User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 284
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarioD.
    Aug 24, 2006
    7
    A good game for those who've never played the first one, but if you've played DX1, you simply won't get over how terrible this is in comparison, and what a giant leap backward it is. Again, it's a good game, but difficult to enjoy if you're a fan of the original.
  2. A.D.
    Apr 4, 2004
    5
    All right.
  3. Stuart
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    I absolutely hate a lot of the design decisions, the unified ammo, the new biomod system, tiny levels (i blame the 64mb of ram in the xbox), long load times, lack of skills etc. I hated it to the point where I shelved the game for a very long time (over a year), once you get over the shortcomings (in relation to it predecessor) what lies beneath is one of the best gaming experiences out I absolutely hate a lot of the design decisions, the unified ammo, the new biomod system, tiny levels (i blame the 64mb of ram in the xbox), long load times, lack of skills etc. I hated it to the point where I shelved the game for a very long time (over a year), once you get over the shortcomings (in relation to it predecessor) what lies beneath is one of the best gaming experiences out there. An engaging story, intelligent combat, biomods (FTW!!) etc combine to make it a truly memorable and engaging game. It will begin as one of the biggest disappointments to players and lovers (but I repeat myself) of the original game, but about 1/2 way through you will realize that it is truly a deserving sequel. For those who haven't played the original...jump in -you'll love every minute (including the first third or so that the DX1 players will spend begrudging). Expand
  4. Mike
    Mar 5, 2008
    1
    This game in no way lives up to the original. Its horrible and most of the game play elements that made the first one great have been entirely cut out.
  5. Ithikial
    Jun 9, 2009
    8
    Though not the brilliance of the first, IW is still a quality game in it's own right with an ongoing story in a world that feels it is a carry on after the event from the Deus Ex. The gameplay is what let the game down compared to the first. It's still good but when compared to the first game it isn't in the same league.
  6. DavidW
    Jan 3, 2010
    3
    Very disapointing and frustrating game. Completely unbalanced combat. You are either up against weak and incompetent opponents or over-powered Paladins that you cannot fight because there is not enough ammo available in the level to take them down...so the only option is to run past them to the next area. All the levels are cramped and poorly designed. The AI is non existent; there were Very disapointing and frustrating game. Completely unbalanced combat. You are either up against weak and incompetent opponents or over-powered Paladins that you cannot fight because there is not enough ammo available in the level to take them down...so the only option is to run past them to the next area. All the levels are cramped and poorly designed. The AI is non existent; there were loads of times I thought "the AI should not be allowing me do this" or "why is that turret not firing at me? what kind of security is this?". The only feature I like is the option to choose whether to kill or render unconscious you opponents. Generally a pretty crap game overall IMO. Expand
  7. Chazd.
    Nov 30, 2003
    9
    Okay, so I haven't played the full thing, but I feel confident enough to write out a little review ahead of time. The game looks amazing, and the play style is exactly what I'm looking for in a game, wide open, guns, sci-fi, absolutely beautiful! In another note - I'd like to point out that Alex D. got SCHOOLED by the Ed! Heh, read the part at the very bottom of the link Okay, so I haven't played the full thing, but I feel confident enough to write out a little review ahead of time. The game looks amazing, and the play style is exactly what I'm looking for in a game, wide open, guns, sci-fi, absolutely beautiful! In another note - I'd like to point out that Alex D. got SCHOOLED by the Ed! Heh, read the part at the very bottom of the link where it says "4 Stars and an EC does NOT equal 80%". Life's good. Expand
  8. NFS
    Nov 30, 2003
    10
    Hey ALEX D. you're forgetting, they also interpret the way they write the review. i guess they eliminate few things that doesn't matter ad doesn't hurt the game. some people could be very picky about stuff. anyways this game is one of the kind...of course after the first one.
