User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 3 out of 11

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    Lots of effort, time, and money went into this project or so I read. This game reminds me of an interactive game I came across a while back when software were making their mark on pc. Darkstar is a gem among gems, an original with its rich story aka a time capsule. I have barely touched the surface and the interest is growing in anticipation. DTIM is definitely not for frag fest fans or strategy games I see flooded out there. It's about patience and intuition and decision making as the situation and events unfold in a much slower pace. Some believe this is Darkstar One and it isn't. More like a movie rather than a game in itself although very detailed and requires your attention to details to move forward with the story. That said, you are certainly the captain at the helm of this long and perilous adventure in search of the mystery as to why earth is no more and the murder of one of the spaceship's crew members of 4. The fate of mankind rests on your shoulders despite the fact that you remember nothing as a result from an extended cryogenic exposure. Darkstar is truly some work of art and not to be missed. Collapse
  2. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    Atmosphere in spades
    This game is taking me back to the late 90s, the golden era of adventure games (think Ripper, Black Dahlia, The Last Express, Blade Runner etc.). That also means that to get Darkstar work there is work to do, I won't lie to you there are bugs and things to watch out for. This is not some FPS from 2010 for sure. It is a labor of love and as such it should be cherished.
    Arm yourself with patience and the experience will make it worth it. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    0
    Probably the worst game I've ever had to review. Awful acting, incomprehensible puzzles, amazingly-poor design decisions and a story so clich├ęd that it makes the Bible look fresh and new. It even runs at a crappy 1980s resolution. The deluded comments elsewhere on this page seem to be from the marketing department, sadly.
  4. Jun 23, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the game is really interesting and you should still play it but be warned of a few things.. DO not pick up the gun you see in a crew member's cabin. It's the wrong one and you'll have to start the whole game over when you get to the end if you picked it up at the beginning of the game. this was a stupid thing for the designers to put in there because it just ruined the experience for me. Also, the puzzles are way too easy. all trial and error. The only thing that's hard is figuring out what to do next or where to go. The game crashes a lot. using vista compatibility mode helps a bit. Anyways, this game is worth playing regardless of all of it's problems, but just don't pick up that damn first gun (pick up the right one near a piano) and save often. Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2011
    0
    Lots of effort, time, and money went into this project or so I read. This game reminds me of an interactive game I came across a while back when software were making their mark on pc. Darkstar is a gem among gems, an original with its rich story aka a time capsule. I have barely touched the surface and the interest is growing in anticipation. DTIM is definitely not for frag fest fans or strategy games I see flooded out there. It's about patience and intuition and decision making as the situation and events unfold in a much slower pace. Some believe this is Darkstar One and it isn't. More like a movie rather than a game in itself although very detailed and requires your attention to details to move forward with the story. That said, you are certainly the captain at the helm of this long and perilous adventure in search of the mystery as to why earth is no more and the murder of one of the spaceship's crew members of 4. The fate of mankind rests on your shoulders despite the fact that you remember nothing as a result from an extended cryogenic exposure. Darkstar is truly some work of art and not to be missed. Collapse
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Whatever you do, don't go out and buy Darkstar: The Interactive Movie. It's one of the worst games we ever played.
  2. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    It's not a game. [Issue#118, p.106]
  3. Jan 12, 2012
    60
    Get past the obtuse mechanics and there's a unique retro charm here. [Feb 2012, p.97]