but great campaing that finnaly has "balls" and you get to fight aliens more than in original game. Final fight is also very good. Unfortunately its not so much open to options on how to deal with enemies and its more linear but still a great game. I would give it an 8 but i enjoyed the SP so much that i have to give it higher score. Expand
  11. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    This is a great expansion comes with the crysis maximum edition (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Crysis-Maximum-Edition-PC-DVD/dp/B001Q96ZNU/ref=sr_1_41?s=videogames&ie=UTF8&qid=1370893809&sr=1-41) the graphics are even better but not by mch the gameplay is just as good but Psycho is a much bettter character than Nomad
  12. sft
    May 22, 2013
    10
    More maximum mayhem

    CRYSIS WARHEAD is basically an expansion of the original game so everything I felt about that game also applies here. Even though it’s now 5 years old the game looks fantastic and has some impressive physics (apparently the CryEngine was updated for this). The story is adequate, given the limitations of a game such as this, and the voice acting is convincing
    More maximum mayhem

    CRYSIS WARHEAD is basically an expansion of the original game so everything I felt about that game also applies here. Even though it’s now 5 years old the game looks fantastic and has some impressive physics (apparently the CryEngine was updated for this). The story is adequate, given the limitations of a game such as this, and the voice acting is convincing throughout. The gameplay is perhaps a little more linear than in the original but it’s also faster paced and more intense. The combat is pretty tough at times, although the final boss battle was actually easier than much of what had gone before. There’s a lot packed into this short game, and that’s the only downside: it’s over way too soon.
    Expand
  13. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Good things about it:
    -graphics
    -story
    -the freedom of choice in combat(stealth, hit and run, or just run away from everybody(not recomended))
    -its basically the same game as Crysis 1, the graphics and graphics engine are the same, same weapons, same customizations

    Not so good things:
    -nothing new different from Crysis 1
    -too short
  14. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    A continuation that delivers. Extra weapons, DX10 support [goodbye, DX9], no more force-closes, no more corrupt saves, and more story. Sounds good! Been playing a few hours in and have been enjoying a better optimized version of the original Crysis, but more. If it had the original story with Psycho's side added in chapters, it'd be a 10/10. Excellent.
  15. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Almost as awesome as the original Crysis, Warhead features a shorter, more action-oriented campaign and an outstanding standalone Crysis Wars multiplayer component. The game is better optimized, so it runs smoother on your PC, which is quite handy, since you'll need those extra FPS in the explosive action sequences, which the game is full of. The only cons that take away that, 10th reviewAlmost as awesome as the original Crysis, Warhead features a shorter, more action-oriented campaign and an outstanding standalone Crysis Wars multiplayer component. The game is better optimized, so it runs smoother on your PC, which is quite handy, since you'll need those extra FPS in the explosive action sequences, which the game is full of. The only cons that take away that, 10th review point, are an uninspiring plot, less freedom of choice (the aggressive approach is kinda forced in this one) and stiff cutscene animations. But despite of that, it's still more of Crysis and it is awesome. Expand
  16. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    No aliens, I don't want you to ruin an expansion to Crysis 1. Go away, shush! Why not? Because you're related to the story a little bit? No, I hated you since the first Crysis! Shush, shush, shush! Off you go! very well then, I shall leave. But I shall let you know that without you the game would be a lot better. Again. Especially since the game is much shorter than the first Crysis.
  17. Dec 17, 2012
    2
    Slapped together add-on that fails to add anything positive to the original game's formula. Very linear, short and predictable. Not worth your time or money.
  18. Nov 6, 2012
    3
    This expansion to Crysis is almost exactly the same, I can easily just write the same review as I did for that, however on warhead the action was a little more intense, and I liked the vehicle control near the beginning, however I still uninstalled after 1.8 hours of play.
  19. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    Crysis Warhead is not a sequel, is a stand alone expansion. And Crytek did a great job. Surprisingly, the story is better, telling the story of Psycho. The gameplay is the same as Crysis's gameplay, but now with some new, decent and helpful things. Example, unlike the first Crysis, you can automatically pick up ammo for your gun, from the enemies. And that's a decent add, because It's kindCrysis Warhead is not a sequel, is a stand alone expansion. And Crytek did a great job. Surprisingly, the story is better, telling the story of Psycho. The gameplay is the same as Crysis's gameplay, but now with some new, decent and helpful things. Example, unlike the first Crysis, you can automatically pick up ammo for your gun, from the enemies. And that's a decent add, because It's kind of frustrating to pick up manually the guns from the enemies. It's worth, but It stays the same, because is an expansion. 88 out of 100 Expand
  20. Jul 24, 2012
    6
    I got this for the single player, so I can only speak for that part of it. What I found was a mostly lackluster campaign with a boring and confusing storyline and poorly done cutscenes. The gameplay is about the same as the original Crysis; there's just less of it. Overall it's not bad--just not particularly good either. I got it on sale for $5 on Steam and don't regret it, but would haveI got this for the single player, so I can only speak for that part of it. What I found was a mostly lackluster campaign with a boring and confusing storyline and poorly done cutscenes. The gameplay is about the same as the original Crysis; there's just less of it. Overall it's not bad--just not particularly good either. I got it on sale for $5 on Steam and don't regret it, but would have been upset had I paid $20 for it. Expand
  21. May 19, 2012
    10
    Awards: The Best FPS of 2008, The Best Semi-sandbox game of 2008, The Best Stand Alone expansion of 2008. Amazed by the how awesome is this game, I kept playing for hours. Technical graphics are great, thanks to CryEngine 2. And amazing semi-sandbox gameplay is rewarding and outstanding, thanks to CryTek. And thanks to the publisher, Electronic Arts, because they made this outstandingAwards: The Best FPS of 2008, The Best Semi-sandbox game of 2008, The Best Stand Alone expansion of 2008. Amazed by the how awesome is this game, I kept playing for hours. Technical graphics are great, thanks to CryEngine 2. And amazing semi-sandbox gameplay is rewarding and outstanding, thanks to CryTek. And thanks to the publisher, Electronic Arts, because they made this outstanding stand alone expansion. Expand
  22. May 7, 2012
    7
    Sequel to the highly acclaimed Crysis FPS shooter. The gameplay (element) is so-so compared to the first game; but the further explanation of what happened and the dramatic ending are worth trying out. Overall a great game before the Modern Warfare era took over.
  23. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    CrysisWarhead is greater than its predecessor Crysis.... I played the two back to back; there is only one way to describe this - in your best Jamaican accent - Totally Great Man. Overall Score 10, played 4 years after release, SteamPC version, and DRM Steam only (always without flaws) and no EA/Origin necessary.

