User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 381 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    3
    It don't interest my much at all.. Driving a car feels very weird. Slashing through enemies is impossible due to the stamina and needing to repair your weapon, i just fully upgraded my BBQ blade and i need to still repair weapon every now and then but as bad as when i first got it of course.. I like how most of its like FC3 like obtaining money or scavenging for items. GFX look ok but they did'nt have to over do it so much to impress others.. When you die, you loose money? is this like diablo? it's suppose to be a FPS, zombie killing type of game.. oh well, is what it is but atleast a quarter of it i liked. Collapse
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    Compared to the first installment of Dead Island, this is a complete disaster.
    I don't even know what went wrong, the gameplay is a mess, hitting zombies is just about luck and not skills anymore.
    The controls and the combat mechanics are clunky as hell and very annoying when you are surrounded by zombies. Not only they made them tougher but also buggier and glitchier just like
    everything else in this game.

    Visually it doesn't look that good either, zombies spawning in from of you out of nowhere, graphical bugs and random crashes.

    Horrible music, terrible voice acting.
    Constantly bashing zombies just got way too repetitive and boring in this sequel.

    This is a complete messed up game, don't even bother unless its $5.
    Save your cash and get the first Dead Island instead. This is just pathetic beyond relief.
    Expand
  3. May 31, 2013
    0
    well. i loved the first dead island game, but riptide is a joke! how can people honestly rate it higher than 2, maybe 3? probably those people didnt play the first and awesome dead island. riptide is like buying a lacoste or nike shirt in china, you get a cheap copy of a wonderful original thing. if it was a dlc, i wouldnt mind, the other dlcs were not that great either,... but selling this as full new game, without any information that its basically the same game, only with terrible changes and an additional character... thats just robbery in my opinion.
    please do yourself a favour and dont buy it, not even for 5 euros on sale in the future!
    Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    1
    I'll put it in a nutshell last year I rated the 10 out of 10 as the game was fresh, interesting etc.
    This year I can not rate this game higher than 1, as I see no difference, and what's more important see no soul in the game. It's a dump copypaste, sad.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    3
    Get Riptide they said, It will fix all the stuff from the first one they said, theres no way they'll make the same mistakes they did in the first one they said. Well 2 hours in with no drive to play it any more I can honestly say its TRASSSHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    0
    I gave Dead Island a 1 before... it was just... a horrible game. So I played this and I think it was the same thing that happened to Left 4 Dead and Left 4 Dead 2.... small bits added but nothing major has ****ing changed... I don't need to review this... just don't buy it!
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    4
    A mere mission pack, where you can clearly see when they run out of money. The beginning is fine, but further you get, disappointment rises, and last third (with ending) is just miserable. Ending was a joke and it's clear they want to milk the series even more. I wouldn't be against it if the quality wasn't so poor! There is hardly any improvement at all and I don't know how they expect people to get interested when the best they could do is this. Expand
  8. Jun 26, 2013
    2
    I loved the original DI. It was an innovative approach to the zombie genre which played a bit like Far Cry. This is not that. To start, Dead Island Riptide is full of bugs. Some are so bad they'll cause the game to crash. Another gripe is this entry plays more like a DLC than an actual sequel. As a fan of the original, I still say AVOID THIS AT ALL COSTS.
  9. Apr 23, 2013
    2
    It is like the first one but I liked the first one this one doesn't work and its newer, me and my friend got this game for $70 to continue the story and we can't even join each others game I am disappointed with this company and don't think I will purchase another broken game from them again
  10. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    It is not horribly difficult to love the original Dead Island. Even if you did love the original, Riptide's lack of vision somehow serves to make its predecessor seem better by comparison. Riptide is not changed enough in good ways and changed more than enough in bad ways to take what was a critically divisive but ultimately enjoyable title and turn it into a thoroughly unenjoyable one.
  11. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    I really don't know what to say. This game had so much potential and yet it is marred with horrendous glitches that result in a crash almost every 20 minutes, if not other game breaking problems. You cannot alt tab, loading screens take nearly 10 minutes, entering a new area will take you right to your desktop, items are lost, this is simply horrible. The game would have easily been an 8/10 if not for the technical issues, even with the god inventory management system, well, that's too bad. Expand
  12. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    This game, should be great. But currently, the reason people wanted to play this game is BROKEN. Co-Op doesn't work, Day 1, you can't even play with your friends. Whole reason 90% people want to play this game, with your friends! You send it out BROKEN? Add in the massive feedback sound for people with 7.1/USB Headsets. Same ISSUE AS IN GAME 1.

    Your suppose to learn from your
    mistakes, not repeat them & make them worse then before. So I currently, this review is going be very low, because I am tired of companies giving us garbage & expecting us to praise them. Fix your problems, maybe you might see happy customer base, not to mention you should do more to for them, since you screwed them over right off the bat. Expand
  13. May 1, 2013
    2
    There's nothing I hate more than a goddamn cash-grab, so I found myself disappointed I'd been lied to again by Deep Silver. To Deep Silver, changing a game is literally just re-hashing the already-fulfilled story, adding one character, adding a few more weapons, some drivable boats, and fixing NONE of the problems of the original.
  14. Apr 26, 2013
    2
    Insanity, buying the same game twice, and expecting a different result.

    Still broken and buggy despite being a minor expansion pack to a 2 year old game.
  15. May 4, 2013
    2
    Generic story and short, copy of first game, pathetic animations, poor design, excessive price.

    Maybe use it 30 min to kill some zombies, but that's all.
  16. Sep 29, 2013
    2
    Possibly one of the most boring games of 2013 this game becomes extremely repetitive and the way zombies re spawn is just one of the many many small things that make this a game to avoid.
    With one of the most dullest storylines in recent memory clunky weapons, glitchy multiplayer annoying sound effects, almost no vehicles to drive my recommendation is to skip this one
  17. Jul 30, 2013
    1
    i really loved the first one!! but this is just garbage!! this is just a ripoff... story is waaay to short compared to dead island 1 and the bugs man like that autosave problem with the weapons chararcter lvl...
    that took way to long to get fixed... there is only 1 thing i like in riptide. the new character
  18. Apr 29, 2013
    2
    I loved the first game .Played almost 500 hours. I love the game play and graphics, but this games crashes for no reason. If I am running to a location or driving fast it will crash. If I enter a room fast it will crash. Do not buy this game until they fix it. It is seriously broken. I have a good gaming computer. I am Playing Star Trek the game 2013 ,Bioshock Infinity and Borderlands 2 they run fine.

    CPU: Intel Core i7 930 Bios 1501
    Mobo: Asus P6X58D Premium
    Video: EVGA SuperClocked 02G-P4-2662-KR GeForce GTX 660 2GB
    Video Driver: 320.00-desktop-win8-win7-winvista-64bit-english-beta
    Ram: XMS3 6GB Triple Channel DDR3 Memory Kit (TR3X6G1600C8)
    PSU: RAIDMAX RX-1200AE 1200W
    HDD: Western Digital WD Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
    Heatsink: HEATKILLER Rev3.0 Black Ice GTX Xtreme 360 Radiator
    Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1
    Expand
  19. Apr 23, 2013
    3
    Fun enough if you like repeatedly bashing things. I would like to add that the sequences requiring you to travel by boat are some of the least fun moments I have ever had in a video game. i would absolutely return this and get my money back if i could.
  20. Aug 30, 2014
    0
    It doesn't even deserve a 1.I'm hardcore fan of the first game.But because I couldn't even play riptide cause of tearings, poor optimization I'm not gonna rate it more than 0.
  21. Apr 27, 2013
    3
    I will absolutely ignore all release day bugs, this is normal for a new game and I understand how it just needs to get patched out in a few weeks.

    My problem is with the amount of content in this game. The game was released as a full game for $40, but at best it should only be worth $10 and as a DLC. That's at best. The mechanics of the game are exactly the same as the original game (a
    game I absolutely love) which is no problem for me, I don't mind at all the hack and slash nature of the game, but the total content for quests, area, and objects in riptide amounts to LESS than the beach map part (the first part) in the original game. For people who don't know what I'm talking about, they are charging the same amount to buy riptide as the original game, but riptide only has 1/6 the story, area, and object content as the original game.

    This game should have been an expansion for 1/10th the price, that's the short story.
    Expand
  22. May 21, 2013
    3
    This follow-up to the series doesn't meet what I was expecting. Loved the first one, Dead Island. this game however is frustrating and has some stupid moments that go beyond trying to be a challenge. When your walking along and get jumped from all directions suddenly by groups of half a dozen zombies that with your stamina and health, you have no chance to fight so you just sit there and wait to die so you can reload. that's not a game, that's a joke by the programmers who are trying to loose their client base :D. Another thing that drives me nuts is what seems to be a lack of physics for water on zombie movement, they run faster in the water than I do on dry land? Overall I am disappointed in the game and if given the chance I would have waited for the price to drop by half before buying. Expand
  23. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    I played Dead Island. Didn't finish it. Nothing creative in this game in the way of story telling, design, game play etc.. The only reason it sales is because of zombies. This game is so frustrating and buggy I created a metacritic account. From crashing windows explorer to just crashes in general. To Game bugs that kill you over and over and over......

    If you love Dead Island, It's
    because you don't know any better. Expand
  24. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    It don't interest my much at all.. Driving a car feels very weird. Slashing through enemies is impossible due to the stamina and needing to repair your weapon, i just fully upgraded my BBQ blade and i need to still repair weapon every now and then but as bad as when i first got it of course.. I like how most of its like FC3 like obtaining money or scavenging for items. GFX look ok but they did'nt have to over do it so much to impress others.. When you die, you loose money? is this like diablo? it's suppose to be a FPS, zombie killing type of game.. oh well, is what it is but atleast a quarter of it i liked. Collapse
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Dead Island Riptide walks the same path as its predecessor. Another tropical island filled with boring mission design and loads of filler time in the form of traveling between different locations. And like last time it is still quite entertaining. At least with a couple of friends.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    45
    An attempt to remake the pretty-looking shambler - with no effort to improve the balance of game systems or iron out bugs. [July 2013, p.80]
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    53
    Two years ago, I criticized the original Dead Island for its storyline that was nonsensical even by the usually low standards of the ‘zombie’ genre. Well, Riptide plunges even deeper. And don’t even dream of exploring the game’s open world – there is absolutely nothing worth your time.