Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 427 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world has ended. There is no hope. No new beginning. Only the survivors. DEADLIGHT follows the journey of Randall Wayne, a man searching for his family across Seattle during the aftermath of a 1980s event that has decimated life on earth. This visually stunning Cinematic Survival Platformer will challenge you to run, jump, climb, and struggle for your life as you look for answers and the ones you love. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    90
    I found Deadlight very entertaining, and consider it one of the best platformers I have ever played. I highly recommend it to pretty much anyone who likes the sound of a fast-paced horror action platformer that also has a decent story and amazing visuals.
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    84
    Deadlight is a fantastic game with wonderful platforming segments and magnificent art direction. It is a it short, but it's an adventure that worth enjoying.
  3. 84
    I could not tear myself away from the screen, during the five hours it took me to complete Deadlight. There are some design issues, mainly regarding the controls, but overall it was a worthy experience. [December 2012]
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    75
    The three acts of Deadlight cater to three different tastes. One is for the people who love rainy film noir, the other is for fans of hardcore platformers, the third one feels like a summer blockbuster. It's a pity that Deadlight is too short to satisfy the appetites of even one of these groups.
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    75
    The PC porting of Deadlight does not disappoint the fans. Mixing platforming, action and survival in a wise manner, the title conquer all the favors of the public.
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    73
    Deadlight makes good use of its premise, even though the whole zombie apocalypse thing has been done one too many times. And it's nice to see a game that bears resemblance to classics like Flashback or Another world. Sadly, the good atmosphere and beautiful visuals cannot fully compensate for some frustrating level design, short length and the occasional control issues.
  7. 70
    Survival platformer suffers from some minor bugs but its atmosphere and gameplay elements are catchy and satisfying enough to give it a try. [Christmas 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 99
  2. Negative: 27 out of 99
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    The atmosphere of this game is phenomenal, and the score for this game is absolutely incredible. Deadlight is no Triple A title, but these two features say different. This is one of those few games that truly is an emotional experience, even for how simple this game really is. This game does have minor flaws when it comes to the melee combat system, but the platforming system works well. Aside from a view frustrating parts, its a fairly easy game. I can only say, let yourself get lost in this games atmosphere. Its dreary, saddenning, and melancholy, and it all works together with a sad story that has a sad twist you may not see coming. When I purchased this on Steam, I really had no knowledge of how this game was put together, but this game surprised me in so many ways that I can only hope Tequila Studios (Microsoft Studios published this game) goes on to produce more games of this quality. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This game is another of those low key classics that have been illegally slept on.The side scrolling perspective feels fresh and is the highlight of this wonderful game.The graphics are stunning and did i mention the story? Its brilliant.The flashbacks that occur through the game keep you guessing and really allows you to get sucked into this world.

    This game is currently on offer on steam (23/3/13) and I can not encourage you enough to give this game a try.

    Having read some review below I can only assume the 'physics' and 'horrible controls' where due to the xbox version of this title as the pc version looks and plays amazing.
    Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    Wow! I'm not sure that I've ever seen a game with such gritty, realistic graphics certainly never before in a side-scrolling platformer. Although the controls are pretty terrible and the cut-scenes have more in common with a comic book than a film or AAA video game, the game still has a nice flow and an amazing environment. This game is definitely worth checking out. Expand
  4. May 13, 2014
    6
    The game starts off well with the difficulty ramping up progressively. The visuals are excellent, however, the cutscenes become a bit of a nuisance when you want to simply keep playing as they are very much an eyesore.

    However, as the difficulty increases so does frustration. Gimmicky placement of objects and enemies keeps you on your toes as well as slamming your fist into your desk attempt after attempt after attempt. Sometimes you'll be right on the verge of a new checkpoint during a chase moment only to get to the end and have seconds to figure out how to progress.

    If you can get it on sale it's great but I've found myself playing less and less of it each time I pick it up simply because it went from a fun challenge to a very frustrating cluster of cheap challenges.
    Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    5
    Not a good game. Save your money. While there are good points, such as the animations, atmosphere and certain gameplay sections, the majority of this game is either frustrating or disappointing.

    The controls make many sections more difficult than they should be. The dialogue is absolutely diabolical - both in content and voicing. The cut-scenes are horribly grating. The puzzles are both obvious and slow making them an all-round chore. Checkpoints are occasionally badly placed. The game works best when you're running and jumping (the sense of movement is well done when the controls are not hampering you) or killing zombies, however the experience overall is one of frustration and I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone.
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    4
    While all can agree that the game has good background atmosphere there is a lot more to be desired by Deadlight. You would expect much more for a game that costs only about $15 but you will be in for disappointment so save your money and don't buy this game. This game is basically a very bad version of Contra mixed with The Walking Dead theme mixed in a combination with an even worse version of Pitfall/Prince of Persia style with short puzzles. Controls are not the best because when you try to jump over certain areas you either (A.) Over-jump or (B.) Under-jump and fall to your doom. The weapons are very limited and in the end you only get a fire axe, a .38 Revolver, and a shotgun. Konami's 1987 release of Contra had more guns than that which makes you think where the developers had gone wrong. With limited weapon choices the replay-ability of the game is poor since Nightmare mode is unlocked after completing the game in normal. Nightmare mode is only available on the PC version. Upon the limited choices the worst part is that the zombies are extremely tough to take down using the fire axe. The fastest way to kill any zombie is using either the .38 revolver or the shotgun with limited ammo. This game was rushed as you can tell because there wasn't enough testing involved. In certain parts of the games if you didn't solve the puzzle fast enough you get swarmed by the infinite zombies and it would lag your PC out so bad because there were too many zombies on the screen. I would also have to agree that the voice acting is bad or not congruent with the theme they're trying to pull off. The main character sounds more like an old school Max Payne narrating the story which doesn't really fit into the theme of a Zombie Apocalypse. Voice acting overall was terrible and unbelievable.

    Don't feel bad to hit the uninstall button after you finish your first run through because that's exactly what I did.
    Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    This game has decent storyline, voice acting and graphics. The one thing that killed this game is the control and gameplay. I have never been so frustrated playing a game in my entire life. Expand

See all 99 User Reviews