DC Universe Online Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 244 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Universe Online is an MMO based on DC comic book universe and lets you fight along side or against DC superheroes.
Buy On
  • Developer: WBIE
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, Massively Multiplayer Online, Massively Multiplayer, Fantasy, Fantasy
  • # of players: Massively Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
DC Universe Online Brainiac Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Feb 1, 2011
    100
    This isn't the sort of MMO that asks you to park for hours on end several nights in a row. It's more of a co-operative or competitive multiplayer action game, perfect for short intense visits. And because your character doesn't sport rows of tiny icons for a thousand different skills, DC Universe is also perfect for less frequent visits.
  2. Jan 17, 2011
    88
    If you're a fan of action, MMOs, or comic books, and if you're looking to commit a lot of time to a single game, DC Universe Online will not disappoint you.
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    85
    They have achieved to turn into a hit a title which might have passed unnoticed. Being a superhero or villain has never been so fun, and we can share it with thousand of players.
  4. Jan 28, 2011
    70
    Great atmosphere and an addictive character creator, but the quests are a bit too repetitive.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 23, 2011
    70
    If you are a fan of comics, then this is your dream come true. To fight against the Joker with Catwoman? Wow! But unfortunately, the game is not as fun as the comics, nor as colorful as the superhero's costumes. [Issue#201]
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    60
    DCUO never really takes off. It suffers from numerous bugs and glitches, and the structure of the quests looks more suitable for a single-player RPG rather than an MMO.
  7. Feb 4, 2011
    40
    SOE tried, and failed, to straddle the line between action game and MMO. Think Crackdown -- but with all of the concessions, limitations, and annoyances of a mediocre massively multiplayer game.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 104
  2. Negative: 31 out of 104
  1. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    This game is like when dreams coming through. Believe me, I am an Rpg player and yes I liked Comics in my childhood, but this game catches meThis game is like when dreams coming through. Believe me, I am an Rpg player and yes I liked Comics in my childhood, but this game catches me with the one thing you can catch a gamers heart. It has soul. A gamer is looking after THAT game and maybe DCUO is it not for everybody, but its the very best I played in years. YEARS! Its not static like Wow, or a simple smash and bash like CoH or Champions Online. This game has the Elements you need, it looks awesome. The story, the dialogues and everything else are fare beyond bad results and reviews.
    And yes, I hate platformer Ports too, but Dcu Online and Sony did whats possible to a human developer. I very like it. Its catchy and you have so many ways of customize your hero, customize your skills, so much different ways. People who like it on day and decide to not login anymore and people which are able to forget this ridiculuos game experience.. I am sorry for that people, cuz there is not much better in the world of gaming these days.

    Have Fun and Cu ingame.
    Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    I've played DC Universe Online for about 50 hours now and I really, really like the game. It handles great using the PS3 controller and theI've played DC Universe Online for about 50 hours now and I really, really like the game. It handles great using the PS3 controller and the whole world immerses you into the DC Universe perfectly. The character customization allows you to create your own Identity while keeping the stat bonuses of a strong piece of armour which is very important. I have yet to meet anyone who looks like my character except for people using the same colors and I've meet thousands of people in my 50 hours of play. The DCUO community is very friendly and joining a group is very easy. The gameplay is very addictive and there is hundreds of quests to do along with PVP game modes and other multi group activities. The choice of which mentor changes each playthrough in such a way that starting a new character with a different mentor and power changes the story and gameplay so much that it feels like your playing a different game altogether.

    If your an MMO fan then you should at least try the game out and if your a comic fan then you should definitely get DCUO. It doesn't disappoint.