  9. Soccermom
    Dec 15, 2003
    9
    You are so dumb to blame half of the limitations this game has on the XBOX. Everything that you guys say is missing on this release due to it being released on XBOX can be found on the XBOX. splinter cell its not like its not inconvenient for an XBOX player as compared to a PC player. I played this game on PC and own an XBOX but to blame on XBOX is just lame. Go .... and make your own You are so dumb to blame half of the limitations this game has on the XBOX. Everything that you guys say is missing on this release due to it being released on XBOX can be found on the XBOX. splinter cell its not like its not inconvenient for an XBOX player as compared to a PC player. I played this game on PC and own an XBOX but to blame on XBOX is just lame. Go .... and make your own sequel to the game. Expand
  10. NotBrianL
    Dec 2, 2003
    10
    Brian L, if you indeed DID go out and buy the game the day it was released, then installed and noticed it's so bad it could rival 007 Nightfire then I still don't understand the 1 rating, you fakster! Rating this game low is like saying you didn't enjoy any part of it, and may I ask if you enjoyed not part in the last Barbie movie you watched? AS for this game, as soon as I Brian L, if you indeed DID go out and buy the game the day it was released, then installed and noticed it's so bad it could rival 007 Nightfire then I still don't understand the 1 rating, you fakster! Rating this game low is like saying you didn't enjoy any part of it, and may I ask if you enjoyed not part in the last Barbie movie you watched? AS for this game, as soon as I get my hands on it I'll play it for a week straight with awe FOR SURE!! Expand
  11. WarrenS.
    Dec 3, 2003
    1
    I am very disappointed to have the sequel to Deus Ex be something as low quality as this. I apologize to the fans, and hope that the lack of graphical detail, gameplay complexity, adequate performance, quality AI, and general lack of polish will not deter you from considering Deus Ex 3. Do not worry, Harvey Smith will have nothing to do with it... we shall make a sequel that lives up to I am very disappointed to have the sequel to Deus Ex be something as low quality as this. I apologize to the fans, and hope that the lack of graphical detail, gameplay complexity, adequate performance, quality AI, and general lack of polish will not deter you from considering Deus Ex 3. Do not worry, Harvey Smith will have nothing to do with it... we shall make a sequel that lives up to Deus Ex and surpasses this garbage DX:IW in every way. Expand
  12. Anon
    Dec 3, 2003
    4
    This is not a horrible game, but it is also not very good. I'm sure I might enjoy it if I got more than 20 FPS with my Radeon 9800, but I don't. When the graphics look worse than a game a year old but manage to give me half as many frames per second, I know something is very wrong. Add in dumbed down gameplay (one ammo type? no leaning? horrid AI?) and you've got a game This is not a horrible game, but it is also not very good. I'm sure I might enjoy it if I got more than 20 FPS with my Radeon 9800, but I don't. When the graphics look worse than a game a year old but manage to give me half as many frames per second, I know something is very wrong. Add in dumbed down gameplay (one ammo type? no leaning? horrid AI?) and you've got a game that makes me thankful I can return it! Thank you Software ETC! Expand
  13. SammyJ.
    Dec 3, 2003
    2
    A game that led many to have high expectations, but with massive graphic reductions earlier in the year, with questionable design decisions it is hard for a fan of the original to enjoy anything in the game. Worth considering if you like slower paced action shooters, worth avoiding like the plague if you were expecting a worthy sequel to the original.
  14. EdwardH.
    Dec 3, 2003
    3
    While it seems like my fellow reviewers are as mindless as the game, I'll try to put a bit of honesty into this section. Nope, this does not surpass the original. While everyone's favorite "hardcore" (haha, sarcasm is fun) gaming mag GamePro claims it's perfect, it hardly is. I noticed most of the people below didn't even buy the game, which explains why they talk While it seems like my fellow reviewers are as mindless as the game, I'll try to put a bit of honesty into this section. Nope, this does not surpass the original. While everyone's favorite "hardcore" (haha, sarcasm is fun) gaming mag GamePro claims it's perfect, it hardly is. I noticed most of the people below didn't even buy the game, which explains why they talk about dynamic lighting (looks nice, but has zero effect on gameplay), havok physics (horribly implemented, and has no affect on gameplay, and odd design decisions (one ammo, minimal RPG elements, cramped levels?). If you liked the original, and consider yourself intelligent do not get this game. If you never even knew there was an original, and consider Halo to be the best thing since sliced bread then give this a shot. Consider it the lobotomized version of Deus Ex that chugs along at a horrid framerate. Expand
