Diablo PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 904 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 904
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SickPerson
    Apr 22, 2010
    10
    I visited this site out of morbid curiosity. I can't understand how some people get so adamant over a mere game. But anyway, I love Diablo so much that I frequently have wet dreams over it and I have been known to masturbate while playing. Oh, and once I was so engrossed in the world of Diablo that I forgot to eat for about six days...I lost about ten kilos. No joke, man. And one I visited this site out of morbid curiosity. I can't understand how some people get so adamant over a mere game. But anyway, I love Diablo so much that I frequently have wet dreams over it and I have been known to masturbate while playing. Oh, and once I was so engrossed in the world of Diablo that I forgot to eat for about six days...I lost about ten kilos. No joke, man. And one time I felt so in love with the game that I couldn't help but lick the screen for a while. I'm not proud of that. I know it's weird, but stranger things have been known to happen amongst game freaks. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    I should really just sum this review up in two words: "Diablo Clone." Wait, where did that come from? Oh yeah, it came from this game. If you have never heard of a Diablo clone, then you are pretty much a newb. Diablo copied the action sequences of some popular ASCII games, added in some stellar graphics and sound (for their time), and made a story that would make Lucifer himselfI should really just sum this review up in two words: "Diablo Clone." Wait, where did that come from? Oh yeah, it came from this game. If you have never heard of a Diablo clone, then you are pretty much a newb. Diablo copied the action sequences of some popular ASCII games, added in some stellar graphics and sound (for their time), and made a story that would make Lucifer himself cringe. The game was simple, but also had some complexity. The level layouts were completely random. The item drops combined random item properties in a prefix-base-suffix setup in which each randomly generated section had a massive number of possibilities.
    Skills were not tied to classes, but were instead tied to books that you found on the way! You could be a warrior with fireballs or a wizard in Gothic Plate! Experiment all you wish!
    There was some great single player, multiplayer via LAN and B.net, and most importantly, wide open PKing to add layers of challenge to the game.
    This game revolutionized the ARPG genre, or perhaps even created it! For what it was in its day, there were very few games to challenge, let alone top it. For this reason, Diablo 1 gets my highest recommendations!
    Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    FlavioV. you're an useless retarded, together with the others who gave this game a low score. you useless idiot, did you realize that this game was released in 1996, almost 20 years ago and you're complaining for the graphics? useless retarded whiny human being. Retarded useless idiots.
  4. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Released in 96 this game was the first of its kind and generally just as good as it gets.
    Enjoyed it for countless hours, even more with the hellfire addon and mods like varahya/khans.
    Judged by that it clearly was a 10/10 game even if i probably wouldnt pick it up again today for the same reasons i wouldnt pick up civilization 1 or duke nukem 3D again.
  5. May 19, 2012
    10
    A revolutionary game for its time in all respects. Yes it had its share of bugs. The words town killed still engenders feelings of deep resentment among old time fans. Yes it does not compare to the richness of current gaming. Though its graphics are aged and outdated, the sound, voice acting and atmosphere are a morosely compelling as it ever was. Few will ever forget their firstA revolutionary game for its time in all respects. Yes it had its share of bugs. The words town killed still engenders feelings of deep resentment among old time fans. Yes it does not compare to the richness of current gaming. Though its graphics are aged and outdated, the sound, voice acting and atmosphere are a morosely compelling as it ever was. Few will ever forget their first meeting with the butcher or their battle with the Skeleton King. For many, myself included, it was their first foray into online multiplayer and it was good. It was not the saccharine world of nintendo, the slow turn based strategy games that dominated the PC scene then or the increasingly arcane 2d fighter. It was a dark and accessible world where anyone could enter but few would ever leave. We miss you Blizzard North and we will never forget this game. Expand
  6. MishaR.
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    Perhaps the only downside of the game is the lack of quests.
    For every diablo fan -- go visit Diablo Evolution at http://www.diablo-evolution.com it's a very interesting site with TONS of info about the content which didn't made it and they also feature a playable crash-prone version giving you an expeirence of those old unreleased versions.
    P.S. That's not an advertisement. ;)
  7. May 26, 2011
    9
    The original Diablo not only ushered in an era of clickfest action-RPGs for the PC, it probably also helped revive interest in computer roleplaying games in general, though ironically action-RPGs eventually killed off hardcore RPGs five year later, with Arcanum being the final game of that era (that said, Diablo is not actually that far from the hardcore dungeon crawling RPGs like theThe original Diablo not only ushered in an era of clickfest action-RPGs for the PC, it probably also helped revive interest in computer roleplaying games in general, though ironically action-RPGs eventually killed off hardcore RPGs five year later, with Arcanum being the final game of that era (that said, Diablo is not actually that far from the hardcore dungeon crawling RPGs like the Icewind Dale and Might & Magic series). Diablo may not be as refined as later action-RPGs, nor as deep as the hardcore RPGs, but the gameplay still enjoyable, rewarding, and addictve, with a unique gothic fantasy setting, well-emphasized by the dark, heavy and genuinely creepy atmosphere permeates through the game, an atmosphere that was sadly and sorely lacking in Diablo II (which I consider to be an inferior game, for this reason). I'd go as far to say that the original Diablo is one of the most atmospheric roleplaying games ever released - and atmosphere is very important for roleplaying games. Expand
  8. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    Not perfect, but for its time nearly a decade and a half ago this game was great. The mood and feel of this game surpasses its sequel, as does its music. However, I will knock a point off for the cheats that ran rampant and for the painfully slow walking despite giant maps.