    The game has a few issues right now with some minor bugs but considering the scale of the game and the fact that its a new MMO I'd say in 3 months the game will be perfect from every point of few.
    Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic. You shouldn't compare it to WoW, it's not a typically MMO it's an action game wrapped in an MMO wrapping. TheThis game is fantastic. You shouldn't compare it to WoW, it's not a typically MMO it's an action game wrapped in an MMO wrapping. The graphics are beautiful, the voice work is top notch, the battles are crazy fun, the powers, combos, loot, levels, it's all a great bundle of fun. Can't recommend the game highly enough! Collapse
  4. Feb 7, 2011
    8
    Casual non Gilded Gamer:
    Slightly Disappointed. I wold pass on this title if I could do it again. The media ratings are skewed. They make it
    Casual non Gilded Gamer:
    Slightly Disappointed. I wold pass on this title if I could do it again. The media ratings are skewed. They make it look like it is as good as GTA4. Ridiculous. 76/100.
    Don't buy until its 19.99 with a 9.99 monthly price point. SOE believes they have a product worth the cost. They don't.
    Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2011
    5
    Played it six hours straight as soon as i had it and thought yes i like this, then when to bed. Next day i thought shall i play it and thePlayed it six hours straight as soon as i had it and thought yes i like this, then when to bed. Next day i thought shall i play it and the response from my inner voice was no. A month later i realised that i'd forgotten to cancle my subscription. the game is just a poor imitation of CoH. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    4
    Great idea for a game, and full of potential that went to waste at the end. I Beta tested this game and I was really excited for it. It seemedGreat idea for a game, and full of potential that went to waste at the end. I Beta tested this game and I was really excited for it. It seemed that it would be a true revolution in MMO-RPG games, mainly because of the more casual-action combat based approach. I bought it when it came out and had a blast with it for several weeks, however, much like many companies do with MMOs, they front-loaded the good content and left the last levels and end game to rot. You do hit the level cap very fast and you will enjoy your way up there, specially with the creative action-buttom-mashing-combat that it has. But once you reach end game, you find yourself with nothing else to do, literally. PvP was fun the first few weeks, then everyone left and the lack of reaction by SOE to merge servers and manage population balance killed that part too. The nail in the coffin was SOE's slow reaction (if at all) in fixing pressing issues, (not only bugs), adding new content and being involved with the community. The controls, due to the console porting, were mediocre, the interface was way too simplified at the cost of functionality, they never got around fixing the chat system correctly, and bunch of other "small" issues that overall contributed to push away their player base. Conclusion: A sad result to what could've been an amazing game. While fun initially and during the short leveling period, the game has absolutely nothing good to offer at end game. Furthermore, SOE's lack of involvement with the community and quick reaction to fix major issues with the game ended up killing DCUO's player base. This game was full of potential, and it could've been a great MMO under the right hands. Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2014
    0
    The leveling process is the most fun, which can be done in one day. All end game content is boring, repetitive, and way too easy.

    The
    The leveling process is the most fun, which can be done in one day. All end game content is boring, repetitive, and way too easy.

    The community (including the current SOE community manager for dcuo) is even worse than the actual game. The community manager revels in threatening posters on the forums. If they make a complaint about something, he threatens to make it worse. He used the words "be careful what you wish for" while twisting the words of a poster. Google "dcuo forum the current prestige cap isn't going to work" the green name on the third page of the thread to see the way he manages the community he was hired to manage. "Be care what you wish for..." and he made good on that threat, the very next game update addressed the issue at hand in the most sadistic way imaginable.

    The devs used to know what they were doing, but recently they've been adding boring and monotonous game mechanics that cater to three-year-olds and then the devs (especially the current creative director) openly insult their customers in the game's forums. Every week they make a new decision that is a deal breaker for people who used to be fanboys of the game.

    If you start playing it and you enjoy it, it will be a completely different game within a year. If you decide to pick it up and you love the game, the question in the back of your head should be: How long until they introduce my deal breaker to the game? Because players that were at one point the biggest supporters and fanboys of this game are now leaving en masse (I used to love this game and said many times I'd be playing this game till the servers shutdown). Right now the universally decided most obnoxious fanboy is fuming about the most recent changes, other forumites are trolling him reminding him of how he previously always said the devs are always right, and telling him he could never make good on his threat to quit the game because he has previously proclaimed that his league is like family and he loves them.

    Check out the dcuo forums and I can almost guarantee you'll see long time players begging the devs not to introduce some bull crud mechanic that will destroy the fun of the game.

    The game is buggy and you disconnect a lot, but for a longtime I convinced myself that all games will be buggy and glitchy and kick me out from time to time, it's the willful decisions that the devs make to dumb down the game and their constant underestimation of their players' intelligence and skill that got me to quit playing what was my favorite game for two years.
    Expand

See all 104 User Reviews