    [Story] Play as the character -Psycho-, survive the VTOL crash and go deep
    CrysisWarhead is greater than its predecessor Crysis.... I played the two back to back; there is only one way to describe this - in your best Jamaican accent - Totally Great Man. Overall Score 10, played 4 years after release, SteamPC version, and DRM Steam only (always without flaws) and no EA/Origin necessary.

    [Story] Play as the character -Psycho-, survive the VTOL crash and go deep behind enemy lines. Secure the frozen Alien carcasse (that you saw at the penultimate scene in Crysis). This game is another 8 hour Episode of the original game and you can not afford to miss it.


    [Challenges] The game layout is identical to Crysis.... You are playing missions and the game is tight Tight TIGHT. Much of the flaws from the first game have been solved.... Driving with combat is much better and now fun, ammo pick up is automatic, and the AI is good but dumb just like the first game. A good approach when you are outnumbered is to go far away from the objective and create a diversion; the NPCs get totally lost and jammed up in the far away place.... return to the objective without hindrance.... ; ) [My PC] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8Gig RAM / Radeon 6870 / 1920x1200 / W7 PRO SP1 [Graphics score 10] This game was beautiful and flawless and was played in one day without a crash or a reboot. [MyFavorites] [PC Win7] Crysis&Warhead Rage [PC XP] DeuxExHumanRevolution&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3 FalloutNewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed1 Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] DeusExMachina ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries Suspended [Born] 1964 http://www.metacritic.com/user/metacriticFAN
    Expand
  24. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    Crysis Warhead is the continuing sage of the original Crysis and offers more of the same story and gameplay. The game was marketed as a stand-alone expansion pack that didn't warrant the price of a full game. As a result the story ends up being expectedly short, but the foundations from the original Crysis make up for any shortcomings. It also includes the multiplayer element Crysis WARSCrysis Warhead is the continuing sage of the original Crysis and offers more of the same story and gameplay. The game was marketed as a stand-alone expansion pack that didn't warrant the price of a full game. As a result the story ends up being expectedly short, but the foundations from the original Crysis make up for any shortcomings. It also includes the multiplayer element Crysis WARS and is certainly worth a few bucks. Expand
  25. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    If Crysis deserves a 10, then Warhead deserves an 8. Still a good game but much shorter than Crysis, didn't run as smooth, and slightly buggy. The campaign took only six hours to complete and that is including many long cinematic cut scenes that were poorly done and pointless. However, the multiplayer game, Crysis Wars, is about as much fun as I've ever had in multiplayer, 80 plus hoursIf Crysis deserves a 10, then Warhead deserves an 8. Still a good game but much shorter than Crysis, didn't run as smooth, and slightly buggy. The campaign took only six hours to complete and that is including many long cinematic cut scenes that were poorly done and pointless. However, the multiplayer game, Crysis Wars, is about as much fun as I've ever had in multiplayer, 80 plus hours and still going strong. If you liked Crysis, and you like FPS team death match multiplayer you should love this game. As point of reference, some other games I would score 8-10, Crysis, COD 4, Half Life 2, Halo, and all the Quake iterations. Expand
  26. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    A good looking game no doubt about it , and is fun to play , weapons feel very nice indeed .
    Great game while it last 's , worth picking up just to test your gaming rig and see the game in action .
    The only problem I had, was that I never got the game to run properly, even after all the patches !
  27. Nov 5, 2011
    8
    It's way too short, but still manages to be good. Optimization is even better! Even tough some areas are kinda boring, the general game is very good. Play it.
  28. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    So, Crysis: Warhead. Same gameplay as Crysis but a different character and story. Is it worth it? Well, gameplay wise, nothing has been changed which was a good thing for me. After finishing Crysis on Delta and Crysis 2 on Supersoldier I felt I needed something else with similar gameplay that wasn't the same game then this came around! I thoroughly enjoyed it and the advanced physics wereSo, Crysis: Warhead. Same gameplay as Crysis but a different character and story. Is it worth it? Well, gameplay wise, nothing has been changed which was a good thing for me. After finishing Crysis on Delta and Crysis 2 on Supersoldier I felt I needed something else with similar gameplay that wasn't the same game then this came around! I thoroughly enjoyed it and the advanced physics were awesome, the only thing letting the game down for me was a few glitches the larger Ceph had such as them getting stuck because they went into a tight space and couldn't get out again. Either way you look at it, buy it! Expand
  29. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    This game is good - if not great.
    Way too short, it does have some very good gameplay to enjoy. The graphics are on par with the original Crysis, but the game itself runs a little smoother without an epic-powered machine.
    Get this game on Steam to bypass the totally bull**** DRM insanity.
  30. Sep 21, 2011
    2
    This game requires a permanent Internet connection. If I had known what this really means I would not have bought this game. I will not buy another game the has this requirement.

    The graphics in the game are top notch and the combat areas are large with plenty of space for different attacking maneuvers. But I had trouble completing missions even on the easiest difficulty settings. I spent
    This game requires a permanent Internet connection. If I had known what this really means I would not have bought this game. I will not buy another game the has this requirement.

