User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 120

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KristianL.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This is the best empire builder game I've ever tried. There's nothing bad to say about this game. It even corrects all of the small annoyances that were found in Anno 1701 from 2006. The graphics are immense, and the fact that you can't let this game go and you have the opportunity to play from now on and until the end of time, makes this the best of the best. So many great This is the best empire builder game I've ever tried. There's nothing bad to say about this game. It even corrects all of the small annoyances that were found in Anno 1701 from 2006. The graphics are immense, and the fact that you can't let this game go and you have the opportunity to play from now on and until the end of time, makes this the best of the best. So many great features. I am in awe. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Fantastically well-polished city builder game. By far my favorite game when I just wanna sit down and do some sandboxing. The combat sucks, yes, but that's because it's not what the game is about. If you want to kill stuff go play CoD: Black Ops with your 'bros' or something and let the rest of us have our peaceful city builders.

    Also, the expansion(Venice) adds multiplayer.
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Dawn of Discovery is a classic, a master piece, nonpareil, a game which gives you something new even after playing 20+ hours continuously, One and Only.
    Simply the best!
  4. Hudson
    Jul 30, 2009
    6
    Money is better spent on Spore or Sims 3. This game is a real snoozer and plays much like German boards such as Carcassonne, Settlers of Cataan and things like that. You will literally just sit and watch and watch and watch and be bored out of your mind. Pretty graphics do not make up for insipid gameplay and god awful instructions or in game tool tips. Also there is not one ounce of Money is better spent on Spore or Sims 3. This game is a real snoozer and plays much like German boards such as Carcassonne, Settlers of Cataan and things like that. You will literally just sit and watch and watch and watch and be bored out of your mind. Pretty graphics do not make up for insipid gameplay and god awful instructions or in game tool tips. Also there is not one ounce of combat built into the game. You are better off going backwards in the series and getting 1701. Expand
  5. Zoidenberger
    Dec 2, 2009
    6
    A game which is entertaining for a couple of days, before becoming boring. There is very little variation between games and combat is very poorly implemented. May entertain fans of the genre, but this game's depth is superficial.
  6. JohnH
    Jul 18, 2009
    4
    No multiplayer in an otherwise multiplayer enabled series = fail. Why they would go from 1701, an excellent game with some of the most fun RTS multiplayer around, to singleplayer-only 1404 defies understanding. It's a fairly important feature to just remove. Other than that, you've already read everything else here.
  7. BaronM
    Jul 28, 2009
    0
    How can you make an RTS with no combat action. Trade and city building? Might as well call this Sim City Trade. My Friend was torrenting this, when he found out there was no RTS combat he canceled the torrent. Germany used to be cool. Game violence isn't training people for the real world. let's say a 8 year old kid is a very good counter strike player, if you give him a real How can you make an RTS with no combat action. Trade and city building? Might as well call this Sim City Trade. My Friend was torrenting this, when he found out there was no RTS combat he canceled the torrent. Germany used to be cool. Game violence isn't training people for the real world. let's say a 8 year old kid is a very good counter strike player, if you give him a real AK-47 the recoil will control him. There is no possible way to stop real world violence and there are no proven facts that video games increased it. Germany needs to become smart. Expand
  8. DaveP.
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Great game overall. This is a great Strategy game and is the future of any sim city style of game. I just wish I could do some major wars alongside the building a big city.
