User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 9365 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    0
    I'm severely disappointed by the horrible DRM, and the laughable disorganization of Blizzard servers. This game should've wait at least a month before seeing the light of day. Blizzard should have expected this situation: i suspect they olny care about money, not customers. The game itself, is nothing more than Diablo2 with today tecnology. I miss the attribute points, the scrolls ofI'm severely disappointed by the horrible DRM, and the laughable disorganization of Blizzard servers. This game should've wait at least a month before seeing the light of day. Blizzard should have expected this situation: i suspect they olny care about money, not customers. The game itself, is nothing more than Diablo2 with today tecnology. I miss the attribute points, the scrolls of identification, i feel the series ha completely departed from rpg elements, and it's now pure mindless moronic hack n'slash.
    Do yourself a gift: do not buy a clone, and a mediocre one.
    Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    2
    It's essentially more of the same, nothing new, kind of a dumbed down version of Diablo 2, all features that had interesting promise in the development were removed since Blizzards target group apparently either are in preschool or are too stupid to understand skillpoints.

    Such a shame... don't understand the Hype.. what is new? Storyline is **** compared to other blizzard titles
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    Great game, got CE, one of the best games of all time, worthy sequel to Diablo 3. Logged 8 hours of gametime so far and it is amazing. Played the female monk through and really love how unique her combat is.
  4. May 15, 2012
    1
    No spoilers, I just wonder if it makes any sense to develop a game fo N years to get an outdated glitchy (fundamentally single player) game that only plays online after autentication on servers that do not work. All this for only 60 EUR ... increase the clusters or give the money back ...
  5. May 15, 2012
    6
    In my honest opinion this game deserved a 9 or 10. It is everything I hoped it would be and more. The only problem is that even though I am only playing single player I can't play because of the server overload. Seriously, Blizzard has received their millions of dollars from the millions of gamers who bought the game, so now can we play offline please? Even if you have to have separateIn my honest opinion this game deserved a 9 or 10. It is everything I hoped it would be and more. The only problem is that even though I am only playing single player I can't play because of the server overload. Seriously, Blizzard has received their millions of dollars from the millions of gamers who bought the game, so now can we play offline please? Even if you have to have separate characters for online and offline play. I am so disappointed at the moment I could cry. I new this was gonna happen, yet I still held on to the hope that the servers could handle the load. I even went and bought ADSL especially for this game. A lot of good that did me.... Expand
  6. May 15, 2012
    10
    Moving aside the typical blizzard launch crap in which you can never log on during the first day I was lucky to get in 2 hours after launch and so did 3 of my other friends. So off we went in a 4 man party and played the game for 12 hours straight with no issues. This hands down is the best gaming experience I've ever had. I mean the game play was perfect, the cut screen were spot on andMoving aside the typical blizzard launch crap in which you can never log on during the first day I was lucky to get in 2 hours after launch and so did 3 of my other friends. So off we went in a 4 man party and played the game for 12 hours straight with no issues. This hands down is the best gaming experience I've ever had. I mean the game play was perfect, the cut screen were spot on and after completing the game I was happy to crack on for more at a higher difficulty. Of course the blizzard servers craped out again today (15th), but once things settle down I'm sure everyone will enjoy this game. p.s As as open note to blizzard, sometimes we as gamers get the feeling that you really don't care about launch days as from my experience since wow 1 through to SC2 and DB3 you have never had enough servers or whatever you need to actually cope with the massive number that your games ALWAYS generate. I mean this can't be a surprise to you so for christ sake, fix it so we can actually play the game that we paid for and not sit watching title screens for hours. Best video game company in the world should have the best service in the world. Expand
  7. May 15, 2012
    1
    UNPLAYABLE OUT OF THE BOX. GG BLIZZARD!

    Horrific implementation of a game. Cannot play for more than 5-10 minutes at a time before getting booted and having to relog. IN SINGLE PLAYER. Not worth the 60 bucks save your money until the game is working. Poor show blizzard.
  8. May 15, 2012
    10
    Game of the decade by far. Everything about this game is perfect. Blizzard level of polish. Don't let all the Torchlight 2 fanboys who think 1 hour of being unable to login on launch (this is the most preorded game of all-time by the way) is a disaster. Game plays perfectly smooth now.
  9. May 15, 2012
    2
    A disapointing rehash with the same 3-6 hours of gameplay played repeatedly by different characters and difficulties. This would not be so bad if the difficulty actually changed things, but more monsters is not a change. The monsters may have more health and armor and damage, but so does your player character. I don't know how Blizzard thought they'd get away with this again, but I'm sureA disapointing rehash with the same 3-6 hours of gameplay played repeatedly by different characters and difficulties. This would not be so bad if the difficulty actually changed things, but more monsters is not a change. The monsters may have more health and armor and damage, but so does your player character. I don't know how Blizzard thought they'd get away with this again, but I'm sure a bunch of kiddies will still play this game endlessly. But for people who've played this genre to any degree (I have hours upon hours logged in D1, D2, titan quest, torchlight), will find this same gameplay tiring and will stop playing after nearly a week. The next disapointing factor is the DRM. If you're going to have online only singleplayer, at least have it work. But other than that there is no excuse. Gone are the days of playing LAN with my friends, through a wireless LAN network in any place, internet or not. And an argument saying every single person should have internet these days is just insulting to people who cannot afford it.

    I don't need to say anything about RMAH other than it effectively destroyed PvP, and made the game P2Win. Take that in combination with the same generic attributes and skill selection for PvPers, there is little to zero way to have your own unique character in PvP. Your lvl 90 Lightning Sorc will have the exact same health, armor, weapons, skills, and attributes as the other lvl 90 Lightning Sorc you will be fighitng.
    Expand
  10. May 15, 2012
    10
    Seriously? Stop trolling the reviews. Diablo 3 is a very solid game with great gameplay, great graphics, great sound, etc. Yes, there is an issue with the login servers. It should be fixed soon. By tomorrow or the day after, will you even remember the issues? As soon as they fix the issue (aka as soon as they don't have 2 million people logging on at once), you'll be fine. Until then, justSeriously? Stop trolling the reviews. Diablo 3 is a very solid game with great gameplay, great graphics, great sound, etc. Yes, there is an issue with the login servers. It should be fixed soon. By tomorrow or the day after, will you even remember the issues? As soon as they fix the issue (aka as soon as they don't have 2 million people logging on at once), you'll be fine. Until then, just find something else to do. Expand
  11. May 15, 2012
    1
    Not a worthy sequel... Dumbed down to the point its not a Diablo game anymore. There only things this game have in common with the other games, is the story and title.
  12. May 15, 2012
    0
    Error 3003
    if u cant login gameï¼
  13. May 15, 2012
    1
    Awful DRM and login issues aside, I've now played this game for 15 hours and it is dull, uninspired and lacks any complexity as seen in D2. Utter disappointment, Blizzard, you have fallen far.
  14. May 15, 2012
    10
    The best game ever made!! I know this because I have played the whole thing all the way through online with my friends and loved every second of it, thereby making me qualified to give a user review as informed as everyone else here who gave it a zero
  15. May 15, 2012
    0
    No one should buy this sophisticated screen saver, showing you only 'Error 37' or 'Error 75'. At least, not now !
    If their servers cant bear the load, they should have disabled those DRM or severely limit it, alongside with 'online-shop-content'
  16. May 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic, nothing short of incredible design and development. There are the many aspects of the game that improve on mechanics from the previous title Diablo 2:LOD
  17. May 15, 2012
    10
    diablo 3 has been a game that's been one of the very closest things to my heart,its made me feel great,infuriated,and its made me laugh,if this game didn't exist, i'm not exaggeratng when i say i would have commit suicide,its what has kept my heart beating, its what gave me heart and soul,the beutiful art, the insanely amazing story,the adventure,and how you bond withdiablo 3 has been a game that's been one of the very closest things to my heart,its made me feel great,infuriated,and its made me laugh,if this game didn't exist, i'm not exaggeratng when i say i would have commit suicide,its what has kept my heart beating, its what gave me heart and soul,the beutiful art, the insanely amazing story,the adventure,and how you bond with your friends and other characters. it just gives me sadness, anger, and happines.thank you blizzard,for your magnificent masterpiece. Expand
  18. May 15, 2012
    0
    Like I'm sure many people did, I pre-ordered this game the second it became available to. Now, after waiting forever for the launch, and being patient through all of the hold-ups, I can't even connect to play the damn game. Why they removed the one-player offline mode is beyond me, especially considering they seem to lack the servers to sustain an online-only mode. Blizzard, you're a bunchLike I'm sure many people did, I pre-ordered this game the second it became available to. Now, after waiting forever for the launch, and being patient through all of the hold-ups, I can't even connect to play the damn game. Why they removed the one-player offline mode is beyond me, especially considering they seem to lack the servers to sustain an online-only mode. Blizzard, you're a bunch of **** idiots. Expand
  19. May 15, 2012
    0
    Cant log in.You would think Blizzard or I should have learned by now. So be it...Ive learned. Not buy next Starcraft. I'm pirating it so I can actually play the game
  20. May 15, 2012
    0
    Stay away from this game. There are numerous bugs preventing you from playing the game, and the game itself is trash. Constant online DRM, real money auction house, 60 level cap, no character customization, 3 hour campaign, the list goes on. This is no doubt the blunder of the year.
  21. May 15, 2012
    1
    Got it and cannot play, even with me trying to play solo. And that's if the game even starts up for me. I don't understand how a solo game requires me to log into their servers.
  22. May 15, 2012
    0
    Always online DRM was a failure for launch day. I spent an hour and a half attempting to get into the game but kept receiving "error 37". I gave up after that. I'm giving it a 0 because the game has been out for 12 hours now and still have not been able to play. I hope this is an indicator that always online DRM for a single player game is not a good a idea for future game developers.
  23. May 15, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Though a still don't have it, I've played the beta and left very satisfied from the experience. I have warning for you, don't read the reviews with rating 0 the people here are ether trolls or very confused newcomers to the universe of Diablo. People are complaining that it's doesn't have a offline mode, but I think that Blizzard made a very wise choice making it the wayExcellent game. Though a still don't have it, I've played the beta and left very satisfied from the experience. I have warning for you, don't read the reviews with rating 0 the people here are ether trolls or very confused newcomers to the universe of Diablo. People are complaining that it's doesn't have a offline mode, but I think that Blizzard made a very wise choice making it the way it is now. Why? Because for obvious reasons. We all know how fast the game will be pirated and put to shame (not so much really). The games has awesome graphics, Blizzard games doesn't aim for quality, but rather machines that doesn't have the latest hardware components and the people that can't afford them. People must not forget that today is the launch day and it is expected to have errors and server problems. because of the quantity of people that want to play this great game. I give the it a rating of 10, because I am a huge fan of the Diablo franchise and no matter what it will this day forever. Expand
  24. May 15, 2012
    10
    Pretty solid game. Aside from the obvious release day server problems that apparently tons of people had no idea were inevitable because they've never played an online game before, everything is top notch. The game is fast paced and fun. Anyone who has played Diablo 2 would know that the bulk of the game starts on the hardest difficulty. Don't be put off by people crying about KoreansPretty solid game. Aside from the obvious release day server problems that apparently tons of people had no idea were inevitable because they've never played an online game before, everything is top notch. The game is fast paced and fun. Anyone who has played Diablo 2 would know that the bulk of the game starts on the hardest difficulty. Don't be put off by people crying about Koreans beating the easiest difficulty in 2 hours. As far as I can tell no one has beaten inferno yet Expand
  25. May 15, 2012
    0
    Don't waste your money on this terrible POS. I paid over the odds for this (Blizz games aren't cheep, even though you don't physically purchase a CD any more) and 18 hours after launch (in Europe) I still haven't been able to play it once, due to crappy DRM and servers being permanently offline. I feel cheated. WTF Blizzard? Fix it soon.
  26. May 15, 2012
    2
    I got a erro (3006) since the launch and still not working! I cant log, i cant play...just waiting.
    The Blizzard don't do a good work with the launcher of D3!
  27. Psm
    May 15, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing! I haven't gotten too far past where the beta ends so this isn't a full review, but what I've experienced deserves a 10. If something comes up that I don't like, I'll fix my score.
  28. May 15, 2012
    0
    Why is this game named Diablo? The have successfully destroyed what made Diablo 1 & 2 great. They should have named it Call of Demon. This is like Call of Duty meets Diablo. Garbage game... I beat it in 3.5 hours. This is the most dumbed down game ever. Took the week off work for nothing...
  29. May 15, 2012
    3
    It is certain that people had great hopes for this game. It's been a decade since the last Diablo game, so the hype has been building up. In addition to that, it's being developed by Blizzard, the company that has thus far produced THE best selling MMO and RTS games. It is unlikely that any company could have delivered on the hype that had built up, so it does not deserve to be rated onIt is certain that people had great hopes for this game. It's been a decade since the last Diablo game, so the hype has been building up. In addition to that, it's being developed by Blizzard, the company that has thus far produced THE best selling MMO and RTS games. It is unlikely that any company could have delivered on the hype that had built up, so it does not deserve to be rated on the basis of "did it deliver?". No, i'll rate it as a stand-alone game, i'll forget that i played Diablo 2 for years and know Blizzard to be a company which usually brings polished games with depth to the table. If i do that guess what we are left with? Right: a pretty bland game that focuses on all the wrong aspects of action RPGs. The story is well delivered, but dull. The gameplay is solid, but casual. The graphics are polished, but dated. The visual style is distinct enough (remember, we forgot that it's a sequel to D1&2, in which case the visual style should have echoed the predecessors). Now how much money are they asking for this mediocre product? Yes, the full AAA title cost: 60$. Taking into account the price point and overall performance of the game, i'd have to say that even the most hardcore Diablo fans should turn away from the company that has none of the original talent that made the previous Diablo games, and look for alternatives elsewhere, keywords:
    Path of Exile (free game in closed beta, buying store credits gives early access to beta, can not buy power)
    Grim Dawn (is on kickstarter and is funded, trying to reach stretch goals)
    Torchlight II (preorder now on Steam)
    All the mentioned games are at least on par with Diablo III, but cost you 20$ or less to play, so you could buy 3 games for the price of 1.
    Expand
  30. May 15, 2012
    10
    I dont see why everyone is giving this game negative reviews. People are complaining about not being able to connect to the servers but i am not having any trouble at all. I just played for over an hour and didnt encounter a single problem with the game or the server connection. My guess is these people are complaining about trying to connect to multiplayer which seriously what did youI dont see why everyone is giving this game negative reviews. People are complaining about not being able to connect to the servers but i am not having any trouble at all. I just played for over an hour and didnt encounter a single problem with the game or the server connection. My guess is these people are complaining about trying to connect to multiplayer which seriously what did you expect on launch day. A few million people are trying to connect to the multiplayer servers all at once did you really expect them to not crash every once and a while? If you just give the game a week or so the servers will empty out and the problems that everybody is having with the game will disappear. So stop giving the game a 0/10 just because you are pissed off that you cant connect to multiplayer; single player is fun as hell. Enjoy the game and stop ruining the rating just because you are angry. Expand
  31. May 15, 2012
    10
    DRM is frustrating..yes. Can it be prohibitive, yes. Is it necessary, well, some say yes, and some say no. As a PC Gamer, we value our rights, and I respect that. But don't review bomb Blizzard and Diablo 3. I commend the devs at Bliz. What an unbelievable challenge to make a game after masterpieces like D1 & 2. Beautifully crafted, well designed, great lore, concept, loot,DRM is frustrating..yes. Can it be prohibitive, yes. Is it necessary, well, some say yes, and some say no. As a PC Gamer, we value our rights, and I respect that. But don't review bomb Blizzard and Diablo 3. I commend the devs at Bliz. What an unbelievable challenge to make a game after masterpieces like D1 & 2. Beautifully crafted, well designed, great lore, concept, loot, etc...You made this long time gamer very happy when a release date was announced, and now the final product is at home and installed. I just want to say you earned a well deserved Thank You! Expand
  32. May 15, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. Tons of things to do and awesome art direction. Aside from launch day server issues every online game has, this game is near perfect. Don't be put off by the people complaining about Korean speed runners beating the TUTORIAL DIFFICULTY in 2 hours.
  33. May 15, 2012
    0
    for those who only play diablo from blizzard they have to realize there is NO SPAWN INSTALL to allow your friends to play with you, in fact, you have to connect online in order to play single player. the game is hollow, even if you upped the difficulty it feels repetitive and boring, little to no creativity, whatever item is dropped you are stuck with unless you are willing to cough up thefor those who only play diablo from blizzard they have to realize there is NO SPAWN INSTALL to allow your friends to play with you, in fact, you have to connect online in order to play single player. the game is hollow, even if you upped the difficulty it feels repetitive and boring, little to no creativity, whatever item is dropped you are stuck with unless you are willing to cough up the money to buy your weapons from auction house, currently the auction house doesn't have a wide selection but i see it will be the major necessity if you want an even blander game play. they removed state upgrade, so whatever your character levels is what you get. Over all, I dont recognize diablo 3 as part of the diablo series. this really hurt my feelings and my pocket. Expand
  34. May 15, 2012
    0
    Couldn't get the game past the login screen. GG blizzard. If the connection is gonna be as shaky as itbwas during the beta, i'll at least try to get a refund
  35. May 15, 2012
    3
    Stop giving the game 0 or 10, no game deserves a 0, but this game definitely doesn't deserve a 10 either, I giving it a 3 because I cant even play a game a bought, I waited for 3 hour to log in (in my single player game) to be disconnected in 10 minutes, again from my "single player" game.
  36. May 15, 2012
    0
    A hugely disappointing sequel, Blizzard is now on my list of boycotted developers that are ruining the industry.
    -Lag in single player game due to annoying DRM that will arbitrarily take away the product I paid for if my connection fails
    -Pay2Win cash shop
    -COMPLETE LACK OF REAL CHARACTER CUSTOMISATION
    -Atmosphere totally lacking, generic and grindy
  37. May 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic sequel to a great series. Highly expected launch problems but the actual quality of the game is great. If you have difficulty connecting just wait a couple days. Sure it's an inconvenience but the game is phenomenal.
  38. May 15, 2012
    10
    Just because this is DRM it doesnt mean that this game is bad. The Graphics are nice and the story is deep. Blizzard also did acknowledge that they would have issues and whatnot. Every game has issues and whatnot if you cant deal with it then dont waste your money. As for me i think game is great despite the small bugs. I didn't waste my money and for some other reviewers i hope you knowJust because this is DRM it doesnt mean that this game is bad. The Graphics are nice and the story is deep. Blizzard also did acknowledge that they would have issues and whatnot. Every game has issues and whatnot if you cant deal with it then dont waste your money. As for me i think game is great despite the small bugs. I didn't waste my money and for some other reviewers i hope you know this is RPG not a FPS and Blizzard isn't dead. Expand
  39. May 15, 2012
    0
    Diablo III has awful DRM .It is boring, repetitive and is a grind fest as well as a pay2win mentality. All in hall it is a very bad game - not worth the £45. Having played the beta, I believe Torchlight 2 is better.
  40. May 15, 2012
    1
    Absolutely horrendous. I bought a single player game and I have to be online to play offline mode? What kind of wizardy is this **** I mean for christ sakes man if I buy a beer I don't expect an apple juice.
  41. May 15, 2012
    1
    Graphics are an absolute shamble. Truly terrible game. Would not buy, pirate or even try.