    The graphics in the game are top notch and the combat areas are large with plenty of space for different attacking maneuvers. But I had trouble completing missions even on the easiest difficulty settings. I spent too much time replaying missions using different attacking strategies only to be killed off without the slightest reason what I did wrong. I finally had to resort to an Internet search for cheats, something I only do for the most boring of games.
    Expand
  31. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    An improved Crysis 1 with a new(?) story line. It's rather a DLC and not a full game. Even though it"s fun to play with it. The story is quite short, it"s easy but the multiplayer (Crysis Wars) compensate it. The Power Struggle is the best multiplayer mod I've ever played. The graphics is still world-class but I think it"s clear if we talk about the Crysis franchise.
  32. Aug 21, 2011
    7
    Okay, im not gonna bash the game because its DRM, would yopu rather go through that **** and play the game or have everyone pirate the game so there is no sequel to a great game? EXACTLY. But anyways the game is great, its Crysis but more focused on combat than story. So honestly buy this game if you want heart racing action or buy crysis if you want a story.
  33. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    Amazing story, awesome graphics (but also demanding on the system), cool weapons. Only issues i have with this game is that it's just too short (like Crysis), and that the system requirements are a little steep. Otherwise - a must have shooter!
  34. Jul 17, 2011
    8
    Very nice. The gameplay is much better balanced than the original Crysis and the explosions and the fire graphics have really improved (they were really bad in the original). It's good fun and the plot is better although the story telling is incredibly BAD.
  35. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Crytek did a beautiful job with Warhead Although i like Crysis Original better this one is more linear than the first and Crysis 2 is the most linear so on that note Crytek/Electronic Arts is getting lazy but at the same time setting the standard is Graphics Technology.
  36. Jun 10, 2011
    7
    I haven't played the original Crysis. I only played the demo of it. I only know that you play as a different person and you're on the same island on Crysis Warhead. As you know the graphics are good. The bad thing is you have to have a SUPER gaming rig to play it on high graphics settings. If you try to play it on Windows 95 it will probably blow up. Haven't tried it yet. The graphics areI haven't played the original Crysis. I only played the demo of it. I only know that you play as a different person and you're on the same island on Crysis Warhead. As you know the graphics are good. The bad thing is you have to have a SUPER gaming rig to play it on high graphics settings. If you try to play it on Windows 95 it will probably blow up. Haven't tried it yet. The graphics are good but almost any other things not (for me). Yeah, the cool feature from the original game is the cool suit. The bad thing is it is quite hard to use (except speed and muscle). I haven't finished the campaign yet so I can't say it is long or short. The sounds are quite good. The story for me isn't interesting. The game is interesting for some people but for me not. So here are the final results: Graphics: 9.5
    Story: 5
    Sounds: 7
    Gameplay: 6
    Expand
  37. May 10, 2011
    5
    Warhead is pretty, like Crysis, so no surprise. But it's nothing special and it displays some bugs that I didn't notice in the original. Head shots don't always score a one shot kill, however, knee or foot shots sometimes will. You can one shot an enemy by shooting them in the foot? Yes, yes you can. Cut scenes are like watching a bad claymation movie. The game play is still good andWarhead is pretty, like Crysis, so no surprise. But it's nothing special and it displays some bugs that I didn't notice in the original. Head shots don't always score a one shot kill, however, knee or foot shots sometimes will. You can one shot an enemy by shooting them in the foot? Yes, yes you can. Cut scenes are like watching a bad claymation movie. The game play is still good and it's still beautiful but it's nothing revolutionary, the story is meh (if its even there, you talk to someone your character calls Mum the whole time who sounds very bossy and you chase a big silver crate that you never find out what is so special about it other than its alien tech for about half the game) and there are glitches in game play that weren't in the original. Expand
  38. May 10, 2011
    10
    Much better than the first.The campaign is short but much more engaging, the battles more fierce and gameplay better.Overall one of the best games ever better than Crysis.And i like Psycho more than Nomad.
  39. Dec 31, 2010
    1
    This game have an epic engine BUT it have a DRM technology too. So I've rated this game as you can see because DRM is unlawful. You cannot limit me to five installation!
  40. Dec 30, 2010
    6
    Given its predecessor, Crysis warhead have a lot to live up to, unfortunately it doesn't quite cut it. The game have gone from a game that pushed the boundaries of what is possible, that had a huge sandbox world to a linear, graphically the same and with no sense of what difficulty means.

    Now, that doesn't make the game bad per se, but it does drag the overall score down. The graphics is
    Given its predecessor, Crysis warhead have a lot to live up to, unfortunately it doesn't quite cut it. The game have gone from a game that pushed the boundaries of what is possible, that had a huge sandbox world to a linear, graphically the same and with no sense of what difficulty means.

    Now, that doesn't make the game bad per se, but it does drag the overall score down. The graphics is the same as in Crysis, I'm disappointed to see no further development. The world is split up into different maps, that are much more linear than in the previous game.
    The AI is incredibly dumb at times, they shoot into walls and the friendly AI sometimes decided to stand where you are shooting at.
    There are possibilities that aren't used to their full potential, one of them being the stealth system, it could have been much better, but instead you're almost always forced to resort to taking the enemy head-on.

    There's also a problem regarding difficulty, you go from a walk in the park to a level that is near-on impossible to complete. There are also times when you die instantly, usually by being hit by an RPG or the Gaus rifle, extremely frustrating.
    But there one more thing that surpasses all above: the draconian DRM system.

