Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 464 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world has ended. There is no hope. No new beginning. Only the survivors. DEADLIGHT follows the journey of Randall Wayne, a man searching for his family across Seattle during the aftermath of a 1980s event that has decimated life on earth. This visually stunning Cinematic SurvivalThe world has ended. There is no hope. No new beginning. Only the survivors. DEADLIGHT follows the journey of Randall Wayne, a man searching for his family across Seattle during the aftermath of a 1980s event that has decimated life on earth. This visually stunning Cinematic Survival Platformer will challenge you to run, jump, climb, and struggle for your life as you look for answers and the ones you love. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    90
    I found Deadlight very entertaining, and consider it one of the best platformers I have ever played. I highly recommend it to pretty much anyone who likes the sound of a fast-paced horror action platformer that also has a decent story and amazing visuals.
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    84
    Deadlight is a fantastic game with wonderful platforming segments and magnificent art direction. It is a it short, but it's an adventure that worth enjoying.
  3. 84
    I could not tear myself away from the screen, during the five hours it took me to complete Deadlight. There are some design issues, mainly regarding the controls, but overall it was a worthy experience. [December 2012]
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    75
    The three acts of Deadlight cater to three different tastes. One is for the people who love rainy film noir, the other is for fans of hardcore platformers, the third one feels like a summer blockbuster. It's a pity that Deadlight is too short to satisfy the appetites of even one of these groups.
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    75
    The PC porting of Deadlight does not disappoint the fans. Mixing platforming, action and survival in a wise manner, the title conquer all the favors of the public.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    73
    Deadlight makes good use of its premise, even though the whole zombie apocalypse thing has been done one too many times. And it's nice to see a game that bears resemblance to classics like Flashback or Another world. Sadly, the good atmosphere and beautiful visuals cannot fully compensate for some frustrating level design, short length and the occasional control issues.
  7. 70
    Survival platformer suffers from some minor bugs but its atmosphere and gameplay elements are catchy and satisfying enough to give it a try. [Christmas 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 104
  2. Negative: 30 out of 104
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    The atmosphere of this game is phenomenal, and the score for this game is absolutely incredible. Deadlight is no Triple A title, but these twoThe atmosphere of this game is phenomenal, and the score for this game is absolutely incredible. Deadlight is no Triple A title, but these two features say different. This is one of those few games that truly is an emotional experience, even for how simple this game really is. This game does have minor flaws when it comes to the melee combat system, but the platforming system works well. Aside from a view frustrating parts, its a fairly easy game. I can only say, let yourself get lost in this games atmosphere. Its dreary, saddenning, and melancholy, and it all works together with a sad story that has a sad twist you may not see coming. When I purchased this on Steam, I really had no knowledge of how this game was put together, but this game surprised me in so many ways that I can only hope Tequila Studios (Microsoft Studios published this game) goes on to produce more games of this quality. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This game is another of those low key classics that have been illegally slept on.The side scrolling perspective feels fresh and is theThis game is another of those low key classics that have been illegally slept on.The side scrolling perspective feels fresh and is the highlight of this wonderful game.The graphics are stunning and did i mention the story? Its brilliant.The flashbacks that occur through the game keep you guessing and really allows you to get sucked into this world.

    This game is currently on offer on steam (23/3/13) and I can not encourage you enough to give this game a try.

    Having read some review below I can only assume the 'physics' and 'horrible controls' where due to the xbox version of this title as the pc version looks and plays amazing.
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    8
    I think this is a great game and well worth the money I spent.

    Generally, the gripes I see about Deadlight are: 1) It is a basic
    I think this is a great game and well worth the money I spent.

    Generally, the gripes I see about Deadlight are:

    1) It is a basic side-scroller. Someone compared it to "Contra" from the NES. True, but not so much; yes, it is a side-scroller, but the 3D depth adds great atmosphere and makes the game beautiful and immersive; the levels are well-designed; and the controls and game play are, for the most part, very smooth (except I had a little difficulty with switching directions accidentally when clinging to tops of obstacles, costing me my life on more than one occasion.

