DARK PC

Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 13 out of 21
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    70
    In many ways, Dark’s greatest success is in reminding me of time when I liked vampires and when stealth games were stealth games. And it provides an entertaining- if sometimes absurd -experience on both fronts.
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    50
    The lack of polishing is the main problem of a game with a lot of wasted potential. Clunky controls, bad A.I. and tiny production values condemn Dark to mediocrity. Only for hardcore stealth fans with a lot of patience.
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    58
    For your money, it’s not a completely terrible title for big fans of pure stealth titles. Just don’t expect anything amazing.
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    50
    There are certain moments where everything clicks, where the stars align and you’ll feel like the dark puppetmaster you should feel like the whole game, and most of these moments are because of the powers.
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    55
    DARK is a stealth game with some nice ideas and an interesting story, but it suffers from poor IA and repetitive gameplay.
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    50
    So while it's always nice to see an attempt to breathe new life into stealth action games, Dark retains and even amplifies many of the frustrating trappings that make the genre so off-putting for some. It's too buggy, imprecise, and narratively unengaging to be of much interest even to those in the market for this sort of thing.
  7. 50
    It's nothing new that a decent look can't rescue an otherwise failing game. Dark isn't exactly bad, but at the same time it is never interesting. There is a couple of good moments in this, but in the end, I was kind of glad it was over.
  8. Jul 5, 2013
    50
    The RPG elements and distinct visual style do present some life, but don’t go in expecting this to be a mechanically sound game.
User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 52
  2. Negative: 28 out of 52
  1. Jul 4, 2013
    2
    So I bought this game this afternoon, very amped up as I'm a sucker for stealth games. Upon beginning the game, I realised a few things. 1.So I bought this game this afternoon, very amped up as I'm a sucker for stealth games. Upon beginning the game, I realised a few things. 1. This feels a lot like Hitman: Blood Money 2. This looks a lot like Walking Dead and 3. This game has managed to combine Hitman and Walking Dead, take all the life and fun from both of them and charge you $40 for it. This game has you playing as a stealthy assassin...vampire. Which is already a poor decision, the devs for this game should've noticed the irreversible pussification of vampires at the hands of the Twilight franchise. As a blood-sucker, you wield, what was said to be an arsenal of powers, is actually about 6 or 7 different powers with 3 or so passive ones, that can aid you in your missions. They are fun to use for about 3 minutes, then they just get boring. This is a grand example of a game that has a brilliant concept and so much potential, but is so poorly executed. Game play is extremely boring and repetitive there's really no motivation for you to keep playing, story is unoriginal and uninteresting, voice acting has been painfully forced with all but one or two characters so far, enemies, rather than looking around for anything suspicious, will walk back and forth between programmed routes, which is more often than not, a bloody straight line, just waiting for you to use the same 2 or 3 animations to kill them. Other than their 'routes', enemies also can't spot you if you are more than 10 metres away from them, or even better, they cannot see you if you are right around the corner...hiding behind a clear glass wall. This game is unfinished. That's really all there is to it. What's worse is the price tag. 40 dollars?! Seriously!? That's insulting. It's frustrating that I'm forced to live in a generation that creates games of this calibre and then prices them like that. My mistake was in buying it on release day, rather than wait for some reviews to come out. Hopefully, you won't make the same mistake I did. Full Review »
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    5
    The game looked cool, and I bought it before the release. Started playing, the characters have that bold lines like borderlands, I like that.The game looked cool, and I bought it before the release. Started playing, the characters have that bold lines like borderlands, I like that.

    After some minutes, the dialogues started, but they dont feel natural. When one person finishes what he/she was saying, the other one starts it like when you are pressing a buttom to skip dialogues. That's a bit odd.

    The gameplay isnt something new. If you played Dishonored, you'll feel familiar with the game. One let down is that you can only either instantly kill your enemy or suck blood to get "mana" to use powers.
    The enemies arent really smart, they follow the same route, so you just have to wait until they turn and kill them.

    In the end, this game could be a success, but it isnt. I'm not saying that this game totally suck, it has some good things, but you should not pay so much for a game when you have better options (Dishonored has better graphics, better mechanics and better story for instance)
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    Good sneak game. But there are so many trouble in control n motion. I got a lot of problem to play although I don't have any responsibilities.Good sneak game. But there are so many trouble in control n motion. I got a lot of problem to play although I don't have any responsibilities. also, the way to make tactics is too short. If you already play 'Hitman' or 'Dishonored', maybe you can punch your monitor. So my advice is two kinds.

    1. Find other sweet infiltration games.

    2. wear boxing gloves when you play this.
    Full Review »