Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    95
    Still dark, cool, beautiful, smart substantial, funny, creative and endlessly entertaining. Only now a bit better. [Jan 2014, p.88]
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    90
    There's never been a batter time to replay Human Revolution; especially with the devs in your ear explaining why things are broken. [December 2013, p.94]
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    90
    If you haven’t played the original edition, prepare for one of the best stealth/shooter games of recent years and above all a really good story and incredible music. [01/2014, p.65]
  4. Dec 28, 2013
    90
    An excellent update that revitalises Human Revolution in a number of ways. Time to play it again. [Jan 2014, p.78]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Absolutely Amazing, The directors cut is a worthy 10/10. Menu layout, Responsiveness, Graphics the whole thing is a gem. I would recommend it for any true fan and newcomers to this classic of our generation. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    I don't play a lot of video games, and I was never a fan of stealth, but strangely, I enjoyed this game. Have played it twice now. Definitely worth the $20 (Steam) Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    It was made to be the best!
    I played DE:HR in the 2010 it was one of the best RPGs in my life. With the Director's Cut one of the best games
    has became more beautiful, better, smarter and more fun!
    You should to play it!
    Expand
  4. May 7, 2014
    9
    A game that was great has just been made better, Still beautiful considering it's age now, run amazingly well on pc, The score sets the tone, great dialogue and following the story is a pleasure never a chore,

    You'll find it hard to stop playing. finding many many ways to handle any situation,
    This game meets it's predecessors and maybe surpasses them. enjoy
    Expand
  5. May 21, 2014
    8
    I honestly can't believe it took me this long to finally play this game. 25 hours of Pure Awesome! While not immaculate one can't argue that it's simply spectacular.

    The story starts out great, but i felt my interest dwindle a bit during the halfway mark. Fortunately the climax of the game re-grabs your attention with one immense swoop. There are also some peculiar life lessons to be learned from the story; should you pay careful attention to it. I'm not a big fan of the way you choose one of the multiple endings, but it's still elegantly done to portray them well enough. I will say no more for fear of spoilers; but the story is surely satisfactory and fitting.

    Graphically, the game is impressive. Despite some minor shadow and texture glitches I've noticed that are, for the most part, unnoteworthy, Deus Ex: Human Revolution succeeds in throwing you into a beautiful and highly believable futuristic world, taking place in 2052. It also ran very smooth on my slightly above-average rig, so it appears to be well optimized.

    The soundtrack is fitting and decent enough. Some guns sound a bit quirky to me and more modern-aged than futuristic, but its still satisfactory and not really that noticeable.

    Gameplay is immensely fun to fool around, just remember to quick save often. I chose the stealthy way to play, since the combat can be quite challenging, especially on a higher difficulty. The augmentation system is so much fun, choosing to be a either hacker and let robots and turrets do most of the work, or to be stealthy and sneaky and take enemies out one by one, or even upgrade armour and health so you can take enemies on Mano-el-mano. Nevertheless, by the end I had nearly all augmentations implemented and could choose any one I preferred.

    Map layouts are very dynamic and there are always multiple ways to choose in an area, as long as you're perceptive enough to find them. Although somewhat an open-world game, it does feel mostly linear with only a few detours to take if you choose to do side-missions. Luckily side-missions are quite original and they somehow managed to integrate most of them even into the main campaign.

    Characters aren't all as memorable as one would like them to be, but the main ones that matter do appear to have some distinguishable features. Voice acting is good, although your character sounds like he just choked on water or swallowed a fly each time he speaks, it does make him sounds quite bad-ass.. in a Batman sort of way. A gloomy voice indeed.

    In conclusion, if you have waited as long as I have to play this, do yourself a favor and buy it already. Once you get into this game, you really can't stop playing until the end. It takes you on a great futuristic ride that makes you question your own moral decisions in a way that's quite compelling. I highly recommend Deus Ex: Human Revolution.
    Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    6
    My review "vanished", well, take a masterpiece as DX:HR is in its vanilla version, rebuild it from an ancient build previous to all bug-fixes/patches, do not correct them again, integrate both DLC missions and contents, add commentaries (which needs to be fixed, though) and a making-of video, rework the boss fights to be more varied, mess up completely the visuals, add some bug/glitch just to be sure and you get this in its current state. I deeply hope the game will be fixed as the vanilla previously has been (maybe quicker, thanks), for me this version of the game COULD deserve a perfect 10 IF will be fixed, to date I can't feel to rate it more than 6, honestly, without a patch it deserves no more than this but I'm optimistic they will fix it in a reasonable amount of time, I know they can. Don't let us down, please. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2014
    2
    Unpolished Director's cut. Lots of STUTTERING and some TEXTURE BUGS compared to the original DX:HR. A copy paste of the game and DLCs into one, without the patches. A huge turn off from playing the game.
    Apparently they did not even QA test this thing long enough and decided to rush out the product to grab some fast cash from fans. It has been several months now and still NO ANSWER from EIDOS about the issues. They totally dropped the project after release and went on with their lives as if nothing had happened.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews