Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 741 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hero Isaac Clarke returns for another heart-pounding adventure, taking the fight to the Necromorphs in this thrilling action-horror experience. New tools to gruesomely slice and dismember the Necromorphs complement Isaac's signature Plasma Cutter, empowering him as he meets new characters, explores epic Zero-G environments, and fights against a relentless necromorph onslaught. Survival isn't the only thing on Isaac's mind in Dead Space 2 – this time, he calls the shots. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 25, 2011
    95
    Many horror games are able to deliver shocks during play, but none does it as well as Dead Space 2. Isaac's inner struggle in the tense setting of "Sprawl" provides an unforgettable atomsphere, making Dead Space 2 one of the most terrifying and unmissable horror games this generation and the benchmark for others to follow.
  2. Feb 24, 2011
    92
    The interaction of great FPS storytelling mixed with light RPG elements has become a very successful formula and created some of my favorite games: System Shock, BioShock, Mass Effect, Half-Life and now Dead Space. The plotline of DS2 is clearly setting up for another sequel, and though I just finished playing this one, I'm already looking forward to the next. Bring it on!
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    91
    Take away the interface tweaks and improved mechanics behind how Isaac moves and feels, and examine the overall structure, you don't have a "good game and then a better game," you have two different games: a creepy sci-fi horror game with some damn good action versus a damn good sci-fi shooter with some creepy parts.
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    89
    Forget coffee, Coke or Red Bull. If you never ever want to sleep again, than there's just one thing for you: Dead Space 2! You will be captivated, shocked and frightened right away from the beginning.
  5. Mar 18, 2011
    86
    It's just a huge shame that it's not as terrifying as it should be. [Apr 2011, p.98]
  6. Jan 25, 2011
    85
    Dead Space 2 is a more than worthy successor to the original, adding plenty of oomph to the series and a solid multiplayer experience to boot. We would have preferred more puzzles and a little less linearity, but that doesn't stop us wanting a third Isaac outing.
  7. Feb 24, 2011
    70
    If you loved the first Dead Space, you'll like this one. Just not as much. [Mar 2011, p.64]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 152
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game! One of the best survival/horror games of all time definitely. Good story, strong scare factor, character development (yes glad Isaac talks in this one cos it gives a more in depth view of his persona) and lot's of fun. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Dead Space 2 is a worthy successor to Dead Space 1. More enemies, more guns, more stories (Isaac becoming a character is a plus!), more hatred for the Unitologists- the only downside is that you don't actually get to fight the religious zealots themselves. This game is intense, gruesome, and overall incredible. It's got lots of replayability in trying out different weapons on higher difficulties. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This game has an amazing single-player campaign. It's a good length, too(8-10 hours). One of the things I love the most is that Isaac actually talks through most of the game this time unlike his former silent protagonist self in the original Dead Space. ciuchina82 was obviously smoking something because he gave a bad review while also rating it a 10. For action and horror fans alike, I recommend you play this. It's one of the best games I've played in a while. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Bought immediately after finishing Dead Space. The gameplay is pretty much the same as the first game. The scavenging, the dismembering, the upgrading, it's all there and improved. Game was fairly challenging even on normal. Yes, Isaac talks! This might not be such a bad thing. It actually works. Visceral introduces some new gameplay elements, for example zero gravity floating, general improvements. As for the story, it's a little worse. I had a harder time following the story. It took me over 10 hours, closer to 13. Disappointingly, the game seems to challenge you by throwing endless waves of monsters at you. It's cheap and annoying. The same technical problems from the first game exist in DS2. Vsync runs at 30 fps, must force vsync externally to play at 60 fps. Also, Origin in-game overlay is incompatible with FXAA injectors and programs like Afterburner and D3DOverrider. EA is too lazy to fix these big problems. Not quite DS2, but still a great game. Must-play. Expand
  5. sft
    May 22, 2013
    8
    Isaac hunts again

