Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    92
    A fantastic adventure game, featuring some extremely intelligent riddles that require deep thinking. At the same time, it narrates a beautiful story, one that takes place in a setting very different than those of most games. [September 2012]
  2. Jan 20, 2012
    90
    The backgrund ist literally junk, the game Deponia however the exact opposite. A brilliantly absurd story, a fitting comic style and strong speakers. Okay, it's a bit old school in temrs of bunkering stuff in your inventory – but from an in-world perspective, it makes sense: if it's not dross, keep it (like Roger Wilco did in Space Quest 3). After Harvey's New Eyes, Daedalic offers up yet another wonderfully bizarre adventure.
  3. Feb 2, 2012
    88
    Lucasarts has found a worthy heir: Daedalic from Germany. The game may deal with rubbish, dirt and crap, but there is only one word to describe Deponia: terrific!
  4. Feb 1, 2012
    87
    Deponia is an incredibly funny, affectionately designed adventure. The tale of the underdog who simply refuses to give up makes you smile again and again. The tasks need brains as well as patience, but stay logical most of the time. An entertaining addition to the adventure genre.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    3
    First of all... great artwork, and a great theme and idea. Sadly, it's just poorly executed. Bad director I'd have to say.

    I was very
    disappointed with this game, and was so looking forward to it. It had great reviews, and an interesting looking trailer, so I'm not sure why I disliked it so much. The voice acting was OK, but the director of the sound wasn't too good. It's as though they didn't have a firm understanding of the English language, or the context of the words they were speaking. Where some lines were questions, they spoke them as statements and vice versa.

    I think the biggest problem was that I didn't like the main character. Generally, he simply wasn't a nice person. I didn't see anything at all that made me want him to succeed in his quest. Imagine Guybrush Threepwood, who only wanted to save Elaine because she was hot and could get him to an Island full of riches... that's it. Now imagine him screwing over every single person on his way, and having no likeable characters. No Wally, no Haggis McMutton, no Murray, heck, no LeChuck!

    Plot holes, loop hopes, and plenty of bugs. I managed to activate the same cut-scene 4 times, each showing me succeeding at a particular moment in the game. At one point, German subtitles appeared, and at another point, the main character spoke a series of sentences, rather than the correct one, showing that the audio file wasn't correctly edited.

    Point and click adventure games are all about the puzzles, and these were just messy. No real direction. I took a break from it for a day, came back to it and had no idea what I was doing. I managed to start a conversation with a man, asking for help on a puzzle I managed to finish a few hours previously. Luckily they had a 'skip' button for many of the most bizzare puzzles, but in all honestly, the majority of the time I just used a walk-through, and that's unheard of for most games I've played through, and I usually try not to, but some of these were so complicated and strange, that I had the choice of trying every possible combination of objects in my inventory with objects or just use a walkthrough. There was very little in the way of logic.

    The most disgusting thing was that the game just ends. Again, take Monkey Island for example. Imagine the game just stopping half way through, with no result with a "The End...?"

    I will not be buying the second game, and am so angry that I bought this one. It confuses me so much that it's getting such great reviews. I grew up on point and click games, so as I said at the beginning, I am so disappointed.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    6
    Great story, characters, graphics and sound. The problem with this game is that the puzzles are too confusing, with no logic in them, i was really enjoying this game but at some point i was just tired and stopped to care. Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    The twist-filled story takes its off-beat characters all over trash planet Deponia, a unique game world!. The game shines when it comes to humor and has great in depth gameplay and storytelling. Puzzles are greatly amusing and shown with a lot of feelgood comments. Topgame! Full Review »