    Please avoid this like the plague. I seriously hope you guys don't touch this game.
  42. May 15, 2012
    1
    Allow me to play doubles advocate here for a moment. For all intensive purposes I think this game is horrible. There is no LAN, no World PvP, no PvP, no Mods It's Pay2Play and has a Cash Shop that is Pay2Win and has to be Online all the time, and there is only single player. Coupled with the cartoonish graphics, feminization of Diablo, misandric armors for male, not enough sexy armor forAllow me to play doubles advocate here for a moment. For all intensive purposes I think this game is horrible. There is no LAN, no World PvP, no PvP, no Mods It's Pay2Play and has a Cash Shop that is Pay2Win and has to be Online all the time, and there is only single player. Coupled with the cartoonish graphics, feminization of Diablo, misandric armors for male, not enough sexy armor for the females, and casulized gameplay. This is a shameful display of the Diablo franchise and unacceptable. This is the end of line, Blizzard. I'll stick with Guild Wars 2 and Tribes Ascend. Expand
  43. May 15, 2012
    10
    This is review is only to off set all of the 0-2 if you gave Diablo 3 that score you seem to be pissed off about one of three things.

    1. DRM- I know its annoying and I can understand that but is that really the only reason a game deserves a bad score? 2. I Can't Log In- Like everybody else has said 2 million people enough said. 3. It is not the same as Diablo 2- This game is not
    This is review is only to off set all of the 0-2 if you gave Diablo 3 that score you seem to be pissed off about one of three things.

