Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deponia is a fast-paced comedy of errors and one of the most unusual love stories in gaming history. The twist-filled story takes its off-beat characters all over trash planet Deponia, a unique game world in the style of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett and Matt Groening. From Kuvaq, an improvised village built inside a giant trash heap, to the swimming black market and the dark corners of the elevated planetary railways: Deponia is brought to life with detailed hand-painted backgrounds in widescreen format and top-quality cartoon animation Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    92
    A fantastic adventure game, featuring some extremely intelligent riddles that require deep thinking. At the same time, it narrates a beautiful story, one that takes place in a setting very different than those of most games. [September 2012]
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    85
    Aside from the fact that some puzzle solutions can be quite far fetched sometimes, Deponia is one of the most entertaining point & click titles we've seen in the last couple of years. It's very hard not to play this game with a big smile on your face because of Rufus and his idiotic actions.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    81
    The only think we can ask for is a sequel. Recommended for everyone interested in the genre, with great puzzles and sense of humor. It offers a classic, challenging gameplay, which should be enough to keep fans of the adventures games playing till they finish it.
  4. 80
    You´ve got to hand it to Daedalic: They know, what an expertly crafted point and click adventure has to look like. Veterans of the genre and newcomers alike can give this one a go without hesitation, especially considering the low price tag.
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    73
    There's a bit of personality and charm in this adventure, but it still lacks a beating heart under the façade of hilarity and bright colours.
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    Despite a poor beginning and ending, I can't shake off the warm feeling Deponia left me with. It's a game with a big heart and some clever puzzles that recall a special time in the history of adventure games.
  7. 50
    Deponia's saved from being worse than Yesterday by at least having a simple understandable storyline and by not taking itself too seriously, but that's not saying much.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. Aug 11, 2012
    10
    A truly fantastic game that made me love point and click puzzles once more, after such a long time. I was at first hesitant to try this game, but once I started it, the humor and character voices just won me over, as well as the interesting and well placed/designed puzzles. It wasn't too hard, as well as not too easy and obvious to the player, so there is a fine balance that keeps you addicted to this title to the end. Pros: amazing animation, graphics, design of the levels, humor, character voices, unique responses of the character to each thing you do. Cons: a few bugs I encountered, like English subtitles suddenly switching to German for a brief moment, animations bugging out to the point where a game restart is required, a few characters had really loud voices. It's nothing too serious to ruin game-play.
    Try this game, you won't regret it!
    Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Seeing the current critic score of 74 makes me wonder what all these people are thinking. I know, you could say, read all the reviews and find out, but I know this game is not that bad. And some terrible games are rated a lot higher. Go figure. This game wins my award for funniest tutorial (and a lot more) , which is especially good to see considering many games have terrible humor. I guess metacritic is developing a rotten tomatoes syndrome. Laugh while you can. Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    The twist-filled story takes its off-beat characters all over trash planet Deponia, a unique game world!. The game shines when it comes to humor and has great in depth gameplay and storytelling. Puzzles are greatly amusing and shown with a lot of feelgood comments. Topgame! Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One could arguably dub this as a steam punk Monkey Island. The game is building on humor, unconventional, but still more or less reasonable solutions to puzzles and loads of dialogue to create and maintain the atmosphere.
    Even though the main character is an obnoxious egomaniac this didn't disturb me much since they made it clear in about the first 10 seconds of the game. The other characters are fairly good with a few exceptions I found Toni a bit overdoing her part (seriously there is no reason behind giving home and food to your ex who you utterly hate from the bottom of your heart in my book) and the secretary in the Mayor's office is getting annoying fairly quick.
    I was a bit disappointed with the fact that the main game was taking place in the town and the other two scenes went really fast once you got there, but the story ran smooth and had its moments (even though quite predictable in general).
    The artwork deserves some extra praise it is really well executed and the music is pretty good too. If you like adventure games and you are into steam punk (or at least one of the two) then by all means do pick up this game and keep in mind that there are a few others in the series. A few others that I am now interested to try as well.
    Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    OVERALL: Liked it. Recommend. 7.4/10.
    WHAT I DID NOT LIKE: two main thing. The game is still a little buggy (unpolished): for example,
    there a some puzzles which after you complete them, will not move you further in the story. This happened to me twice, and second time was unacceptable (happened when i completed the puzzle with railroad track manipulation) the movie played, but after the movie sequence played all the way through, my rail-cart returned back to the garage instead of moving on in the story to the next area. I had to to initiate the puzzle 4 times, and on the 5th, after the movie played my cart moved on. Lame. Second thing which bugged me all the way through the game was the issue with sound, which is a minus to the American translation/sound design crew, and probably not to the German developers of the game. The sound sequences are not normalized in terms of sound level sometimes the main character's voice is barely audible, while the "police" voice-overs really hurt my ears. So, even though the translation is nice, there was no final mixing i assume? A job 80% done. Come on. Also, some of the sound effects were annoying to the extent of a tooth-aching pain!
    WHAT I LIKED: Loved the art although it could have been deeper and better, given more detail would be added. Still cartoony (Oblongs-Style), happy, hand-drawn style. Enjoyed it a lot. Humor so, since this is a German game, i did not expect much, however, in terms of translation, and humor this game come pretty solid, and even though you will not fall down from the chair in spasms of laughter, the game will make you smile. Story a good projection of an ancient science fiction theme (don't want to spoil anything for people who are yet to play this game, but if you read, you will find references to several popular themes of current writers and writers of the past). Puzzle-wise a Normal difficulty (i've played quite a few adventures, and cannot say Deponia is a mind-twister, and it does not make you do some irrational things). Also, a ton of dialogue in this game; some pretty funny, some not very, but all pretty well-written. Characters: some characters are just thumbs up! Lonzo is my favorite one! Amazing voice-acting!
    RECOMMEND to any adventure lover and a newbie who enjoys a walkie-talkie and a good smile.
    Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2013
    6
    Deponia is a nice adventure game about a man in a "rescue" quest, sort of. It really starts fun, but the game loses its pace at some points, and you can really see (and miss) the brilliance behind the Monkey Island series.
    The graphics are good, cartonish and the text is fun, but sometimes it's really over-the-top and loses the point, but in all, it's a good game for orphans from Monkey Island like me.
    I would advice buying it only in a discount. The game isn't that nice to waste a lot of money on
    Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2013
    1
    To start, the game has nice graphics. That is the only reason it doesn't get a zero. The main character is a disgusting jerk. I have never played a game with such an unlikable protagonist in all of my years of gaming. I played for about an hour, and just could not take his personality. Why somebody would want to make a character so horrible is beyond me. I suggest that you never buy this game. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews