Damnation PC

Damnation Image
Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Evolving the shooter genre with its unique combination of fluid action and combat, Damnation features huge, open environments, frenetic combat, daredevil acrobatics and high-octane vehicle-based stunts. Presenting players with an intense test of reflexes, quick thinking and rapid-fireEvolving the shooter genre with its unique combination of fluid action and combat, Damnation features huge, open environments, frenetic combat, daredevil acrobatics and high-octane vehicle-based stunts. Presenting players with an intense test of reflexes, quick thinking and rapid-fire conflict, Damnation features vast, breathtaking landscapes, each covering miles of distance and thousands of vertical feet. Billed as a "shooter gone vertical" and visually inspired by iconic elements of American history, these massive streaming landscapes form the battlegrounds for a post-industrial conflict between humanity and an unstoppable arms dealer hell-bent on total world domination. Players choose their own paths and navigate the world by performing daredevil feats on the edge of human ability. Intelligent enemies give chase and engage players in frantic gun fights and attacks that can come from any direction. With up to three hours of actual gameplay stretching out in front of them per level, players need more than just muscle power to get across each level safely. Damnation offers players a selection of vehicles, from motorbikes capable of launching across seemingly infinite chasms, to huge, armour-piercing marvels that induce mayhem with every huge shell. The high action is supported by an epic and in-depth story which, while focusing on the exploits of the hero character Rourke, is truly an ensemble piece. Players meet and become involved in intricate story plots that reveal much more than the obvious. In addition to the single player experience, Damnation comes complete with a unique set of multiplayer options that take full advantage of the game’s expansive levels. [Codemasters] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 12 out of 17
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    60
    Damnation is a useless action game especially for core gamers. If only the developers had fulfiled their promises, we could have had a pretty cool game. Now you can enjoy the vertical architecture and nothing more. [May 2009]
  2. Technically, Damnation is not up to date, it looks like a game from the 20th century with overly complicated controls. It's a shame, because it could have been so much better. Blue Omega, please try again.
  3. PC Zone UK
    50
    Damnation is so deeply generic and boring, so it gets the sort of mark that it deserves. [Aug 2009, p.71]
  4. Damnation's good ideas are unfortunately never matched by its rough, unfinished and unsatisfying execution. [Issue#21, p.56]
  5. This third-person shooter is a trip into hell.
  6. A sad story. The game had an interesting concept and a good amount of potential but it just never came together.
  7. Damnation had potential, but manages to do everything wrong. The game looks and controls awful and never gets fun to play.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 30
  2. Negative: 18 out of 30
  1. JonasW
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    I think the gameplay is very good, I don't care of the reviews. After my point of view, I think it's a really good game.
  2. admBOMBz
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    i think everyone who didnt vote 8 or higher is dumb...the singleplayer was a joke ya sure. but the real fun is in the multiplayer. i thinki think everyone who didnt vote 8 or higher is dumb...the singleplayer was a joke ya sure. but the real fun is in the multiplayer. i think everyone hated the online play because you were only at ur best if you hosted the game....which i did all the time and always got the top frags. this game was too fun for me...sprinting one way, looking the other, toss a trip mine.....BUILT IN WALL HACKS PPL COME ON! this game is the shit, just needs better online lobby function....and better players...

    admBOMBz > you
    Expand
  3. Liamv
    Jun 12, 2009
    8
    V.T. pretty much hit the nail on the head. Everyone is complaining about how stupid this game is and how useless everything about it is. I V.T. pretty much hit the nail on the head. Everyone is complaining about how stupid this game is and how useless everything about it is. I say rubbish. Yes, the game could use some improvement, it is far from perfect, but it is still enjoyable. There are a few glitches here and there that i've found and the names and plot are fairly corny...But the game was still fun. The only problem i've had with weapons is when i had network trouble in a co op game and my bullets couldn't hit the enemy at all. WOW! one problem that's actually caused some form of frustration. Yes things like having to repeat the opening of doors and stuff is a pain...but who cares. i think the gameplay was quite good, and whatever the above comment was about the overcomplicated controls was ridiculous. it's like a 4 button control interface. If they're too complicated for you, go back to your 2x tables. It's not perfect, it's not GREAT, but it's pretty decent and i think people have cut it down WAY more than is necessary as the game can be quite fun. Expand
  4. AnonymousMC
    May 30, 2009
    3
    Yup. Its really that bad. Besides the rediculous story arch, the ugly controls, and the terrible gun play there is something more I wish toYup. Its really that bad. Besides the rediculous story arch, the ugly controls, and the terrible gun play there is something more I wish to mention. So it says it uses the Unreal Engine. Well I think they just used Gears of War 2. (Which also uses the unreal engine by the by) Anyone who has played GoW2 will notice a close connection to the guns used in Damnation...IF FACT! THEY ARE EXACTLY THE SAME! Minus being fun and effective. Sure they changed the skin of the gun, but its the same guns! They even use the same friggin crosshairs! Also you'll notice an almost exact copy of the ingame menu from GoW2. Also your made to collect these little glowing discs throughout the game *COUGH COUGH* Cog Tags! And you'd think if they were going to out right copy another games ideas they surely couldn't F*#$ it up with Gears of War but somehow they still manage to make it unenjoyable. Thanks Damnation! Expand
  5. BruceM.
    Jun 5, 2009
    2
    Worst element is the need for Jackie Chan moves with the motor controls of a 2 year old. Directional controls are limited to 45 degree Worst element is the need for Jackie Chan moves with the motor controls of a 2 year old. Directional controls are limited to 45 degree increments, so even approaching a item to pick-up or activate a lever can take several attempts. Story line is a waste of time. The only bright spot is a massive 3 axis environment. Problem solving elements are not interesting. Having to restart repeated dialogs, door openings, and elevator rides after being killed really adds pain. Best possible player reward would be able to immediately shoot down brainwashing speakers. Some can be shot out others not. Had to turn off the sound often. This could have been good, but you blew it big time. Expand
  6. ColinE
    Jun 29, 2009
    1
    I'd give it a zero if it weren't for the whole Western and Steam punk aspect. The controls are sloppy, the graphics are pretty I'd give it a zero if it weren't for the whole Western and Steam punk aspect. The controls are sloppy, the graphics are pretty outdated in terms of being a PS3 game. Player movements are choppy and the NPCs pretty much defy gravity. The story is stupid and rather boring. I was hoping this game would be another GUN but I suppose my hopes were just too high. Expand
  7. ThadM
    May 29, 2009
    0
    I was excited when i first saw this game in play magazine the screen shots seemed fun and sorta like a gears of war style shooting mixed withI was excited when i first saw this game in play magazine the screen shots seemed fun and sorta like a gears of war style shooting mixed with tomb raider esque action.

    well i bought it and to be honest it is neither what it is is a over hyped piece of crap the voice acting is so bad it made me wanna shoot myself the combat is as clunky and a n64 console game and the story line made about as much sense as barack obamas plan to fix the economy do yourself a favor dont buy this dont even think about buying it
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews