User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 120

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KristianL.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This is the best empire builder game I've ever tried. There's nothing bad to say about this game. It even corrects all of the small annoyances that were found in Anno 1701 from 2006. The graphics are immense, and the fact that you can't let this game go and you have the opportunity to play from now on and until the end of time, makes this the best of the best. So many great This is the best empire builder game I've ever tried. There's nothing bad to say about this game. It even corrects all of the small annoyances that were found in Anno 1701 from 2006. The graphics are immense, and the fact that you can't let this game go and you have the opportunity to play from now on and until the end of time, makes this the best of the best. So many great features. I am in awe. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Fantastically well-polished city builder game. By far my favorite game when I just wanna sit down and do some sandboxing. The combat sucks, yes, but that's because it's not what the game is about. If you want to kill stuff go play CoD: Black Ops with your 'bros' or something and let the rest of us have our peaceful city builders.

    Also, the expansion(Venice) adds multiplayer.
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Dawn of Discovery is a classic, a master piece, nonpareil, a game which gives you something new even after playing 20+ hours continuously, One and Only.
    Simply the best!
  4. DaveP.
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Great game overall. This is a great Strategy game and is the future of any sim city style of game. I just wish I could do some major wars alongside the building a big city.
  5. KevinP
    Jul 13, 2009
    9
    Pros: There are many of them! The graphics are beautiful (you'll need good hardware to run on high settings), the music is very good and atmospheric and the voice acting is done really well. What really makes this game great is the strategy involved in building your empire and the rock solid trade system that is rich in options and gives you full control of what and how much you want Pros: There are many of them! The graphics are beautiful (you'll need good hardware to run on high settings), the music is very good and atmospheric and the voice acting is done really well. What really makes this game great is the strategy involved in building your empire and the rock solid trade system that is rich in options and gives you full control of what and how much you want to trade. It's one of the deepest, most addicting games I've ever played. Oh yeah, and a really cool "post card" view that lets you do a close up fly by to see the game really come alive. Cons: The manual. It's terrible. If you are new to the ANNO series (like me), you will have to learn the game by playing it and the occasional google search. There's no list of buildings or tips on how/where to place them, although there's decent in-game descriptions. Nothing about acension rights. Nothing about how to get prestige points which are required for diplomatic status to the Sultan's advisor so you can build Orient style structures on the desert islands. I could go on and on. I can't believe that put out such a poor manual that is missing very important info. Also, I realize the military aspect is not the focus, but this could have done better (specifically the land combat). Expand
  6. Aaron
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    A beautifully crafted and thoroughly addicting game. That anyone would complain about the overall lack of combat is absurd. Also ignore the comments about the lack of hand-holding, step-by-step instructions; the campaign tells you what you need to know and you'll figure the rest out if you have half a brain (don't bother if you don't, I guess). This is a truly fantastic A beautifully crafted and thoroughly addicting game. That anyone would complain about the overall lack of combat is absurd. Also ignore the comments about the lack of hand-holding, step-by-step instructions; the campaign tells you what you need to know and you'll figure the rest out if you have half a brain (don't bother if you don't, I guess). This is a truly fantastic game. I only wish the multiplayer was included as with the last game, but I've had so much fun with the singleplayer that I suppose I haven't missed it much anyway. Expand
  7. Jess
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Very easy for beginners and casual gamers to get into. The graphics are nice, the story believable, and it's definitely a lot of fun.
  8. MT
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    If you are a fan of SimCity type of games then Dawn of Discovery (sometimes called Anno:1404) is definitely something to buy. The strongest focus of this game is on building your city and establishing a strong economy by acquiring raw resources and using them to produce goods that your citizens need in order to advance. The game is fun enough with just building a massive city builder, but If you are a fan of SimCity type of games then Dawn of Discovery (sometimes called Anno:1404) is definitely something to buy. The strongest focus of this game is on building your city and establishing a strong economy by acquiring raw resources and using them to produce goods that your citizens need in order to advance. The game is fun enough with just building a massive city builder, but the added ability to engage in military combat is icing on the cake. The combat doesn't involve much strategy, large numbers usually win. The biggest downside to this game is the gigantic learning curve. The manual is of almost no help. You MUST be patient if you want to enjoy this game to the fullest. You must take the time to play around and learn how everything works by experimenting. You can also go to forums on sites such as www.annofans.com and get help there from other players. Bear in mind, if you just want a simple resource-gathering RTS game that focuses almost entirely on building military units and fighting (such as Age of Empires) then this is not your type of game. Play the demo, and remember: Be patient with this game! It's fun once you give it a chance and learn how to play! Expand
  9. DaveC
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    How can you even put a review like PC Gamer UKs' in here? If you read it you can see that the reviewer just played the game like ten minutes without tutorial - and got frustrated because he didn't even realize how you should place the buildings and roads. The actual game is much like the previous Anno-games, but with some additions, better graphics and more a bit more depth in How can you even put a review like PC Gamer UKs' in here? If you read it you can see that the reviewer just played the game like ten minutes without tutorial - and got frustrated because he didn't even realize how you should place the buildings and roads. The actual game is much like the previous Anno-games, but with some additions, better graphics and more a bit more depth in gameplay. Overall very enjoyable sim-style game where you can spend the early hours without noticing how time passes by. Not for those who want to play their hyper fast to learn burger games, but a fine "quite easy to learn but harder to master" -rts-sim. Expand
  10. Brumbek
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Anno 1404 is simply the best city building/economic/trading game out there. I loved Anno 1701 (the prior game) but I really love Anno 1404. They
  11. jh
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    This is my first experience playing an Anno title and I am in love. It's a wonderful city building game. Graphics are beautiful, supply chains are complex, and the use of land and trade are challenging and rewarding. It's very likely my favorite city-builder. Granted, the documentation is failry insufficient, but the campaign feeds you each new concept and each new supply chain, This is my first experience playing an Anno title and I am in love. It's a wonderful city building game. Graphics are beautiful, supply chains are complex, and the use of land and trade are challenging and rewarding. It's very likely my favorite city-builder. Granted, the documentation is failry insufficient, but the campaign feeds you each new concept and each new supply chain, so it's tutorial enough. I had no trouble intuiting the finer points of gameplay although they are easy enough to learn about on internet forums if you have trouble. Highly recommended. Expand
  12. BrandisL
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    I have to say this game surprised me as well as I have not played any of the other Anno games. I tried the demo on a whim and I find the game to be excellent. I have always enjoyed city builder games and imo this one takes the genre further in its game play and execution. This is very well done game (despite the sorry manual). Despite the fact that it is also a simulation game, as well as I have to say this game surprised me as well as I have not played any of the other Anno games. I tried the demo on a whim and I find the game to be excellent. I have always enjoyed city builder games and imo this one takes the genre further in its game play and execution. This is very well done game (despite the sorry manual). Despite the fact that it is also a simulation game, as well as a city builder, there is something to do and keep you busy and occupied. The voice overs are good and the graphics are extremely good. The game is gorgeous imo. I recommend this game to any city builder fans out there. As I said I think the game takes that genre to the next level. How PCGame UK could give this a 61 is beyond me. However if you read the review you will see that it is very poorly done, is less than a page full of very shallow observations and hints at the thought they the reviewer only spent a few hours with it. Very poor and unprofessional imo. If you can speak/read German I very much recommend that you read most of the other reviews as they are much more comprehensive and descriptive. All in all I am very pleased with the gameplay and the purchase Expand
  13. L.M.
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    A wonderful surprise. As a new player to the Anno games, I found this game strangely attractive as soon as I laid eyes on it. I was very happy to find the game exceeded my expectations. If you are interested in an economic sim with light rts elements, I suggest you buy it immediately!
  14. DragutinD.
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. The chains of resources require branching out to different islands and setting up complex trade routes, making each game really feel like you're accomplishing something near the end. This is the first single player game that has sucked me in as much as an mmo - I'm not that excited when I start the game up, but then 6 hours later I'm like o god I need This game is amazing. The chains of resources require branching out to different islands and setting up complex trade routes, making each game really feel like you're accomplishing something near the end. This is the first single player game that has sucked me in as much as an mmo - I'm not that excited when I start the game up, but then 6 hours later I'm like o god I need to eat. I fully recommend this game, it is awesome! Expand
  15. DustinL.
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Very suprised by this game. Does a great job of combining the city building genre with economic sim. The detail is top notch and the game moves at a nice, slow speed.
  16. LeonardoB
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    Ok, we know that Dawn of discovery dont have multiplayer online, but i think and have the certain that this note will increse because I have Dawn of Discovery, and i bought it by pre-order, and how its a new game, it still will launch patches, expansions packs and DLC´s. Thanks.
  17. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Best strategy game I've ever played, hands down. The game totally sucks you in with the gorgeous graphics, amazing sound and great voice acting. The best part though is the complexity! Dozens and dozens of resources and buildings makes this game absolutely awesome. Bought in summer 2009 and still playing a year+ later.
  18. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Dawn of Discovery (aka Anno 1404 outside USA) is the most charming and addictive city-building game ever created. DoD has absolutely stunning graphics, whimsical art design, endearing characters, complex city-building and trade mechanics, and immense replay-ability! Oh, and the music is so good, and the sound design creates such alive environments. Everything is good about this game. IDawn of Discovery (aka Anno 1404 outside USA) is the most charming and addictive city-building game ever created. DoD has absolutely stunning graphics, whimsical art design, endearing characters, complex city-building and trade mechanics, and immense replay-ability! Oh, and the music is so good, and the sound design creates such alive environments. Everything is good about this game. I have zero complaints. Related Designs has totally outdone themselves here. This truly is sleeper hit. If you have even a slight interest in city-building and historic sim games, play this game. Expand
  19. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    Beautifully done! Long loading times, but a very fun, charming, sandbox world-builder. Content /customization is deep enough to hold interest into the late hours. I was surprised when the Narrator voice kindly reminded me I had been playing for 5 hours and recommended a break! I didn't listen.
  20. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    i would love to say that this game was really complex and complicated gameplay but that what i love from this game, even its really hard to reach next level And the disappointment were due because the game was really slow to load
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Dawn of Discovery is not only the fourth installment of the highly regarded ANNO-series but also the best, offering challenging complexity for core gamers and providing easy access for beginners at the same time. Don't miss this game if you are a fan of economic simulations.
  2. A near perfect blend of west and east, complexity and accessibility - Dawn of Discovery is by far the best economic simulation to date.
  3. Requisite whining about copy protection aside, this is a solid title that offers some fun and addictive game play, with lots to discover and plenty to do. It’s ridiculously easy to sit down with the intention of playing for a few minutes, only to look up and see that two or three hours have gone past. There’s a lot of character in the animations, the voice-acting is superb and the setting is fantastic. Dawn of Discovery deserves to be checked out by anybody who has an interest in exploration and the classic city-building titles of old.