    1. DRM- I know its annoying and I can understand that but is that really the only reason a game deserves a bad score?

    2. I Can't Log In- Like everybody else has said 2 million people enough said.

    3. It is not the same as Diablo 2- This game is not Diablo 2 that is why its called Diablo 3 not Diablo 2.2
    Expand
  44. May 15, 2012
    2
    Story and dialog are atrocious! Blizzard must actually think they can do no wrong cause this stuff is awful. I can't believe all the hype surrounding this terd
  45. May 15, 2012
    7
    Honestly what's with the bad reviews? I've played this game for 2-3 hours now and it's been great so far. I can see that the skills are very different and versatile, and will hopefully be fun to use.
  46. May 15, 2012
    2
    I created an account specifically to review this game.
    I wasn't going to buy it but at the last minute I thought why not.
    Quite often the negative reviews on metacritic are over reactions but this time unfortunately they are correct. I haven't finished it yet but from what I have experienced it is terrible. the art looks like WOW and the graphics are very poor. In addition to this, the
    I created an account specifically to review this game.
    I wasn't going to buy it but at the last minute I thought why not.
    Quite often the negative reviews on metacritic are over reactions but this time unfortunately they are correct.
    I haven't finished it yet but from what I have experienced it is terrible.
    the art looks like WOW and the graphics are very poor.
    In addition to this, the game lags and has a terrible framerate.
    If you are considering purchasing this game whatever you do try before you buy.
    I feel like I have wasted $90 dollars I swear I'll never purchase another activision blizzard game again.
    I am a legitimate customer and not someone with an axe to grind.
    Expand
  47. May 15, 2012
    0
    This may be worth a higher score someday but as it's currently unplayable due to the DRM measures Blizzard think "enhance the player experience" at the moment it's right in the unplayable piece of **** category
  48. May 15, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Diablo: Modern Warfare 3 is not a game, is a DRM. If you get to pass trough it, then you have a low quality hack'n'slash with zero to none gdr elements. Trust me, save your money for something better. Expand
  49. May 15, 2012
    3
    Picked it up to play singleplayer. Can't even use the product I purchased because of the Always-online DRM that ActiBlizz put in so they can earn money from virtual items. Bravo after years of "polishing" I can't even play because of your greediness.
  50. May 15, 2012
    9
    The reviews: I'll point out two things. 1) Many of the 0's are the same talking points in the same order. 2) A third of the 0's complain that D3 is the same as D2, while another third complain that D3 is nothing at all like D2.
    The game: immersive, well-designed hack-n-slash. The skill system is now a "loadout" like Bastion: all are available but you have to pick the set you're playing
    The reviews: I'll point out two things. 1) Many of the 0's are the same talking points in the same order. 2) A third of the 0's complain that D3 is the same as D2, while another third complain that D3 is nothing at all like D2.
    The game: immersive, well-designed hack-n-slash. The skill system is now a "loadout" like Bastion: all are available but you have to pick the set you're playing with for now. Every skill as 6 variants so there are limitless builds to every character. Different builds play well for single target vs. groups, survival vs. glass cannon, or single player vs. co-op -- not to mention your own playstyle! Do you like to jump around or kill as things come to you? Do you prefer the challenge of starting weaker but building up big buffs over time, or consistent DPS with giant nukes on cooldown? Hardcore mode is there for folks who don't like the casual experience of resurrecting at checkpoints.
    Expand
  51. May 15, 2012
    3
    Was ready to log on after release. Then I got constant errors, my palms where sweaty, knees weak arms were heavy. Why have always online DRM ? I felt sick, vomit on my sweater... next to moms spaghetti
  52. May 15, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 12 years... Blizzard... seriously? Thats all what you done for 12 years? Starcraft 2 - just starcraft 1 with 3D.
    Diablo 3 - diablo 2 with 3D and without RPG, just grinding.
    10 hours for first difficult, and thats your 12 years of development?
    Score of game is 6.5/10. But its for 1year project. OH GOD SO MUCH ANGRY INSIDE.
    Expand
  53. May 15, 2012
    10
    Blizzard has done it again! As much of a succes as Starcraft II.
    Nice job Blizzard, you again have succeeded in making a game that has a superb production quality.
    It's incredible that one has to pay the same amount of money for a game like this, than for a game like Duke Nukem
  54. May 15, 2012
    3
    So I've played Path of Exile beta, Torchlight 2 Beta, and Diablo 3 beta....and now the full Diablo 3 ga....OH WAIT Connection errors for 3-4 hours after launch. It's funny how during the open beta stress test servers were down, busy, and whatever other errors for 70% of that weekend. Fast forward more than half a month to launch day....Blizzard learned nothing. Servers still can'tSo I've played Path of Exile beta, Torchlight 2 Beta, and Diablo 3 beta....and now the full Diablo 3 ga....OH WAIT Connection errors for 3-4 hours after launch. It's funny how during the open beta stress test servers were down, busy, and whatever other errors for 70% of that weekend. Fast forward more than half a month to launch day....Blizzard learned nothing. Servers still can't handle the load. Thanks blizzard for the online only single player. Ok at least the game is good right? NOPE. Nothing has changed from the the pile of horse manure the open beta game was...not that they could change the game drastically in half a month, so it was dead to begin with. Anyway, artistic style isn't as bad as people say it is. Blizzard has streamlined(a.k.a casualized) the game to hell and back, mind the pun. Linearized skill trees, huge base mana regen which kills the need to manage potions effectively, bland looking world, no innovation...and no killstreaks do not count as innovation neither does hit lever, **** falls on enemies count. Overall the game just feels lifeless. If you want innovation in the skill system play path of exile. The sphere-grid like passive abilities in game and the support skill gems/active skill gems combinations are very innovative and fresh. If you want a game that actually feels like Diablo 2 then play torchlight 2 from runic games(former blizzard north guys that had a huge hand in D2). From what I've played of the Torchlight 2 beta, there were drastic improvements on the first game and although I'm not sold on the cartoony art style, the game play is fun enough to keep me playing. The world itself is very expansive with terrain that look really good. All in all the beta was very satisfying and I've pre-ordered Torchlight 2. The only problem that remains is to get $60 worth of play time out of D3 before leaving it for good. You've just lost another long time fan, oh wait you don't really care since you got the money already. Expand
  55. May 15, 2012
    1
    Nothing says evil like a Witch Doctor shooting toads, complete **** on the series. What happened to Diablo? A free game called Path of Exile does a better job at capturing the series.
  56. May 15, 2012
    2
    Yet another game series has been killed off by the likes of casualization in the industry. At least they bothered to change it from being rated T to rated M, but that doesn't fix even half the problems this game has. My biggest problem were the visuals. How does Diablo 2, a pretty old game, look so much better than 3? The cartoony WoW artstyle doesn't fit at all, the textures and modelsYet another game series has been killed off by the likes of casualization in the industry. At least they bothered to change it from being rated T to rated M, but that doesn't fix even half the problems this game has. My biggest problem were the visuals. How does Diablo 2, a pretty old game, look so much better than 3? The cartoony WoW artstyle doesn't fit at all, the textures and models are crap, and the lighting is absolute **** The graphics even get in the way of gameplay, sometimes during combat there are so many random spell/skill effects on the screen that I can't see what's going on. Auction house runs on real money and the game has been significantly dumbed down for idiots. Always-Online DRM wrecks any chance of single-player which is how I played the classic games for the most part. All in all terrible game, wouldn't play. Expand
  57. May 15, 2012
    9
    Been able to play fine since I sat down a few hours ago. The game play is really smooth and rewarding. The graphics are great and the sound is awesome.
  58. May 15, 2012
    1
    If you want an immersive ARPG, you've come to the wrong place. The design for this game doesn't lead to much. Artistic design, plot, game design, everything seems to be under par. Its impressive how they managed to through down the drain all that money, when an indie studio creates Path of Exile, a free to play ARPG. Go try it, and you will feel what immersion really is.

    click the Ok
    If you want an immersive ARPG, you've come to the wrong place. The design for this game doesn't lead to much. Artistic design, plot, game design, everything seems to be under par. Its impressive how they managed to through down the drain all that money, when an indie studio creates Path of Exile, a free to play ARPG. Go try it, and you will feel what immersion really is.

    click the Ok button in the popup window "The game has ended"
    Expand
  59. May 15, 2012
    2
    Very bad internet connection and bad graphic just stops this game to be the best rpg this year,very disappointing game finger down.This game isn't worth so long waiting.For all of you out there better play one GREAT GAME which is called MAX PAYNE 3,BTW I am playing it on Xbox 360 and the game is great i am jus sad because the game doesnt have better graphic,consoles can have much betterVery bad internet connection and bad graphic just stops this game to be the best rpg this year,very disappointing game finger down.This game isn't worth so long waiting.For all of you out there better play one GREAT GAME which is called MAX PAYNE 3,BTW I am playing it on Xbox 360 and the game is great i am jus sad because the game doesnt have better graphic,consoles can have much better graphic than thi but overall the graphic is very good.But Diablo 3 sucks at every look Expand
  60. May 15, 2012
    9
    Overall solid game, lot of day 1 issues however but this is usually the case with Blizzard releases. Combat is good from what I've seen, feels meaty and very enjoyable. Game particularly shines while playing online, games are easy to find and what I have seen so far of the community is good.

    Always online DRM though is the major issue, single player game lag just shouldn't happen. I am
    Overall solid game, lot of day 1 issues however but this is usually the case with Blizzard releases. Combat is good from what I've seen, feels meaty and very enjoyable. Game particularly shines while playing online, games are easy to find and what I have seen so far of the community is good.

    Always online DRM though is the major issue, single player game lag just shouldn't happen. I am aware it's done to stop item cheats since "items = real money" but it's still annoying as all hell. This will pass as launch hype fades but I am not a fan of always online single player, it's a joke.
    Expand
  61. May 15, 2012
    0
    Extremely disappointed with the draconian DRM. The "error 37" problems should make obvious what a poor policy this is...especially given the resources put into this project, there's no excuse for this kind of shoddy launch. Publishers and producers need to learn to start respecting their customers, more and more people are rightfully demanding a quality, polished DRM-free final prod
  62. May 15, 2012
    3
    I'm really not into the bandwagon hate for the game, but it's really horrible.
    I've completed it on hard mode in a bit less than 8 hours, which is ridiculously short when compared to the time I spent playing the first two Diablo games. The voice acting feels half-assed, the environments are not immersive, the music is in no way fitting, the ridiculous greedy DRM keeps crashing every half
    I'm really not into the bandwagon hate for the game, but it's really horrible.
    I've completed it on hard mode in a bit less than 8 hours, which is ridiculously short when compared to the time I spent playing the first two Diablo games. The voice acting feels half-assed, the environments are not immersive, the music is in no way fitting, the ridiculous greedy DRM keeps crashing every half an hour and the item shop is just a plain stupid idea, it completely removes the aspect of having to search every dungeon to find the best gear, instead of paying for it right away. The skill point system is nonexistant, the player gets his magic straight away and the game features only two colors of the spectra - the gray for dungeons and brown for the desert, it also features ridiculous amounts of bloom that just plain look bad. The graphics are ridiculously terrible and the artstyle really doesn't fit the franchise.
    Expand
  63. May 15, 2012
    0
    I TOLD EVERYBODY I KNEW NOT TO BUY THIS GAME,yet my cousin did and invited me to test it with him.
    He can't believe he paid for such a piece of ****
    I will make it simple: .Everything started long,long,LOOONG ago: An old school gamer was sitting on his desktop PC reading vg news and cursing about how bad were games on those days compared to those of his youth (now they're even worse),when
    I TOLD EVERYBODY I KNEW NOT TO BUY THIS GAME,yet my cousin did and invited me to test it with him.
    He can't believe he paid for such a piece of ****
    I will make it simple:
    .Everything started long,long,LOOONG ago:
    An old school gamer was sitting on his desktop PC reading vg news and cursing about how bad were games on those days compared to those of his youth (now they're even worse),when suddenly blizzard said:
    -Hey! We're releasing Diablo 3
    And the gamer (better known as me) remembered his favourite game of all time (Diablo 2) and said:
    -Oh,gee! that will be the savior of the current bad,casual,dumb,and nonsense pc gaming
    Then Blizzard said:
    -Look at this graphics
    And I said:
    -Hey,thats a good looking wow expansion,but,where's Diablo 3?
    Then Blizzard said:
    -Don't worry,it will become dark afterwards,anyway,look at this arquetypes of main characters
    me:
    -not bad,they're a bit awkward,and the skills are a little dull,but i'll manage to compensate it with the correct stats
    Blizzard:
    -Oh!...You werent informed?Our main costumers find the stat systems difficult to use,so there won't be stats...But hey,you will have a lot of runes and skills to make your character unique,it will be fine.
    me:
    -It won't be fine,but it's something,i'm always good at choosing skills
    Blizzard:
    -sorry thats out too.the skills tree sets up by itself
    me:
    -then it's not a tree,its a list...I guess that I'll have to do with the looting,i'm experienced in this,i'm a great looter,i could grind a Tyraels Might in the den of evil in normal and in version 1.09
    Blizzard:
    That won't be necessary,due to the high demand of farmers on the internet,we have decided to allow a real money equippment selling system so you don't have to play the game to become the best
    me:
    -Do you realize that there's no such thing as "best" when all the choices are the same? ¬¬
    Blizzard:
    -With Blizzard,you're always the best (if you pay,of course).However,trust us,the game will be good
    me:
    -no,it will be not...How could it? you failed in all the fields,what else could you mess up in?
    Blizzard:
    -It'll be great cause we have an amazing anti piracy sistem...check this out fellows,we,the genius,have decided to turn the sigleplayer mode in an always-need-to-be-online DRM style wow gameplay.
    Trust us,we're Blizzard,and this is Diablo,so it has to be a great game.
    me:
    -Do you think you're the only ones who tried to sell an awful game just by it's name?
    Blizzard:
    -I detect a bit of self thinking right there,I'll better turn up the hype level...
    What if I tell you,that Diablo 3 is made to be played with an Xbox or PS3 controller?
    me:
    WTF???!! O.O
    Blizzard:
    -What? Don't you like the idea? just like your favourite games.
    me:
    -MY FAVOURITE GAME IS DIABLO 2!!!
    Blizzard:
    -Then you're lucky,gentleman because we're releasing Diablo 3 in short,would you like to pre-order?
    me:
    -Shut up,you're not getting my money
    Blizzard: -What? thats not possible,listen It's a great game,trust me...game...best.......great..........buy.......... ................................................ ....Send me money, send me green Heaven you will meet Make a contribution and you'll get a better seat..... BOW TO LEPPER MESSIAH!! HAHAHAHA!!!!... _END_ Now,seriously,Creeping Death advises you not to buy this game...OR ELSE YOUR DOOR WILL BE LAMB BLOOD PAINTED TONIGHT!!!!
    Expand
  64. May 15, 2012
    10
    Connection issues suck but they are a very temporary issue. Core game play is solid and everything we have come to expect in the Diablo franchise. Way to go Blizzard, good job.
  65. May 15, 2012
    0
    I didn't wait 12 years for forced online DRM with **** servers that boot your ass out every 15 minutes and pay2win RMAH.

    0/10 **** casualcore wouldn't play again.
  66. May 15, 2012
    4
    So after having played this game for around about 3 - 4 hours, I can confidently say that staring at a screen saying 'error 37' is not fun. would not recommend if you like fun things.
  67. May 15, 2012
    0
    This game is totally worthless. Even that dungeon siege 3 has better graphic than this game. Blizzard ruined Warcraft and I see they ruined Diablo too. Don't make any more game Blizzard, PLEAAASSEEEEEE

    LET's play Torchligh 2, I will be better.
  68. May 15, 2012
    0
    Got to play it for about 5 minutes before connection errors. If a game fails at being fun, it should fail any review. I hope Torchlight II is better than this crap.....
  69. May 15, 2012
    0
    This game doesn't deserve the diablo name. The intrusive DRM ruins the experience for everyone, there will never be any modding capabilities, the content is poor, after all those years, it turned out to be just a cashing machine based on their RMAH and hype
  70. May 15, 2012
    1
    Diablo 3 is hardly a true successor to D1 and D2. The game is aimed to draw in a younger generation and people who never played the Diablo series before. This comes in the form of eliminating every metagame in both D1 and D2. The reason why D1 and D2 is fun is because it's both challenging and re-playable. Figuring out the attribute system, finding rare loot - every single character youDiablo 3 is hardly a true successor to D1 and D2. The game is aimed to draw in a younger generation and people who never played the Diablo series before. This comes in the form of eliminating every metagame in both D1 and D2. The reason why D1 and D2 is fun is because it's both challenging and re-playable. Figuring out the attribute system, finding rare loot - every single character you created is unique in that sense. In Diablo 3, all of this is bypassed with its flawed cookie-cutter system of the previous games. The "pay-to-win" system allows people who are spoiled to be better than people who are dedicated to the game. Every character ends up the same with the fixed attribute/skill system. This makes partying with two or more of the same character redundant and makes the end-game of level 60 to be repetitive. There is no reason to grind the game (yes, we all did that for D1 and D2) and to find rare loot when someone can buy the same items easily. There also doesn't seem to be a lot of unique rare items - scrolling through the auction house. The graphics are never problem in a game. However, the Diablo 3 theme is distracting compared to the that of D1 and D2. The games are supposed to be gothic, and about hell. What is with all these serene walk-in-the-park areas, and enemies that look laughable and ripped out of of the WoW universe? And the game is short. Without the grinding incentive, the 4 acts (if you can even consider the 4th act a proper act) are completed with my friends in less than 8 hours. Don't fall for the hype generated by D3. This game is nothing like the other games and is not recommended if you're a fan of the series. I don't even mind the numerous errors with the servers, or odd glitches here and there. I don't even care if the Monk class is a little overpowered compared to the other classes. This is just not a Diablo game. It's a normal hack-and-slash game targeted at newcomers, and I'll look at it as just that. Get the game if it's on a discount but not for the 80 dollars I had to pay for it. Expand
  71. May 15, 2012
    0
    First of all I have to admit that I only played the beta. The things I noticed:
    1. Always-on-DRM: seriously? Why do I need to be online in order to play a game in singleplayer mode? This means I can't play Diablo 3 if I'm on the road/vacation/literally everywhere where I don't have access to the internet. Good call Blizz.
    2. Casualization: So they decided to remove skillpoints, introduced
    First of all I have to admit that I only played the beta. The things I noticed:
    1. Always-on-DRM: seriously? Why do I need to be online in order to play a game in singleplayer mode? This means I can't play Diablo 3 if I'm on the road/vacation/literally everywhere where I don't have access to the internet. Good call Blizz.
    2. Casualization: So they decided to remove skillpoints, introduced achievements, auto-identify objects, town-portal button, removed the Horadrim cube, no PvP, etc. This list goes on. What I want to say with this is that by removing/introducing these features you removed the chance for the gamers to have a real challenging experience of the game. Of course there's still the Inferno mode, but as you have no control over your character besides the items you wear this is dumb. But I think the reason why they decided to do this will be shown in my 3rd point.
    3. Real-money auction house: WTF? You earn at least $1 for every transaction. When did you become so greedy? Right, it started with WoW, introducing mounts for $15 and this stuff. If this works for WoW then it'll work for SC2 (3 different games) and Diablo 3 as well. Hey, if the people are still buying it you would be dumb to not do this. Making the most money with the least effort was always the goal. So just convince the people that that what you're doing is the right thing and they'll believe you and buy this stuff.
    4. WoW-like experience: It starts with the engine which pretty much looks the same as the engine used in WoW. The textures and interface could also be from that game. Since Blizzards acquisition from Activision this company went down. This is only my opinion, people might or might not share it, but since WoW I've been watching the transition from Blizzard to greedy Activision/Blizzard and I'm boycotting every of there games until they change back to their old standards.
    Expand
  72. May 15, 2012
    0
    Just completed normal, and half of nightmare, its boring and all about crafting, no fun, no cool items, noo cool monsters, music is boring, graphics are old. Giving one for old blizzard reputation.
  73. May 15, 2012
    3
    Just not that impressed. Auto-leveled character with little to no choices to make each level. Can't really customize my stats to play different ways like in 2. It doesn't look all that much different than 2, which is disappointing for a game released this many years apart. But something is hogging resources, as it doesn't run that well on a 2012 machine.

