Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deponia is a fast-paced comedy of errors and one of the most unusual love stories in gaming history. The twist-filled story takes its off-beat characters all over trash planet Deponia, a unique game world in the style of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett and Matt Groening. From Kuvaq, anDeponia is a fast-paced comedy of errors and one of the most unusual love stories in gaming history. The twist-filled story takes its off-beat characters all over trash planet Deponia, a unique game world in the style of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett and Matt Groening. From Kuvaq, an improvised village built inside a giant trash heap, to the swimming black market and the dark corners of the elevated planetary railways: Deponia is brought to life with detailed hand-painted backgrounds in widescreen format and top-quality cartoon animation Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    92
    A fantastic adventure game, featuring some extremely intelligent riddles that require deep thinking. At the same time, it narrates a beautiful story, one that takes place in a setting very different than those of most games. [September 2012]
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    85
    Aside from the fact that some puzzle solutions can be quite far fetched sometimes, Deponia is one of the most entertaining point & click titles we've seen in the last couple of years. It's very hard not to play this game with a big smile on your face because of Rufus and his idiotic actions.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    81
    The only think we can ask for is a sequel. Recommended for everyone interested in the genre, with great puzzles and sense of humor. It offers a classic, challenging gameplay, which should be enough to keep fans of the adventures games playing till they finish it.
  4. 80
    You´ve got to hand it to Daedalic: They know, what an expertly crafted point and click adventure has to look like. Veterans of the genre and newcomers alike can give this one a go without hesitation, especially considering the low price tag.
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    73
    There's a bit of personality and charm in this adventure, but it still lacks a beating heart under the façade of hilarity and bright colours.
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    Despite a poor beginning and ending, I can't shake off the warm feeling Deponia left me with. It's a game with a big heart and some clever puzzles that recall a special time in the history of adventure games.
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    50
    Deponia's saved from being worse than Yesterday by at least having a simple understandable storyline and by not taking itself too seriously, but that's not saying much.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47
  1. Aug 11, 2012
    10
    A truly fantastic game that made me love point and click puzzles once more, after such a long time. I was at first hesitant to try this game,A truly fantastic game that made me love point and click puzzles once more, after such a long time. I was at first hesitant to try this game, but once I started it, the humor and character voices just won me over, as well as the interesting and well placed/designed puzzles. It wasn't too hard, as well as not too easy and obvious to the player, so there is a fine balance that keeps you addicted to this title to the end. Pros: amazing animation, graphics, design of the levels, humor, character voices, unique responses of the character to each thing you do. Cons: a few bugs I encountered, like English subtitles suddenly switching to German for a brief moment, animations bugging out to the point where a game restart is required, a few characters had really loud voices. It's nothing too serious to ruin game-play.
    Try this game, you won't regret it!
    Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Seeing the current critic score of 74 makes me wonder what all these people are thinking. I know, you could say, read all the reviews and findSeeing the current critic score of 74 makes me wonder what all these people are thinking. I know, you could say, read all the reviews and find out, but I know this game is not that bad. And some terrible games are rated a lot higher. Go figure. This game wins my award for funniest tutorial (and a lot more) , which is especially good to see considering many games have terrible humor. I guess metacritic is developing a rotten tomatoes syndrome. Laugh while you can. Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    The twist-filled story takes its off-beat characters all over trash planet Deponia, a unique game world!. The game shines when it comes toThe twist-filled story takes its off-beat characters all over trash planet Deponia, a unique game world!. The game shines when it comes to humor and has great in depth gameplay and storytelling. Puzzles are greatly amusing and shown with a lot of feelgood comments. Topgame! Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2014
    8
    Sus puzles, su humor y su trabajado aspecto gráfico me hace recordar las aventuras gráficas de hace 20 años. Solo he tenido la ocasión deSus puzles, su humor y su trabajado aspecto gráfico me hace recordar las aventuras gráficas de hace 20 años. Solo he tenido la ocasión de jugar a la primera parte de esta trilogía pero no me ha defraudado en absoluto. Muy entretenido, lo recomiendo. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    A good, not great Adventure Game. To avoid the tedium of pixel-hunting, you can hold down the spacebar to reveal all interactive items onA good, not great Adventure Game. To avoid the tedium of pixel-hunting, you can hold down the spacebar to reveal all interactive items on screen. This alone makes the experience worthwhile over similar games.

    Where it comes up short is the main character is a total douche bag. The supporting characters are either nonsensical or annoying. It's hard to embrace a story without any likable characters.

    Voice acting, art design and puzzles are all good to great.
    Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2012
    6
    Great story, characters, graphics and sound. The problem with this game is that the puzzles are too confusing, with no logic in them, i wasGreat story, characters, graphics and sound. The problem with this game is that the puzzles are too confusing, with no logic in them, i was really enjoying this game but at some point i was just tired and stopped to care. Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2013
    1
    To start, the game has nice graphics. That is the only reason it doesn't get a zero. The main character is a disgusting jerk. I have neverTo start, the game has nice graphics. That is the only reason it doesn't get a zero. The main character is a disgusting jerk. I have never played a game with such an unlikable protagonist in all of my years of gaming. I played for about an hour, and just could not take his personality. Why somebody would want to make a character so horrible is beyond me. I suggest that you never buy this game. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews