Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    The Missing Link is one of the best DLC releases ever. Even though it's a bit pricey, it's very much worth the price. There's a lot of stuff to do, interesting combat and best of all, the new in-house made boss fight is infinitely more fun than the useless bosses at the original Human Revolution. [Nov 2011]
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    90
    A huge and exciting new mission riddled with creative possibilities. And it ends on the boss fight the main game deserved.
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    85
    The Missing Link is one of those add-ons, that shine a brighter light on all that DLC business. Although the amount of money that Square Enix wants for it seems big, the price-quality ratio is very good - DLCs with that much content are a rarity. The Missing Link is also a great opportunity to see how great the new Deus Ex still is. I became Adam Jensen again after a few weeks and it was such a pleasant experience, that I had to stick around till the end credits. Deus Ex is fantastic and this DLC is great.
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    The Missing Link complements Adam's story from the Human Revolution and on the other hand adds some new challenges. At times it even surpasses the original. [December 2011, p.97]
  5. Oct 18, 2011
    80
    It's great to have an opportunity to revisit Deus Ex: Human Revolution, and The Missing Link is a substantial, tense and exciting piece of downloadable content that's far more than just filler.
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    75
    More boring than the core game, but a worthy effort compared to other games' DLCs. [December 2011, p.87]
  7. Oct 16, 2011
    75
    A bite of fillet mingon is still better than a whole McDonald's burger. While The Missing Link doesn't deliver the robust experience of Human Revolution, it's the only way to experience more Deus Ex. That alone is worth the price of admission… just adjust your expectations accordingly.
  8. Oct 18, 2011
    72
    While The Missing Link does present an intriguing cast of mysterious characters, none of them feel particularly imperative or tug at your heartstrings.
  9. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    Copy-pasted decks and bays, as well as backtrack-heavy mission objectives will test your patience. This DLC adds nothing to the main storyline; it simply demonstrates the atrocities committed by Belltower in the name of surplus profit.
  10. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    Perhaps The Missing Link's biggest offense is that it feels like the safe, easy way to go with Human Revolution's DLC.
  11. Oct 16, 2011
    70
    Rest assured that the whole feeling like a cybernetic bad-ass is fully intact in this five hour adventure.
  12. Oct 21, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Oct 15, 2011
    60
    Despite the fact the it's the classic more of the same, The Missing Link would have been a DLC to recommend to all Human Revolution. The choice of Eidos to price it 15 Euros proves to be a risky move, particularly in this period of the year.
  14. Apr 11, 2012
    50
    A disjointed approach to play harms The Missing Link's value to Human Revolution's main story arc.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Now that's what I call a real DLC. Brand new location, new storyline, more deus ex gameplay. The augmentations are reset, so it's harderNow that's what I call a real DLC. Brand new location, new storyline, more deus ex gameplay. The augmentations are reset, so it's harder playing without them at the beginning, but you can build new specialities than in the base game. Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Missing Link was fantastic, don't get me wrong. My main complaint: It was too short for the price tag. I love that the conspiracy thickens,Missing Link was fantastic, don't get me wrong. My main complaint: It was too short for the price tag. I love that the conspiracy thickens, and I look forward to even more DLC, I just hope the price tag isn't 15 bucks a pop. I just looked on my Steam account and Dues Ex: HR I've played for 90 hours, Missing Link: 12 hours. I love the new missions but would have rather release on this waited until a bit more conent was added to it. Full Review »
  3. Jul 21, 2012
    3
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution - The Missing Link forces the player back into a story he had already thought to have wrapped up using a moreDeus Ex: Human Revolution - The Missing Link forces the player back into a story he had already thought to have wrapped up using a more condensed form of gameplay than what he was used to in DE:HR. Fewer guns, more firefights and a lot of nagging about how killing is wrong. The story is underwhelming and the promise to "build a whole new Jensen" is not delivered on. Unless, of course, you were hoping to start out without any skills whatsoever and hope that you're picking the right ones for this extremely short adventure. It's more of an optimzation than actual rebuilding. DLC is a bad idea in general but DLC that only exists because the original game was chopped up in parts is nothing short of conning players. DE:HR was nothing to write home about but I couldn't even recommend playing DE:HR - TML because it simply isn't relevant by the time you've finished DE:HR. Full Review »