User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1504 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2014
    9
    Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition is everything an RPG Fan seeking for a little more challenge could ever hope for. This is hands down one of the hardest AAA games in the last 10 years, but having excellent gameplay that requires alot of dedication and time to master.
    The story, while not easily understood by the average player, isn't actually too bad - if you take the time to read item
    descriptions, listen to the more than often mad NPCs and keep adding new pieces to this story puzzle.

    Only downsides are:
    - weak graphics & technical execution ( INSTALL DSFIX!!! IT TAKES LESS THAN 5 MINUTES AND WILL MAKE THE GAME ALOT MORE ENJOYABLE!!!)
    - unplayable keyboard controls (you definitely want a gamepad for this)
    - Online features not working as intended, mainly due to Games for Windows Live ( Thanks, Microsoft.)

    But all of those points (except the online thing sadly) can be easily fixed and once solved, provide a unique gaming "experience". Yes I did just use the word experience. Dark Souls is literally a journey of emotions, from depression to unlimited joy. Just don't give up on it.
    Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Poorly designed port but can be fixed easily by downloading dsfix and placing it in your DS folder. Game all but requires a controller but I prefer controllers so I won't knock it for that.
  3. Sep 17, 2014
    9
    A beautiful game. A game, so rich in lore and pristine storytelling, surely people can get past the PC port issue. The enchanting music, interesting characters and unique game-play make this one of the greatest games of all times. When a game almost makes me tear up after killing a hostile boss, you know that it's pretty amazing. The Daughters of Chaos story makes me feel things I never thought a game could make me feel. But unfortunately it does have faults so that is why it is only a 9. Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    The game itself is amazing, graphics are pretty nice, the flow of the map and game run very nice and the lore is pretty damn cool if you look it up. The controls is what people seem to have the biggest issue with and yeah it's not as smooth as a lot of games but you can use a controller or download a mod to fix things up.

    At first I wasn't a fan of the game in the 30 minutes I took to
    try it, seemed difficult and the controls did get to me but after giving this game a second chance and installing a mouse mod to help I really came to love the game. I have beat it twice now and am on my third run through, I always find myself looking up more lore about the game because it is so interesting. I would give the game overall a 9 out of 10 but I am giving it a 10 here to offset the stupid reviews here giving it a 0 for no reason but them being to dumb to comprehend anything about this game.

    Buy this game if you like a good challenge and wanna try something new.
    Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    Dark Souls is a very unique game. For one, It has a very rich and detailed story with many characters, but it's told to you in a way that is indirect. You either have to figure out what's happened to this desolate world by talking with people in it and noticing clues, or you'll be left in the dark. Their are many choices to be made as well, like what covenant to join or which direction to go or what weapons to use, and there's no one right answer for every playthrough you might do. Finally there's the notoriously unforgiving combat and dungeons. While not being too complex, it's refined enough to give you many options for different situations to get you through the game.
    All these things tied in with the beautiful graphics, atmosphere, story, and boss battles make Dark Souls a unique experience you will not soon forget. While the online and co-op aspects of the game are somewhat lacking, the other aspects more than make up for it.
    This isn't going to be a game for everyone, but if you're the typical gamer that craves a challenge, then you should definately hit Dark Souls up.
    Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    Get gamepad controller, DSfix (to tweak performance and quality) and DSCfix (for better connection with friend-list players and either non-friend with DSCfix installed), so you are ready to go (it will be long)...

    Dark Souls is just perfectly done old-school Action-RPG, not affected with latest games "innovations" (sarkasm).
    #Great world (not kilometers long, dull, empty world, its
    some sort of open, just great designed, where everything fits with everything , with atmosphere around, interconnected areas which makes exploration awesome, very interesting locations, no chances to boring around),
    #Greatly done, deep combat, especially boss fights and PvP, near every weapon have diffirent movesets, here are comboses, blocks, counters, rolls, jumping attacks, challenging enemies, everything what makes combat superior, need to play some more time it out to know what I'm talkin about, only backstabbs are some sort of cheap feature,
    #Character development - earned souls are like expierience points and some sort of cash, raising attributes is well done, there are plenty of them, which every of them have affect on our gameplay, inventory managment is great too, lot of customization and good upgrade weapons/armors system, And there are no best equipment, it all depends how are you playing and how do you use things to make yourself complete...
    #World lore and characters - who goes deep in game, knows what Im talking about,
    #Game design - art design of game is just excellent... Everything in game is not generic, is just well crafted, detailed as hell, world locations, enemies, bosses (awesome), items, evetything around looks like hand made masterpiece, From Software earned applaus again here,
    #Sound effects - good, which fits to game, einvorment SFX, and soundtrack, which some tracks here are again some memorable masterpiece (Four Kings theme, Golem/Stray theme, Gwyn theme),
    #Gameplay/Atmosphere - game plays excellent and long, well done controls if played on gamepad ( well, its console port), combat, exploration, suiting yourself with better things, discovering deep world around and rich game mechanics, nothing more to tell ;), no chances to gets bored, atmosphere of game is thick as hell,
    #Online interactions - well there are messages leaving system, PvP and Co-operation system, and other miscelanous things, that shows other players egsistence, Well there are flaws and bad things, but about bad later. PvP and Co-op are great additions which makes gameplay more and more awesome, combat system is just great for PvP (tons of people just made characters for PvP only). On beggining it can be overhelming, but after some hours spended here it will be superior expierience.... And there are a lot of various covenants, which have affect on how we will interact online.
    #Artorias of the Abyss DLC content - fullfilment to the core game, great quality addition, best bosses from the game here,

    Bad things
    #Port quality - issues can be fixed with DSfix tool, mentioned above,
    #Online play quality - one big mess here, annoying GFWL system, all time lags (you must all time think some seconds forward, forseeing alot), not depending a lot on our connection quality, damn bad players pairing, most of time invasion/summoning failed communicates, often disconnections, it makes online playing only for players with some patience, I didnt ever saw worse than that online playing system on my eyes, check it out to get qucikly annoyed....

    So final - game is overall masterpiece. From Software made near perfect game, made for gamers, not just for commercials (sadly, Dark Souls 2 gone to wrong way...) Game that you need to play, if you like action-RPG (well mixed, lot of action), with great depth in its, a lot of memorable things there, 10/10 note fully desreved. Issues to bad port quality can be easily fixed, so I dont take that on final opinion. One of the best games made ever. That's not a lie people, play it by yourselfs. Worth buying without any hestitations, and its very cheap to buy in this time.
    Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2014
    9
    I mean, besides the god awful PC port, its one of the better games i've played. I came from the land of DkS2 first, so I was at some sort of an advantage. I mean, this one is a lot less linear, a lot more intimidating, and thats good. I mean, there just isn't anything to be said that hasn't been said, but I will say this
    Git this game and GitGudScrub
  8. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Dark Souls was one hell of a game, a serious game. The graphics though slightly dated have a neat, unique touch to them that still stands out to this day. The atmosphere and setting of this game had a lot of care. This is not a typical hack n slash game where you can run in swords blazing and rip everything to shreds. This game required patience, tactical fighting, and timed blocking and healing. Another thing I liked about this game was the magnitude of exploration required and the huge rewards for doing so. Exploration is key in this game. I guess I might as well share I loved the staggering amount of armor and weapons to be found. Expand
  9. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    one of the best games i've ever played but maybe not for everyone since there's alot of trial and error and backtracking. still it's very addictive and the atmosphere/combat are amazing.
    the PC port is the worst port i've ever seen but modded it becomes even better than the console versions.
    note: u WILL need a controller to play it or else u're gimping yourself.
  10. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    Best game of its generation, if you like games where you actually have to think about what you're doing . Best combat system ever. Hard to learn, but really rewarding.
  11. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    Everything abut the game is amazing, except the port, but that is easy enough to fix with DSfix. A complex and epic fantasy story, a well done combat system that will leave you craving more, and plenty of mods to make the game run and look amazing.
  12. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    Yes, you get killed a lot. But though I'm easily frustrated, in this game that doesn't stop me from coming back. You have 10 slots and classes play remarkably different, weapons feel different too. But what noone mentioned this game has certainly the best level design I ever experienced. So I really recommend it. And if you play use a game controller. As a PC player I always avoided them. But it is the your natural weapon of choice in this game and amazingly...it works! Expand
  13. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 1/10 - I didn't die.
    1/10 - I didn't die.
    1/10 - I didn't die.
    1/10 - I didn't die.
    1/10 - I didn't die.
    1/10 - I didn't die.
    1/10 - I didn't die.
    1/10 - I didn't die.
    Expand
  14. May 30, 2014
    10
    When I purchased this port it was nearly unplayable. After six months of occasional stabs at it, buying an Xbox controller, and turning the graphics way down, I finally started to get into Dark Souls, and a few months later I can say it is now one of the greatest games I've ever played. Its world, art, combat system, and game mechanics all transcend its peers. The world of Lordran is worth mentioning in particular, because it is Dark Soul's main character. I never imagined a level designer could communicate so much through architecture and geography as was done through Lordran. Expand
  15. May 30, 2014
    10
    Stick with it if you get a bit frustrated!

    This game is the most original and inspirational action RPG I've ever played. I love it. It gives you everything. But can be daunting for people new to the game. Please stick with it - it is rewarding and fun. Use the Wikis for it if you get stuck - there are three very good ones. But most importantly don't let yourself be put off by
    frustration, especially that born of the PvP and being invaded early in the game.

    Cheating by PvP'ers who invade is a toxic problem, (And this isn't people who twink gear down to lower levels which although it is insurmountable for new players [and is thus in and of itself frustrating] it isn't actually cheating). The problem is that people can fix their game so they have high resists, high health, high damage, and more. . . http://www.usgamer.net/articles/cheating-more-than-death-in-dark-souls.

    The game is great - but if you are just getting into it - just be mindful of the state of Cheat Engine usage - and disable (with firewall rules) GFWL till you get more comfortable with the game and it's mechanics. The sure fire method of enjoying the game is to simply Alt F4 when you are told you are being invaded, (read the Wiki to know when NPCs are invading as you will want to fight them). Then once you are backing up your save games, (called save scumming), and are comfortable with the game, then give PvP a try if you are invaded - But expect to encounter someone who has a frozen health bar, or unlimited stamina, or a weapon that reduces your stats to 25% and teleports you to Anor Londo, (see the article), or some other impossible ability - And expect them every third person who invades.
    Expand
  16. May 26, 2014
    10
    At first i was told "you won't like it, it's freaking hard" and i have a bad temper so i stayed
    away from this game then i was like "hell, why not" then i was like "How dare you keep me from this masterpiece!" lol with that said...

    This game is everything i wanted in a sword and sorcery adventure game, I like that it doesn't have a set path to follow and bringing back true difficulty
    in gaming that i have not seen sense 1985 /1992 games.
    The graphics are not Directx11 but it still looks very amazing, they did well considering it's a port.
    Game play is solid, after a couple of hours you have it all down so no worries, from speed dodging techniques to tanking it up and going toe to toe you have a lot of choices here.
    Expand
  17. May 17, 2014
    9
    Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition Average User Score: 7.2 May 8, 2014 8 Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition ImageI'll be honest with you. This is game is actually one of the best of this generation and offers so many unique aspect lost on modern games. That feeling you get for just achieving something so simple is amazing, lost on so many recent titles. Sadly a would be perfect experience is ruined by a sloppy port. Expand
  18. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    To be honest I can't really name any things that are made bad or even mediocre in this game. The visuals are very nice and stylish (just use DSCfix), the music and sounds are great, the battle system is very well balanced and simply awesome, the lore and is fantastic (though you need to dig through side materials like wiki pages, but it's worth it), the atmosphere is really depressing, the controls are good (BUT only if you use a gamepad). The game is pretty hard, everyone knows that, but it is not impossible, you just need to have some skills in it, if you learn on your mistakes - you will be victorious in Dark Souls. Well, there are some minor details I didn't like - for example - you can kill or be killed hitting through a wall. But overall, the game is great, I understand all the hype and praise it gets. The sloppy port was greatly fixed, so the gamers rank here is way too low. Expand
  19. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Dear God the port is awful but you know what? If you have a game-pad the horrible port can be set aside as it works just as well as it would on a console (with a few minor issues). Regardless of the terrible port this game is a stunningly beautiful, dark and deeply enticing masterpiece that is a must buy for any RPG fan!
  20. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    This review is for the fully modded PC version.
    The modded version of this game is an adult RPG masterpiece. This game is the ultimate thinking mans rpg. The game has a great look and feel to it. The combat is tough and best used with a gamepad. The sound and the voice acting are really unique. I would have given the game a 10 if it wasn't for its bizarre and tough to follow story. Don't
    be scared off by the toughness of this game. Follow the path of least resistance and you'll be fine. Expand
  21. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    A lot of the problems of the port are gone! There is a mod that fixes the camera (my biggest issue actually), the resolution and even improves the visuals - the game actually looks better than on consoles. The controls are not bad, really. Yeah, it will take a while to get used to if you're new to the game, but honestly, it's not that bad. The game is perfectly playable with keyboard and mouse, and I actually prefer it over a controller. If you don't believe me, look up "Dark Souls Mouse Fix". It makes the camera control with the mouse super smooth. In fact, in my personal experience keyboard+mouse controls are more precise that those of controllers.

    As far as the game itself, there is not much to say asides from it being a complete masterpiece. Fun and addictive combat. Mysterious, dark atmosphere, cool environments. And an intriguing storyline, the presentation of which is very, very unique. The game is very challenging, and yeah, some aspects of it can be quite difficult, especially if you're new to the game.

    In short, an amazing, epic journey that you will not easily forget. Getting used to the somewhat untraditional keyboard controls is IMO a small sacrifice for the privilege of experiencing this masterpiece.
    Expand
  22. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    The PC port is something to laugh at, but that is soon fixed by DSFix, DSCFix and possibly a few texture mods (really not needed though). The lore is fantastic, the locations are fast, the enemies are well designed and tough, and the online-play is absolutely marvellous; and designed to such a great degree. Oh, and make sure to be using a controller - an Xbox one for best results.

    Overall a fantastic game. Definitely worth getting on the PC.
    Expand
  23. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    i worried before playing this game
    coz of i heard Dark Souls is so Difficult Game..
    and i played and felt
    yeah its so difficult so Hard~
    but Amazing Funny!
  24. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Port issues and me being late to the online party this was supposed to be... apart, this game is what many games should strive to be. The game is a real challenge, as you may have heard, since it's pretty much its selling point, but even if it's so hard I think it still manages to do so being absolutely fair, with a good mix of trial and error and literally testing your reflexes (unless you are not dodging). But oh, is this game so much more. Save for a few forgettable exceptions, the intro and the endings, this game is a constant stream of gameplay never interrupted, that doesn't "tell" you any story, but rather makes it happen as you exist in its world, at times so indirectly that you may miss parts of it! It has solid theming: the duality of life and death contained in the element of fire, recurring throughout the game as a source of both of those things. Atmosphere and graphics: well crafted and beautiful, almonst inseparable from the setting itself for how well they are integrated. As for the gameplay itself, I don't think I'm able to explain very well the genre other than saying it's an action RPG, but here's some things that are damn worth mentioning: farming doesn't make the game easy; farming is still a challenge and therefore shouldn't even be called like that, apart from some of the initial weapons no gear in this game is "useless" or just for the early game; almost literally everything is viable in PvE (in PvP I can't really tell, I'm pretty sure it's at least better than any other overcentralized metagame given the variety I've seen, but certainly not everything is recommended) thanks to the scaling and upgrading system, thus avoiding that typical rpg situation in which you keep dropping useless things with a grey name that don't help neither for vendors nor immersion and no one likes to see in their inventory; every type of weapon is a different playstyle and there's tons of space for customization (see viability)! Add to all of this incredible package a gimmicky, original online mode that will keep you connected to the internet without actually using it except at random intervals to make the player sessions interact with each other to either help (through warning messages you can leave on the ground, summoning players for cooperation) or for added difficulty, in the case of being "invaded" by a player that will hunt you down for a reward. It's just amazing on so many levels that, as you can see, the only way to say how good it is is to actually say what the game is! Talk about self explanatory. Expand
  25. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    Really Excellent game.... Something that provides a challenge for a person. it also teaches a person patience and that is key for completing the game.
  26. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Prepare to die edition? more like "prepare your anus for Moby dick edition". Where can i start explaining how bad this game is? Oh i know, lets start with the random basketball mecnahnics... why were they added to this golf game? secondly, everyone is an idiot except for me and Squilliam fancy pants. finally, the whole world can suck my mars bar with there massive fish lips you stupid nostril hairs. Expand
  27. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    First game I ever give a 10/10 to so far on metacritic! This game triumphs in so many areas:

    1. RPG... you do feel like you are playing a character and NPC reponses to you are so varied and customized to your situation that you really feel like you are talking to real people! Even though you never spoke in the game, how the NPCs react to you truly feels like you are having a
    conversation without the need for any conversation choices!

    2. Graphics... dark and gloomy design along with the music to bring out the mood of despair and desperation... the occassional appearance of other online player's spook truly made the world feel real and alive with horror. This is the first time I feel so engrossed in a game world... the feeling of this world is the complete opposite to the feeling of Divinity series.

    3. Combat... lumberous and frustrating at first but once you get used to it, its extremely realistic to real life combat. I find myself respecting and actually circling for opportunities to attack a simple zombie when I would have graciously rushed hordes of them in other games. The enemies are not generic models that does basically the same things. Every enemy and their variations have their unique combat characteristics and sometimes throw moves that will surprise you!

    4. Replayability... yes, this is one game that makes you replay a certain area tens or even hundreds of times by dying and resurrecting at a bon fire. This may feel frustrating at first but the fact that everytime you go back to the bon fire, you are actually getting better and stronger makes it very satisfying.

    All in all, I am surprised by how awesome this game is and I wonder why I hadn't played it before even though I bought it at a discount a long time ago! MUST TRY!
    Expand
  28. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    My experience is a perfect 10/10. Loved the game on Xbox and for me having a PC port is brilliant as it opens up all sorts of options like a HD texture pack and just generally better performance and graphics. I understand other people whinging about it being a bad port - and I guess it is, a controller is recommended and when you get past the Windows Live integration it's FINE. But for me, I loved everything about it. :) Expand
  29. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Sword and Enemys...perfect mixture. Alike Witcher, Dark Souls is a solid game. A few weeks ago got DS (75% off). Before playing i got always a: Too hard...well really is that hard on begin...but at sometime u will learn that a good pair sword and shield will not influence that much on game.

    Most impórtant is strategy after learning enemies is their modus operandi. After it u can enjoy
    DS. At very beggining it will die until learn that. So a tip id give...learn then after it kill Expand
  30. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    A genuinely amazing game. From the incredibly lonely and crushing atmosphere, the amazing soundtrack that ranges from subtle to bombastic, to the satisfying combat and fantastic sense of accomplishment that the game offers - Dark Souls has it all. This is perhaps the most important game of the 7th generation of consoles.
  31. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    Probably the best game I've played in my Xbox 360, and it's now in PC.

    The port has some problems but you have to understand first where did it come from. This game wasn't meant to be never in a PC, but fans loved it so much that they started a collection of signatures just to have it on PC. So From Software heard the people and took the step. Even so, the "technical problems" are so
    small compared with the greatness of this game, that you should be ignoring them soon when you feel inmersed in Lordran. But yes, you better use a X360 or PS3 controller like.

    This game needs some learning, it's full of mysteries, has infinite possibilities for your character, every weapon has a unique design and move set, and when you combine that with all the spells, armors and other items... well, then you are hooked forever. Because this game is already thrilling, challenging, has one of the very bests scene design I ever seen and it's full of art design and dark stories the first time you play it. But after that, and when you start to fully understand the whole game mechanics, you want more and more. It's a game that you can complete 3, 4... 7 times and you will eventually come back for more. It has an unique multiplayer system and if you enjoy the solo game, you will find that the emotion of being invaded by players, or hunting others in their worlds as a dark spectre adds a lot to the already exciting game wich is Dark Souls.

    I won't say that this is a very difficult game and it's only meant for some players, because that is not true. The game is fair, the game needs some learning process, and once you go through it (and when you are going through it) you enjoy the game more and more. This game just has a bit of "old school" philosophy, and I'm pretty sure that I could name an infinite number of much more difficult and cruel games... it's just that it would be much more easier to pick those games from the early 00s, 90s or 80s maybe. We got used to be guided, and if we are not we can even get frustrated.

    Personally. I love this game so much and I hate it somehow. I love it because of all its greatness. And I hate it because after this game I just compare any other game I play with Dark Souls. And that makes me go back to play it.
    Expand
  32. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Do not listen to those ignorant saying it's a bad port... all you need is a patch you can easily copy/paste in your files. Repairs everything that needs to be repaired.

    This game is just pure absolute amazingness ... Don't take my word on it. read the reviews.
  33. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    A: You MUST have a console controller to play this game in a way that is fun.

    That out of the way, Dark Souls really does deserve the love it gets. Harsh but very enjoyable, it hearkens back to when Video games demanded that you BEAT them, not just went along for a ride with a pat on the head and unlimited everything.

    Hoping the Dark Souls 2 port to PC is a bit cleaner.
  34. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Not as challenging as some make it out to be, but more so than most other modern games. With a mod and a controller this is a truly gripping, immersive game with alot of re playability.
  35. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Nb: I'm using the fan patch, and 25hrs in (about 40% though)
    I've experienced no technical problems, no crashes (despite frequently tabbing out), 1680/1050.
    I find this game perfectly fine to play with keyboard+mouse, though it takes a little getting used to at first.
    I've enjoyed this game immensely so far, it feels very deliberately crafted and smartly made, for instance, a new player
    will have to stumble through the world essentially following the developer's intended path and rate of progression, overcoming increasing obsticles while they become stronger and more experienced.
    Whereas familiar players can (deliberately) skip swaths of areas and obtain powerful items very early if they wish.
    in addition, experienced (or researched) players can also take advantage of the crafting system and multiple new-game+ modes.
    Despite being told the contrary, I have not found this to be a difficult game, it is instead a very punishing game. If you play recklessly and make a mistake, you will be punished for it, but if you play smart, you can easily defeat anything this game puts in your path.
    The best comparison I have experienced is WoW Heroic raiding where there is very little room for error and a single mistake can cause your death (and often wipe the raid).
    Some people mention the old-school Shinobi in reference to difficulty, which doesn't really do Dark Souls justice, as where old games required lightning reflexes to overcome, the deliberate unbreakable animation system in dark souls (which some refer to as unresponsive and clunky) allows for more leniency in response times,
    ie. if you dodge or block, the enemy will be stuck in that animation for the duration, during which you can safely strike back (and the same applies when you fail an attack)
    because of this, the game is not restricted to 'twitch' players, which in turn makes it perhaps one of the more 'open' games, though not quite 'turn-based'.
    A healthy grandmother/father would likely have no more trouble at playing this game than anyone else.
    I've heard this game was buggy upon launch, all I can say to that is get the fan patch which will make it perfectly fine.
    At this point I can think of no reason not at least try playing Dark Souls.
    Expand
  36. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    First off, it must be said that the fixes found on Dark Souls Nexus are a Must. You are able to up the frame rate, add on better textures, and it fixes frame drops. Now, it is a very, very hard game, but if you have the patience or are willing to develop some patience, this game is very rewarding. BEST game I have ever played, sooo good.
  37. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    This game is beauty.
    The port isn't great, it isn't playable with mouse and keyboard, but this game is the reason why I bought a 360 controller for my pc, and I can say it's worth it.

    Game is hard and punishing, but has a really customizable gameplay: there are several fighting styles, you may farm souls to level up early or just stay at level 1 the whole game, and the game is open
    world.

    Buy this game if you miss the good old days, where games weren't pay2win or designed for people who don't want to think, just win.
    Expand
  38. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    To get the bad out of the way: the graphics are appalling and playing with standard PC gear is abysmal. If you want to relax and play this game for 30 mins after your tea, don't bother.

    However, once you're holding a controller in your hands, and you're sitting sit down alone for a day, you realise that none of that matters. This game is exceptional.

    To start, the combat system is
    precise. Dark Souls is near-sadistic in its expectations of you as a gamer. You're expected to be watchful and learn how enemies move, and then formulate exactly how to continue, whether that be with well-timed ripostes and backstabs, tactical luring with bows and throwing knives, or causing devastation by throwing golden spears of holy lightening into your foes heads. No matter the method, you're always one miss-click from seeing 'you died' plastered on the screen (get used to it). Seems unappealing, but It's this difficulty that makes it oh-so rewarding when you do finally reach the next checkpoint, or you finally conquer the boss-demon that you spent the last 50 mins of your life dying to. You did it, not the game 'holding your hand', it was your skill that got you through. It's unlike any game in recent memory in this regard. The bread and butter of any gaming experience is its mechanics, and Dark Souls certainly doesn't disappoint.

    Being terse in regards to the story, as to not give spoilers, it's dark in both it's twisted nature and in the relative subtlety of its presentation. You're not assaulted with cut-scenes and shiny audiologs, no, you 'experience' the story around you, in worlds which, despite the dated graphics, are beautiful in design. You get a 'feel' for the lore without it ever feeling impressed upon. Again, if you don't spend the time 'taking it in', you won't get it.

    One of the backbones of Dark Souls is its online integration. You will be helped by other players and killed by other players, you'll be sharing your victories (like hearing the bell-tower ring when ever another player defeats a certain boss), and you'll be sharing your defeats (pools of blood are laid in your world, containing the ill-fated last moments of others). Your interaction with fellow gamers has enough volume to stop Dark Souls from being lonely, to spur you on when you need it, but yet is cryptic enough not to break the immersion. Don't think for one moment that this game is social media.

