User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 75
  2. Negative: 41 out of 75
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonasW
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    I think the gameplay is very good, I don't care of the reviews. After my point of view, I think it's a really good game.
  2. joshhines
    May 29, 2009
    10
    I think it is a great game, solo play is very well laid out and the pvp play is very nice looking and quick to get into. The graphics themselves look astounding , in my own opinion the only con is theres no push to talk option the mic is always open so pvp can be irritating if theres a jerk in the round with his mic turned on constantly
  3. admBOMBz
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    i think everyone who didnt vote 8 or higher is dumb...the singleplayer was a joke ya sure. but the real fun is in the multiplayer. i think everyone hated the online play because you were only at ur best if you hosted the game....which i did all the time and always got the top frags. this game was too fun for me...sprinting one way, looking the other, toss a trip mine.....BUILT IN WALLi think everyone who didnt vote 8 or higher is dumb...the singleplayer was a joke ya sure. but the real fun is in the multiplayer. i think everyone hated the online play because you were only at ur best if you hosted the game....which i did all the time and always got the top frags. this game was too fun for me...sprinting one way, looking the other, toss a trip mine.....BUILT IN WALL HACKS PPL COME ON! this game is the shit, just needs better online lobby function....and better players...

    admBOMBz > you
    Expand
  4. MarkD
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    I thought this was a great game. It was exciting, as well as the huge jumping environment added alot of joy. It seemed to have a bit of a puzzle element as well (even though they werent hard in any sense just a bit different). Certain levels seemed like they would be more fun in co-op mode but I just played this in single player mode only. Overall the play, the AI and Weapons gave me a I thought this was a great game. It was exciting, as well as the huge jumping environment added alot of joy. It seemed to have a bit of a puzzle element as well (even though they werent hard in any sense just a bit different). Certain levels seemed like they would be more fun in co-op mode but I just played this in single player mode only. Overall the play, the AI and Weapons gave me a good time. I was upset to see this game scored so low. Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2013
    5
    The campaign for this game is definitely meant to be played co-op, since I would imagine that it would be pretty boring playing single-player. The story and the varied gameplay make it fairly interesting from beginning to end, but it can get tedious at certain points. The campaign is way too easy, which can make for a boring playthrough, but the weird, choppy game mechanics would have madeThe campaign for this game is definitely meant to be played co-op, since I would imagine that it would be pretty boring playing single-player. The story and the varied gameplay make it fairly interesting from beginning to end, but it can get tedious at certain points. The campaign is way too easy, which can make for a boring playthrough, but the weird, choppy game mechanics would have made a hard difficulty very frustrating. The cutscene graphics look horrendous, like something from a ps2-era game, but the in-game graphics are average for a 2009 title.

    I just wonder why this spent so much time in development from the 2006 release of the Damnation mod for UT2004, to this 2009 release, based on the UT3 engine. It was worth the $1.50 I paid for it though.
    Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2010
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a nice game, but .. a very big BUT .. the graphics of this game are not really that detailed and rather between mediocre and good. The fact that the levels are big and with a lot of perspective makes up a lot.