    The voice acting is great, the environments are great and the weapon customization is mediocre.
    If you can find good deal, meaning 10 euros or less, go for it, otherwise not.
    Collapse
  41. Dec 29, 2010
    9
    crysis was good, warhead is even better. with the improvement for duel wielding sidearms it almost makes it worth it by itself. vehicle driving could be slightly smoother (only say that because I have played a lot of racing games) but overall i think this is a terrific game. to put the graphics in retrospect think of tes4 and the detail put into it with slightly longer view distances here.crysis was good, warhead is even better. with the improvement for duel wielding sidearms it almost makes it worth it by itself. vehicle driving could be slightly smoother (only say that because I have played a lot of racing games) but overall i think this is a terrific game. to put the graphics in retrospect think of tes4 and the detail put into it with slightly longer view distances here. definitely worth the money (ten bucks on steam for crysis, crysis warhead and crysis wars!) Expand
  42. Oct 11, 2010
    6
    Like the original this game's presentation and overall graphics are amazing to look at even after 2 years. That said, I don't think this was as good as the original simply because I already played the original. I would only recommend this if you can find it at a decent discount.
  43. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Just as good as the original Crysis. The AI seems to have been slightly updated, but still has a few glitches. The story is just as solid as Crysis, but in Warhead you play as "Psycho". Psycho has more character than Nomad which may just be because he was so memorable in Crysis. The gameplay and graphics are the same, except that the Cryengine 2 has been further optimized in Warhead. AJust as good as the original Crysis. The AI seems to have been slightly updated, but still has a few glitches. The story is just as solid as Crysis, but in Warhead you play as "Psycho". Psycho has more character than Nomad which may just be because he was so memorable in Crysis. The gameplay and graphics are the same, except that the Cryengine 2 has been further optimized in Warhead. A worthy expansion for Crysis, and a bit cheaper. Comes with Crysis Wars as well, which is great fun. It is fairly straightforwards multiplayer and it has no real problems. Great bang for your buck. Expand
  44. TonyL.
    Sep 27, 2009
    9
    Great looking game, better than the original. There are some good missions with a lot of action and explosions. Very playable if you play this in DX9. The controls are good, the gameplay and different levels of difficulty is good, the sound and visuals are good. I think the story and voicing are above decent. The new team deathmatch is a plus too. This game isn't priced too high soGreat looking game, better than the original. There are some good missions with a lot of action and explosions. Very playable if you play this in DX9. The controls are good, the gameplay and different levels of difficulty is good, the sound and visuals are good. I think the story and voicing are above decent. The new team deathmatch is a plus too. This game isn't priced too high so it's definitely worth it. If you have the original Crysis, you'll have a blast with this one. There are plenty of multiplayer maps released from Crytek too. If you're really into eyecandy, you will love this game especially if enable AF in your graphics control panel. Expand
  45. AnonymousMC
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    I found this game to be alot of fun it had great gameplay and amazing graphics and even though the gameplay was linear it was still a great game BUT i found it to be alot shorter then the original crysis and the ending felt like it shouldnt have ended there. 9/10
  46. MunaPää;D
    Apr 22, 2009
    0
    This game was really great and I will marry and then kill the ones who made it or they should kill themselves and after that be thrown to a river that takes them to China where rice farmers will think they're fish and grill them and spice them and dry them so their children will have something to eat the next winter cause they're poor people out there in China who farm rice and This game was really great and I will marry and then kill the ones who made it or they should kill themselves and after that be thrown to a river that takes them to China where rice farmers will think they're fish and grill them and spice them and dry them so their children will have something to eat the next winter cause they're poor people out there in China who farm rice and farm WoW gold to gold sellers in mostly USA where the medical system is crappy and people pay a helluva lot of dollars on medicine so they can stay alive so that the car companies wont go bankrupt and the global economy wont be paska. Expand
  47. JaeQ
    Apr 19, 2009
    8
    This is a very good looking game and that gives it an edge. the gameplay is fun but completely due to the many different approaches to taking on enemies. However, the whole ballistics system is on the lower end, if you've ever played a run & gun shooter, imagine that with weapons that recoil wildly. Bullets don't penetrate anything, even destructible objects need to be broken This is a very good looking game and that gives it an edge. the gameplay is fun but completely due to the many different approaches to taking on enemies. However, the whole ballistics system is on the lower end, if you've ever played a run & gun shooter, imagine that with weapons that recoil wildly. Bullets don't penetrate anything, even destructible objects need to be broken before you can hit an enemy on the other side. Shooting an enemy is very unsatisfying, they take a lot of damage, show no sign of being struck after the initial hit, and the gore is terrible, though they did put some effort to improve a lot of this from crysis, it feels the same except enemies are a little less resilient and blood tends to show a little more. The story is linear but somewhat interesting and the ai is better than most games though that doesn't say much. Overall, the best point of the game is the seemingly endless ways to take on enemies and objectives. Yes there's loading screens, but most levels are pretty big. Overall, good game but didn't impress me beyond what I expected. Expand
  48. Gael
    Feb 23, 2009
    0
    Surement un jeu pas trop mal: j'ai bien aimé le premier hormis la linéarité un peu lassante, mais bon.
    Je ne ferai pas partie des acheteur de ce jeu avec une limitation des installations: comme une critique plus haut, je bidouille pas mal ma config, je tente des choses qui loupent quelque fois: dual boot, raid, oc...et au final, je réinstalle l'os
    Surement un jeu pas trop mal: j'ai bien aimé le premier hormis la linéarité un peu lassante, mais bon.
    Je ne ferai pas partie des acheteur de ce jeu avec une limitation des installations: comme une critique plus haut, je bidouille pas mal ma config, je tente des choses qui loupent quelque fois: dual boot, raid, oc...et au final, je réinstalle l'os environ 3 à 4 fois par ans...il a beau être court, je voudrais bien profiter de ce jeu ainsi que du multi-joueur un peu plus longtemps qu'un an et demis.
    Donc 0.
    Expand
  49. MarkM
    Jan 29, 2009
    7
    It is a fun game to play, with a few comical moments in amidst the action and i really enjoyed it. Only one problem, it was far to short. Looking forward to tryout the online mode.
  50. AnonymousMC
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    Crytek certainly paid attention and learned from their mistakes with Crysis. Minor gameplay tweaks and graphical details all come together to make a more exciting and varried game that never becomes a chore. Unlike Crysis I found myself using the suit controls for a lot more than just invisibility. This is what Crysis should of been.
  51. RobS.
    Jan 18, 2009
    10
    Best PC game ever made. Basically an improvement on the original Crysis where they kept all that was good and tossed all that wasn't. It's visually incredible and the game play is the best since the original Counter-strike / Half-life games. All future game should have gameplay this sweet. One caveat though, you need a good computer with a good graphics card. Without it, forget Best PC game ever made. Basically an improvement on the original Crysis where they kept all that was good and tossed all that wasn't. It's visually incredible and the game play is the best since the original Counter-strike / Half-life games. All future game should have gameplay this sweet. One caveat though, you need a good computer with a good graphics card. Without it, forget it. You are missing all that makes this game great! Expand
  52. Sven
    Jan 18, 2009
    10
    This game is pure awesomeness in every sense of the word. This is for me THE best PC experience of 2008. This game is the perfect example of why PC's kickass and are here to stay, FOR EVER. Its gameplay is more intense and focused than the original Crysis and can be very closely described with the intensity of a Call Of Duty game. I actually found it to be more enjoyable than Crysis This game is pure awesomeness in every sense of the word. This is for me THE best PC experience of 2008. This game is the perfect example of why PC's kickass and are here to stay, FOR EVER. Its gameplay is more intense and focused than the original Crysis and can be very closely described with the intensity of a Call Of Duty game. I actually found it to be more enjoyable than Crysis since developer Crytek has learned from Crysis and improved upon its mistakes. By this I mean, NO LONG LULLS, MORE INTENSE ACTION, BETTER GRAPHICS, BETTER PERFORMANCE and a ENJOYABLE MULTIPLAYER. This game is by all means no Crysis 2 (man that game needs to come soon), but it wasnt supposed to be, it is supposed to be an improved Crysis experience, which is exactly what Crysis Warhead is. So BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  53. DerekTarnawa