    On balance, once you've remedied the problems of the shoddy PC port(buy a controller!), this becomes one of the best games of the last decade. It's dark in it's story-telling, brutal in it's combat and uncompromising in it's approach. It's an adrenaline rush, and a bloody brilliant one at that. Hand-on-heart recommend for the strong of heart gamer.
    Expand
  39. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    After what seems like almost 3 years (simply because it actually has been this long by now) its finally dawned on me- I get Dark Souls. I understand enemy placement, items, most of the weapons, the different covenants, the boss fights, the NPC merchants, the layouts of all the areas in the game and even to some extent the "plot" or subplots contained amongst a very vague, shadowy, and ultimately somewhat pointless endeavor by you the player character. So what can I say about my rating for this game then? What is it about this game that has scorned me in such a way that going back and playing now is essentially pointless? Well for starters, the game is a mess. Not only developmentally, but in terms of many other relevant and important things that are simply not brought up. The soundtrack was simply intended for another game, seeing as it only plays during specific boss battles, or for certain areas. The rest of the "sound" is empty, ambient, fleeting and rather dull. The combat system is an acquired taste as well. Seeing as their are literally millions of configurations, item combinations, weapon combinations and armor combinations you could claim its "very amazing that this is all rather non intuitive and impossible for a person who does not have hundreds of hours on hand to figure them all out." Which brings me to my next point. What is the point of Dark Souls? Its core gameplay is fine, rather rudimentary and simple even. It makes sense after the first 10 hours or so and though it takes more time to understand the layouts of some frankly rather "small" areas in which you roam about, its still remains as quite different than most game titles these days. However, as most people have noticed, Dark Souls didn't exactly start any revolutions either. It kept players busy grinding, matchmaking dueling, summoning, and farming all around the mighty souls system itself. The human being deep somewhere in my bones would like to say that self-gratification in a game like Dark Souls comes at a huge cost whenever you die to something you would've needed literally hours of play testing yourself to bypass correctly or to have taken on directly. Which is why its so counter-intuitive really. The entire game based around collecting souls for your multi-purpose leveling solution and currency system completely undone by its own internal simplicity. Dark Souls is a simple game, much like Diablo 2 really or any other dungeon crawler. But even Diablo 2 had more "unique" environments, a better soundtrack for every area of the game, brilliant boss fights, and more memorability in my own opinion. As most know, the areas after Anor Londo are mostly empty, containing much more architectural splendor than meaningful, thought out level design and actual incentive to explore. The areas are by no means "massive" and I've never thought them to be particularly interesting to explore to begin with. Locations like the infamous Blight town are poorly coded, Dukes archives are practically empty, and the sprawling forest area is immensely tedious to wander around without any item incentives. The whole disconnect is there especially with player interaction via GFWL as well. Messages certainly don't matter and carry no real meaning for other players unless its actual advice left for whomever may be in that area. Covenants are distant, expensive, time consuming and don't really reward players as much as they think. Matches are often sparse, buggy, poorly optimized and usually quite lag ridden for both players involved and this isn't really what FROM SOFTWARE expected when they designed the game with consoles in mind. So much effort has to be made to get the game playable on PC that you are better off just not playing it either. Having played PVE for two years off and on- from having now played PVP for close to a year and a half- I can earnestly say.. I don't enjoy the game. It has taken a long time for me to finally come to terms with it, but I really truly recommend that new players simply avoid purchasing this incomplete and tedious action rpg. Dark Souls has not been emulated even once since its inception, which should tell you, what the rest of the western world at least, thinks of games done in this way. It isn't a bad game, but at this point its starting to sound like a bad inside joke among fans. Even Demons Souls fans grow tired of the stigma that is Dark Souls that has wiped out the popularity of its predecessor. Its so bad in fact that fans now speculate the entirety of the lore in the game, without really any reference or understanding beyond what things they see in the game itself. This tells me one of two things, either these people really want to see this amazing game that others don't see, or the other group that is less inclined to play this game as often are more apt to see it for its strengths and weaknesses instead. Just like any other game on the market today. Expand
  40. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    not that good port to pc not much graphic option xbox 360 controller mapping and still i give this game a 10/10 2011 we had the witcher 2 m skyrim and this legendary RPG i was hesitant to play this game but i decided to give a try and am glad i did because for the 7 next days i fell in love with it and couldn't stop playing this game this game is not for everyone it is foe hardcore gamers only of you play games for fun then this game is not for you Expand
  41. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    This game really isn't that hard, but it's still a lot of fun.
    The combat is addicting, the world is big and theres a lot of replay ablity.

    The port sucks though.
  42. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I don't understand how people can give this game a zero rating, this is one of the best games ever made, the addon allows 60 fps and greatly improves the texture, provided you install the addon the pc version is much better than the console version, though I'd highly recommend using a controller preferably 360) as the game is not as fun without one.
  43. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    It's a fine maybe even great game as long as you don't care to play with a controller which makes it way easier. Also the port to pc wasn't great but it is not even close to game breaking. It is hard and challenging everything you need in a game
  44. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    Hace mucho no jugaba algo tan difícil y la historia me gusto mucho, aunque creo que podrían mejorar el apartado gráfico.

    Espero que la saga siga mejorando con los moustros y la historia.
  45. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    I played this relatively recently so wanted to point out to readers that they should be mindful of the date of the user review. There have been very simple patches released that make this game easily playable on the PC with mouse and keyboard. It took a solid couple of hours adjusting to the controls but from there on out there was another 100 hours without any meaningful problems (camera was fine, frame rate fine, resolution fine, etc.).

    That being said, as I am sure one can discern based upon the critical reception, the game is fantastic with one caveat, if you go into it expecting hand holding consistent with how most games have been made over the past decade it's something of a rude awakening. The game is difficult but not as awe inspiringly challenging as some would have you believe, rather it just has a steep learning curve. Once you figure out the fairly basic mechanics of how the game works where it punishes you and where it doesn't it's no more difficult than playing another game in it's "hard" mode. If you're like me, you'll appreciate the challenge.

    A complaint of mine has been that too many games you fly through the game without ever pausing to really take in the surroundings. Not so with Dark Souls in large part because the game forces you to proceed cautiously rushing into any area generally will mean a fairly quick demise. Overall though, your experience of the game hugely benefits because of this. And in terms of getting bang for your buck, pulling 60 hours out of your first playthrough is not an entirely unreasonable expectation depending on how thorough you choose to be.

    I will not go into the minutiae of the game itself other than to say it's the most fully realized and engrossing dark fantasy world available on the PC. The only other that comes close is the Witcher 2 (another game I would strongly recommend, though for different reasons). If you like action RPG's and don't mind a challenge, this is the ticket.
    Expand
  46. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    This game must be my new Favorite!
    Even with all the problems with the port, this game is simply stunning, not only to look at (it is beautiful) but also gameplay wise. The death works in this game is brilliant, it forces you to go deeper into the unknown everytime, you ever feel safe but its so much more satisfying if you achive a victory.
    It might take a while intil you finally dive
    deep into the game (it took 3 seperate starts for me) you will be locked into it and then there will be no escape!
    If you are a PC gamer that can handle an easy install of a few patches and LOOOOOOOOVE RPG's this game is simply a must have.
    the mere fact that I give this game a 10/10 even though it has so many problems should speak for it self.
    Expand
  47. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    This game is simply awesome. And the people that dislike it have no idea that you can just fix the game by downloading one SINGLE mod. By downloading DSFix you can unlock the 30 fps cap, you can go above 720p. I run this game at 40 fps cap and 1080p It's perfect I love using the controler with this game, it feels natural. So I cannot complain about the keyboard issues. The story, the atmosphere, the gameplay of this game is absolutely amazing Expand
  48. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    First impression: console crap, terrible port, bad mouse+keyboard controls etc. After fixing all the port-related problems with DSFix, buying a 360 controller and 500+ hours of gameplay later: the best RPG of this generation and definitely one of the true masterpieces of video gaming history. Beautiful dark fantasy world, captivating atmosphere full of isolation and despair, well-hidden, but complex story, great responsive combat system, unique multiplayer elements and extremely addictive gameplay. Yes, this can be a very challenging piece at your first playthrough, but as you learn from your mistakes and your skill goes through natural progress, you're slowly becoming a master and you will eventually fall in love with this beast. 10/10 Expand
  49. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This game has an awful BUT after u install and setup the unofficial patch the game is just great combat RPG lv-up elements, and finally not a game that babysits u and hold your hand... game is full of mini boss and boss fights and most of the game u will feel changed buy ai. Exploration on your own, sudden deaths, and so much depth of what looks like basic RPG is just so immersive.
    I had
    some issues with Big Hat Logain and had to kill last boss whit basic magics but it only made it even more rewarding at the end. Am not sure i even want to talk about awesome mp features of the game 9.9 from me but am not sure how to do it so will give it a 10 :)
    gamepad is a must
    Expand
  50. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2) (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (2/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  51. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Dark Souls is a challenging action rpg and is enthralling...Every area you enter is an adventure. The story is told through the actions of npcs and given in tidbits through item descriptions and locations. Although not the most effective method of story telling it lends itself to excellent replay. As you complete the game you can't help, but feeling it is not the end; there is more. You need to explore and read and listen to the dialog to find new things, new secrets new characters.
    It is like a 3d Castlevania packed with hidden secrets, weapons and short cuts. The large world is very interconnected and rife with spectacular view points allowing you to overlook the areas above and below. Areas you have been to are now off in the distance as a reminder of just how far you have come. Praise the sun!!