  15. JasonH.
    Jan 2, 2004
    8
    I have played the first one. This game is overall decent and well worth getting once around 29.99 or so. It is shorter than the first, but overall compares favorably. I DO NOT like shooters overall and consider myself a wargamer and rpg'er and almost didn't get it after reading some of these reviews. My only conclusion is the negative ones were written by people who had to have I have played the first one. This game is overall decent and well worth getting once around 29.99 or so. It is shorter than the first, but overall compares favorably. I DO NOT like shooters overall and consider myself a wargamer and rpg'er and almost didn't get it after reading some of these reviews. My only conclusion is the negative ones were written by people who had to have a perfect remake to be satisfied. Trust me, Ion Storm did not sell out to the console crowd. Did they lighten the game for it? Yes. But it is still a satisfying game experience (although short - finished in about 15 hours of play with lots of reloads and exploration). In a market of many, many less developed games - I rate this one highly. Expand
  16. Mrdude
    Jan 7, 2004
    7
    Not as good as the previous one, which is what a lot of people are saying why? 1)they removed the hacking skill - and along with it the fantastic ability to read other characters private emails - one of the best ways the original fleshed out its fantastic story, and the reason I upgraded my hacking skill the highest first I wasted blackmarket biomods on the hacking biomod thing, expectingNot as good as the previous one, which is what a lot of people are saying why? 1)they removed the hacking skill - and along with it the fantastic ability to read other characters private emails - one of the best ways the original fleshed out its fantastic story, and the reason I upgraded my hacking skill the highest first I wasted blackmarket biomods on the hacking biomod thing, expecting to be able to do the same, but no 2)The size of the environments is reduced (levels really are tiny compared to the original) - i'd rather not have the fancy lighting in lieu of larger environments than the original - because lets face it - the lighting does little more than look cool - it doesn't affect the gameplay a great deal 3) the story wasn't as good as the original the choice of endings wasn't as good as the original - I chose to kill everyone, simply because none of the other choices had any appeal to me at all. Expand
  17. Treva
    Mar 22, 2004
    4
    Felt compelled to tell you people how much this game sucks because it dosen't support the MX series of Geforce chips SO I CANT PLAY!
  18. PeterK.
    Mar 26, 2004
    7
    Far less than DX1. This should have been better! Visual interface clutter and reduce functionality, GFX requirements means lower resolution and less appealling. simplistication of plot and maps, lack of variety in objectives, no real conflict to complicate player choices, idiotic requirement to be an administrator before playing game, no cheat (except immortality, I like to root about Far less than DX1. This should have been better! Visual interface clutter and reduce functionality, GFX requirements means lower resolution and less appealling. simplistication of plot and maps, lack of variety in objectives, no real conflict to complicate player choices, idiotic requirement to be an administrator before playing game, no cheat (except immortality, I like to root about once I finished the game without cheating), some elements suggests incomplete implementation (holographic displays with click-to-use but nothing happens). I am sure than given enough time I could think up more. Expand
  19. AlexandraT.
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    How can't you like this game you just had your expections a little to high.
  20. Brisk
    Jan 5, 2006
    8
    When I first played this back in 2003, my expectations were unrealistically high. Like many others, I wanted the original Deus Ex with updated graphics, and better AI. Instead, I felt the game had been watered-down considerably, and many of the features that made the original so great (like ATM machines with real pins, a log you can add to etc..) were replaced with simple point & click When I first played this back in 2003, my expectations were unrealistically high. Like many others, I wanted the original Deus Ex with updated graphics, and better AI. Instead, I felt the game had been watered-down considerably, and many of the features that made the original so great (like ATM machines with real pins, a log you can add to etc..) were replaced with simple point & click operations. The graphics engine was also incredibly demanding at the time, and even those with the fastest PC's struggled to keep a consistantly decent framerate. The music wasn't as memorable as the original, and Alex Denton didn't seem to have the dark, gritty qualities that made JC so cool. However, I recently played through the game again. I found myself enjoying it much more when I tossed aside my sentiments of the original, and take DX:IW for what it really is - a reinterpration of the DX universe, which still has a great plot, interesting characters, and the same style of interactivity which made the original so special. If you want to get the most from this game, then play it with the mindframe that it isn't the sequel to the game we all love. You will enjoy it a lot more, and worry less about the faults, and more about the special things that this game has. Expand
  21. PatrickS.
    Sep 17, 2006
    4
    It just wasn't what the hype was all about.
  22. A.R.
    Nov 3, 2007
    3
    Forget the lobotomised combat, level design and character customization system. I could deal with these things, like the poor AI and graphics of the original. However, simultaneous to consolisation technically, the characters are all one-dimensional and unconvincing and the narrative is alltogether forgettable. I didn't just come to trust the original Tracer Tong's judgments, I Forget the lobotomised combat, level design and character customization system. I could deal with these things, like the poor AI and graphics of the original. However, simultaneous to consolisation technically, the characters are all one-dimensional and unconvincing and the narrative is alltogether forgettable. I didn't just come to trust the original Tracer Tong's judgments, I made it so that he trusted me. I understood The Smuggler's motivations and situation. I returned to warn him in to leaving New York. Alex and Jaime had their reasons for leaving UNATCO, Carter had his own opinion, opposing and just as legit, about staying - Ideological reasons. I actually REMEMBER the story behind completely peripheral and ancillary characters like Sandra Renton when I ran into her again in LA. Jock made me respect his closed nature, but I sure had fun digging around in his HK apartment reading his Emails to figure him out (indeed, a location I only found after numerous run-throughs). The info was there, it was a detailed and subtle world inhabited by complex characters. I felt sorry for Nicolette when she reminisced at the old Chateau about her past. Even minor characters like Lucius Debeers presented an unclear, heavy moral dilemma above coffee wars. I can remember the deep philosophical insights of the prototype AI in its side-room. It's ideas made me feel for where our own world is headed. It wasn't just believable, it in fact, resonated with reality. I can't even recall the names of Invisible War's secondary characters, let alone their motivations and background stories, if they had any. I do remember that you could basically double-cross all the factions and nobody really cared, though. I remember that Klara was pretty much just a vapid, ambitious nonentity. But I only remember that 'coz she was hot. The game is half the length of the original and that half is not even half as detailed. While the consolitis is inexcusable, I think it's a microcosm for larger, sustained and crippling problems with the game's narrative design and setting establishment. I felt like I was controlling the narrative more than that the world was happening around me. I'm going to give this a three. It would be nonsensical to rate this against other FPS on the market before comparing to it's predecessor. It is, after all, a sequel. Expand
  23. MehmetT.
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    This game definitely suffers from the unfair treatment of the Deus Ex fan community. Of course it is perfectly natural for people to compare this game to its predecessor, but people should realize that a sequel doesn't have to an upgraded version of the old one with prettier graphics and better sound effects. This is the thing at issue here, Invisible War is structured differently This game definitely suffers from the unfair treatment of the Deus Ex fan community. Of course it is perfectly natural for people to compare this game to its predecessor, but people should realize that a sequel doesn't have to an upgraded version of the old one with prettier graphics and better sound effects. This is the thing at issue here, Invisible War is structured differently from its predecessor and a lot of people are extremely frustrated by that. People should try to overcome that failed expectation and evaluate this game for its own merits. This is a solid FPS/RPG hybrid with a memorable story. You want to be rocket slinging death machine? Then go ahead and be so. Or maybe you want to be super stealthy and avoid killing anyone, you can do that too. You can be brutish and destructive, or you can be subtle and diplomatic. The gameplay has loads of options to chose from, and Invisible War does a better job of portraying that than its predecessor. The story is original, it moves beyond the cliché Expand