    Jan 7, 2009
    7
    First off, considering that this game is only $30 it's deffinately worth the money(if your computer is NASA quality that is...). Still, I had fun in it's short campaign and the eye candy is simpley stunning just like the original. Don't blow $60 on some other game, if you just want to shoot stuff and have it look awsome, then I would recomend Crysis Warhead.
  54. ElginM.
    Dec 21, 2008
    7
    I have a more than capable rig of running this game maxed out, but Warhead crashes every hour or so when I have CrossFireX enabled and less often when I only use one 4850. I did enjoy the game while I played it, and I appreciate the reduced amount of traveling, but the instability of this game ruined it for me.
  55. MaciejC.
    Dec 4, 2008
    4
    In fact, it looks like a film adaptations of Crysis: someone kicked most events and places out of the scenario and changed what has left so that the spirit od the original was totally lost; in Crysis, you saw everything like the main character would see it - now those third-person cinematics are ruining the impression. Maybe the new game is more action-packed, but it's like watching In fact, it looks like a film adaptations of Crysis: someone kicked most events and places out of the scenario and changed what has left so that the spirit od the original was totally lost; in Crysis, you saw everything like the main character would see it - now those third-person cinematics are ruining the impression. Maybe the new game is more action-packed, but it's like watching an action movie, while in the first Crysis you could feel like inside it. And where has all the mystery gone? Also, it's too short - yeah, I know it's an expansion pack, and that explains 5 chapters instead of 11; but it doesn't explain why every chapter is moving from A to B - in the original, you could use more of the alphabet. I came to thinking that I don't like Warhead because I keep idealized memories of the first Crysis - so I played Crysis again. And... IT WAS GODLY! Nothing like occasionally-good Warhead. Graphics... Well, quite like the first game, but... is it me, or is the jungle more yellow this time? A little difference, but it was so perfectly green in Crysis... The first game just imitated reality as good as possible, now I feel like it's over-stylized. But maybe it's just me... Snow and ice still look great. To sum up: if you did't play the first Crysis (shame on you!), you will probably like this game (given that your machine will run it). For me, remembering the thrilling atmosphere of the first Crysis, it was a huge disappointment. HUGE. So 4. Expand
  56. MojahedA.
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    so Valve has done it again by Making the best Milti plyer Addictive Person shooter of all Time . now I.m not gonna rate it Based on The Demo . It Deserve Every penny of it .
  57. LesterG.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Overall, the superb graphics and open ended gameplay of Crysis Warhead was worth my hard earned money. However, I was a little dissapointed with the shorter single player campaign, especially compared to the original Crysis. But at a MSRP of $29.99, who can complain? Of course, there'll always be a handful of PC's that will crush under the might of the Crytek2 engine. But in the Overall, the superb graphics and open ended gameplay of Crysis Warhead was worth my hard earned money. However, I was a little dissapointed with the shorter single player campaign, especially compared to the original Crysis. But at a MSRP of $29.99, who can complain? Of course, there'll always be a handful of PC's that will crush under the might of the Crytek2 engine. But in the end, this is why dedicated gamers stick to the PC, you get cutting edge games that pushes our technology to the limit. Like the old saying goes, "If you can't take the heat, get out of the kitchen". Crysis Warhed represents the epitome of PC gaming and another reason why PC games will always remain generations ahead of bubble gum consoles. Expand
  58. lizard
    Nov 9, 2008
    6
    Sublime graphics and gameplay massively let down by the minicule play time of the single player campaign, you can clock it in 2 or 3 days and there's nothing to come back for unless you're into multiplayer, and I'm not. There's nothing really new here it's just the first game all over again only much shorter and more linear ... and I thought the orignial Crysis Sublime graphics and gameplay massively let down by the minicule play time of the single player campaign, you can clock it in 2 or 3 days and there's nothing to come back for unless you're into multiplayer, and I'm not. There's nothing really new here it's just the first game all over again only much shorter and more linear ... and I thought the orignial Crysis was over too quickly. Fun while it lasts but not good value for money, wait until it's in the bargain bins if you're considering buying this one. Expand
  59. RossL
    Oct 31, 2008
    5
    Pedestrian gameplay, some good set pieces though these are fleeting, and just as you find yourself thinking "this might be fun after all", you are cruelly slapped round the face with the mighty fish of boring boring boring alien enemies and uninspired fights, even with 'human' opponents. Avoid.
  60. RossL
    Oct 28, 2008
    5
    Erm .. I dont get it. I mean, ok I am playing the game without the music on. I realise that will take away SOME of the emotional charge, but ... I cant help it. I am finding this game extremely, well, PEDESTRIAN. Ive got the difficulty on 'Delta', yet I feel like I am just kind of wandering through the game, occasionally being challenged by the enemies. It sorta started to getErm .. I dont get it. I mean, ok I am playing the game without the music on. I realise that will take away SOME of the emotional charge, but ... I cant help it. I am finding this game extremely, well, PEDESTRIAN. Ive got the difficulty on 'Delta', yet I feel like I am just kind of wandering through the game, occasionally being challenged by the enemies. It sorta started to get enjoyable using the suit powers and out-smarting the koreans in a nice warm green environment. But then WHAM - along comes the ice and away goes the FUN. Like I said, Ive got the music off, but surely that shouldnt make any difference. I wanted far more play in the lush island environments, and more challenges with the soldiers. There seemed to be few set pieces in this environment to really get my teeth into ... Im about 2/3 of the way through the game, and well it feels like "something to kill time to" rather than "jaw-dropping". I just feel sort of underwhelmed. Really I would have liked to have seen the game presented much more like the original far cry with more genuine, realistic combat to explore against "human" enemies. Instead it still goes silly with the aliens and more than a bit easy with the nano-suit koreans. I'll finish it, but its more like a fish and chip supper than a sumptuous italian meal. It fills a hole, thats all 5/10 Expand
  61. RobbieG.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Loved it...from start to finish...it's tough on Delta which is great, and while more linear than it's predecessor, it's great fun. Sure, it's hort, but it costs less than half the price of Crysis and if it were not for the annoying scenery pop-up and issues with sniper sights (objects that haven't appeared in normal view will suddenly block your sights with the Loved it...from start to finish...it's tough on Delta which is great, and while more linear than it's predecessor, it's great fun. Sure, it's hort, but it costs less than half the price of Crysis and if it were not for the annoying scenery pop-up and issues with sniper sights (objects that haven't appeared in normal view will suddenly block your sights with the sniper scope on) then this would be technically perfect. Plays faster than Crysis and given the luke-warm reception to Far-Cry 2, as a teaser before Crysis 2 (what's with Prophet? Has he been infected by the aliens? I need to find out...) it's just about the best thing around right now. Expand
  62. JanL.
    Oct 23, 2008
    3
    Real disappointment. Usual developers release patches making more changes compared to differences between Crysis and Crysis Warhead. And people thinks this game is great. Crysis sucked and Crysis Warhead sucks more because it's the same game, released year or so later, for additional 30$.
  63. HeinL.
    Oct 5, 2008
    7
    very short, same gameplay like crysis, but more linear levels, which are not that quite entertaining like the the ones in crysis. and it's very buggy, sometimes you fall through walls / floors and die (happened 2 times after a autosave, very annoying ), some gfx errors and KI glitches.
  64. JoepH.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Perfect graphics, fast, exciting and original gameplay and GREAT multiplayer which will keep you busy for ages. if you allready have crysis, buy this for better multiplayer and performance. The graphics in this one are better but less intense for your graphics card!