  9. KevinP
    Jul 13, 2009
    9
    Pros: There are many of them! The graphics are beautiful (you'll need good hardware to run on high settings), the music is very good and atmospheric and the voice acting is done really well. What really makes this game great is the strategy involved in building your empire and the rock solid trade system that is rich in options and gives you full control of what and how much you want Pros: There are many of them! The graphics are beautiful (you'll need good hardware to run on high settings), the music is very good and atmospheric and the voice acting is done really well. What really makes this game great is the strategy involved in building your empire and the rock solid trade system that is rich in options and gives you full control of what and how much you want to trade. It's one of the deepest, most addicting games I've ever played. Oh yeah, and a really cool "post card" view that lets you do a close up fly by to see the game really come alive. Cons: The manual. It's terrible. If you are new to the ANNO series (like me), you will have to learn the game by playing it and the occasional google search. There's no list of buildings or tips on how/where to place them, although there's decent in-game descriptions. Nothing about acension rights. Nothing about how to get prestige points which are required for diplomatic status to the Sultan's advisor so you can build Orient style structures on the desert islands. I could go on and on. I can't believe that put out such a poor manual that is missing very important info. Also, I realize the military aspect is not the focus, but this could have done better (specifically the land combat). Expand
  10. Aaron
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    A beautifully crafted and thoroughly addicting game. That anyone would complain about the overall lack of combat is absurd. Also ignore the comments about the lack of hand-holding, step-by-step instructions; the campaign tells you what you need to know and you'll figure the rest out if you have half a brain (don't bother if you don't, I guess). This is a truly fantastic A beautifully crafted and thoroughly addicting game. That anyone would complain about the overall lack of combat is absurd. Also ignore the comments about the lack of hand-holding, step-by-step instructions; the campaign tells you what you need to know and you'll figure the rest out if you have half a brain (don't bother if you don't, I guess). This is a truly fantastic game. I only wish the multiplayer was included as with the last game, but I've had so much fun with the singleplayer that I suppose I haven't missed it much anyway. Expand
  11. Jess
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Very easy for beginners and casual gamers to get into. The graphics are nice, the story believable, and it's definitely a lot of fun.
  12. MT
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    If you are a fan of SimCity type of games then Dawn of Discovery (sometimes called Anno:1404) is definitely something to buy. The strongest focus of this game is on building your city and establishing a strong economy by acquiring raw resources and using them to produce goods that your citizens need in order to advance. The game is fun enough with just building a massive city builder, but If you are a fan of SimCity type of games then Dawn of Discovery (sometimes called Anno:1404) is definitely something to buy. The strongest focus of this game is on building your city and establishing a strong economy by acquiring raw resources and using them to produce goods that your citizens need in order to advance. The game is fun enough with just building a massive city builder, but the added ability to engage in military combat is icing on the cake. The combat doesn't involve much strategy, large numbers usually win. The biggest downside to this game is the gigantic learning curve. The manual is of almost no help. You MUST be patient if you want to enjoy this game to the fullest. You must take the time to play around and learn how everything works by experimenting. You can also go to forums on sites such as www.annofans.com and get help there from other players. Bear in mind, if you just want a simple resource-gathering RTS game that focuses almost entirely on building military units and fighting (such as Age of Empires) then this is not your type of game. Play the demo, and remember: Be patient with this game! It's fun once you give it a chance and learn how to play! Expand
  13. DaveC
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    How can you even put a review like PC Gamer UKs' in here? If you read it you can see that the reviewer just played the game like ten minutes without tutorial - and got frustrated because he didn't even realize how you should place the buildings and roads. The actual game is much like the previous Anno-games, but with some additions, better graphics and more a bit more depth in How can you even put a review like PC Gamer UKs' in here? If you read it you can see that the reviewer just played the game like ten minutes without tutorial - and got frustrated because he didn't even realize how you should place the buildings and roads. The actual game is much like the previous Anno-games, but with some additions, better graphics and more a bit more depth in gameplay. Overall very enjoyable sim-style game where you can spend the early hours without noticing how time passes by. Not for those who want to play their hyper fast to learn burger games, but a fine "quite easy to learn but harder to master" -rts-sim. Expand
  14. ChristianW
    Sep 22, 2009
    8
    This is the best Anno since Anno 1602, the first of the series. It does everything right. The complexity of having to handle to different societies at the same times doesn't leave much free time, which is exactly as it should be. The one thing I'm missing is Multiplayer. It's been nice in previous installments of the game to see who gets his empire going faster. -2 Points This is the best Anno since Anno 1602, the first of the series. It does everything right. The complexity of having to handle to different societies at the same times doesn't leave much free time, which is exactly as it should be. The one thing I'm missing is Multiplayer. It's been nice in previous installments of the game to see who gets his empire going faster. -2 Points for that ommission. Expand
  15. killswitch1968
    Sep 25, 2009
    6
    Dawn of Discovery is a traditional 4X RTS game, with a decreased emphasis on combat and al ot of complicated involved city building. The biggest problem with the game is the constant feeling that you're lacking control. Even with intense micromanagement you will struggle to keep things running smoothly and you have to fiddle all the time with redundant boring tasks. And that's Dawn of Discovery is a traditional 4X RTS game, with a decreased emphasis on combat and al ot of complicated involved city building. The biggest problem with the game is the constant feeling that you're lacking control. Even with intense micromanagement you will struggle to keep things running smoothly and you have to fiddle all the time with redundant boring tasks. And that's only if you can figure out the cause of your problem. Frequently things are happening automatically that you simply cannot diagnose. Why am I losing money when my income is supposedly green? Why do I keep losing linen-shirts when I have 3 weaver plants running and I'm not selling them? Why does this mine keep getting overstocked with ore when I have a trade cart right next to it? With some improved control schemes and diagnostics there is a robust, even fun strategy game under all this. Without it, you just get a frustrating mess. Expand
  16. Brumbek
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Anno 1404 is simply the best city building/economic/trading game out there. I loved Anno 1701 (the prior game) but I really love Anno 1404. They
  17. jh
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    This is my first experience playing an Anno title and I am in love. It's a wonderful city building game. Graphics are beautiful, supply chains are complex, and the use of land and trade are challenging and rewarding. It's very likely my favorite city-builder. Granted, the documentation is failry insufficient, but the campaign feeds you each new concept and each new supply chain, This is my first experience playing an Anno title and I am in love. It's a wonderful city building game. Graphics are beautiful, supply chains are complex, and the use of land and trade are challenging and rewarding. It's very likely my favorite city-builder. Granted, the documentation is failry insufficient, but the campaign feeds you each new concept and each new supply chain, so it's tutorial enough. I had no trouble intuiting the finer points of gameplay although they are easy enough to learn about on internet forums if you have trouble. Highly recommended. Expand
  18. BrandisL
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    I have to say this game surprised me as well as I have not played any of the other Anno games. I tried the demo on a whim and I find the game to be excellent. I have always enjoyed city builder games and imo this one takes the genre further in its game play and execution. This is very well done game (despite the sorry manual). Despite the fact that it is also a simulation game, as well as I have to say this game surprised me as well as I have not played any of the other Anno games. I tried the demo on a whim and I find the game to be excellent. I have always enjoyed city builder games and imo this one takes the genre further in its game play and execution. This is very well done game (despite the sorry manual). Despite the fact that it is also a simulation game, as well as a city builder, there is something to do and keep you busy and occupied. The voice overs are good and the graphics are extremely good. The game is gorgeous imo. I recommend this game to any city builder fans out there. As I said I think the game takes that genre to the next level. How PCGame UK could give this a 61 is beyond me. However if you read the review you will see that it is very poorly done, is less than a page full of very shallow observations and hints at the thought they the reviewer only spent a few hours with it. Very poor and unprofessional imo. If you can speak/read German I very much recommend that you read most of the other reviews as they are much more comprehensive and descriptive. All in all I am very pleased with the gameplay and the purchase Expand
  19. L.M.
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    A wonderful surprise. As a new player to the Anno games, I found this game strangely attractive as soon as I laid eyes on it. I was very happy to find the game exceeded my expectations. If you are interested in an economic sim with light rts elements, I suggest you buy it immediately!