    In spite of the minor issues with the port and bad mouse and keyboard controls its still the best rpg ever made. If you limit yourself to mouse and keyboard only then this probably isn't the game for you, but for everyone else that has the ability to learn and adapt to new challenges this a great game.
    Expand
  52. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Be wary for those who venture on this path. Prepare to Die. More than just words on the cover. These words serve as a foreshadowing warning. Yes, this game is fun. Yes, this game is horrible. It is a challenge. Get it and try your patience and sanity. It's not for everyone, only elite gamers.
  53. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is one of my all time fav games i couldnt belive the shear content depth and fun into the game fighting these bosses with the new game takes some skill and thats why i love this game it takes skill not luck besides bed of cahos if i were to say one bad thing about the game it would be the pc controll's they are terrible but that does not make this a bad game the mods and wonder of the community with the pc is great and you can just plug in an xbox controller awsome game 10/10 not for noobs Expand
  54. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    Originally created for the xbox and hastily ported to the pc. But you know what? Who cares. Bad controls? Get a damn controller. Too difficult and not used to the lack of spoon feeding? Step up your game or off. Dark souls isn't your average rpg, oh no. It will kill you. ALOT. And unless you're persistent and quick to learn and observant. you will die and die and die and die and die some more. Tons of content and lore for the player who wants to dig deeper. Finished this with only the keyboard, have over 700 hours in gameplay. Expand
  55. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    This took me a long time to get the hang of. In fact, I left the game for about 3-4 months because I ended up playing something else. I came back to it and started getting better with the combat and learned with ample use of an online guide, how to complete sections of the game.

    It is frustrating, yet it's also meant to be that way. The thing is though, you will beat a particular
    section, or boss. What I like the most is the absolute isolation you feel playing the game. The environmental effects or firelink shrine music really set the stage.

    There's a lot to this game, so be sure to make the most out of all the guides available on the internet. There's so much variety when it comes to weapons and armor, it really is an RPG lover's wetdream.
    Yes, the PC controls such without a well known mod.

    Yet, I ended up using an Xbox 360 controller (actually went out and bought one for this game) and it works great.
    Expand
  56. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    I consider myself being one of the kind of players that just feel bored after 30 minutes of a single player and just want to log to LoL/WoW/Dota or Counter Strike. I played most new games like Bioshock, Dishnored, Batman, ecc, but the real game I really enjoyed to play is Dark Souls. Why?
    Dark Souls is not an interactive movie with crap gameplay like Bioshock Infinite. It has no unique
    pattern and approach with boring fights like Batman.
    In Dark Souls you really feel lost to yourself not knowing sometimes where or what to do, every direction you look from Firelink Shrine you are scared. It really took me long to finish the game, and trust me it was a very stressful accomplishment to make. I give the game 9 because the port sucks. Don't dare playing it without a joypad, better if you have a 360 one.
    Expand
  57. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    no me e terminado el juego pero, lo que llevo me a dado una muy buena impresión de este, me dificulta mucho jugarlo por que lo juego en pc, los controles son algo incómodos, la optimizacion en pc es nula pero a parte de todo eso me sigue pareciendo un juego de culto.
  58. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    This game is a *must* play for any action rpg fan. There is nothing else like it. PC port does present technical issues but they are easily dealt with. Do not attempt to play this without a controller, it is not designed for kb/m interaction.

    It is, however, one of the finest games of our generation.
  59. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Best game I have ever played. I love the difficulty, and that amazing feeling of reward after getting through a tough section/boss. On top of that for only spending about 20 bucks at the time I got almost 100 hours of game play on my first play through! The only thing that is a potential downside with an easy fix is that you need to download a 3rd party file to fix some of the FPS issues, and I would highly recommend you have a game pad. Expand
  60. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Let me clear things up for the people that are complaining, dark souls was not made for the PC originally and was ported from the console version, people are complaining about the graphics, well you own a computer, take 2 minutes out of your time and download and install DSfix and boom, lovely graphics, 60fps which you can lock if you want, it's not meant to be played with a mouse and keyboard because once again, it's a console port and it was made by FromSoftware for people who wished to have it on PC, quite a while after the console version was released. Now for the game itself, the gameplay mechanics are wonderful and the game is deep and challenging, people give it a bad rep because they have no patience and are used to the linear hack and slash two hit kills gameplay they get from other sword and shield games (the type that take about 2 hours to complete), the story is incredibly deep and is purposely shrouded in mystery in order for the player to discover it and see the depth and journey for himself instead of handing it out on a silver platter. It's a masterpiece of a game, unrivaled by any other RPG to date. Expand
  61. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    Pretty much the exact same fantastic game as the console versions but FROM SOFT messed up the port with bad keyboard+mouse controls, and poor PC optimization. Nothing community mods couldn't fix though.
  62. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    This game is very atmospheric and challenging. People complaining about it just have to go and buy a controller to plug into their PC. It's only ~20$.
  63. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Forget about playing with keyboard and mouse, you just have to accept with this one that it's designed to be played with a controller. Once you get over that little stumbling block, then you're in for a world of wonder. There's not much I can say that hasn't been said but I will say it all again anyway because this game is something else in today's market. It takes today's crop of hand-holding games and throws that philosophy out the window. Games like the Fable series and the later Elder Scrolls series (IV and V) offer no real challenge. The Fable games are quite fun (the first one anyway) but you breeze through them in mere hours and can easily complete them without dying. I gave up on Skyrim after it became just a routine of blasting through dungeon after dungeon like the unstoppable destroyer you so easily become. You know a game is doing something wrong when a dragon appears in the sky and all you do is roll your eyes thinking "another nuisance." With Dark Souls you start sweating when you see something as big as a dragon appear because the game is difficult. The first time you run through this game everything is more difficult than it should be and the reason is because you are liable to die at any time. The first enemies you kill when you first get a weapon can still challenge you hours into the game if you're not careful. Yes you can cut through them like butter at that stage but you still need to maintain concentration and take them out efficiently because even a bunch of lowly Hollows can take you down quickly if you let them swarm you. The beautiful thing about this is when you're exploring a new area and haven't a clue where you are, everything terrifies you because everything can kill you. And when your health bar is at about two thirds and you're unable to heal, have no idea where the next "checkpoint" is and you're carrying a whole lot of souls that you so desperately don't want to lose but you don't know what's waiting around the next corner, then you will start to feel your blood rush and I don't know about you but a game hasn't made me feel like that in a long long time. One of the neatest things about this game is the shortcut system built into the world. With limited loading screens the game does well in immersing you into the experience but the clever shortcuts prevent endless trekking around and also serve as a slight reward in that you are spared from going through some of the tougher parts of the game more than once as you can cut out the bulk of journey. Of course the shortcuts themselves are kind of cheesy in that they're usually just doors that only open from one side for some reason or elevators that have to be activated from the top first before they work properly but the way the world is all interconnected gives a nice feel to the game. Of course the world is quite huge and later the teleport system can be deemed almost necessary if not as immersive as the shortcut system. The story of the game is best judged as an accumulation of all the subplots rather than just the main quest line. That being said this game has some fantastic lore which you have to tease out bit by bit through item descriptions and sparse NPC dialogue but I've spent a lot of time just reading up on the different NPC's and their backgrounds as you'll find nearly everyone in Dark Souls has a very interesting story. What I like about this is that while you're clearly the strongest dude around and the so-called "main character," not everything revolves around you and some NPC's couldn't care less about who you are. Again it adds to the immersion that everyone has their own agenda and aren't just waiting around doing nothing until you come along to do some mundane task for them so they can get on with their lives. Nothing breaks immersion like the almighty Dragonborn having to make house calls because some dame has got a problem with some rats. I should point out in conclusion that the Elder Scrolls and Fable series have their own merits and I am a fan of them, but Dark Souls offers an entirely different and even though this word is always used rewarding experience. It is not, as some claim, difficult for the sake of being difficult. It is difficult for the sake of being real. It is one of the best experiences in gaming that's out there and you'd be doing yourself a favour if you picked it up, even if you only make it to Blighttown. Expand
  64. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. For players PC without a joystick to play better not to even look in the direction of this game. But if you did have started to play without a joystick then get even more hardcore.
  65. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    This page is one of the funniest things I've seen in a while. The casuals giving this game a 1 4 need to get their mouth off of CoD's and start playing games where it doesn't treat you like a child.

