Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    Its emphasis on the action element might be a nuisance to some of the franchise’s fans, but the game’s production values in every aspect will reward even the most doubtful gamer. [March 2013]
  3. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  4. Feb 18, 2013
    88
    Dead Space 3 offers a huge variety of situations and epic moments, and becomes an amazing rollercoaster ride. Is it less scary? Maybe, but the game has tons of sequences that will keep you on the edge of your seat.
  5. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  6. Feb 27, 2013
    80
    An excellent horror game burdened with action pretensions – but it still delivers a fraught, polished experience.
  7. Feb 18, 2013
    80
    Despite noticeably upping the action level, bolting on co-op, and even charging us extra to cheat, this space-zombie shooter trilogy brings it home nicely with a lengthy, atmospheric, and suitably gory climax for our long-tortured hero, Isaac Clarke.
  8. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    This PC version is better than some straight-over ports I've seen this generation, but it certainly could have benefited from a little more time spent on PC-only features.
  9. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  10. Feb 8, 2013
    78
    Considering the elegance and sophistication of the world, combat and upgrade design, it’s a shame everything else seems so ho-hum.
  11. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  12. Feb 14, 2013
    75
    Storytelling-wise, Dead Space 3 falls flat, but it’s an enjoyable action romp -- if you play it with someone. Oh, and it’s definitely not an “quad-A” game – more like a decent B-movie.
  13. Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  14. Feb 28, 2013
    70
    Finishing a trilogy was always going to need bigger explosions and greater stakes – unfortunately this has come at the sacrifice of true horror.
  15. Feb 25, 2013
    60
    Put simply, Dead Space 1&2 are stories that have embedded themselves in my thoughts and kept me thinking for literal years after the fact, whereas Dead Space 3 is just a game. It’s a let-down, to be sure, but it’s not a total waste of time.
  16. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 958 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 208
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    Let me start by saying I loved the first two games!.... Typical third game in a successful franchise. Due to the success of the previous games, developers (or more likely EA) thought the last game in the series needs to be bigger, more action packed than the games before. This way they made a game that falls into the 'action' genre rather than, the 'horror/survival' genre. The game is very action packed, the pacing is very fast (explosions, crashes, push "E" before you fall from the cliff, huge tentacles attack you...). This way the game is less scary than previously. The monsters are almost the same as the ones in the previous games (not too original...). The characters feel rather generic. The story is very cliche ridden. The weapon customization part is a very nice addition, wish we could customize our suits too. I really like the DS1 and DS2, but the DS3 feels rather generic. Full Review »
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    Look... I never felt the need in the past to create a Metacritic account, just to give my opinion in the game. I always felt there was already a review making my point for me or I just did feel like a was the best person to be a sample of the player demographic for a game. But this time, I felt a need to do so.

    I am not a easily turn down or disappointed person. I have finish plenty of games way worst than Dead Space 3 in the past. My tolerance level is very high. But this game... made me sick. I consider myself a hardcore fan of the franchise. I got a fair amount of collector items and others gizmo related to the games. Including the full size Plasma Cutter from the first game, every films, some articles of clothing's and some other things like poster and such. Deciding if this make my opinion biased is up to you, but I felt I needed to throw this out there.

    I tried to go in this game with the most neutral attitude I could, so my opinion would be biased. I tried not to judge at face value as much as I could... but... I simply couldn't do it. This game is not bad... its insulting. Its insulting to its fan base and to its target audience. Everything that ever made the game good is now either gone or broken. This game was about survival, scavenging the bare minimum and fighting a loosing battle against creature that are clearly stronger, faster and more resilient that you. It was about the oppression of empty space, the feeling of incoming doom, the loneliness and the tense feeling of having nowhere to run in a claustrophobic and dark environment. Here... its just about shooting. Shot the Necromorph, shot the Unitologist and shot more Necroporph. Never before did I ever left the Necromorphes being, without a better choice for words, so lifeless. Its previous game they were this hunting entity, omnipresent at all time, keeping you on your toes at all times since they could move freely in the environment. They are just obstacles now. Lying down, death faking, obstacles. You go through featureless rooms after features less rooms and get rid of the next obstacle. Shoot-out are not fun. The fact that I can crouch, made me cringe. Its not much the actions of crouching, but what it represent. it represent the state the game have reached. A point were taking cover from enemy fire was a necessity because of the turn the game as taken in the form of a generic third person shooter Gears of War like. The coop was something I really wasn't agreeing on from the very beginning and I know I wasn't the only one. The idea of having a sidekick in a survival game is without a doubt the most game breaking idea that genre can make. It break the atmosphere the game could have ever tried to create. But at one point Visceral told us the Single and Coop were to independent story line and both would have their own flow. Lies. The game was clearly build as a coop game from the ground up. There's a big difference between different story lines and making the sidekick characters jumping in and out of the story in single player.

    Also, while on the topic of survival horror. Its say on the name Survival. And for me it included struggling with resources. Having the bare minimum at all time, keeping the atmosphere tense as you dread the next encounter, with half a clip left. The quick decision you got to make "Should I fight or run to keep the few shot a have left". Searching every last inch of the game for that Plasma energy clip and this feeling of joy as you find those rare items that make you life just a bit easier. Two words for that Inventory full". I was playing on Impossible from the start, because I figured I was the same game right, so since i'm used to it it shouldn't make sure I get the most of it by going all out. Never at any point did I ever struggle with Med-packs or ammo. My inventory was full at all time. Never did I felt I was in real danger. And you know why? Autosaves.... in a survival game... about struggling to survive.

    I can't say I am disappointed with the game, because really I already had very low expectations about it. But, in the end even though I went on and on about how much I truly despise that game, if you take a few steps back and look at the big picture, it is not a bad game. Its simply not a good successor to the franchise. You know a game a stray from the right path when you can change the game name any problems.

    Overall, it is not a bad game in its core, its just an ungraceful sequel. The big problem with this game is what it represent. It represent profit over substance. This is the sad state were the gaming industry is going. And it make me deeply depressed.

    If you are still reading, thank you. It means a lot to me... almost as much as this franchise used to to me.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 10, 2013
    6
    Dead space 3 takes the worst of its predecessors and markets them as the best features, while ignoring the rejuvenating elements of Dead Space series. The gameplay returns to the highly-predictable enemies of Dead Space 1, while augmenting the gameplay with swarms of enemies, sprinting, dodging, and firefights involving chest-high walls. While Dead Space the first had an amazing atmosphere, and Dead Space 2 had a more subtle element, this third installment prefers to hold your head in place and yell in your ear, "This is erotically disturbing! Are you frightened yet?!" And the answer is "No", Dead Space 3, "No I'm not frightened, I'm bored." Full Review »