    Persistant internet
    Just not that impressed. Auto-leveled character with little to no choices to make each level. Can't really customize my stats to play different ways like in 2. It doesn't look all that much different than 2, which is disappointing for a game released this many years apart. But something is hogging resources, as it doesn't run that well on a 2012 machine.

    Persistant internet connection required for single player is the biggest offense. I can deal with the other shortcomings, but this one is a giant pain. Also, the in game 'tutorial' is really bare bones, there's so much that isn't explained. I shouldn't have to go to a wiki to learn the basic concepts of the game.
    Expand
  74. May 15, 2012
    2
    Let me start by saying that I wanted to like this game SO MUCH... But unfortunately, I feel like I'm walking out of Star Wars Episode I all over again... Requiring internet connectivity is inexcusable, particularly when you cannot support the traffic. Blizzard should know better... That aside, the game itself is a let down for Diablo fans. The gameplay is simplified to the extentLet me start by saying that I wanted to like this game SO MUCH... But unfortunately, I feel like I'm walking out of Star Wars Episode I all over again... Requiring internet connectivity is inexcusable, particularly when you cannot support the traffic. Blizzard should know better... That aside, the game itself is a let down for Diablo fans. The gameplay is simplified to the extent where it's unrecognizable to its heritage, and the lack of ability to customize your character is sad. Blizzard missed a HUGE opportunity here by trimming the story down to a FPS length -- The gameplay is super short, and the acting/VOs are laughable. (insert frowny face) Expand
  75. May 15, 2012
    7
    Before I say anything else, please consider that my score reflects what I consider to be the quality of the game. I know there are no real guidelines here and that reviewing anything is subjective...but on this site I see WAY too many games rated either 0 or 10, usually by people who have no idea how to actually review a product. So if you are looking for a review that isn't the product ofBefore I say anything else, please consider that my score reflects what I consider to be the quality of the game. I know there are no real guidelines here and that reviewing anything is subjective...but on this site I see WAY too many games rated either 0 or 10, usually by people who have no idea how to actually review a product. So if you are looking for a review that isn't the product of a completely polarized opinion, keep reading. First of all, I was fortunate enough to not have been subjected to the frustrations that so many experienced just trying to get the game to install. I've been playing for a few hours now and I have to say that while the game looks decent (I run it at low settings due to an older computer (I built it in 2004)) and is fast paced and entertaining, it's not what it could have been. The changes that Blizzard made to the series have led to a game with very little strategy, due in part to the lack of real options for building your character and also due to the fact that you get all of your character's skills automatically when you level up. Instead of having a maximum amount of skills that you can purchase during the course of a game, you are limited by how many abilities you can actually use at any given time. You start off with the ability to have a skill assigned to the left and right mouse buttons and then unlock 1 through 4 on the keyboard as you level up. While I understand that keeping the game simple was the goal here, the end result leaves a lot to be desired, as you will have more skills than you have hotkeys fairly quickly, which doesn't make much sense. Gone is the ability to choose to specialize in one skill or to branch out and have many skills that are less powerful. Your attributes (strength, dexterity and all of that) are improved automatically now, so there is yet another way to customize your character that has been taken from you. Also, they have continued the trend started in Diablo 2 and this game has moved even farther away from being a true single player game. I want a save feature, a real, honest to god save game feature. This is PC gaming in 2012, not Playstation gaming in 2000. Blizzard has made some truly bizarre decisions about what their players actually want in a game, and this is the result; less real customization and control of your character in exchange for some rather dubious features and way too much focus on level-based progression. Everything that your character can do, EVEN ASSIGNING HOTKEYS, is now based on character level...which is really, really stupid.

    On the other hand, the lore in the game is pretty interesting, the game runs great on my older pc, the combat is entertaining, and the interactions you can have with some of the environments can result in some fun situations (usually involving a high body count). I enjoyed the voice acting and the art work, and I'm glad that the next chapter in this saga is finally here...I just wish they would have made it more like the first Diablo. On the other hand, I do feel that this game IS better than Diablo 2, so I think there is a move in the right direction; not a huge move, but a move none the less. Is it worth $60? Not really, but it is worth playing if you are a fan of the series. If your not, then you might not want to spend your time on this.
    Expand
  76. May 15, 2012
    10
    The game is perfect. All the flaws the first 2 diablo games had are now gone! Yes it might have become a little for casual but it still is to the hardcore players. All those 0 are just from all the ragers that judge a game by its connection on the first day of launch! If they have never played a game, almost all games have connection problems on day one. Now the servers are fine, soThe game is perfect. All the flaws the first 2 diablo games had are now gone! Yes it might have become a little for casual but it still is to the hardcore players. All those 0 are just from all the ragers that judge a game by its connection on the first day of launch! If they have never played a game, almost all games have connection problems on day one. Now the servers are fine, so go,play and then rate! Expand
  77. May 15, 2012
    0
    Error 37... So no singleplaying for me... So I just sit here and wait or I play another game in the meantime... I don't know... Torchlight maybe?....... 'nuff said........ I may write more and change the score if and when I'll be able to play it...
  78. May 15, 2012
    3
    Within the first few hours, it is obvious to see why so many are disappointed with something that was hyped up so much. Even if you ignore the DRM, the lag and the disconnections (as it is the first day), the game lacks any rpg substance that made the previous titles so good. Among other things, there is no depth in the way skills are managed, no attribute points, no customization what soWithin the first few hours, it is obvious to see why so many are disappointed with something that was hyped up so much. Even if you ignore the DRM, the lag and the disconnections (as it is the first day), the game lacks any rpg substance that made the previous titles so good. Among other things, there is no depth in the way skills are managed, no attribute points, no customization what so ever (and by this I mean in any way, as everyone will have the same build as you),, and you can't even use your primary weapon to attack (that's right, it's just for show). Even if we ignore these, the game itself it just boring relative to other RPGs. Diablo 2, a 13 year old game, is actually much funner to play than this. If you're looking for a good sequel to Diablo, a true rpg game, or even a game that has any play value, I would highly recommend to look past this, it is definitely not up to scratch. And if you don't know where to go after reading this, I urge you to try the game dark souls, it is a brilliant rpg. Expand
  79. May 15, 2012
    0
    Starting by assuming an average game is a 5/10.
    RMAH, Pay to Win. I can't can't accept this. 4/10
    Always online DRM. Does nothing but inconvenience your own customers, Error 37, while the pirates will have their private servers up within the month. 3/10 No world PvP. For me this is always an important aspect of multiplayer games. 2/10 No PvP at all. Sure we are promised some months from
    Starting by assuming an average game is a 5/10.
    RMAH, Pay to Win. I can't can't accept this. 4/10
    Always online DRM. Does nothing but inconvenience your own customers, Error 37, while the pirates will have their private servers up within the month. 3/10
    No world PvP. For me this is always an important aspect of multiplayer games. 2/10
    No PvP at all. Sure we are promised some months from now, but so what? Some WoW arena type thing? I doubt I'll still be playing by then. 1/10
    Very short. Almost hilariously so, but then I remember the $60. I blew through this in maybe 5 hours and with no friends. 0/10
    Terrible graphics. Is this 2006? Am I playing Alpha WoW? -1/10
    Clickfest gameplay. Yes it has always been a fault with Diablo, but a fault is a fault. -2/10 Too many scripted events. Just plain don't like them. -3/10
    Too "streamlined." A.k.a casualisation to try and appeal to the lowest common denominator, giving them no credit whatsoever, I like to think people are smarter than this Blizzard. -4/10
    The story. More lolcorruption from Blizzard, with Metzen setting up a redemption apparently, how original. Also ANGEL SOUL RAID END. -5/10
    Diablo looks like an anorexic Balrog now. Why? He's always looked muscular and RED, not skinny and black. -6/10 Some of the cut-scenes looked pretty. -5/10