    Why does the developer uses save points? I REALLY hate save points. If I stop reading a book, I do not restart the complete chapter either you bunch of idiots. I do not like playing a game for 15 min and have to restart 15 min because I died or more. This is not game play but only waisting my precious time!
    Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2010
    4
    Good controls outdated graphics but the game isn't that bad.The weapons are way to old in design and function.The enemies are very stupid.I like the way is climbing walls.But that all is nice.The action and tension are 0.The character is a copy of Van Hellsing with short hair.To bad it could be something much better.You could give it a try but i can't say i'm happy for playing this.
  8. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    First time I tried to play I hated the game but when I got really bored one day played it again with my partner and we had more fun than most games we have played. the story is a bit lacking but the game play and scenery are amazing I'm guessing most people did what we did the first time round but never went back to try again. I really wish it had better reviews as we would have both lovedFirst time I tried to play I hated the game but when I got really bored one day played it again with my partner and we had more fun than most games we have played. the story is a bit lacking but the game play and scenery are amazing I'm guessing most people did what we did the first time round but never went back to try again. I really wish it had better reviews as we would have both loved a second to come out:( Expand
  9. AnonymousMC
    May 30, 2009
    3
    Yup. Its really that bad. Besides the rediculous story arch, the ugly controls, and the terrible gun play there is something more I wish to mention. So it says it uses the Unreal Engine. Well I think they just used Gears of War 2. (Which also uses the unreal engine by the by) Anyone who has played GoW2 will notice a close connection to the guns used in Damnation...IF FACT! THEY ARE EXACTLYYup. Its really that bad. Besides the rediculous story arch, the ugly controls, and the terrible gun play there is something more I wish to mention. So it says it uses the Unreal Engine. Well I think they just used Gears of War 2. (Which also uses the unreal engine by the by) Anyone who has played GoW2 will notice a close connection to the guns used in Damnation...IF FACT! THEY ARE EXACTLY THE SAME! Minus being fun and effective. Sure they changed the skin of the gun, but its the same guns! They even use the same friggin crosshairs! Also you'll notice an almost exact copy of the ingame menu from GoW2. Also your made to collect these little glowing discs throughout the game *COUGH COUGH* Cog Tags! And you'd think if they were going to out right copy another games ideas they surely couldn't F*#$ it up with Gears of War but somehow they still manage to make it unenjoyable. Thanks Damnation! Expand
  10. BruceM.
    Jun 5, 2009
    2
    Worst element is the need for Jackie Chan moves with the motor controls of a 2 year old. Directional controls are limited to 45 degree increments, so even approaching a item to pick-up or activate a lever can take several attempts. Story line is a waste of time. The only bright spot is a massive 3 axis environment. Problem solving elements are not interesting. Having to restart repeated Worst element is the need for Jackie Chan moves with the motor controls of a 2 year old. Directional controls are limited to 45 degree increments, so even approaching a item to pick-up or activate a lever can take several attempts. Story line is a waste of time. The only bright spot is a massive 3 axis environment. Problem solving elements are not interesting. Having to restart repeated dialogs, door openings, and elevator rides after being killed really adds pain. Best possible player reward would be able to immediately shoot down brainwashing speakers. Some can be shot out others not. Had to turn off the sound often. This could have been good, but you blew it big time. Expand
  11. MatthewC
    Jun 10, 2009
    3
    A great idea that simply wasn't realized...clumsy, cliched story, terrible mechanics (can you make it any more painful than sending the player back to the top of the *&$@#! lift everytime they die?) average, lacklustre graphics & effects though some textures were quite nice, incredibly repetitive gameplay and overall not satisfying. Really wish I hadn't paid full retail for A great idea that simply wasn't realized...clumsy, cliched story, terrible mechanics (can you make it any more painful than sending the player back to the top of the *&$@#! lift everytime they die?) average, lacklustre graphics & effects though some textures were quite nice, incredibly repetitive gameplay and overall not satisfying. Really wish I hadn't paid full retail for this. Sorry devs, but this effort was shameful. Expand
  12. jeremyf
    Jun 6, 2009
    0
    I am ashamed this game is even on my computer! Let alone that a paid 50$ for it. Never by another codebreaker game now.
  13. Robocop5626
    Jul 11, 2009
    1
    Devolving the first person shooter is more apt. BAck flips and ledge jumping do not belong in a FPS unless it is for filler. The FPS portion was odd and the clamoring around climbing was frustrating to say the least. Save the money and prepay your funeral expenses. It will be a better investment, trust me. Of course if you like leaping, twisting and jumping about, you may enjoy this tripe.
  14. JonH
    Jun 13, 2009
    1
    Trailer looked great but the game play lets it down. My dog could finish the whole lot in under 4 hours, good job dogs don't play. As an average player i found it far to easy, quests lacked any great difficulty and the paths through the game were tiered. Codebreaker = brain dead in 5 mins. A total waste of money and disk space.
  15. JonHart
    Jun 14, 2009
    0
    False advertisement is what this is. I think they spent more time making sure the preview looked great then actually making the game. They should reimburse all the people who purchased this game if they ever want people to buy their any of their games again. Shame on you codemasters
  16. TacoJ
    Jun 18, 2009
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. AT ALL COSTS, even that of your children, do not pull out your wallets when it comes to this piece of trash. Forget liam and jonas, what kind of name is jonas? Some kind of hippy we todd, idk. But this is the single worst game ive ever been fooled by. OMFG do not buy this game.
  17. D.S.
    Aug 19, 2009
    0
    Non-exsistent A.I? check. Graphics that wouldnt make and difference if they were black and white? check. Clunky acrobatics? check. Terrible weapons and shooting? check. Awful story and long, un-skippable cutscenes containing awful voice-acting and non-sense script? check. This game royaly butchers any aspect of gaming you can think of. oh, and worthless $50 pricetag? check.
  18. [Anonymous]
    May 26, 2009
    3
    Thanks Codemasters! This is one of the dumbest games I've played in a long time. I'd be laughing if I hadn't paid for it. Be assured this game is far worse than it appears to be in the trailers. For all the claims of "evolving the shooter genre" and "taking it vertical" this is the same gameplay style that was conceived nearly a decade and a half ago in the first Tomb Thanks Codemasters! This is one of the dumbest games I've played in a long time. I'd be laughing if I hadn't paid for it. Be assured this game is far worse than it appears to be in the trailers. For all the claims of "evolving the shooter genre" and "taking it vertical" this is the same gameplay style that was conceived nearly a decade and a half ago in the first Tomb Raider. But whereas the Tomb Raider games are (mostly) well-executed and... what's that word... oh yeah, FUN, this is silly-feeling and plum dumb. Toss in a storyline that is incomprehensible right from the start, some of the most cringe-inducing dialogue this side of an Uwe Boll movie, and ridiculous characters with names like Yakiken (that's yah-KEE-kin--fun to say!), and you've got a hot mess on your hands. Save yourself the trouble and don't even illegally download this one. Expand
  19. ThadM
    May 29, 2009
    0
    I was excited when i first saw this game in play magazine the screen shots seemed fun and sorta like a gears of war style shooting mixed with tomb raider esque action.

