Darksiders PC

Darksiders Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 590 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The time for the great Apocalypse of legend has come in Darksiders as you take on the role of War, one of the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, and rain judgment and destruction down upon the Earth. However, not all is as it seems when you discover that you and your fellow Horsemen have beenThe time for the great Apocalypse of legend has come in Darksiders as you take on the role of War, one of the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, and rain judgment and destruction down upon the Earth. However, not all is as it seems when you discover that you and your fellow Horsemen have been implicated for the premature destruction of Earth and are swept up in a conspiracy between the forces of Heaven and Hell. Banished and stripped of your powers, embark on an epic quest of revenge and redemption as you battle angels and demons to restore your awesome abilities and seek out who betrayed you. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Darksiders looks great on PC, thanks to the greater resolution and the lack of tearing. The game itself comes with excellent graphics and nice artistic direction, but its strength lies in its gameplay: War faces hundreds of different enemies, using many different weapons, and there are plenty of puzzles to be solved in each level. Definitely a fantastic action/adventure game, an exercise in game design that can't leave you indifferent.
  2. My feelings towards Darksiders haven't changed a lot since its original release back in January and I'm not hesitating to recommend it despite its technical nitpicks. PC gamers (considering you have a powerful system) have no right to skip this one, it's worth your time and your money.
  3. It is, however, a polished, entertaining product and while not a gaming milestone by any means, it represents a solid example of an AAA title, which delivers exactly what it promised.
  4. Darksiders can only be recommended, because it's one of the best hack'n'slay games on the PC. Period.
  5. If you missed Darksiders the first time or if you just stick only to PC gaming, then this one's worth a shot.
  6. It's a shame there was no bonus content to justify the eight-month long wait, but the excellent core game is kept intact, and is sure to entertain PC gamers, assuming they have a gamepad to play the game comfortably.
  7. PC Format
    Dec 25, 2010
    80
    Not the most innovative of games, but give Darksiders a go and you'll most likely be pleasantly surprised. [Issue#246, p.106]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 135
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic game. I was expecting a cheap God of War Clone, but it's far better than that. For one thing the Horseman War is far moreThis is a fantastic game. I was expecting a cheap God of War Clone, but it's far better than that. For one thing the Horseman War is far more interesting a character than Kratos, whose one-note vengeance act is wearing pretty thin. Great atmosphere, fun combat, very creative puzzles, and some of the best creature design ever. It's a long game with tons of bosses, and they're all awesome looking. New elements are constantly introduced to keep it fresh--grappling hook, horseback combat, and even some Portal dynamics near the end. The biggest criticism is that Darksiders doesn't do anything new, but combining all these great elements from other games so successfully IS something new. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    I give this game a score of 10 because this game does what a video game should do: Entertain you and make you escape in a "different world".I give this game a score of 10 because this game does what a video game should do: Entertain you and make you escape in a "different world".

    I am a 30 years old game who played through console in his childhood and played mostly RTS(Starcraft, Warcraft III, Company of Heroes, Dawn of War). I haven't played lot of third person slash / shooter except maybe Legacy of Kain on PS2. I like about every game type except MMO, who are IMO, time-killers, might as well get a lobotomy and sit on a chair on IV's.

    I have played this game on PC for around 36 hours(with a Logitech Gamepad, who plays that with a mouse and keyboard? that is plain stupid i.e.: all the bad reviews), the controls are very intuitive and simple and I haven't finished the game yet. The puzzles are fairly challenging without being impossible, yes I had to use youtube a few times where my patience was running thin. I play this game just to relax and switch off, this game will not drive you nuts and is actually entertaining, also there is no "grinding" whatsoever so people with a a life will enjoy it (if you have no life you will probably chew through it in a few days; I have been there once upon a time).

    Pros: Good storyline, fantastic arts(as the attention to details in the background and the overall world), very entertaining. Joe Madureira is a fantastic graphist and that shows. You will get immersed in this universe of desolation. This game reminds me of a 3D version of Zelda a link to the past, you have to use your tools in order to get through dungeons and puzzles, you can upgrade your life, your wrath and your armor aquire a very few items but still you need to find those secret chests. The combat is fairly simple but I am not a hack and slash player (not even remotely). To get through this game you actually have to observe and think about what you're doing( not just slash through and "go up in levels"). The boss are reasonably do-able on a first fight, if you take the time to check the environment and the boss itself you will find its weakness.

    Cons: No replayability, no "leveling up" and super super dupa-omni boss (who drops "epic" nice looking armor to show to your "virtual friends") to kill after grinding and leveling for 200 hours(i.e. wasting your time / life). For me it's a pro, but it seems to be a "con" if we look at the popularity of MMO RPG.
    Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. The story is great and the atmosphere of the whole Hell vs Heaven conflict is a killer! The style ofOne of the best games I have ever played. The story is great and the atmosphere of the whole Hell vs Heaven conflict is a killer! The style of the game is amazing - you will not find this horrible cartoonish style in this game.

    Slashing through the hordes of enemies is very satisfying and makes you want to play it more and more!

    I can't wait for part II. Highly recommended!

    PS. Get a gamepad to fully enjoy the game, It's way better on a pad than on K+M
    Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    I like very much this game cause it has good mood (not many games is about the conflict between heaven and hell), comabt is very satisfied.I like very much this game cause it has good mood (not many games is about the conflict between heaven and hell), comabt is very satisfied. Graphic is nice Only Black Throne frustrated me (too much thinking, less fighting) but I don't like many riddles. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    Darksiders is definitely a good game. The animation style is really interesting. The combat system is fun but has room for improvement. It isDarksiders is definitely a good game. The animation style is really interesting. The combat system is fun but has room for improvement. It is worth a try. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2016
    8
    Darksiders is a game that contains many elements from many different titles, mixed together to create the ride to hell of War. It has itsDarksiders is a game that contains many elements from many different titles, mixed together to create the ride to hell of War. It has its problems, yes, but that does not mean the game is not on a great path. Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2011
    0
    Played this expecting something worth my time but I was wrong. Boring linear game play, and almost no character progression, not exactly aPlayed this expecting something worth my time but I was wrong. Boring linear game play, and almost no character progression, not exactly a recipe for a winner. I wasn't able to play much of it which that in itself says it all. I know some people will say, "how do you know if you didn't even play all the way through." and to that I say, you don't have yourself locked into torturous human experimentation lab on the off chance that you might get a lollipop when you leave. Expand

See all 135 User Reviews