    Overall I'm very disappointed with this, it hasn't improved over Diablo 2 in any respect and it's been over a decade since then. Perhaps I'm being overly critical because of this fact, but even then Diablo 2 was never that great. I still have faith in Blizzard, or want to have it, but with WoW since Wrath, SC2 and now this...
    I hope that Titan blows me away and restores my faith.
    Expand
  80. May 15, 2012
    2
    Dumbed down severely. pay 2 win AH and a constant online connection is required to faulty servers. Good job Blizzard, you are catching up with EA. Hopefully Torchlight 2 can replace this bitter taste.
  81. May 15, 2012
    0
    Briefly this is not Diablo. This is a bad version of WoW. No more darkness and grit. Instead we have a game stripped to the bare bones of simplicity and bright colors. That is if you can even log on. And then hope you do not crash. Something as simple as equipping a shield on your templar companion if you are a DH means game crash. Stay away from this horrid crap. One question to theBriefly this is not Diablo. This is a bad version of WoW. No more darkness and grit. Instead we have a game stripped to the bare bones of simplicity and bright colors. That is if you can even log on. And then hope you do not crash. Something as simple as equipping a shield on your templar companion if you are a DH means game crash. Stay away from this horrid crap. One question to the pathetic money grubbers at Blizzard: You had this same thing happen during the stress test and you knew how many preorders sold yet you still could not devote enough servers to handle it? Expand
  82. May 15, 2012
    10
    It's diablo 3 not diablo 2-2, you can't expect just a refreshed diablo 2. It's a new game, give it a chance and don't review based on battlenet, review on the game.
  83. May 15, 2012
    0
    Don't waste your time and money on this game. It's not even close to Diablo 2 or even Diablo 1. Blizzard is just trying to use it's famous title to milk customers.
  84. May 15, 2012
    1
    Sadly i was expecting a better game. No character customization, no more attribute points to distribute, which would easily make the game a little deeper. And skills unlock automatically... this is a disaster.
    It seems like blizzard released their second bad game. First one was the world of warcraft.
  85. May 15, 2012
    10
    A phenomenal game. A warning of caution however, it does require access to internet to play, which is probably the only downfall of this superb game. With the addition of a Real Money Auction House, coming next week it'll make it easier for those who want to see some real dollars for their in-game work. Thanks to the tighter control over who's connecting to Battle.net (admittedly aA phenomenal game. A warning of caution however, it does require access to internet to play, which is probably the only downfall of this superb game. With the addition of a Real Money Auction House, coming next week it'll make it easier for those who want to see some real dollars for their in-game work. Thanks to the tighter control over who's connecting to Battle.net (admittedly a double-edged sword) there will be far less gold farmers ruining the in-game economy. Do yourself a favour and check it out. If you're a fan of the first 2 Diablo games, then definitely check it out. The campaign is over 20 hours of game play for a single play-through and of course, any fan of Diablo knows it doesn't end there. Expand
  86. May 15, 2012
    4
    Game had a bery bad launch. The graphics looks like they took WoW and turned it into an isometric game and slapped the name Diablo 3 on it. Very disappointing.
  87. May 15, 2012
    4
    This game really gets my jimmies in rustle. The characters in it move way too slow. How can anyone enjoy a game where nobody can into fast? What a joke. You can't fight the power and pierce the heavens if you're moving at turtle-pace speeds. Blizzard, I am disappointing. But enough with this - I'm off to sit on my throne in Bel-Air.
  88. May 15, 2012
    2
    This game epitomizes the intrusiveness of digital right management done wrong. Always online connectivity does not translate well to a game that has single player elements. What if I don't want to play online? Maybe I want to play my character in single player and then later bring him online? That way, I don't have to deal with disconnects while I'm trying to progress, sluggish AI andThis game epitomizes the intrusiveness of digital right management done wrong. Always online connectivity does not translate well to a game that has single player elements. What if I don't want to play online? Maybe I want to play my character in single player and then later bring him online? That way, I don't have to deal with disconnects while I'm trying to progress, sluggish AI and server lag in general?

    As far as gameplay goes, this game improves the combat with varying builds and skills, and the runes were a nice addition to change the function of some abilities. However the value of creating a build is lost because any build can be changed on the fly with no penalty. So the game is very homogenized and boring because of it. Eventually players will find the best build for every boss in the game, and everyone will copy this mathematically correct way of maximizing damage done and minimizing damage taken. While this did occur in Diablo II as well, if someone decided to do a different build for variety they couldn't just switch over when they felt like it to that cookie cutter build. Adding a focus on health orbs and removing the excessive use of potions I found to be a plus overall, though I think potions in this new system should have become more rare (not buyable at a vendor) so we'd come to value potions and rely on random health orbs more.

    Graphics and atmosphere are out the window. Blizzard decided they wanted a Teen rated Diablo, and they made it. This game does not resemble Diablo as a franchise in any way, nothing is gorey, bloody, or satanic. There are spurts of blood on monster when they die, but the bodies disappear quickly. I miss seeing bodies hanging on meat hooks with the Butcher standing behind a bloodied chopping block, just waiting for the unsuspecting adventurer to stumble upon him and run for their lives. "Fresh Meat..." he'd say and you'd go running scared. Graphics might have been technically impressive for a game in 2004. I realize this was a conscious design choice but there's a reason games have low - max settings, for scalability. Max on Diablo III is just low graphics with some shadows and more clutter. Nothing has that satanic vibe from older Diablo games, and I play Diablo for the atmosphere and story primarily. They lost me on both these parts. The story is garbage, no spoilers, but it's just insulting to your intelligence if you value story.
    Overall, graphics are a huge step back, style is reminiscent of Blizzards World of Warcraft, very kid friendly. I would liken Diablo III atmosphere to that house on Halloween whose decorations were bought at Wal-mart. They resemble things that could be scary but just look cheap and underwhelming.

    Overall not a good game, do not recommend you buy it if you are a fan of the older games. Though I'd recommend Titan Quest or Diablo II over this, D2 aged quite well and is still fun today.
    Expand
  89. May 15, 2012
    2
    The game plays smoothly and is easy to pick up and learn. However, contrary to the hype surrounding the recent re-emergence of the "triple-A" series Diablo, this one falls short in terms of storyline, gameplay and user convenience when put next to its predecessor Diablo II. A long (but not exhaustive) list of changes that has bothered me follows:

    Players are required to log online even if
    The game plays smoothly and is easy to pick up and learn. However, contrary to the hype surrounding the recent re-emergence of the "triple-A" series Diablo, this one falls short in terms of storyline, gameplay and user convenience when put next to its predecessor Diablo II. A long (but not exhaustive) list of changes that has bothered me follows:

    Players are required to log online even if they only need to play single player, the player count in any given game has been reduced from 1-8 to 1-4, an in-game cash shop that gives players more power in exchange for real-life currency, the exclusion of a PvP system at release, exclusion of special death animations (that were seen in several alpha videos), an extremely streamlined character development system which limits player creativity/choice in where they want to specialize, a cheesy storyline/dialogue that looks like it belongs more on a Saturday morning cartoon show than on a Mature-rated game and finally, the World of Warcraft-like artstyle and hand-holding quest system which failed to immerse me in an unholy, desolate world like in the past games...

    Personally, I believe Diablo III is more of a new concept for a commercial product to satisfy stock holders than an actual hit game made by people who actually love games and therefore has no long-lasting appeal or value to me. Let us see instead what other independent game developers can do in the Action-RPG department.
    Expand
  90. May 15, 2012
    0
    It saddens me to see such a great franchise coming to such a bad state after so much waiting.

    Don't misundestand me, I didn't overhype this game as many people did, I knew it wasn't going to be same thing as I remember from the screens and gameplay, but damn, when I finally played it... The gameplay has been casualized beyond any posible acceptance, it's just not diablo, it's a childish
    It saddens me to see such a great franchise coming to such a bad state after so much waiting.

    Don't misundestand me, I didn't overhype this game as many people did, I knew it wasn't going to be same thing as I remember from the screens and gameplay, but damn, when I finally played it...

    The gameplay has been casualized beyond any posible acceptance, it's just not diablo, it's a childish game with bright colors, the would should depict rainbows and a happy smiling sun if they wanted to make some justice.

    The colors looks like vomit, it's as simple as that, diablo II had a great art style, that was all replaced by boring textures with some serious bloom problems, I don't know if the devs wanted to make it look like fog, but it just looks bad, if they wanted a good example of fog they should look at the original trilogy of Silent Hill.

    I beat the game in 2 hours, 2 HOURS, I honestly feel scammed, I haven't even been into games in the recent years, yet this still felt like a crappy difficulty design. Why is every single game today trying to be as easy and linear as call of duty?

    And then, the most important thing, it's a god damn single player game, who thought it would be a good idea to add DRM? I'm getting lag in a single player game, hello? Blizzard? it's 2012, what the hell do you think you're doing?

    To Blizzard, you've disappointed me, I won't be buying any other of your products anymore, and your games, I don't even think they'll worth pirating

    Yours Truly,

    The Disgusting Yakui
    Expand
  91. May 15, 2012
    3
    Really the RMAH kills the game.
    It's the justification for the always online killing modding and LAN.
    The game really isn't long because of this, it may be alright for the 10 or so hours you play, but accept that the RMAH almost directly kills longetivity. I'd wait until the game is piratable or something, because right now it's not worth the money. It's a shame that blizzard has
    Really the RMAH kills the game.
    It's the justification for the always online killing modding and LAN.
    The game really isn't long because of this, it may be alright for the 10 or so hours you play, but accept that the RMAH almost directly kills longetivity.

    I'd wait until the game is piratable or something, because right now it's not worth the money. It's a shame that blizzard has completely turned it's back to the real fans for more money.
    Expand
  92. May 15, 2012
    1
    It's pretty much World of Warcraft with a higher camera angle. Did the new Blizzard devs even play the older Diablo games? The game lacks soul, the art is good but it's not gloomy - everything to too vibrant. You can tell Blizzard 2.0 could care less about voice acting, they hired people for cheap and you can hear it.
  93. May 15, 2012
    0
    - Online only single player.
    - Disney storytelling.
    - Cartoonish monster design.
    - It is only 2-5 hours long.
    - Looks like Wow.
    - Blizzard sure knows how to hype, the cancer killing videogames.
    - Outdated graphics, Titan Quest has better models and textures, game from 2006!! - Evident viral marketing, come on Blizzard, be more subtle - etc etc
  94. May 15, 2012
    0
    I beat the game already.
    It's so damn easy I think I'm going to have to try a no items run instead. This is what happens when they get the team from world of warcraft to make the game, instead of the team from diablo 2.
  95. May 15, 2012
    0
    So, this is it. This is how Blizzard falls. First, they mutilate World of Warcraft with Cataclysm and Mists of Pandaria (WoTLK was pretty boring though not as bad). Now they crank out this turd, Diablo 3. Where do I even start? Constant online DRM, no character customization, poor cartoony graphics, real money auction house, 6 hour long campaign (and that's when paying attention to theSo, this is it. This is how Blizzard falls. First, they mutilate World of Warcraft with Cataclysm and Mists of Pandaria (WoTLK was pretty boring though not as bad). Now they crank out this turd, Diablo 3. Where do I even start? Constant online DRM, no character customization, poor cartoony graphics, real money auction house, 6 hour long campaign (and that's when paying attention to the story). This is a joke! I think if I were put in charge of Diablo 3 even I could do a better job.

    No excuses Blizzard. This is your worst release yet. This game took nearly as long as Duke Nukem Forever and is even worse than that game. You are disappointing fans across the world and you will lose tons of money and fans. I hope this sprouts your death, because you're killing the gaming industry with such garbage.

    Do not buy this game!
    Expand
  96. May 15, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect in very aspect, the cinematics are incredible the graphics are amazing , its the best hack'n'slash of all time, try it and you will love it
  97. May 15, 2012
    0
    Terrible DRM that requires you to be online and then terrible support from Blizzard at keeping the servers online and actually allowing people to play, or better said not allowing since they did piss poor job at making descent servers. No character customization in 2012, arguably Diablo 2 looks better/less blurry at times, no lan, no pvp or proper pvp after they add arena.
    Not a good game.
  98. May 15, 2012
    1
    This is the worst JRPG I've ever played. It's hardly playable. Even the story is bad, there are no interesting characters just some boring devil and a character you make. Where are the cool villains like Sephiroth?

    Good points of the game are that the game is colorful and really easy.
  99. May 15, 2012
    0
    Designer Shigeru Miyamoto once said that the first 30 minutes of a game are the most important. So I hope youâ
  100. May 15, 2012
    0
    What a terrible game. The story mode can be finished in 2 hours; you will be left grinding same dungeons over and over for that 'rare loot'. At the same time, someone can pay real money to purchase that item instantly from the real money auction house. I would stay away from this game if you want to keep the video game industry innovating in the right direction. If games avoid paying forWhat a terrible game. The story mode can be finished in 2 hours; you will be left grinding same dungeons over and over for that 'rare loot'. At the same time, someone can pay real money to purchase that item instantly from the real money auction house. I would stay away from this game if you want to keep the video game industry innovating in the right direction. If games avoid paying for games like this, they will be heard and developers will refrain from making games that require 'always online' single player. Granted, online connectivity isn't a big deal, but there is always that time your internet may be out and you want to play on single player (I vowed I would never buy a game after Starcraft 2 and it's online activation/limited access single player one day when I couldn't play when I didn't have internet connection). Regardless, the game seems like it was developed in 6 months, and not 11 years. I gave this game a 0 to even up the scores as there will be drones that give this game 10/10. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    90
    My one major complaint is that the game never feels very difficult, especially on Normal. There are frustrating moments, hordes of baddies, and increasing difficulty levels, but the same feeling of utter defeat never really happens as it did in the past.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 18, 2012
    80
    For all the game's missteps, though, you certainly can't accuse Blizzard of phoning it in - if anything, the game suffers from the tendency to try a little to hard at times to evolve the design. [Aug 2012, p.61]
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    When it works, Diablo III is the best of the Diablo games. When it doesn't, all it does is make you mad. [July 2012, p.54]