Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deadly Premonition is a third-person survival horror action game which puts players in the role of the intuitive FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, players will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an array of complex characters pivotal to the unraveling of the storyline's mystery. Suspenseful action sequences will force players to make strategic moves, gliding by enemies in the shadows or engaging them with long-range weapons or hand-to-hand melee combat. From the unparalleled atmosphere, music and mysterious storyline to driving vehicles and exploring the entire town, Deadly Premonition will offer players a unique and haunting interactive gaming experience unlike any other. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    70
    Never before have I experienced such an awful, weird but utterly amazing game. This game really is so bad, it’s good.
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    63
    Enjoyable writing cloaked in layers of problematic navigation, tonal inconsistency and pressing A and D not to die.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    A phenomenon you do not see every day. Your mind has to be muddy, if you ignore a botch that's been of the game's execution, and if you have a heart for acknowledgement all the exceptionalities. Indisputably, this game project overgrew its creators' heads, but it is possible to fall in love with it.
  4. 60
    Twin Peaks gone gaming is an unique experience marred only by obsolete technology. If you're drawn towards unconventional games, don't miss this weirdness made in Japan. [Issue#236]
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    60
    It's difficult to tell where genius ends and incompetence begins, but either way, it's astoundingly entertaining. [March 2014, p.62]
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    50
    Deadly Premonition is a mechanically stiff game that’s fortunate enough to have a compelling and intriguing murder mystery backing it up. Unfortunately, the PC port is mired with issues. It’s not the lackluster visual, repeating animation or the slow and unappealing gameplay that’s the problem; it’s the multitude of technical issues that will push players away.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    49
    At its content core, this a beautiful conversion of a very polarizing game. But with more technical problems than expected for the first time this game also feels very old.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    If I ever wrote a book with a video game topic the title would be "1 Video Game You Must Play Before You Die" and Deadly Premonition would be the subject. In it you would find countless of analysis of the many citizens of Greenvale, a complete study of the main characters quirks and flaws, how to make your own Sinner's Sandwich and why you always should keep your suit pressed and clean.

    Hell, I would probably end up writing a sequel. There is just so much going on in this game that one book simply couldn't content everything that needs to be said about Deadly Premonition.

    There are lot of great games out there, but in my view there is only about 3 games that have ever gone far and beyond and pushed what a game really is capable of being. A game that changes the way you will look at games. A game that makes you realize what a fantastic medium games can be, if it's utilized for more than simply being another entertainment form to ultimately make you pass time. A game that ruins gaming.

    Deadly Premonition is all that. It's impossible to describe exactly what it is that makes it such a fantastic game. Most people will only shake their heads and it's like trying to describe a miracle to people who never witnessed one.
    Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2014
    9
    This is the weirdest, ugliest, buggiest game I've ever played... but it's so good despite all that. The story and characters, the strange mechanics, the ugly but charming graphics - it's an odd, yet wonderful creation. Something you must approach with an open mind to truly appreciate.

    Please give it a chance.
    Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    In rare cases some things are so the worst they cross a certain threshold and acquire a new quality: so bad it's good. They become Deadly Premonition.
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    4
    This is the worst PC port ever.
    The game itself is very interesting, but too many bugs.
    You might not be able to complete the story.

    Patches for fix are disappointingly insufficient.
    Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    4
    For PC its a Bad port...
    Really low quality videos and graphics (not even the fix of Durante's helps) still look like a early PS2 game.
    The
    sound in general weak gunfire, explosions, you name it... )
    The response of the keyboard in some of those damn QTE its awful
    Lack of full support for Gamepad. most of ports force Pc-users to USE gamepad to play as intended... Im watching you Dark Souls and you State of Decay in this case the lack of them.

    some ppl love it, and some ppl hate it... in my case its below my lower expectations...
    Collapse
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    3
    Little to no options but I think most PCs can handle it.I still had fun until I got the keys to the police car upon entering the car got an annoying looping screech sound, the bug seems common and means I won't touch the rest of the game until it is fixed. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2014
    1
    I have this game for the xbox 360 version, which I LOVE IT!! my favorite game of this generation, by far! I've been defending this game in all forums, etc...but... the port they did for a PC is just an INSULT for everyone who bought the game, is a careless port, full of bugs and even not gamepad control option!!! The worse thing is their actitude after released the game, complete awful and not respecting the costumers. I WILL NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM ANYMORE, such a disappointment! Expand

See all 12 User Reviews