  24. EricH.
    Apr 1, 2007
    2
    One of the worst, most bug riddled releases ever to be produced. Thsi game, sequal to one of the best, most open and free-form games ever made is a pure travesty. More over this dispicable nonesense is entirely the fault of Microsoft. Yes, you heard riight. After that big, fat cheque was cashed by the dev team to ensure that the XBOX version got priority, the PC version was destroyed. One of the worst, most bug riddled releases ever to be produced. Thsi game, sequal to one of the best, most open and free-form games ever made is a pure travesty. More over this dispicable nonesense is entirely the fault of Microsoft. Yes, you heard riight. After that big, fat cheque was cashed by the dev team to ensure that the XBOX version got priority, the PC version was destroyed. Because they had to make a powerful, potentially very capable game scale down to the pathetic likes of that hobbled console, we ended up with the worlds ugliest textures, hysterical physics, TINY levels (you cab run across some in 3 seconds!!! Literally!) and totally linear design. This last part alone is inexcusable - Deus Ex was one of the first games to offer real choice and real consequences - In this game, nothing you do matters. It is just a corrider FPS with conversations. There is a reason that Warren Spector (Lead DEV of this game) no longer works in the industry, and this game is it Expand
  25. AndrewC.
    Apr 4, 2007
    5
    Compared to the first game this one is just terrible. It was too simplified, the story was boring compared to the first, and it feels a good bit shorter/easier. It's a game made for the Xbox, and it shows.
  26. AnthonyB.
    Jun 2, 2007
    2
    Absolutely not a good game, not on it's own merit, -absolutely- not compared to the original Deus Ex. Bug riddled with ridiculously long load times, poorly designed levels and gameplay (universal ammo, tiny clausterphobic levels, horrible interface, few story choices or morality play), and ripped in half to fit on the XBOX console, this is just a bad, bad game, and a hideous example Absolutely not a good game, not on it's own merit, -absolutely- not compared to the original Deus Ex. Bug riddled with ridiculously long load times, poorly designed levels and gameplay (universal ammo, tiny clausterphobic levels, horrible interface, few story choices or morality play), and ripped in half to fit on the XBOX console, this is just a bad, bad game, and a hideous example of "money > all" -- Warren Spector would turn over in his grave... the Warren Spector that doesn't suckle the tit of big money, that is. The one that made the original Deus Ex because he wanted to play a fun game, not the one that made this absurd "sequel in name only" to cash in on the console fad. Disgusting. Expand
  27. AngryMan
    May 2, 2008
    9
    This game holds the dubious distinction of being one of the most polarizing titles of all time. People either love it and think it's better than the original, or hate it and tack on words such as "mediocre" "Lobotomized" and "bland". Personally, I fall into a middle camp. I love this game. I love it just as much as I did its predecessor. But, they are not the same game. The mistake This game holds the dubious distinction of being one of the most polarizing titles of all time. People either love it and think it's better than the original, or hate it and tack on words such as "mediocre" "Lobotomized" and "bland". Personally, I fall into a middle camp. I love this game. I love it just as much as I did its predecessor. But, they are not the same game. The mistake many reviewers make (or made) lies in sticking to the purist belief that Invisible War should be measured against the first game, but where do you begin? Depending on your belief, the skills, biomods and inventory system has either been "lobotomized" or "Streamlined". The reviewer's point of view dictates whether the plot is perceived as "dumbed down" or "Punchy". Invisible War should not be measured against the yardstick set by Deus Ex. Their plot is shared, but otherwise they are sufficiently different to warrant being kept apart. Reviewed on its own merits however, Invisible War is a gold standard game, an excellent addition to anyone's library, and classic example of how to tell a good story and tell it well. Expand
  28. FrobozzTheMad
    Aug 20, 2008
    2
