Cthulhu Saves the World PC

Cthulhu Saves the World Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Cthulhu was all set to plunge the world into insanity and destruction when a band of heroes cursed him and sealed away his powers. The only way for him to break the curse is to become a true hero. Save the world to destroy it!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 3, 2011
    90
    A quality game, but at that absurdly low price there's really no excuse to deny yourself of it.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    80
    It's a surprisingly entertaining adventure, deeply respectful of its source material, and not afraid to make jokes and game design adjustments where appropriate.
  3. Jul 28, 2011
    80
    Cthulhu Saves the World is a fun and well-designed tribute to the JRPGs genre, full of contents that entertain for hours and cost as little as 2 euros.
  4. Aug 2, 2011
    80
    Those looking for an easy-to-pick-up and entertaining RPG experience would have to work very hard to find a better option.
  5. Oct 2, 2011
    80
    Are you Final Fantasy old-time classics' devotees? Without hesitation, try this one! Do you love Lovecraft? Without hesitation, try this one! If you are truly positive about your answers, straightway you got to quest for Cthulhu Saves the World! Besides, how long ago you got a chance to play as a he-man (and quite an original one) baddy?
  6. PC Gamer
    Sep 13, 2011
    67
    A really good parody. [Nov 2011, p.76]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. A great throwback to classic RPGs. This was exactly the awesome, entertaining, humorous, 8-bit game i had been lookingThis game is awesome. A great throwback to classic RPGs. This was exactly the awesome, entertaining, humorous, 8-bit game i had been looking for! I highly recommend it, especially for such a cheap price. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    A really awesome game. Can be a little repetitive, but genuinely funny. Also a lot of faults can be forgiven at the ridiculously cheap priceA really awesome game. Can be a little repetitive, but genuinely funny. Also a lot of faults can be forgiven at the ridiculously cheap price point. If you aren't a foaming COD junkie I recommend it heavily. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Ridiculous price, great humour, hours of engaging gameplay - what else can you desire from a game? Oh, yes - I forgot about graphics. ButRidiculous price, great humour, hours of engaging gameplay - what else can you desire from a game? Oh, yes - I forgot about graphics. But thats only one thing that you wouldn't find here...Because its totally old-school rpg ... and that's a plus! Reminding me the times when imagination was more important than astonishing visuals. Thank God for indie developers. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Neat little RPG, that will keep you busy for quite some time (especially on hard/insane mode). You can customize your characters by choosingNeat little RPG, that will keep you busy for quite some time (especially on hard/insane mode). You can customize your characters by choosing between 2 abilities on level-up and also by selecting different weapons/armor (you can find those on chests or buy them from the shops located in each city). New characters join you throughout the game and you can have up 4 in your party. This becomes very important on harder difficulties, since your party must be well balanced in order to survive the multiple waves of enemies that you will encounter.

    Even though your HP replenish after each fight, you will soon run out of mana if you are not careful and just spam spells. This is what makes the game difficult, but sadly, the difference between normal and hard mode is chaotic. Basically in normal mode you will almost never run out of mana, while in hard mode you might even have trouble surviving against the first couple of packs.

    Overall, this game is definitely worth buying. For under $2 you get hours of gameplay that is more entertaining than what many "new generation" games have to offer. Go ahead and buy it, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    I had this game given to me as a gift from a friend who recommended it highly, and I was not disappointed. Being a kid who grew up in the eraI had this game given to me as a gift from a friend who recommended it highly, and I was not disappointed. Being a kid who grew up in the era when games like this were popular, I found the setting and style both familiar and refreshing. While the "laugh out loud" moments were far and few between, the game still managed to keep a smile on my face most of the way through. While the gameplay starts to drag a little towards the end and the humor isn't particularly enough for a second playthrough, I definitely enjoyed the time I spent with this game. Plus, the developer commentary gave me fascinating insights into the mind of an indie game developer. Collapse
  6. Jan 9, 2013
    6
    Better than Breath of Death 7, but only by a small margin. It seems to me that Zeboyd always makes minimal efforts for the game to beBetter than Breath of Death 7, but only by a small margin. It seems to me that Zeboyd always makes minimal efforts for the game to be enjoyable. Obviously it somewhat works but the games are a bit the equivalent of Justin Bieber in the indie RPG world. Gotta look for something else if you want a great experience. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2015
    0
    This sequel to 'Breath of Death VII: The Beginning' features uninspired graphics - even by SNES standards!
    The ironical storyline does not
    This sequel to 'Breath of Death VII: The Beginning' features uninspired graphics - even by SNES standards!
    The ironical storyline does not save the day.

    You are better off playing any SNES 'Final Fantasy' episode... these are masterpieces!
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews