Dead Horde PC

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    After playing this game I realized that this game is best played along with a friend. Playing alone yields no new experiences for those who are already familiar with diagonal zombie shooter games. Even though this game takes it's difficulty to a level that may be challenging yet frustrating at the same time, there are still things that would need to be revised in order to make this gameAfter playing this game I realized that this game is best played along with a friend. Playing alone yields no new experiences for those who are already familiar with diagonal zombie shooter games. Even though this game takes it's difficulty to a level that may be challenging yet frustrating at the same time, there are still things that would need to be revised in order to make this game different from other zombie shooters. Overall, the concept is ok, the execution is average, the gameplay is limited. Expand
  2. May 23, 2012
    8
    Besides some technical flaws, this is a really funny game. Gotta play it with another player and a 360 gamepad to fully enjoy it.
    I hope the next title comes with a lighter and smoother engine.
    Keep it up DNS
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    5
    Was initially excited when I found out about this top-down game but gameplay, weapons and animations let it down. Most often you just find yourself running backwards while shooting groups of zombies, the same tactics work every time. Player and zombie animations are poor and weapons are limited and lack any punch. Could maybe have been better with some extra work done on it, but as itWas initially excited when I found out about this top-down game but gameplay, weapons and animations let it down. Most often you just find yourself running backwards while shooting groups of zombies, the same tactics work every time. Player and zombie animations are poor and weapons are limited and lack any punch. Could maybe have been better with some extra work done on it, but as it stands, meh.. Expand
  4. Kyo
    Aug 5, 2012
    3
    I wanted to like this, I saw the game play on youtube and it looked like fun and it would have been if the game didn't lag for no reason. I don't have the best system, it's a laptop but it can run games pretty good on a medium setting like Skyrim or Arkham City, there really is no reason for this game to run like I am playing it on a toaster. I even turned everything on low, still got theI wanted to like this, I saw the game play on youtube and it looked like fun and it would have been if the game didn't lag for no reason. I don't have the best system, it's a laptop but it can run games pretty good on a medium setting like Skyrim or Arkham City, there really is no reason for this game to run like I am playing it on a toaster. I even turned everything on low, still got the same lag. I only payed a dollar for it so it is not that bad of a loss, but now I wish I spent that dollar on something worth it. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    3
    I'm sad to have to give this game such a low score, because it's otherwise quite fun. But it has an unforgivable flaw: you can't save your progress. No, seriously. Forget all your progress. Forget all your upgrades. Forget the loot you accumulated. If you leave the game, it's all gone. Oh sure, the game has checkpoints, but they're used only to resurrect you during this specific gameI'm sad to have to give this game such a low score, because it's otherwise quite fun. But it has an unforgivable flaw: you can't save your progress. No, seriously. Forget all your progress. Forget all your upgrades. Forget the loot you accumulated. If you leave the game, it's all gone. Oh sure, the game has checkpoints, but they're used only to resurrect you during this specific game session. If you leave the game, kiss your checkpoint good bye. Even an indie game can't be forgiven for not having a save feature. Even a very inexpensive indie game. People wouldn't tolerate this of a free game, nor should they. If you're the kind to play a game from beginning to end in one sitting and you have a generator to ensure that you won't lose your game in a power outage, maybe you won't care about this. Personally, I find in unacceptable. And they have the gall to present you with a menu option, when you start the game, that says, "continue campaign." Do you know what that does? It lands you right back at the beginning! Thanks a lot! Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    Crap. Just utter crap. Many claim to have it running perfectly while some of us have a game that chugs along at 20fps with stuttering animations even at lowest settings and a computer that exceeds the "Recommended". This game has nothing new whatsoever and doesn't even make up for it by engrossing us in old fashion zombie shooting quality we expect.
    I bought the two pack off Steam for $3
    Crap. Just utter crap. Many claim to have it running perfectly while some of us have a game that chugs along at 20fps with stuttering animations even at lowest settings and a computer that exceeds the "Recommended". This game has nothing new whatsoever and doesn't even make up for it by engrossing us in old fashion zombie shooting quality we expect.
    I bought the two pack off Steam for $3 and I refuse to give that 2nd copy to anyone as it's garbage in my opinion and would never want to inflict this kind of gaming disgust in anyone.
    Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2011
    3
    Generally poor game play, poor graphics, bug ridden. Old concept done wrong. Get's boring and repetitive quickly. Unimpressive story. However its weapon upgrade system keeps it interesting for an hour or two. In the end though, this doesn't save it. Don't waste your money.
  8. May 12, 2012
    2
    As an overhead shooter Dead Horde is about as bad as they come. It's missing a very key element--FUN. Linear levels, a basic weapon cache, and bad graphics are some of other poor qualities that make up this game. Even the coop element doesn't make this game attractive. Skip this one. There's are countless other overhead shooters where your money would be better spent.
  9. Mar 7, 2012
    1
    I wanted to like this game so bad, but at the end of the day it left me 4 a headache. Dead Horde has no reason whatsoever to lag so horribly horrible on a system that can run Battlefield Bad Company 2 on full settings.. and games similar to Dead Horde like Nation Red, Zombie Shooter 2, and Shadowgrounds, Shadowgrounds 2, and the Alien Breed Trilogy on full gfx settings without lag yet theI wanted to like this game so bad, but at the end of the day it left me 4 a headache. Dead Horde has no reason whatsoever to lag so horribly horrible on a system that can run Battlefield Bad Company 2 on full settings.. and games similar to Dead Horde like Nation Red, Zombie Shooter 2, and Shadowgrounds, Shadowgrounds 2, and the Alien Breed Trilogy on full gfx settings without lag yet the dev team doesn`t seem to care enough about the $14.95 that i paid for me and my Son's copy. I would love to like this game, but because it sucks so bad i will never buy anything from this company, ever!=P too bad coulda been a great game. Also How are there 8 positive reviews? i dont see them anywhere in the list, hmmm Expand
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    60
    Dead Horde is dead awful. [Sept 2011]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 4, 2011
    30
    Boring and uninventive zombie smasher is as bad as it looks like. [Issue#208]
  3. CD-Action
    Aug 31, 2011
    30
    You can't come up with an idea for an interesting, varied gameplay, your budget is very limited and your breathtaking script is being digested by a dog? Don't worry – just make another mediocre zombie game and publish it on Steam. Someone will buy it. [September 2011, p.73]