    well i bought it and to be honest it is neither what it is is a over hyped piece of crap the voice acting is so bad it made me wanna shoot myself the combat is as clunky and a n64 console game and the story line made
    I was excited when i first saw this game in play magazine the screen shots seemed fun and sorta like a gears of war style shooting mixed with tomb raider esque action.

    well i bought it and to be honest it is neither what it is is a over hyped piece of crap the voice acting is so bad it made me wanna shoot myself the combat is as clunky and a n64 console game and the story line made about as much sense as barack obamas plan to fix the economy do yourself a favor dont buy this dont even think about buying it
    Expand
  20. LoganM
    May 31, 2009
    0
    I haven't even played past the first few parts due to lack of intrest this is probaly the worst game i have ever played. I would rather play pong for 8 hours then play this game for 10 minutes. I too would be laughing if i had not payed for it. 0 out of 10 for a complete waste of comp space. THANKS FOR MAKING IT LOOK SO AND MAKING ME BUY IT!
  21. ColinE
    Jun 29, 2009
    1
    I'd give it a zero if it weren't for the whole Western and Steam punk aspect. The controls are sloppy, the graphics are pretty outdated in terms of being a PS3 game. Player movements are choppy and the NPCs pretty much defy gravity. The story is stupid and rather boring. I was hoping this game would be another GUN but I suppose my hopes were just too high.
  22. AlexH.
    Aug 26, 2009
    2
    Dear lord, this was a deeply irritating game. The graphics were only 2004, at best, and that made the gameplay a little fidgety. The enemies are dumber than oak trees. The combat system was pathetic. The voice acting was as annoying as Alvin and The Chipmunks music (Don't quote that point). There was NO story to it really, it was as if they had forgotten the storyline and needed Dear lord, this was a deeply irritating game. The graphics were only 2004, at best, and that made the gameplay a little fidgety. The enemies are dumber than oak trees. The combat system was pathetic. The voice acting was as annoying as Alvin and The Chipmunks music (Don't quote that point). There was NO story to it really, it was as if they had forgotten the storyline and needed something to fill in. I nearly got sick from all of the climbing because I had to restart so many times. It took up 10 GIGS (I would underline that rather than use caps but...) which is purely ridiculous for the lack of polish, or styling, or thought, or... I think the only remotely enjoyable thing about this was the motorcycle/mini-trains, and that is worth maybe a quarter of a point. All and all, there goes forty bucks I won't be getting back. Codemasters, Blue Omega, why? Expand
  23. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    Basically I liked this game and I think of it as an older version of Assassins 3, with a lot more shooting. However, I got so involved with puzzle solving and wall jumping that I tended to lose track of the story line. Unfortunately, the story line isn't new and it is somewhat boring. Still, I believe this is a good game and it is appropriate for an old guy like me who has to play allBasically I liked this game and I think of it as an older version of Assassins 3, with a lot more shooting. However, I got so involved with puzzle solving and wall jumping that I tended to lose track of the story line. Unfortunately, the story line isn't new and it is somewhat boring. Still, I believe this is a good game and it is appropriate for an old guy like me who has to play all games dumbed down to easy level. Expand
  24. JamesH.
    Oct 6, 2009
    7
    I thought the game was pretty good. I don't know if the people who reviewed it ever even played it, but I just beat it in a day and a half with my friend. Great game co-op; co-op plays out the same as it does in like Gears of War. Jumping is pretty easy to do, sometimes you can get lost where you are exactly, but the route is fairly linear so you are still moving forward, and played I thought the game was pretty good. I don't know if the people who reviewed it ever even played it, but I just beat it in a day and a half with my friend. Great game co-op; co-op plays out the same as it does in like Gears of War. Jumping is pretty easy to do, sometimes you can get lost where you are exactly, but the route is fairly linear so you are still moving forward, and played to jump are typically laid out well to see like being a yellow color. Enemy AI seems fine, they don't just stand there, they move about and are decent shots. Definately glad I played it with a friend, think it wouldnt have been nearly as good solo. Several times you ride a bike and the track routes seem pretty well laid out, lots of fun jumps. All in all not the best game, but certainly good, and worth a try, especially if you need a co-op game. Expand
  25. V.T.
    Jun 4, 2009
    8
    I have to admit that I love it when people feel they have to be overcritical about a game whenever its not the way they (the reviewer/critic) think it should be. Thats what I discovered has mostly been the case with Damnation. Scathing reviews from pretty much everybody, yet practically no one had anything constructive to say about the game. Now personally I enjoyed the game. Would I say I have to admit that I love it when people feel they have to be overcritical about a game whenever its not the way they (the reviewer/critic) think it should be. Thats what I discovered has mostly been the case with Damnation. Scathing reviews from pretty much everybody, yet practically no one had anything constructive to say about the game. Now personally I enjoyed the game. Would I say I loved it? Probably not, though it had its moments where I was stunned at how the story was progressing. Story: 8/10 Despite both user and critic reviews, the story is hardly "incoherent." In fact its quite easy to follow and has a pretty good twist thrown in. If the story suffered anywhere, it would be that it could have been longer and they could have developed the characters a bit more. Adding a little more fluff would have helped somewhat too as well as making the ending a little more substantial. I would like to have known what happened afterward. Sound & Voice Acting: 7/10 Voice acting was solid. Could it have been better? I would say probably. Everything else, solid. And I admit, some of the dialogue could have used some work but people need to understand that not everybody is a Oxford english major, not everybody is William Shakespeare. For crying out loud, the game takes place in the old west. Honestly I find the character's ineloquence make them more believable than if they spoke like Winston Churchill. Graphics & Animation: 9/10 Now as far as the graphics go, they are very well done. In fact I only noticed a few textures here and there that could have been a little higher res, but over all they did great. I don't know how people come off saying that the graphics are bad, perhaps they forgot to set the graphics quality to high and up the resolution. As for places that could use improvement, some of the cutscenes lagged a bit here and there. And I noticed in one level outside the PSI fortress where there was a floating drainage pipe not connected to anything and part of the tower is floating off the ground. But other than that no real problems that I noticed. Animations were solid. The only animation that I would see as needing to be fixed would be the animation of getting shot. There were also some weird animations with the motorcycle one or or two occasions where part of the bike would get funky but those problems were east to correct. In the end, people seem to forget that it's not about how pretty the game looks...its about how it plays... Gameplay: 9/10 I watched a video earlier about how inaccurate the weapons were. I had no such problems and the few times that I missed a head shot with the sniper rifle was due to me (though there might have been a few times where it glitched). Some of the levels were a little sparse for me in terms of enemies (PSI headquarters, Motorcycle levels) but hey... Game play overall though is solid. AI. 7/10 AI was generally good. There were a few times that I noticed the AI get a bit funky though. Expand
  26. NunyaDamnbusiness
    May 29, 2009
    6
    This game isn't as bad as some people make it out to be. Yes, there is a lot of room for improvement and the unrealized potential is somewhat frustrating. If, however, you're just looking for something to kill a little time and don't get overly angst ridden about your games, this is a pleasant diversion. I imagine if release could have been delayed about 90 days toThis game isn't as bad as some people make it out to be. Yes, there is a lot of room for improvement and the unrealized potential is somewhat frustrating. If, however, you're just looking for something to kill a little time and don't get overly angst ridden about your games, this is a pleasant diversion. I imagine if release could have been delayed about 90 days to fix some of the things that are wrong, this game would be getting much better reviews. Expand
  27. Liamv
    Jun 12, 2009
    8
    V.T. pretty much hit the nail on the head. Everyone is complaining about how stupid this game is and how useless everything about it is. I say rubbish. Yes, the game could use some improvement, it is far from perfect, but it is still enjoyable. There are a few glitches here and there that i've found and the names and plot are fairly corny...But the game was still fun. The only V.T. pretty much hit the nail on the head. Everyone is complaining about how stupid this game is and how useless everything about it is. I say rubbish. Yes, the game could use some improvement, it is far from perfect, but it is still enjoyable. There are a few glitches here and there that i've found and the names and plot are fairly corny...But the game was still fun. The only problem i've had with weapons is when i had network trouble in a co op game and my bullets couldn't hit the enemy at all. WOW! one problem that's actually caused some form of frustration. Yes things like having to repeat the opening of doors and stuff is a pain...but who cares. i think the gameplay was quite good, and whatever the above comment was about the overcomplicated controls was ridiculous. it's like a 4 button control interface. If they're too complicated for you, go back to your 2x tables. It's not perfect, it's not GREAT, but it's pretty decent and i think people have cut it down WAY more than is necessary as the game can be quite fun. Expand
  28. Dec 29, 2011
    6
    This game has good things and a few bugs that spoil the gamefun. The things that should not be in the final game are: - animation when hit feels and looks not as a finished product. Things that could be improved: - A bit too easy to play. It plays like a shooter in third person view.
    - The controls are ok, some people complain about it, but I find it ok.
    - The A.I is basic, the enemies
    This game has good things and a few bugs that spoil the gamefun. The things that should not be in the final game are: - animation when hit feels and looks not as a finished product. Things that could be improved: - A bit too easy to play. It plays like a shooter in third person view.
    - The controls are ok, some people complain about it, but I find it ok.
    - The A.I is basic, the enemies do hide away after getting hit.

