Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 989 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up withDead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players embark on a ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    91
    With a weak start, enjoyable middle parts and a great ending, Dead Space 3 is a game not to be missed. With such a heavy emphasis on gore, the game could've used a touch of psychological horror. Still, you can't really fault Dead Space 3 for lack of strong atmosphere. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Dead Space 3 for PC is a good port, with plenty of advanced video options but standard res textures and no DirectX 11 support. That said, the game itself is stunning and the fans will not be disappointed.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    81
    Dead Space 3, despite its strengths in presentation, atmosphere and sound remained well below the class of its predecessors. Too bad if you consider that this is probably due to targeting a wider audience.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    79
    In reality, Dead Space 3 could almost be regarded as a stand-alone expansion pack for Dead Space 2. The single player gameplay is largely identical to the previous instalment. But, since I found Dead Space 2 an enjoyable experience, I find no fault with that at all.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    75
    Sure, it’d be nice to see the kind of PC support title such as Battlefield 3 and Crysis 3 are getting, but Dead Space 3 is more than a straight port and still quite a bit of fun.
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Dead Space 3 brings refreshing gameplay options without sacrificing the gritty, believable universe, but scares are few and far between. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    60
    Perfectly decent and enjoyable enough, but the lack of scares hurts it more than you might think.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 212
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is stillHaters gonna hate. This is just as good as Dead Space 1 2 honestly. The coop is actually a neat addition to the series and the game is still scary if you play it at a higher difficulty setting. Weapon Crafting is handled well and adds a nice layer of customization. For anyone having issues with the FPS being locked to 30: Turn vsync off in the game and force vsync through your GPU control panel. After doing that I was able to play the game maxed out 150fps. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    The game just pushes the excellent story forward and as such it is just as great as previous ones. It has moments on space ships which areThe game just pushes the excellent story forward and as such it is just as great as previous ones. It has moments on space ships which are similar to DS1 & DS2 and then it moves the story to the planet's surface. Yes, it is more shooter like then, but as I said, the story defined how it would look like and as such is perfect. The co-op is also brilliant. I liked the previous save system better, during the gameplay you just longed to see the save point and the new auto-save makes it easier and less scary, but anyway this is still Dead Space for me. Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    9
    I have read many of the reviews and I dont think people got the memo that this was not gonna be a horror game like its predecessors. Its anI have read many of the reviews and I dont think people got the memo that this was not gonna be a horror game like its predecessors. Its an Action/FPS/RPG now and I think some players got a bit hurt about that. I have found the storyline well written and the voice over work to be well done. The shooting works well and the game moves smoothly through a very well rendered world of space mutant necro-bugs. If you liked Mass Effect then you will like this game. Dead space 1 and 2 are totally different games and Im thankful they decided to go another route with this one. Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2014
    7
    Dead Space 3 doesn't deserve the all of the derision it has gotten from gamers and critics even though it doesn't quite live up to itsDead Space 3 doesn't deserve the all of the derision it has gotten from gamers and critics even though it doesn't quite live up to its predecessors. Ditching some of the pure horror elements of the franchise was appropriate for the story and setting of the game and it actually outshines DS1&2 in some areas. Environments are detailed and beautifully realized. Level design is great and offers some non-linear elements that reward you for exploration. There is also a very deep weapon and equipment customization system that allows you to gather a wide range of resources use them to create and upgrade. You are required to manage resources wisely to advance.

    The problems with the DS3 lie along two lines. First, the developers seem to think you constantly need hordes of enemies to shoot at and this can lead to sections of the game were the action is Call of Duty style over the top. Over the course of an almost 20 hr campaign this can get exhausting and even dull. There should be some quieter moments to allow you to explore the large environments, provide exposition or allow for character interaction. Second, while the overall plot is pretty good, the story pacing can sometimes drag and instead of progressing it can belabor the same points. Also, The characters outside of Isaac and Ellie are poorly developed and their actions are sometimes hard to understand.

    Overall the experience could best be described as "Bioschock 2 in space" and it should be enjoyed on those terms instead of being compared to its predecessors.
    Expand
  5. Edd
    May 3, 2013
    6
    After playing the first dead space I was surprised after playing the second I was like :THIS IS AWESOME after playing the third i was likeAfter playing the first dead space I was surprised after playing the second I was like :THIS IS AWESOME after playing the third i was like I mean the plot is kinda poor It will not compare like the other two dead space,the guns are awkward,When you need to upgrade your gun you don't use anymore power up to upgrade your guns,rig,etc you just simply collect scrap metal to upgrade them It was better off with the old upgrade what I liked in the game was the enemies you fought even humans in the game but also it was hard a little .
    So the reason why I gave it a 6 was it had well good graphics and the enemies this is the good part but the worst part is because of the storyline,the upgrade,the guns even Isaac's space suits
    Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2013
    5
    I'm not impressed, but then again, I didn't expect to be. The first took you down dark corridors with creatures lurking in the darknessI'm not impressed, but then again, I didn't expect to be. The first took you down dark corridors with creatures lurking in the darkness waiting to pounce that added a feeling of uneasiness to the player making them want to go slow. The second took us to a fast pace almost run and gun scenario with a stronger story. This one, well, it takes it to the end if you can call it that. You'll beg for something to happen for the first half of the game. It is terribly slow and borderline Call of Duty. The second half is where the action is along with the story, but sadly by the time you get to it (if you get to it) you're spent of all emotion just begging the game to hurry up and get to the point. This is a love it or hate it game. Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    0
    Not scary at all. Dead Space 2 was amazing. This was an abomination. It will completely ruin your view on the franchise. They removed the saveNot scary at all. Dead Space 2 was amazing. This was an abomination. It will completely ruin your view on the franchise. They removed the save feature! It only autosaves which doesn't save during long side missions which you can accidently stumble across and lose hours of play. Even when you finish the side missions it doesnt always save. This is not a bug they chose to add this feature. The incompetence in EA is mind boggling.

    They added a roll feature to try to make it like gears of war so you can dodge the groups of necromorphs sprinting at you, there's country music playing, the entire time I was like wtf. Weapon crafting is so much worse and the menu purposely is not visible so you have to spend more hours on the game. All the original weapons now suck even with upgrades and there's soooo many medkits so looting has become a complete bore.

    The first Dead Space was good, the second they improved on it and it was critically acclaimed. I don't know what posseses them to change the gameplay. Some games shouldn't be changed, like you don't change Super Mario. Dead Space could've been one of the greater trilogys ever but EA screwed up they'll never get those fans back. This game was a 100% cash out
    Expand

See all 212 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.