  20. DragutinD.
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. The chains of resources require branching out to different islands and setting up complex trade routes, making each game really feel like you're accomplishing something near the end. This is the first single player game that has sucked me in as much as an mmo - I'm not that excited when I start the game up, but then 6 hours later I'm like o god I need This game is amazing. The chains of resources require branching out to different islands and setting up complex trade routes, making each game really feel like you're accomplishing something near the end. This is the first single player game that has sucked me in as much as an mmo - I'm not that excited when I start the game up, but then 6 hours later I'm like o god I need to eat. I fully recommend this game, it is awesome! Expand
  21. DustinL.
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Very suprised by this game. Does a great job of combining the city building genre with economic sim. The detail is top notch and the game moves at a nice, slow speed.
  22. LeonardoB
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    Ok, we know that Dawn of discovery dont have multiplayer online, but i think and have the certain that this note will increse because I have Dawn of Discovery, and i bought it by pre-order, and how its a new game, it still will launch patches, expansions packs and DLC´s. Thanks.
  23. MikeB
    Jul 27, 2009
    8
    Runs like clockwork. Low learning curve. Lots of positive tweaks compared with 1701. Enough new stuff to entertain for many hours. Very pleasurable to play.
  24. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Best strategy game I've ever played, hands down. The game totally sucks you in with the gorgeous graphics, amazing sound and great voice acting. The best part though is the complexity! Dozens and dozens of resources and buildings makes this game absolutely awesome. Bought in summer 2009 and still playing a year+ later.
  25. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Dawn of Discovery (aka Anno 1404 outside USA) is the most charming and addictive city-building game ever created. DoD has absolutely stunning graphics, whimsical art design, endearing characters, complex city-building and trade mechanics, and immense replay-ability! Oh, and the music is so good, and the sound design creates such alive environments. Everything is good about this game. IDawn of Discovery (aka Anno 1404 outside USA) is the most charming and addictive city-building game ever created. DoD has absolutely stunning graphics, whimsical art design, endearing characters, complex city-building and trade mechanics, and immense replay-ability! Oh, and the music is so good, and the sound design creates such alive environments. Everything is good about this game. I have zero complaints. Related Designs has totally outdone themselves here. This truly is sleeper hit. If you have even a slight interest in city-building and historic sim games, play this game. Expand
  26. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    Beautifully done! Long loading times, but a very fun, charming, sandbox world-builder. Content /customization is deep enough to hold interest into the late hours. I was surprised when the Narrator voice kindly reminded me I had been playing for 5 hours and recommended a break! I didn't listen.
  27. Oct 30, 2011
    8
    This was my first experience in the series and have to say it was quite enjoyable. There is enough complexity to keep you interested, but multiple plays may begin to become stale. The combat isn't the best but the game looks good. I think overall it all came together as a fun empire builder.
  28. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    i would love to say that this game was really complex and complicated gameplay but that what i love from this game, even its really hard to reach next level And the disappointment were due because the game was really slow to load
  29. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    this games has a very good gameplay studied perfectly. Of sure is a best strategy games the last years into his genre. The graphics is optimum, maybe missing a bit zoom for the magnification on the city and persons. should do more games on this little segment known which is not was never loved by the general public. however nothing to say great game!
  30. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Damn charming, wonderful fun, yet deeply complex. This game is not only enjoyable, charming and one of the most musically beautiful games ever devised, but has a way of dumbing itself down, without us even noticing. Very well made, and very good fun. Would recommend.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Dawn of Discovery is not only the fourth installment of the highly regarded ANNO-series but also the best, offering challenging complexity for core gamers and providing easy access for beginners at the same time. Don't miss this game if you are a fan of economic simulations.
  2. A near perfect blend of west and east, complexity and accessibility - Dawn of Discovery is by far the best economic simulation to date.
  3. Requisite whining about copy protection aside, this is a solid title that offers some fun and addictive game play, with lots to discover and plenty to do. It’s ridiculously easy to sit down with the intention of playing for a few minutes, only to look up and see that two or three hours have gone past. There’s a lot of character in the animations, the voice-acting is superb and the setting is fantastic. Dawn of Discovery deserves to be checked out by anybody who has an interest in exploration and the classic city-building titles of old.