Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 88
    Darwinia is great gaming. It makes me smile. My eyes rejoice at the sight of it.
  2. It's a brilliant and addictive experience that's unlike anything you've played before.
  3. One of the most unique games that I have played in a while. If you are looking for a unique game that isn’t just a “cookie cutter” of the most popular game out there, then look no further than this game.
  4. It's obvious that developers Introversion don't have a huge budget but they managed to create a minimalist masterpiece that any gamer with an imagination can appreciate.
  5. This may not be a revolution in gaming, but as a fresh premise and interesting gameplay for $30, even with some flaws packed in, isn't a bad deal in my book. [July 2006, p.109]
  6. Forget games with real-time physics. This is one has real-time metaphysics. It's this year's underground classic, this year's "Rez," this year's "Ico," this year's... well, this year's Darwinia. It's a game that justifies your sense of your brilliance and gaming' sense of brilliance.
  7. Darwinia is, all told, wonderful. It's the kind of game that would show impressionable young kids the breadth and scope of the medium without overwhelming them with mechanics.
  8. A campaign of just a handful of missions doesn’t last long, but an active mod community helps offset that. Nonetheless, Darwinia stands above most games in design as an essential title for the PC.
  9. I just about guarantee you’ve not experienced a game like this before, and while it stumbles in its gameplay, it soars in its style and whimsy.
  10. 90
    Darwinia isn't just a good game. More importantly, it's a place you've never been.
  11. Darwinia is immersive, with a quality mix between unique game play and off-the-wall graphics. This title isn’t particularly successful, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see some of the elements that Introversion has brought to the table appear in future RTS titles.
  12. Darwinia 's weird, but it might well not be your kind of weird.
  13. 100
    The visuals are simple yet strikingly effective. The core gameplay is manageable, yet effectively complex. A game like this isn’t produced by huge teams with tons of money. Those kinds of games (god bless ‘em) are pure craft. Darwinia is art.
  14. Sadly, the bugs I encountered during the game (especially with the way the graphics engine started chugging so severely in the later levels) really hurt my experience, and the action just eventually ended up being reduced to using the same strategy over and over again.
  15. 100
    It's a beautiful mix of everything we love in retro gaming and everything we're capable of having with modern technology, truly a match made in virtual heaven!
  16. Where most games are built out of wood, bullets and money, Darwinia has an unapologetically spiritual vision, its geeky god presiding over a world which dares to make an imagined religion into a ruleset. That in some places it falls short of its ambitions is not what makes this game important. [March 2005, p.82]
  17. The action-RTS tomfoolery is remarkably compelling once you get a feeling for the basics... Darwinia is proof that you don’t need huge budgets and flashy visuals to make a decent title. [Apr 2005, p.112]
  18. Darwinia really has to be seen and heard in motion...to fully appreciate how effective the presentation is. [Jan 2006, p.56]
  19. Guaranteed fun for strategy fans of all ages, but especially retro gamers. [July 2005, p.68]
  20. After learning to take Darwinia in bite-sized pieces – say 45 to 60 minutes a time – it didn’t take long for me to begin to anticipate playing it.
  21. Darwinia deserves to be remembered as one of 2005's most creative games on any platform.
  22. So stylish it looks like art, but surprisingly it is also a very good game. [Apr. 05]
  23. 75
    It has a completely unique style, both in the audio, sound and gameplay departments that cannot be easily compared to anything else.
  24. The way the game adds small increments – a new move or weapon or task has been brilliantly devised and all the time you are playing you get help and feedback from a chap that looks not unlike Mr Clive Sinclair – you have to have been around in the 8 bit days to appreciate this.
  25. The lack of "Game Over" is a delightful incentive for continued play, and despite no fear of defeat, Darwinia still contains a considerable array of challenges to overcome.
  26. We’re left with a fairly annoying RTS title full of niggling and frustrating bugs, poor design decisions, and pathfinding that has dripped directly from the nose of Satan himself.
  27. If you can get past the lack-luster graphics and the moderately annoying controls then you will be able to really enjoy this title. Do to the somewhat awkward controls I can not say that this game is a “must have”, but I would have to say that if you are looking for a game that is not too heavy or serious then you might want to take a look at this one.
  28. Darwinia will remind you that videogames can be an art form as well as great entertainment.
  29. It’s a game that has ideas and refuses to be diluted by mediocrity. These days that’s a rare and brave thing to do.
  30. A gorgeous, character-packed curio that combines strategy and arcade action with great aplomb. An essential purchase for nostalgics. [PC Gamer UK]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 5 out of 45
  1. Ross
    May 12, 2006
    4
    I just cannot see what all the jumping up and down is for. All these 8's and 9's, for a game where you cannot actually fail? Where is the challenge in that? To me it was just a fairly entertaining way to pass several tens of hours doing exactly the same thing over and over. In the end I got bored and it now just languishes morosely in my steam window. If you want existentialism with decent challenging gameplay, go download Mistake of Pythagoras mod for Half Life 2. Its free and actually worth dedicating hours of your life to. Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Cannon Fodder mixed with Tron. Fantastic atmosphere and brilliantly stylized visuals. Recommended for everyone who likes a good blast and an interest in the cyber. Full Review »
  3. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    Otro de los juegos indies míticos y con un apartado visual muy agradecido que ha envejecido bien, tal vez porque ya era viejo cuando salió. Algunas mecánicas siguen teniendo interés, pero como experiencia es recomendable. A la gente que le interese lo retroindie es buena compra de oferta. Full Review »