Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the persistent massively multiplayer online 3D world of Mythador, Dawn of Fantasy, offers you the chance to write your own chapter in the bloody history of this land. Explore a richly-detailed, endless world, from the high mountain peaks of Southmount in the human realm of Teria to the swamps of Erthee l'Bala of the Wood Elves. Complete dozens of story-driven quests in services of kings, wizards, and fellow adventurers. Interact with thousands of other players through trading, forging alliances, and waging war in both Player vs. Player and Player vs. Environment battles. Build up your villages into towns and then mighty empires, cast mighty magic upon your enemies with a total of 28 unique spells, and lay siege to your enemies with great trebuchets, the brute strength of the walking woods, ogres, and dragon mercenaries to reign supreme. Play as three different races - elves, men, and orcs, each of which offers a radically different playstyle and has been given a deep, compelling mythology, a dramatic historical background, and a spectrum of complex political ambitions that drive the story and gameplay. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    63
    There is a lot of potential here and Dawn of Fantasy has already improved by leaps and bounds since it was released almost a year ago. Sure, there are still some issues and glitches, but it is moving in the right direction. If you're looking for a pure RTS experience, there are better RTS titles out there. And if you're looking for the MMO side of the equation, naturally there are better MMO titles out there. But if you're looking for a solid MMORTS title, Dawn of Fantasy is one of your best options out there. It is very nice to see people taking the MMORTS out of the browser.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    59
    The concept with it's economic parts, RPG elements, real time battles and PvP sounds tempting, but fails due to bugs and game mechanics that haven't been thought through.
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    55
    A game with good intentions and some interesting ideas, but its depth and variety of options are shadowed by its slow gameplay, few intuitive controls and flawed grpahics. However, hardcore strategy fans might find an interesting product here thanks to its many possibilities.
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    55
    It was a good idea in 2003 and would've been a visual stunner back then, today, it's a poor attempt at delivering on a good concept. Too many bugs and crashes even months after release. The idea of building your own empire has a certain appeal, though.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 11 out of 35
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    It's really unique experience. I guess this game has some issues when it's first released but i haven't played it back then but now this game is great. If you like any kind of RTS you should totally try this game. Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Great game. I know it is not finished yet but when will be repaired (no bugs at all) and all features added i bet will be a great game:). And the idea is amazing never though a game like this will be made so quickly :D can't wait for completing it:) they rushed indeed but doesn't mater because when the game will be completed will be amazing! Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Great game, maybe rushed a bit, but youknowwhat - it`s in much better shape than Strongcrap 3 or GoT: Genesis.
    Gameplay idea is the most
    original I`ve seen lately, finally someone got MMO Strategy right. 10/10
    Visually the game is stunning, super friendly community and lots to do! Sure it`s no Shogun 2, but sometimes I find game world even more appealing, especially with all the season changes and so on.
    Love the game`s music - Elves FTW! Although sound effects could use a bit of work.
    This would have been my favorite strategy game of all times if it wasn`t for the few bugs and work in progress stuff like town sieges and guilds... But the guys who are making the game are working really hard at fixing everything, and the new town I started this week runs just fine. They already released countless number of patches in whatever few days the game been out and Halloween promo with the free bloody dragon just rocked!
    I`d recommend this game to anyone - but you better have a good comp, it runs well for me - but I`ve seen some players complain about performance on old Windows XP laptops. But again to show how good support team is - they even give refunds to players who get bad performance.
    Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    Bought on steam sales a very good surprise. It has the feeling of a stronghold crusaders with some MMO elements. Although there are some PVE, the game is best played with a PVP approach. Build your city & army, experience your troops against AI, and then defend yourself or attack other players. There are quests to make you learn the game better, and the dialogues are quite funny. The presence of a cash shop does not make it a Pay to Win because crowns can be acquired through normal gameplay. You can pay just to make it faster (which is pretty stupid). Otherwise, make yourself comfortable, watch your city grows, speak with other people on the tchat it's really a relaxing game. You can't get attacked by other players if you don't have walls, so don't build them until you feel prepared. The community is really awesome, devs are often connected to speak with us. I can play it all day. the game isn't perfect however, since pathfinding and AI are quite bad but they promised a patch soon. So if you like the MMO and RTS genres, you will like Dawn of Fantasy. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    In Depth Review
    Graphics People who play games like this that are strategy based are USED to poor graphics. Usually when you're dealing with
    300 models on the screen you rarely have the settings on high. It just lags the game, even in this game I still have to put all the settings on low, so even if it looked good I wouldn't be able to run it at that high during large sieges. Same graphics as Spellforce 2.

    Gameplay I'm going to break this into two parts. City development, and Warfare.

    City Development This part of the game is its' weakest point. You don't get to customze where things go unless you're an Orc, you don't get to choose where you settle so if you settle in an area without awesome mountains to hide behind then you can't move or find a new spot. Buildings are static for elf/human and the intuitiveness of how they did the buildings (click building, circle thing pops up and select your options) is very unfriendly, especially when you're often clicking on things by accident. Along with this, there's really nothing here but resource gathering you don't plan strategies here, you don't set up schemes... It's all just a resource hub and recruitment hub. Sieges will be there eventually so you will plan for that in the meta game but most of your gameplay will be out in the world map.

    Warfare It's pretty damn fun to strategize where to move x units, etc... In fact in concept they did this very well. Each unit has a weakness, you can level your units up and so you end up getting very attached to them and sad when they die. Unfortunately the lag currently that plagues pvp hinders the enjoyment some, but you get used to it. By far this alone is worth buying the game for, as you will find many hours of enjoyment if you really have patience to give it a shot.

    Design These guys are obviously new at designing video games, and they've got a long way to go to learn basic gameplay design concepts. The quest system, the UI, the font choices used... all of it says indi developer. Which is fine, I prefer supporting indi developers myself, as they usually have the game concepts I want to play.

    The warfare alone is worth buying the game for, but you'll find that the rest of the game is constantly trying to turn you off from playing. Every time you load a new area it has to do this pan-arama view thing that annoys the crap out of me. What's worst is there's no way to auto accept the quests, they literally make you walk your hero unit to each guy and select them. This means you spend several hours just running your guy back and forth between spots, and on top of that when the quest is inside an NPC city you can't accept all the quests at once. You have to accept one, log out (loading screen) and then load back the city (loading screen again). They could make this a 7/10 or even an 8/10 if they just added an option to not have to enter cities to accept/complete quests. The writing is so generically cheesy no one cares about the story anyway.

    Do I recommend a buy or pass? I would say buy. Given it's current state its' full of bugs and problems and you will probably be turned off at first by it, but have patience. These guys used to work full time jobs and work on this game part time, but they've recently stated that now they can quit their jobs and work on this full time because of steam and how popular it's become. They've already rolled out a hotfix since it came to steam, so give them a few months to hammer out the bugs but buy now while it's on sale.

    The community seems extremely helpful and the amount of people who have joined the game is staggering. I expect this game to explode in the coming months. I just hope they add more monsters to the shop because I want hydras and :)

    For those of you that are concerned this is a "pay to win" game. Yes and No. Yes you could potentially spend hundreds of dollars building an army entirely out of the shop. No because none of those units will live forever. Units bought from the shop die permanently, and acquiring crowns is so easy. For example, one PVP siege netted me 20 crowns. The top item in the shop is 120 crowns. So I'd have to win six sieges to get a dragon, and you really only need one. So it's very easy to get crowns in game. Quests give them, pvp gives them. I personally bought crowns because I wanted to get a head start on getting the resource development going in my city. Made sense to me, I'd rather have my cities producing enough resources for me to play with. I didn't have to do this, I could have spent a few hours just gathering resources via battle but I was lazy.

    If you have any problems in game the devs have been extremely helpful and they are constantly in the help chat helping people. Very active devs.

    Yes my scores in some areas are very low and you're probably wondering why I am recommending it. Honestly, I don't know entirely what has me hooked on this game. I've spent over 10 hours playing it since I bought it yesterday
    Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2013
    3
    The game has potential as of now the graphics are very sub par the pathing of the units is awful, they stand about while getting attacked by enemies and do nothing and can not handle walls even predetermined walls. It crashes on me half of the time while loading anything, and the battles are more like a electric football game where you move a mass of units towards your opponent. I would not buy this game. I will get about two battles in before the game freezes and i have to shut it down and restart my computer. I also can not do a damn thing with anyone else online in the game, every time i do a co-op battle or pvp i automatically get out of sync with them causing the battle to quit before it even started. When you get quests from your npc allies you have to run through the town to turn it i and than exit the town only to immediately re enter the town and run all the way back to the quest giver to get a new quest. Cmon spend some time on a game before you release it. These arent even all the faults with the game just the ones that came to the top of my head. Hell for the last two days i can even log in to the game, do not buy unless it is less than 10 dollars and even than i would hesitate. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    The worst game EVER! The game is poor about constructions and point command. It's not much more to say... I think the game is too expensive for cuatilities showed. Is not enjoyable at all.... Bugged people, bugged soldiers... You can not place your one way about building points.... Limited creation... All is a mess Expand

See all 35 User Reviews