    The controls for the PC version of DS1 were awful. The good news is that these have been improved in DEAD SPACE 2 and are
    no longer the issue they were in the original. (There are still some problems with camera angles when boxed into a corner but these are an irritation rather than a deal breaker.) DS2 also handles zero gravity in a far more intuitive, and enjoyable way, with none of the crazy hopping from one surface to another as in the first game. Now you can move freely, as you would expect. Also improved in DS2 is Isaac’s level of interaction. Now he speaks! This actually improves the experience more than might be expected, as it gives a greater sense that you’re involved in an unfolding story. The graphics are above average quality though not outstanding. The gameplay is improved by the introduction of more varied environments (although this is still very much a corridor shooter), and there are still plenty of tense moments when battling with enemies, some of which will be familiar if you played DS1, and some of which are new. When compared with the original DS2 is basically more of the same but with a number of welcome improvements and enhcncements. On a final note: I found it a little easier than the first, but that might be because of the improved controls and my familiarity with the gameplay second time around. Anyhoo, there’s still plenty of nerve-jangling fun to be had. Recommended, especially if you liked the original. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2011
    7
    Dead Space was pussified. As the developers stated in an interview, the first game was deemed "too scary" for mainstream audience, and they considered that the reason behind the mediocre sales of the masterpiece that is Dead Space 1. In other words, Dead Space 1 was too good to be successful.

    Now, what made me love DS1 was exactly that, as a seasoned horror fan, it's very hard to find something to gave me real shivers, be it in movies or games. And DS1 delivered, as no movie or game in recent memory could do - maybe with the exception of Silent Hill 2.

    Yes, there were recycled levels, and yes, they ripped off lots of stuff from other games. But, as Picasso reportedly said, the mediocre artist copies, the great artist steals. Critics called DS1 "unoriginal", but that's missing the point completely. It was worthy not because the script, storytelling or game mechanics (despite dismemberment being original). It was worthy for achieving a overwhelmingly macabre feel that no one on cinema, lest gaming industry, today manage to achieve. Dead Space 2 is just not scary. I played it on the level above normal, got killed a lot of times. Still, I couldn't feel that impressing sensation of imminent danger that made DS1 into the game I loved. Some critics talked about the jump from Alien to Aliens, Ridley Scott to David Big Cheese Cameron. So, it's like having your favorite cult movie being re-shot in a generic commercial way by a Hollywood studio - or, more specifically, a Hollywood studio accidentally releasing a masterpiece and "correcting" it later.

    Now, DS2 has its merits as a game. Combat is still very satisfying, the script is a lot less generic, with Isaac turning into a person with his own will, not a generic vessel of suffering. It deserves the 7 I'm giving for those merits, and for that I'm excluding my comparison with DS1. Fortunately, it's not easier than DS1, maybe harder. On the down side, it's too linear - I really don't see the point of critics in hailing that as an advantage. Worse still, one of the new monsters, the stalker, caught my attention as a symptom of dumbification - it's supposed to hide at corners to suprise-attack you, but it actually sticks its head from the corners so you can peek it every time before it predictably charging head-on for you to cut his legs. The stalker actually playing peek-a-boo with you - I suppose that's adequate for the public they had in mind.

    Maybe it's not the developers' fault or executive meddling, maybe they set the bar too high, or it's just impossible for one to get the same scare twice - see Silent Hill after 2. Still, I'd wait for the price go down a little before acquiring it, not expecting it to be Dead Space, but just a competent monster shooter, a little soulless, but funny still.
    Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2012
    0
    Console port crap. This game suffers badly from consolitis. So much so that you can't even bind your mouse keys, they are assigned to functions that you have no way of changing. This in itself completely ruins the game. Show me a pc gamer who doesnt bind their mouse keys to either sprint or aim... and EA the creators of this disaster took that option completely away from you. What freaking morons. I'll say it again - Console port crap. Expand

See all 152 User Reviews