    Also, I would say it is more like Prince of Persia than Contra. It's not a run-and-gun some have complained about the lack of guns/ammo, but like any good zombie game, limited resources and how you manage them are part of the package here, and pretty nicely balanced.

    2) The length. True, it's only about 5 hours long (I finished in 4.5, I believe, and I was trying to explore everywhere I could and pick up all the little tokens and items), but that's 2-3x your average movie length, and far more engaging and entertaining, so when you look at it that way...

    3) The pricetag. Okay, I think $15 might be a little steep, and I don't know that I would be willing to spend that, considering the game reminded me a lot of Limbo, a $5 indie game (which was only a little bit shorter in length.) But at the $2.99 I spent for it in a Steam sale, I feel like I more than got my money's worth...

    The graphics and atmosphere are great. The character and zombie movements and animations are smooth and fluid. The music is excellent. The attention to detail really adds that special touch, with things like the lengthy journal/backstory, the dream/flashback sequences, and even the death screen all done very well (I love the color tint contrast-push effect on dying, for example. Very smooth.)

    This review would be a 9, but I have to take off one point for a glitch/bug I encountered in the game, which killed the mood and the immersion a bit: all sound/music would cut out during most of the cut-scene animations. It would be working perfectly fine, and then as soon as a cut-scene (animated comic-book style sequence) would show up, the audio would completely go mute about 70-80% of the time, then come back to normal when the cut-scene was over...
    Expand
  4. Jan 1, 2014
    6
    This game displays the storytelling potential of the medium, and underlines the fact that games do not have to make your system hardware gaspThis game displays the storytelling potential of the medium, and underlines the fact that games do not have to make your system hardware gasp for air to give you something that looks and feels really good while you play it.

    While playing the game, there is an impressive sense of depth and attention to detail that manages to not feel repetitive or reused like you would expect. For example, when breaking into what used to be someone's home, it convincingly looks and feels like a home. The use of motion comics for cutscenes, which were simple but well-drawn in a style crossed between The Walking Dead and 30 Days of Night, was very effective.

    Unfortunately, that’s about it in Deadlight’s win column. The story is not bad but the dialogue often is. Your character is a former park ranger (complete with Rick Grimes hat in some flashbacks and in Nightmare mode) who is attempting to find his wife and kid after a flu outbreak turns people into flesh-eating “shadows”. That’s really all you need to know, but should you want to suffer through 60 pages of overly-dramatic diary entries, it’s an option.

    In short, this game doesn’t have a great deal more to offer than how great it looks and feels, and that can be perfectly fine. Games like Hotline Miami and Limbo have shown us you can also have great games with little or no story at all. Unfortunately, Deadlight insists on trying to say a lot when all we really need it to do is be quiet and look pretty.
    Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    5
    Story is dull, voice acting is terrible and there's always a feeling of a good artistic direction executed in a limited budget making thisStory is dull, voice acting is terrible and there's always a feeling of a good artistic direction executed in a limited budget making this game feel worse than it really is because you always followed by regret of what it could be. Basically, it's second Prince of Persia (The Shadow and the Flame) with zombies and less variety in environment and simplified tasks for modern gaming audience. Expand
  6. fex
    Nov 16, 2012
    4
    Setting and atmosphere is good.
    But it is way to hard. You have no chance to complete riddles in one pass. You have to die several times (4
    Setting and atmosphere is good.
    But it is way to hard. You have no chance to complete riddles in one pass. You have to die several times (4 to 8 times) to understand what you have to do and to do it afterwards. The jump and run parts are also much too difficult. Mainly because the controls are imprecise and slow.
    What a pity. Could have been a great game. Play limbo instead.
    Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    This game has decent storyline, voice acting and graphics. The one thing that killed this game is the control and gameplay. I have never beenThis game has decent storyline, voice acting and graphics. The one thing that killed this game is the control and gameplay. I have never been so frustrated playing a game in my entire life. Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Trailers