  65. MikeC.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    A superb game! The suit is so damn fun to use. You'll do things like use invisibility to creep up on an unsuspecting Korean patrol. Changing to maximum armour, you ambush them with a well placed grenade and then finish them off. But now the Koreans have heard the noise and seen you, and are closing in to flank you. How's your energy? Can you hide behind cover to flick back to A superb game! The suit is so damn fun to use. You'll do things like use invisibility to creep up on an unsuspecting Korean patrol. Changing to maximum armour, you ambush them with a well placed grenade and then finish them off. But now the Koreans have heard the noise and seen you, and are closing in to flank you. How's your energy? Can you hide behind cover to flick back to invisibility so you can invisibly creep to a different bit of cover, flanking your enemies as they close in on where they think you're still hiding? Or are they already too close, and you have to switch to speed and make a make a mad, desperate dash to avoid being killed? Or should you switch to strength and jump onto the roof of that building where they can't reach you? Or will someone lob a grenade at you and make the roof collapse? The open levels, suit powers, and weapon customisations give you so many possibilities. The combat is intense, brutal and visceral (best played on delta difficulty). And it's gorgeous. Awesome graphics are used to render intensely beautiful scences. The plot is standard action fare, but it's told with such visual flair and uses such beautifully atmospheric locations that I was still interested in it. The one issue I had is that there's now noticable pop-in, compared to the original crysis. And it's short but cheap. With this level of quality, I wouldn't mind long but expensive :) But it was still a 10/10 experience for me. Easily up there as one of the best FPS experiences I've ever had. Expand
  66. FilibertyJ.
    Oct 1, 2008
    0
    While I actually enjoyed the original Crysis, I cannot say about this game. I cannot say because I have not played, and I will not buy or support a game that limits you to 5 installations. Lets hope more people become aware of the issue with DRM and don't support such products.
  67. JN
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    I don't understand PC GAMER giving this game such a low score. It has been the best game I have played this year so far, and since i'm goin travelling in a few weeks it will probably be my game of the year :) A lot of criticism has been levelled at the more action packed on-rails nature of this game, I have to say this criticism is unfounded. The few parts where you are totally I don't understand PC GAMER giving this game such a low score. It has been the best game I have played this year so far, and since i'm goin travelling in a few weeks it will probably be my game of the year :) A lot of criticism has been levelled at the more action packed on-rails nature of this game, I have to say this criticism is unfounded. The few parts where you are totally restricted (ie. defensive parts/driving) the action and gunplay is so excellently realised that you don't care. The aliens are much better, but the creators have listened to their fans, and in this game even alien sections have KPA sprinkled liberally throughout so your tactics are always varied. The best way of describing this game is the freedom of Crysis mixed with the scripted nature of Call of Duty 4. The set-pieces in this game will blow you away. However players who slowly inched their way through the whole of Crysis in stealth mode will find this less fun than the player who enjoyed jumping from rooftop to rooftop blowing the entire KPA away. Expand
  68. JimboH.
    Sep 29, 2008
    7
    If you have a very good video card the game is great eye candy, and Crysis Wars works as a multiplayer game (but its still basically the multiplayer from the first Crysis with some supposedly good tweaks). Otherwise, you'll find the singleplayer graphics looking worse than a 1998 game and Crysis Wars unplayable even at terrible graphics since it currently forces your computer to If you have a very good video card the game is great eye candy, and Crysis Wars works as a multiplayer game (but its still basically the multiplayer from the first Crysis with some supposedly good tweaks). Otherwise, you'll find the singleplayer graphics looking worse than a 1998 game and Crysis Wars unplayable even at terrible graphics since it currently forces your computer to render everything as far as you can see, effectively throwing those minimum requirements out the window. Punkbuster and the DRM don't help either. Expand
  69. mysterylol
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    Great game, stunning visuals. Great maps. Short and sweet!
  70. SpidermanPsycho
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    Best game for the best affordable price it is absolutely steal. if you love shooters like me I'm sure you also like this one. Bring on Crysis 2.
  71. RichardS
    Sep 25, 2008
    6
    An expansion by Crytek Budapest, warhead puts you in the movie-like story of Psycho. The character, which once was minor is has now been fleshed out a bit by the developers. It's short-comings are a "rushed" feeling to the pacing, and horrible dialogue which borrows from action movie cliche "the-more-you-curse-and-swear-at-each-other-the-cooler-you-are", I'm tired of it and I An expansion by Crytek Budapest, warhead puts you in the movie-like story of Psycho. The character, which once was minor is has now been fleshed out a bit by the developers. It's short-comings are a "rushed" feeling to the pacing, and horrible dialogue which borrows from action movie cliche "the-more-you-curse-and-swear-at-each-other-the-cooler-you-are", I'm tired of it and I wish they put some thought into it instead. Other than that this FPS is well fleshed and teched out for what's out there for this genre. Expand
  72. RobN.
    Sep 25, 2008
    0
    Crysis Warhead builds on the excellent foundations of the original. However, regardless of how good the game is, you have to judge the package as a whole, and as such I cannot recommend you buy this. Along with the game the installation requires that you also include an unwanted and unwelcome additional program over which you have no control. This game requires that you install an EA Crysis Warhead builds on the excellent foundations of the original. However, regardless of how good the game is, you have to judge the package as a whole, and as such I cannot recommend you buy this. Along with the game the installation requires that you also include an unwanted and unwelcome additional program over which you have no control. This game requires that you install an EA rootkit on your PC in order to activate and run the game. The rootkit is there to host EA's draconian DRM which limits you to three (or maybe 5) installs (they seem to change frequently as they receive their sales statistics). I don't know about you, but I regularly upgrade my PC and I don't want to have to telephone each and every one of my software providers' call centres to argue a case that I should be allowed to re-install software that I have bought and paid for. Currently it only seems to be EA taking this O.T.T. DRM route, but unless they are stopped this is the scenario we'll be faced with. Score: 9 for the game. -9 for the DRM/Rootkit Result = 0. Expand
  73. JohnK.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    Anyone who enjoyed Crysis will simply be blown away by Warhead. Every aspect is amplified, from the graphics, to the soundtrack, to the engagement of the player with the storyline. The characters are more memorable and the action is better paced. While it doesn't quite have the impact of HL2, Warhead is still one of those games that when you finish make you sit back and exhale.
  74. PaulW.
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    Very enjoyable followup to Crysis. Performance is much improved, as is AI, pacing and overall gameplay. Hope to see more from Crytek soon!
  75. RobK.
    Sep 23, 2008
    6
    Short. Very short. Graphics appear a step down from original game--some flowers are just plain flat. Pop-ins chronically. Several spots where the game slows to a crawl with even the audio cracking and suffering. The plot and voice acting were great, but the technical problems caused the over all experience to suffer. Review system: Intel QX6850 Quad Core SLi 8800 Ultra HD Raptors in quad raid.
  76. DaveC.
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    Awesome, just like the original but with more gung-ho action and you get to play as that tough cockney geezer Psycho. What more could you want ? Well, it's cheap to buy and you get Crysis Wars thrown in on a second disc too ! Would have gotten a 10 if not for the scarily expensive PC you need to buy to play it on.
  77. BrianY.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    This game shines truly as FPS masterpiece. Best graphics, most intense gameplay, most flexible gameplay, excellent campaign and a truly great price of $30 only. It should be $100.
  78. KantleyW.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    EA and Crytek. Best combination ever!! That ought to tip the scales in EA's ever ongoing war with Blizzard.
  79. [Anonymous]
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    It is a very dynamic and beautiful game. Totally worth it.