    Good things about the game:
    - The greying out, without a health-bar is cleverly incorporated. Let's the player focus on the action.
    - The game is diverse. Platform, shooter, Bike to race to the next place. The bike riding takes a bit of practise. After that you can speed throught. Gives a nice feeling of speed.
    - The world is nicely drawn.
    - Can take 3 types of guns/rifles with you. Can switch between them.
    - As a man I do like the playable female chars. =)
    - The western setting with 20th century robots and weapons is refreshing.

    I played most great games and this game does not shine like those top games, but does not deserve a place among the worst games. It's still enjoyable. They could have made this game much better. The potential is there.
    Expand
  29. Jun 27, 2015
    0
    kjnkjnjnkjnkjnkjnkjnkjnnknkjnkjn;jnnkn

    knkjnkjnkjnkjnkjnkjnkjnkjnkjnkjnkjnkjnkjn;n;lklkmlkm;lkmlkmlkmlkmlkm

    mkmlnmn.,mn.,mn,mn,mn,mn,mn,mn,.mn,mn,.mn,mn,mn,mn,mn,.mn,.mn,mn,mnkoimjkbhcdcfvgbhnjml,;hgdxszeasxrdcvgbhnjmkjnihbugvfctdxszawertyglhjklm
  30. Jan 29, 2017
    1
    Meh, un juego que podría haber sido un Juegazo, la historia es entretenida, los gráficos normalillos, la estética brutal, pero la jugabilidad es mala, nefasta... un juego recomendable si tienes paciencia y solo quieres disfrutar de una experiencia agridulce
Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    60
    Damnation is a useless action game especially for core gamers. If only the developers had fulfiled their promises, we could have had a pretty cool game. Now you can enjoy the vertical architecture and nothing more. [May 2009]
  2. Damnation fails at pretty much everything it attempts to do. The story has never heard of coherence, climbing shouldn't be attempted if the gamer wishes to retain his sanity, bullets might as well be thrown with Rourke's bare hands and visually, Damnation could've been entirely in grey and nobody would notice the difference.
  3. Technically, Damnation is not up to date, it looks like a game from the 20th century with overly complicated controls. It's a shame, because it could have been so much better. Blue Omega, please try again.