    Some make this game sounds like it's hard. The others make it sound like it will strangle you with your own intestines and paint the city with your blood. Both of those are true. While
    this is a crappy port, all you need to fix it is a controller. If you plan to play this game with a mouse and keyboard you're smoking something nasty. Expand
  66. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Dark Souls Prepare to Die Edition is an amazing game and possibly one of the most hardest games ever made. You will enjoy the storyline/lore, the simple yet complex gameplay, the unforgiving difficulty, the epic music and the hilarious engine that the game runs on. With the addition of a New Game+ and multiplayer feature, the replay value for this game is simply one of the best seen in a RPG and to top it off you have a reasonable amount of hours that can be placed in the game and it comes with a famous composer's music that will bring more than likely more than nostalgia to some players. The amount you can do with your character, changing their play style, fighting style and amongst other things will keep you coming back again and again especially with a addicting PVP experience. Expand
  67. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    Dark Souls is an incredible RPG. There's not much more to say about it, the better way of understand is playing it. I must advise, you gonna DIE! A LOT! But, in the end, you gonna love it, 'cause it's a very, very challenging game. I have to say, the PC version is not that good, because of the graphics' issue, the excessively high pc requirements for a good performance in the game and the difficult itself. This, if I don't say the bad keyboards/mouse controls. But, even this way, the game is amazing. The gameplay is perfect, the enemies are perfect, the battle-system is quite good. And, as you can see, and as I said, there's not much to say about the game, but there's a lot to play. So, let's prepare ourselves, and let's go die!! Expand
  68. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    First things first. This Game is awesome. Many people say that it's too hard. It's not. It's just harder than other games these days. If you beat an enemy that kicked your ass about five times you feel so good. And i never had that feelings the last few years. And if it's "too" hard for you. There are sooooo many wikis' and tips in the internet. So give it a try. BUT if you don't want to mod your PC version, buy one of the console versions! And you have to use a gamepad. Expand
  69. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    Potentially the best game in the last 5 years and rivals the massive titles launched 2007/2008. Most people will be put off on the difficulty of the game but its actually not as hard as people make out, its normally user error that leads to deaths, or people being unwilling to try things and fail. The animations are extremely fluid and weapons have weight and operate fundamentally different leading to varied combat for different user preferences. This game takes a lot of common sense, situational awareness, and a little trial and error. Its a massive story which is filled with depth and ambiguity which is the point of an RPG its not to spoon feed us a story and make us use waist high cover to grind through 20 hours of game play. This is a world, a hostile world, a world filled with love and hate and the story is no different, if you are not willing to take risks or meet the game half way you will have a terrible experience, however, if you do then I promise that this would be one of the only games in your collection you will pick up months and years from now. If you want to button mash and kill everything like a unkillable god then this is not really the game for you, if you like games where you can be in a half-stupor and clear everything this is not the game for your. This is a game for people who like/love a challenge, a rich story which you need to put a lot of work forward to understand. Its for people who like combat which is more "realistic" you approach fights like a human being rather than a video game character, you value your shield more than your sword, you need to find their weaknesses, you need to use your strengths. If next week people were required to reduce every game they own to just 3 titles and those are the only video games they could play, Dark souls would make my list. Having said all of that there are some negatives I personally dont find them very bad but they definitely hold it back from a "perfect" score. Firstly you need a gamepad I wouldn't presume to recommend one in particular, but mouse and keyboard are (to put it kindly) clunky. And many users have a Low resolution problem, which can be fixed very easily using a number of methods.

    Its a tough game, its unforgiving, it may not have the narrative break through of Bioshock, the atmosphere of Shadow of the Colossus, or the game play breakthrough of Super Mario Brothers but this is a game which deserves to be talked about in the same circles as those greats. What it does well it does in spades, and I as a long term gamer for the better half of my life, really respect it when a game is willing to treat me like a thinking adult, and makes me work for something. The struggle bears amazing fruit in this astounding title which will leave you pondering your choices, and what effect they will have on the world. I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  70. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    While I did have major gripes about the PC version earlier they proved to be easily fixed with DSfix. Even with the problems this port has I still feel it deserves the highest praise just because the game is so incredible. The two warnings I have are that the game is very bad at explaining itself I didn't know what poise was, for example, a major facet of the game, and you have to look it up to learn. The other is that it exists to fill a very specific niche. If it fills that for you, then there is no finer game this generation. The game is a game of skill, not luck while it is renowned for its difficulty once you learn the ins and outs of combat it quickly becomes much better, though still challenging. For a game ported straight from consoles it looks wonderful. The boss battles are tense and exciting and will often destroy you, but even then are still fun. with the flaws it has I feel that it excels at everything it does and deserves incredible praise. I could go on about how incredible Dark Souls is, but the basis is, you should play this game. It deserves it and so do you. Expand
  71. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Have to give this a 10 (the PC port doesn't deserve it) just for the bunch of 0 rating dumb morons and kids with a low enough IQ to not be able to play/figure out this game. A lot of people even complain about the game not having a story.... Dark Souls does not have a story... freaking HILARIOUS! It's the ultimate proof the definition of "PC gamers" is now DEAD. (srry guys we are a minority and nearly extincted now) It's just a bunch of stupid sheep most of the time who need to be told where to go and what to do every freaking step of any game.

    PC games are rarely skill based nowadays compared to what they were even just 10 years ago.
    Are humans getting dumber?
    Expand
  72. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    I made an account to get to review this game. The game feels like its a perfect combination of games like Vagrant Story, Ninja Gaiden and Shadow of the Colossus in a sense that it has deep RPG elements, nice and rewarding difficulty depending on player skill and strategies, and the atmosphere and design of the world is simply perfect and beautiful. Highly recommend this game to everyone.
  73. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    To all the people saying this is a terrible console port. It is. From Software had little to no experience with PC games. But the community wanted Dark Souls on PC. So they gave us it. There are mods to fix the terrible keyboard mapping, to increase the FPS e.t.c. But even the fact that this is just a console game on PC doesn't mean that it's horrific enough to get a 0! The story, weapons, game mechanics (aside from the multiplayer with no voice chat) and pretty much everything else is top-notch! The community is great too, unlike most other games where multiplayer can be such a core concept. Obviously the game could be better, but so could every other game! So instead of about graphics, do something productive and get dsfix. One of the main reasons you should buy this version over that of the console's is Mods. Having Gaben's face on a shield is hilarious. But sorry, you were too busy about this game on Metacritic to install dsfix, so your game looks like it is played on a 360. Most people who gave it 0 are probably saying "This isn't Skyrim. Why can't I change the difficulty so I one-hit everything? This game deserves a 0. Because I'm a hardcore fan of RPGs, as long as they have a casual difficulty." Expand
  74. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    Dark Souls is hard but Dark Souls is highly rewarding. It is long and it is deep, full of lore and secret and there is something to be said of this game’s atmosphere too: Dark and warm at the same time. It has also a lot of replayability. I could praise this game forever.

    The fighting systems appear simple at first but when you start to dig it has a depth few games have. The character
    development is also outstanding. Everything has its use and it change the way you play along with the tone of weapons that have their original move sets.

    It is a bless that this game came to the PC.

    The resolution is locked in the vanilla version but you can mod it in 5 min and after that the experience is perfect. The 30 fps limit is not a problem with this kind of game if your computer can keep it constant.
    Expand
  75. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    I truly thought this game would blow, got on an amazing steam sale. Very creative, fun and evolving playstyle to this game, lots of fun. ONLY WATCH OUT! Buy a 360 controller for this, it is definitely needed. If you can put that aside it's quite a fantastic game.
  76. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Great game. The port has some issues with occasional frame lock ups, but this is nothing more than the typical slow down found in a lot of games when a lot is going on on screen. Some people complain about a lack of settings for keyboard and mouse, not a valid claim at all. In this day they should have a controller for their pc, the game is designed for a controller, and many other pc ports need a control to play adequately. You'll have fun. Expand
  77. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    okay, so I played this game every day for almost a year on PS3, now it's on PC, and the straight port is the same amazing game, only now with more content. How can anyone complain about this? My only minor gripe is that there are a lot fewer players on PC to co-op and PvP with.... and this game was designed to be played with a controller. So play it with a controller. You don't play car racing games with m+k, and neither should you play this game with m+k. Expand
  78. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Jeu tout bonnement excellent! Je le conseille a tout les vrai gamers de MMORPG. Il a une durée de vie interminable tellement qu'il est excellent. Je l'ai recommencer une dizaine de fois ce jeu.
  79. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Dark Souls is an awful port, it forces me to use the Games For Windows Live client, and I’m *still* recommending it to you! If it wasn’t for the genius who created the DSfix mod, then I’d have passed this up and stuck with my PS3 copy of Dark Souls. With the DSfix, the PC adaptation of Dark Souls actually performs *better* than the console versions. You also don’t have to deal with the PSN store or the Xbox Live Marketplace and instead get the incredible DLC for free, which by the way, is one of the best DLC experiences I’ve ever had. It features some of my favorite video game bosses and adds more epic music to an already epic soundtrack. The PC version of Dark Souls will initially give you a bad first impression, but after manually tweaking the config and installing DSfix, it’s actually the best choice between the other two versions of Dark Souls.