  80. BelushiS.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Much has been made of Warhead being "faster", or "optimized"...you won't notice that much of a speed difference but you will notice how much smoother it is, how much better enemy AI is and there's endless fun to be had seeing just how much yof the screen you can fill with explosions. Gung-ho tactics will not work, it's a much more cerebral shooter than most and it's Much has been made of Warhead being "faster", or "optimized"...you won't notice that much of a speed difference but you will notice how much smoother it is, how much better enemy AI is and there's endless fun to be had seeing just how much yof the screen you can fill with explosions. Gung-ho tactics will not work, it's a much more cerebral shooter than most and it's much more exciting than most, and at the price represents the best value for money you'll find all year. Too much fun. Expand
  81. ClaufeR.
    Sep 21, 2008
    0
    I read the thread on the Crymod forums and i couldn't believe what happened! 0 to this game. PS: I also bought the first Crysis, and i´m also disappointed about this MP patch.
  82. KarlL
    Sep 21, 2008
    8
    Unfortunately a bit too much like the last (and worse) half of crysis. The game sometimes forces you along at its own pace. Levels are linear, Forced vehicle segments, A lot of caves and corridors. It would have been nice if they had tried to replicate the sandbox feel of the first 3 crysis missions. Still its a great game. Much better then most FPS's Oh and there are some hardcoded Unfortunately a bit too much like the last (and worse) half of crysis. The game sometimes forces you along at its own pace. Levels are linear, Forced vehicle segments, A lot of caves and corridors. It would have been nice if they had tried to replicate the sandbox feel of the first 3 crysis missions. Still its a great game. Much better then most FPS's Oh and there are some hardcoded key configs. So it sucks if you wanted to use RMB for anything other then alternate fire :( Expand
  83. YuukiA.
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    Very much Crysis style but with alot more packed into 5 hours of mayhem much to the style of 'Psycho'. Great fun, more challenging then the first Crysis, fun new weapons to add to your arsenal, fast paced action and follows the original story well, but at the same time definitely adds its own dimension to make it a unique experience. The Cry2 engine seems to definitely have had Very much Crysis style but with alot more packed into 5 hours of mayhem much to the style of 'Psycho'. Great fun, more challenging then the first Crysis, fun new weapons to add to your arsenal, fast paced action and follows the original story well, but at the same time definitely adds its own dimension to make it a unique experience. The Cry2 engine seems to definitely have had its optimization improved as the game actually LOOKS better but also RUNS better then the original. The action is more intense but its not to say that there aren't areas where you will make use of being stealthy. If you enjoyed Crysis then you will definitely enjoy Crysis Warhead. 30 bucks, you cant go wrong! Using a fairly 'budget' system (8800GT) the game ran real well with most settings on enthusiast mixed with gamer @ 1680x1050. Good game Crytek~ more please! Expand
  84. BobJ.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Best game I've played in a long time. If you have the system to run it that is.
  85. MaruN.
    Sep 20, 2008
    0
    I am frustrated about that 1.3 MP patch cancelled, i payed to them, and they've done a new patch with my money, and i can´t use it, what´s the point? O to this game and this enterprise.
  86. JaeQ.
    Sep 20, 2008
    8
    Solid game, but I'm giving it a more realistic rating, rather than overhyping. Firstly, I run on dx9 crysis warhead allows you to run maximized with it, the game is absolutely beautiful, not just first hour noteworthy, you notice it throughout the game. As for gameplay, the weapon mechanics are improved, enemies now die in a more reasonable amount of non-headshots, 2-3 rounds to Solid game, but I'm giving it a more realistic rating, rather than overhyping. Firstly, I run on dx9 crysis warhead allows you to run maximized with it, the game is absolutely beautiful, not just first hour noteworthy, you notice it throughout the game. As for gameplay, the weapon mechanics are improved, enemies now die in a more reasonable amount of non-headshots, 2-3 rounds to chest with an assault rifle and they're done usually. the gore, though still not great, is much better than crysis, especially the headshots. The AI are improved significantly, especially the aliens. The storyline is more interesting, and the game isn't even that short, It took me, maybe 1 and half to 2 hrs less than crysis did. The MP is also notably improved. Expand
  87. ChuckNorris
    Sep 19, 2008
    0
    So, guess what? I also bought the first Crysis and was harmed on the MP to, so i can´t imagine a good game on this sequel, since the company doesn't have done a patch that worth it, and if they have to sell the MP patch on this game, I just think this is totally against the rules of the market.
  88. JeffreyC.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Crysis Warhead I suspect will be the best PC game and best first person shooter of 2008. It's such an awesome game. Almost the standard it put up when Crysis was first released. It fixed all the problems Crysis had. Smoother running and sharper graphics although Crysis had the best graphics a PC game could have. Excellent game!! Absolutely!! Praise Crytek Studios!! All hail EA!!!
  89. JamesC.
    Sep 18, 2008
    7
    Gameplay is exactly like Crysis, but this game is pretty short. About the time I got warmed up it was over. That brings it down from the 10 I gave Crysis to just a 7. The replay value is smaller than Crysis as well. I know this is just an expansion pack, but I just don't feel like I got my moneys worth.
  90. MartinV.
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    Much more intense. Seems like graphics and texture quality were turned down a bit, but the art quality of the frozen landscape is breathtaking. Didn't have much time to look around though, because of all the action. I was expecting the game to be a bit longer, it took me just two afternoons on Delta level to finish the game. Still takes a hell of a rig to run on Enthusiast settings - Much more intense. Seems like graphics and texture quality were turned down a bit, but the art quality of the frozen landscape is breathtaking. Didn't have much time to look around though, because of all the action. I was expecting the game to be a bit longer, it took me just two afternoons on Delta level to finish the game. Still takes a hell of a rig to run on Enthusiast settings - Q6600 at 3.2Ghz and two GTX 280s in SLI around 25FPS on average. Expand
  91. AndréL.
    Sep 18, 2008
    0
    I give this rate because this company disrespected everyone who bought the first crysis, what they´ve done is totally unfair and unethical.(read on the crymod foruns the long thread about the MP patch and the you-ll see).
  92. QuanD.
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    The shooting is better than the first one, harder and more realistic.
  93. PeterS.
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    Great game, great Value! Multiplayer is lots of fun, and the single player is awesome!
  94. RM
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    A fantastic improvement over the first in all affairs. Level design, performance, pure beauty, AI intelligence, storytelling, music, and cut-scenes. It takes you for a ride and doesn't let go!
  95. PaulT.
    Sep 16, 2008
    0
    This game uses the SecuROM DRM system that limits you to 3 activations, like Spore. Sony, the makers of SecuROM, were reprimanded by the FTC in 2007 for using unlawful DRM practices with music CDs. EA is using Sony's SecuROM DRM technology to commit similar offenses. For instance, the FTC ruled that, "Installations of secret software that create security risks are intrusive and This game uses the SecuROM DRM system that limits you to 3 activations, like Spore. Sony, the makers of SecuROM, were reprimanded by the FTC in 2007 for using unlawful DRM practices with music CDs. EA is using Sony's SecuROM DRM technology to commit similar offenses. For instance, the FTC ruled that, "Installations of secret software that create security risks are intrusive and unlawful," said FTC Chairman Deborah Platt Majoras. "Consumers' computers belong to them, and companies must adequately disclose unexpected limitations on the customary use of their products so consumers can make informed decisions regarding whether to purchase and install that content." Expand
  96. HernandoT.
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    Great game! After Crysis, this is will be well optimized and playable with a 600$ machine all in high. I recommend this game to FPSrs.
  97. MarcinS.
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    An amazing improvement over the original game.
  98. JonathanW.
    Sep 14, 2008
    10
    Even Better than the original. Visuals and gameplay!
  99. Dec 30, 2010
    0
    Given its predecessor, Crysis warhead have a lot to live up to, unfortunately it doesn't quite cut it. The game have gone from a game that pushed the boundaries of what is possible, that had a huge sandbox world to a linear, graphically the same and with no sense of what difficulty means.