    DX2 while nice in concept was awful in many ways. As mentioned, the characters were flat and uninteresting, the systems (like ammo and combat in general) too simplified and the levels far too small. DX2 is a perfect example of what happens when a perfectly good computer game is redesigned into something it shouldn't be... i.e. a console game. The worst part about the game is that DX2 while nice in concept was awful in many ways. As mentioned, the characters were flat and uninteresting, the systems (like ammo and combat in general) too simplified and the levels far too small. DX2 is a perfect example of what happens when a perfectly good computer game is redesigned into something it shouldn't be... i.e. a console game. The worst part about the game is that even with a powerful system and a good graphics card, the movement still seems clunky and unnatural. I admit, I consider the original DX one of the greatest games ever made and praise it along with the likes of System Shock 2 and Escape from Butcher Bay. DX2 is only a shadow of the original, and even if I give it the benefit of complete separation from it's predecessor, and treat it as it's own stand-alone game, It's barely worthy of a gamer's time. I ended up playing through it twice within about a 3-day period before retiring it to the dusbin of my CD case. While I load up and maybe play through the original about every year or so, DX2 hasn't seen the light of day since. Expand
  29. SeanW
    Dec 6, 2009
    2
    Every bit as awful as you've heard, and a complete travesty on an absolutely brilliant original game. The good news is at least this seems to have spelled the end of Harvey Smith's burgeoning game-destroying, I mean game-designing career. I have never despised an individual game developer before, but his ham-handed ruination of Deus Ex was enough to do it. He should be flipping Every bit as awful as you've heard, and a complete travesty on an absolutely brilliant original game. The good news is at least this seems to have spelled the end of Harvey Smith's burgeoning game-destroying, I mean game-designing career. I have never despised an individual game developer before, but his ham-handed ruination of Deus Ex was enough to do it. He should be flipping burgers instead, which he's far more suited to (although I wouldn't count on him being able to stick to the complex recipe required of most basic burgers). Hope DX3 is enough to erase this garbage from our collective memories. Expand
  30. Biv
    Sep 3, 2009
    4
    There's several areas that killed the game for me - most notably the atrocious level design. It's definately pretty for it's time, but everywhere is signposted in neon lights that don't actually give off any light. Pictures float where they haven't been aligned to the walls properly. There are holes in the scenery. Doors open in the wrong direction. Everywhere There's several areas that killed the game for me - most notably the atrocious level design. It's definately pretty for it's time, but everywhere is signposted in neon lights that don't actually give off any light. Pictures float where they haven't been aligned to the walls properly. There are holes in the scenery. Doors open in the wrong direction. Everywhere feels cramped and any sense of exploration is absent. Apartment blocks with only four rooms. 'Outdoor' areas that are actually enclosed in 40 foot-high walls. The first moment of disbelief was searching in Make Ballistics for a high-security lab that holds a prototype weapon - it was actually just around the corner from the reception desk. If not bad enough, the short corridor leading up to it ends abruptly before you ascent a short ladder to a balcony, where the lab is located. That's right, no stairs or elevator, a ladder inside a corporate building! This kind of junk should have never got past the planning stage. That said, there is glimmers of the opposite - the Cairo Arcology being notable and use of dynamic lighting. Encounters can be equally awkward. It seems that everyone wants to pour out every ounce of sensitive information they hold when bumping into them for the first time. Even worse, these are often in massive, monotonic paragraphs making these easily forgettable. These issues wouldn't be so bad if the core game mechanics were in place, but the game is shackled in shoddy AI, useless currency, and an almost unlimited supply of multi-tools and health kits to be found in every corner. Below average - another Daikatana. Exactly the sort of game that if purchased after release full price would leave people bummed and swayed toward piracy - and that sucks for all concerned. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. One of the most captivating and thoroughly polished titles in recent times. It’s not perfect, however anyone who has an interest in well-crafted Sci-Fi storylines a la "Minority Report" will find themselves completely captivated with this game.
  2. A somewhat disappointing, but fun sequel.
  3. It absolutely defines mediocrity.