    What’s great about Dark Souls is that it features some of the most addicting gameplay and provides an incredibly fun challenge that’s punishing and difficult, but not unfair. In other words, you die from your own mistakes and not from a cheap glitch introduced by the game (with the exception of those stupid silver knight archers in Anor Londo). Another awesome aspect of the game is how there’s no safe haven from the hideous and twisted creatures of Dark Souls. You can take a quick breather at the bonfires you’ll stumble upon throughout your journey and meditate, but then you’re back alone in the dangerous world full of enemies looking to poison, assassinate and eat you. From Software also carries over the fantastic New Game feature to Dark Souls. This offers unlimited replay value and allows you to build an unstoppable juggernaut. Dark Souls has some incredibly memorable moments and features some of the best boss fights a video game has ever offered. Despite the annoying GFWL DRM and technical issues, all of these aggravations are fixable and ultimately doesn’t take anything away from Dark Souls’ phenomenal gaming experience.
    Expand
  80. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    I played and finished this game long time ago, but stumbled upon it now and desided to leave a review, coz I don't think that user score is adecvate. Most port issues are fixed by fanmade patch. I don't know about controls as I played on gamepad but it sure as hell not so terrible to give this epic game a 0.
  81. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    This is an EXCELLENT game after applying the DSFix mod. Why do I like it SO much? It's a hard game. You just can not start running and hacking and get anywhere at all. This game is just the perfect amount of hard to frustrate me, make me stop and think of how to beat this new boss or area. I may ponder that problem for a few hours to a few days, then try again. I LOVE that about this game.
  82. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition is one of the greatest games ever made. The art design is spectacular, the gameplay absolutely flawlessly refined, and the fictional world perfectly realized. The amount of depth present here is just unprecedented in gaming. It's possible to play for hundreds of hours and never experience a moment of grind. The pace is perfect from beginning to end. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that Dark Souls is a masterpiece and everybody must play it.

    A couple of words about the PC port: yes, you NEED to have a 360 controller. Trying to use the keyboard and mouse is a waste of time. Secondly, you'll want to download the amazing DSfix that a fan put together. It will give you access to higher resolutions, better graphical fidelity and other must have tweaks. With a controller and DSfix all issues with the port are resolved and you'll end up having the ideal Dark Souls experience.
    Expand
  83. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing!!! For everyone whos to dumb to install the fanpatch for the graphics... what is wrong with you? Even if the graphics are not that good, the story is very nice and you have to do something to get background knowledge about your character. The connections in the world are just wow maybe you think im on drugs or something but if you run through the world and you find these connections between the different locations thats just wow. The game is very challenging and if you think still think its too easy turn off the HUD and try it again. I also like the companions and npcs of the game with their great voice acting the way your decisions have a high impact on their behavior. But i dont want to spoil anything here.
    All in all the graphics are ok if you use the fanpatch (i really recommend downloading it)
    the AI is more then average but the story the characters and the challenge this game offers are just amazing.
    I have to give a 10 out of 10
    Expand
  84. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    I'll keep this short, since it's a simple breakdown.

    The game is amazing. It's possibly the most immersive and fluid gem of our generation. Combat is excellent, the art style is sublime, and the story that exists is told through clever hints that allow the player to discover the world on their own, without being spoon-fed. Dark Souls is one of the best games of all time.

    Having said
    that, the PC port is just horrible. Optimization is okay, but unreliable at times. Beyond that, mouse and keyboard controls are totally inane, and the resolution is capped at 720p. HOWEVER, there's a simple mod called DSfix that uncaps the framerate and fixes most of the other issues as well. It's a completely essential mod that turns Dark Souls from a bad port into a pretty decent port.

    Here's the summary:
    If you plan on using DSfix, get this game for the PC now. It's an epic experience and it comes bundled with amazing DLC.
    If you absolutely will not use DSfix for some reason, you're better off saving yourself the trouble and getting a console version.
    Expand
  85. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Baffled how Durante (creator of DsFix) was able to fix the port's resolution issues within a matter of hours post release. Among several other issues (crashes, clipping issues, framerate issues), this game simply CANNOT be played with a keyboard and mouse. Seriously, don't even attempt it. This is inexcusable, FromSoftware.

    In any case...I really wanted to play this game the way it
    should be played. So after a 3rd party simple patch and a small 15-dollar investment in a gamepad, I was set. Extremely challenging and gratifying. This game will test your diligence and nerve unlike any other. Seriously, this game will bring you to the brink of tears/smashing your controller on the floor. The learning curve on this game is treacherous, especially if you're playing through the game blind. I would highly recommend watching through boss tutorials, and save yourself some anguish...because there is still plenty to be had. Expand
  86. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Decent game. the whole PVP system is a bit poor due to lag factors but all in all its a good challenging game. Graphics,plot, animations, characters...pretty nicely made. only real downside is the invasion things. people back-stab you from 30 meters in front of you.
  87. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    My all time favorite game. Get this game. The game play is great and majority of the kinks in the game can be fixed with mods. Can't wait for Dark Souls 2!!!
  88. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best RPG-games in the history of video gaming. The PC port is quite rough, but it still is really not as much as a problem as some peoples say. Download the free DSfix and enjoy.
  89. May 28, 2013
    9
    One of the best RPG's and outright best games I have ever played. A hard working modding community has really made this an extremely worthwhile port for the PC. I see a lot of complaints about the clumsy controls or the sloppy porting problems but these issues did not mar the remarkable quality of this game.
  90. May 21, 2013
    10
    People are amazed by this game because it gives you the experience a role playing game should actually give you... something 95% of the PC RPGs are truly lacking. Whoever created this game should truly be commended. It is surprising that this game was first offered on the XBOX, being that it appears to be aimed towards an extremely mature audience. In anycase... there it is... the first actual RPG to be offered for the PC. If you wish to get a taste of what Dungeons and Dragons was truly about, try this game. And have some patience with it, the controls take some getting used to (360 gamepad highly recommended) Expand
  91. May 19, 2013
    10
    You can adjust to the console port and use it fine. It's pretty similar to most games...use key is q or e. It's all convenient. Graphics are fine and I didn't even notice the frame rate cap. While the story is distant to modern reality and there's no dramatic damsel in distress, the idea of going around in a vibrant wasteland appeals to me more.

    The targeting system is obnoxious and
    aiming bows is too difficult with a mouse, but thanks to the games flexibility, I just took different approaches so it wouldn't matter much.

    This game took me over 50 hours for my first playthrough. There's lots of content I missed, the visuals and scenery is awesome. The enemies are satisfying to kill and by the end of the game, I feel like I've grown in my level of patience, approach to challenging problems, and ability to appreciate difficulty as healthy rather than hindrance.
    Expand
  92. May 15, 2013
    10
    The port is far from perfect but the game is incredible. Mods really help this game shine (fps unlocking, remapping keys, textures etc).

    PvE:

    There are tons of different weapons/spells/armors and play styles to chose from, a healthy amount of upgrade options, and a constant fear of each enemy you face. The game requires patience, intelligence, and strategy from the player ranging
    from each trash mob pull to mini bosses to the actual bosses. Another great part for me was the fact that the game does 0 hand holding. You are dropped off into this world without a clue of what to do and very sparse clues of where to go- just like you would be if you were truly this character.

    Honestly though I think the best part of this game was how they handled player death. When you die all of your accumulated money/experience is dropped at the spot you died. There is a blood splatter on the floor and a great aura hovering over the spot. In order to restore your lost money/exp you must get back to that same spot without dying again. When you are successful you don't suffer at all- but when you aren't the game punishes you by making you "grind it out" on the trash mobs if you want it back. You always keep your items though which is nice.

    Another refreshing aspect was how they handled damage mitigation and potions. When you block damage you can block all of it if you have a solid shield or you can parry attacks with a lower weight shield (none of which can block %100 of damage so you have to choose your style). Now when you block damage it gets taken away from your endurance which regenerates very slowly while holding block. Attacking, dodging, and blocking all require a decent chunk of endurance so your timing and strategy need to be on point.

    The potion aspect was also pretty cool- you are vulnerable while drinking so again you have to time it right. In addition to that you get potion refills to X amount (as well as magic refills) at every "save point" which are spread pretty sparsely throughout the game. You can also spend some experience points (humanity really, not souls) to increase that amount of potions you get at a certain fire and eventually increase the max number of potions you can carry. Potions in this game are genuinely helpful and not game-breaking or useless like in a lot of games.

    PvP/Co-Op:

    PvP is pretty good in this game- I liked how when you allow Co-Op games you MUST also allow yourself to be invaded (pvp). The biggest problem with this is that there are "pvp specific" builds that will lower the overall level of invading players in almost a "twink" manner that seems to discourage building a well-rounded player for PvE.

    One great part about online play is that you can write and read messages from other players.

    The graphics aren't mind blowing but the art style is pretty well done. Nothing in the game really felt all that cheesy either to be honest.

    This game has some flaws no doubt but it's an absolutely incredible experience.
    Expand
  93. May 13, 2013
    9
    Probably the best RPG I've played in the last 5 years. The first thirty minutes or so I had this dreadful feeling that I'd just wasted thirty bones on a pile of rubbish. After sticking with it for a bit longer (and getting my first magical weapon) I'm completely hooked. Each battle feels like the consequences are dire; lack of rails means even the environment is an enemy to overcome. The game evokes the feeling of "old school" solo RPGs but presents in a very earnest and straightforward way the dismal lot of the undead. Expand
  94. May 7, 2013
    10
    Giving this game a 10 is, for me, dependant on the following three conditions:

    1. Use a gamepad (xbox 360, ps3 controlers are fine). The game does not play well with keyboard and mouse but fantastically with a gamepad.

    2. Install dsfix for resolutions beyond 720p and fram rates above 30 fps. This will make the game look quite beautiful. Through this fix you can also disable depth of
    field, which makes the game look much crisper. (There are excellent instructions included with the fix.)

    3. Install dscfix to improve your pve and pvp experience. Unfortunately the game uses peer-to-peer connections through Games of Windows Live for multiplayer and sometimes it can be very hard to establish connections. With this fix, you can easily connect to anyone with whom you are friends on GfWL.

    Some would argue that a game should be perfect "out of the box", but in this case the developer From Software had a very limited budget with which to port the game to the PC. Hence the lacking graphics features, for instance. Installing the mods is very easy though and it lets you enjoy the game to its fullest. As a gamer I don't mind doing my part to maximize my experience with a game.

    Story
    The game is very sparse in what it lets you know, but you can draw conclusions along the way and there are clues that will let you piece together some of the many curious things you see and hear during your travels through Lordaeron. Should you want to read them, there are excellent online articles that explain the story in detail. There is quite a bit of drama going on, both in the present and in the past.

    Graphics
    Out of the box, the game looks blurry and the frame rate is capped at 30 fps. You can fix this though with the above mentioned mod, dsfix, and once you have, it looks fantastic. All the armor and equipment is extremely well designed with amazing attention to detail. The enivironments are cleverly crafted with excellent atmosphere. At times you will dread even taking a single step forward.

    Sound
    The sound is rather minimalistic, but in a fitting way. Heavier armor makes noise when you run or roll, weapons sound realistic when they hit enemies, shields, walls etc. There is not a lot of music, as the environments speak a lot for themselves, but the boss battles.. well, you'll see.

    Gameplay
    PVE: The game is about knowing what you're up against and a certain amount of skill. So expect a stiff challenge early on. The level design is great because it allows you to explore the world in a non-linear fashion. You may wander off in a direction that sets up against brutal enemies and that is usually a sign that perhaps you should go elsewhere for the time being. There are, however, hints in the game as to where you should go, albeit in loose terms.

    Bosses are well designed for the most part and some of them are very difficult initially. It can take a while to nail down a boss fight, but stay with it because eventually you will figure out what you need to do.

    There is plenty of gear and spells to be had by finding secret places, and getting there is a lot more rewarding if you managed it yourself by way of exploration. One awesome aspect of Dark Souls is the many different paths you can take with your character's development. Do you like to wield fast rapiers, long spears, huge two-handed weapons, or perhaps fist weapons? You can specialize in whatever you like and upgrade your favorite weapons along numerous paths such as lightning, magic, faith, occult, fire and chaos. Then there's magic as well, two different schools (three, kind of, with the expansion which is included in the pc version). Armor comes in tons of variations as well and in the end not too many characters in Dark Souls will ever look the same. Some even follow guides to outfit their characters like favorite characters from other games, such as Castlevania. There is no limit to the amount of awesome builds and ideas you can come up with, and this becomes even more intriguing PVP.

    PVP and Co-op: This is where the game gets really interesting after a while. Initially it can be very annoying, however, as you can get invaded and killed by fellow players. The good thing is you can summon others to help you and you can let them summon you into their playthroughs. Is a boss giving you all you can handle and more? Summon a friendly phantom, bow to it when it appears and go to town on the boss! There will come a time when you realize what areas are prone to invasion and you might even linger there for some good duels. Depending on how you built your character, you will fare well or badly versus certain builds. It's a bit of rock-paper-scissor, but your skill will go a long way and since you can have multiple weapons, shields and spells equipped to change around, you will have a fair bit of flexibility.There is a lot more to PVP and co-operation in Dark Souls but I'll let you find out the rest for yourself.

    There is no space for rounding this off properly. So, GLFH!
    Expand
  95. May 3, 2013
    9
    *this review does not talk about the PC port, just the game itself*
    I would have given this game an 8 if not for how much time I poured into it. This is one of my favorite games ever. I would recommend this to anyone who is willing to take a challenge, and after that challenge is over have a very fun experience doing PvP and the like. The art direction in this game is top notch, and the
    character design is just awesome. While the controls may be a bit clunky, they are easy to get used to and the combat system is very unique and fun. I also love the level design and how connected through shortcuts the certain areas are. Now I have to mention the bosses. While some bosses are at a perfect difficulty level (Capra Demon, Quelaag, Ornstein and Smough, The Four Kings), I was able to recollect around 7-8 that I consider MUCH too easy. These bosses can be beat on the first try if you understand the game, and are all around too damn easy. This game was close to a 10 but there are little flaws and then big ones such as the fluctuating difficulty which rounds it down to a 9. Still, a 9 is an amazing score and I would recommend this game to almost anyone. Expand
  96. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    It's been a long time since a RPG kept me that heavily.

    You awake as an undead in a dungeon cell, jailed to wait for the end of the world, as someone unknown throws the key to the cell's door in front of your feet. From now on you are alone in an hostile world and you have to figure out why you have been chosen to be freed from the Abyss.

    There is no story being narrated in Dark
    Souls. There might be people that miss it but in my humble opinion it is the way a real role playing game should be. You experience the story on your own, you write it yourself. And the world around you with all its creatures and humans is so authentic that you easily can imagine what might have happened to this damned landscape.

    Dark Souls is not a game for casual players, it offers a lot but claims even more and is really difficult. I know people that played the game some hours and threw it furiously shouting into the next corner. But on the other hand I also know people that loved exactly this challenge. And during about 90 hours of average playtime there is a lot to beat and even more in the New Game+, because there are contents that you can only reach in the second play-through.

    In Addition Dark Souls offers innovative online Coop- and PvP-Features that make the game worth playing it again and again.

    Pros:
    + Beautiful Design
    + very atmospheric
    + challenging difficulty (while staying fair)
    + Coop capability
    + varied and innovative PvP features
    + rewarding
    + there is a lot you can do wrong (decisions) but better in the next play-through

    Cons:
    - It is pretty hard to play coop with a specific friend if you do not know how the coop system works
    - there is no native 1080p resolution
    - a game-pad is definitely required

    Hint: There are patches made by the community that add features like 1080p resolution and coop-mode optimizations. Just search for "DSfix" and "DSCfix".

    Conclusion: Dark Souls is really a bad console port but such a good role playing game, so that those small issues are of no consequence for me, especially because they have been fixed by the community.

    I recommend this game to everyone, who loves challenging role-playing-games with a gloomy atmosphere and owns a game-pad.

    I rate it 10/10. It is just that good.
    Expand
  97. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    Here it is "Dark Souls Prepare to Die Edition". Well i've got to say the porting sucks. EXTREMELY. I had even some problem's with GFWL but then with some help of the forum i resolved it. I don't agree with the ones that say it sucks only because of the porting and they say you CANNOT mod the game... i did and is not so difficoult they just must be retarded what can i say D:. Talking about the game is just as it is on console only with a new area the Abyss and some new bosses like Artorias. So if you liked it on Console and you want it for PC for the new content or because you never played it feel free to buy it!!! Just install Durante DSfix and the bad porting by FROM SOFTWARE will be resolved! And probably you will not encounter the problem i had with GFWL Expand
  98. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    There are issues to this port. Google: steam dark souls tweak. It will lead you to a guide which fixes many of hte problems. my graphics improved greatly, and fps improved greatly.

    Been gaming since chrono trigger on the Snes. In terms of best single player game, this ties with chrono trigger. In terms of best gameplay in a single player game, this is it. The game is hard, and
    you learn by dying. And it's awesome. You have to pay attention to every fight, or you can die to the smallest creature. The combat is challenging. For the first time, I feel like I'm actually exploring. There is no map, so you have to pay attention to your surroundings.

    This is the first single player game I've send more then twenty hours playing in years. Others may be pretty, but theyare boring.
    Expand
  99. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Best game yet. I have over 400 hours of game play.Finished like 7-9 times. 40-70% pvp.Dark souls has really rewarding single player.Very unique multiplayer.Almost all places have their own enemies only 1-2 places have same enemies.Boss fights are soo epic and hard.
  100. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Must admit I raged hard at the game at first. I wanted to play with the Keyboard and Mouse.
    Ordered a USB controller online, And I have never been happier! The gameplay outshines all the flaws made while porting the game to PC.

    Only thing I'm still angry about, Must be that the description on some items are faulty; The Tiny beings ring for example does not regenerate health, It
    increases it.

    Even after the problems I had, I will give it a solid 10 out of 10. I really hope the next game will play as good as this.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. 72
    The irony is that the PC version could have been much better than the PS3/360 ones, with higher resolutions to make the textures look better, a cornucopia of mods and/or an active (in theory at least) community. But FROM ruined it all (with the assistance of Games for Windows Live). It’s a shame really, if we at least had just a decent port (or a better infrastructure for a less appalling multiplayer mode), Dark Souls could have been one of the best RPG for the PC. [November 2012]
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    Not often do you see a game that is equally rewarding as it is frustrating; and it's not because the game is unfair.
  3. 80
    Dark Souls returns the hardcore elements back to action RPGs – heavy focus on uncompromising fight mechanics and absolute freedom in hero profiling. The price of this game is not for everyone. [Oct 2012]