    Now, that doesn't make the game bad per se, but it does drag the overall score down. The graphics is
    Given its predecessor, Crysis warhead have a lot to live up to, unfortunately it doesn't quite cut it. The game have gone from a game that pushed the boundaries of what is possible, that had a huge sandbox world to a linear, graphically the same and with no sense of what difficulty means.

    Now, that doesn't make the game bad per se, but it does drag the overall score down. The graphics is the same as in Crysis, I'm disappointed to see no further development. The world is split up into different maps, that are much more linear than in the previous game.
    The AI is incredibly dumb at times, they shoot into walls and the friendly AI sometimes decided to stand where you are shooting at.
    There are possibilities that aren't used to their full potential, one of them being the stealth system, it could have been much better, but instead you're almost always forced to resort to taking the enemy head-on.

    There's also a problem regarding difficulty, you go from a walk in the park to a level that is near-on impossible to complete. There are also times when you die instantly, usually by being hit by an RPG or the Gaus rifle, extremely frustrating.
    But there one more thing that surpasses all above: the draconian DRM system.

    The voice acting is great, the environments are great and the weapon customization is mediocre.
    If you can find good deal, meaning 10 euros or less, go for it, otherwise not.
    Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The original Crysis may have given you the basic tools, but Warhead allows you to really use them, and while its previous titles made it clear that Crytek knew technology like few others, it's this strange off-shoot Warhead that proves it's no slouch when it comes to level design and set-pieces either.
  2. 94
    For $30, Crysis Warhead is an incredible value, and you’d be hard pressed to find a better shooter on the PC this year. The single-player campaign is tight and superb, and the multiplayer portion delivers something that you can just in and play and have fun with.
  3. Warhead honestly is the finest burst of action gaming released so far this year, and if you're canny then you'll be able to pick it up for a mere £15 from online retailers. It's a five hour tour-de-force that's plugged the holes in Crysis with diamonds.