  9. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    The original atmosphere. I loved this game, and though its getting old, it still brings me dark memories. I remember playing this in darkness and encountering Diablo for the first time *chills*. Play it now because you like the story line, and because you need the original scare!
  10. Feb 21, 2012
    7
    While diablo is a weaker 'game' than diablo 2. I think it has a superior atmosphere. However since most of what you do in this game is kill monsters, collect loot, sell loot, return to monsters - the atmospheric bleakness only shows it's stunning head on occasion. For it's time, this game blew my mind. Loot was presented so well, everything was so attractive, what the next floor wouldWhile diablo is a weaker 'game' than diablo 2. I think it has a superior atmosphere. However since most of what you do in this game is kill monsters, collect loot, sell loot, return to monsters - the atmospheric bleakness only shows it's stunning head on occasion. For it's time, this game blew my mind. Loot was presented so well, everything was so attractive, what the next floor would bring was a mystery of sorts.The online implementation was second-to-none. I sincerely miss the darkness and gothic morbid feeling of diablo 1. That said, diablo 2 did everything significantly better, and still retained enough of the atmosphere to make the entire package grander. And diablo 2 has a hell of a lot more lasting power due to the massive depth improvements over it's prequel. Expand
  11. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    In reviewing Diablo you have remember that video games have developed A LOT over the years, games didnt just spontaneously become as functional and as complex as they are today and Diablo has contributed a step in the progress and evolution of its genre. Diablo 1 was a great game for its time and still holds up very well, its only our impatient side of being over spoilt modern gamers thatIn reviewing Diablo you have remember that video games have developed A LOT over the years, games didnt just spontaneously become as functional and as complex as they are today and Diablo has contributed a step in the progress and evolution of its genre. Diablo 1 was a great game for its time and still holds up very well, its only our impatient side of being over spoilt modern gamers that makes Diablo outdated, but when you stripe impatience aside Diablo becomes one of the timeless greats of the 90s. The design and service of Battle net is perhaps the most important and influence contribution that Diablo brought, the simple and addictive real time gameplay, the item/ loot system, stat character customisation are fantastic. The atmosphere is great (better than Diablo 2 and 3!), the simplicity and charm of the monster and environment design, the gothic story, the dark tones of despair, the random level generator all were original at its time and have since been copied and recopied in the industry today. Diablo is one of my favourites and a great and important game of its time. Expand
  12. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Wow i have to weight in here 8.1 come on guys shame of you little youngsters go play with you Wii.
    First of all this is an Action RPG which has a huge community now, the game was great then Diablo 2 is still great now with a relatively huge community for a decade old game and now we wait for Diablo 3 but that s neither here nor there. I will Admit this game is no fun now but back in the
    Wow i have to weight in here 8.1 come on guys shame of you little youngsters go play with you Wii.
    First of all this is an Action RPG which has a huge community now, the game was great then Diablo 2 is still great now with a relatively huge community for a decade old game and now we wait for Diablo 3 but that s neither here nor there. I will Admit this game is no fun now but back in the day it was. "Times change scores don't" - Me
    Expand
  13. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    i can not believe that people call this a good game no its a great game the first in his class all other "hack&slash" out there are base on this tiny game. People that review this game like Thosa vote 2 times a 4 and a 0 need to get a life. People like "Griper below in the negative commend you find them need to get a **** slap. No stop the crap. If you dont like hack&slash game dont botheri can not believe that people call this a good game no its a great game the first in his class all other "hack&slash" out there are base on this tiny game. People that review this game like Thosa vote 2 times a 4 and a 0 need to get a life. People like "Griper below in the negative commend you find them need to get a **** slap. No stop the crap. If you dont like hack&slash game dont bother to even play it let alone to review it why because its lame and false to give false information about the game. Diablo was back in the days 1997 the hit simpel cd and you are good to go on your 4/86 with 33mhz and 4mb ram (dont forget the turbo mode) yah simple as that new people dont try this because so outdated style you will not like this horribly graphics for this age. Its like playing on your best pc the snes games or commodore game in the early games. For the fans of hack and slash games meet the king and try it, Expand
  14. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    A great game for its time, sure people complain about how the levels all look the same but truely the are not, they are randomly generated dungeons which give you some of the best replayability. It was a ten for its day and age, and I have a feeling it's comming back with Diablo 3, all for what Ghast said, 96-98 if they remade it with new models, textures, and more customizable classes
  15. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    When Diablo was released, it was the best RPG of its time. Even though there are only 3 characters does not take away from the gameplay. The dynamic maps are great, they ensure that every trip through the dungeon will be different. The sounds and music added greatly to the game. Diablo is, and probably will be one of the greatest games of all time.
  16. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    What more can I say about this game other than truely groundbreaking and amazing for its time. Diablo introduced me to the RPG franchise and have enjoyed my stay ever since.
  17. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    One of the most important games ever made.

    It is STILL scary if you play now. The butcher doesn't make me wet my pants like he did the first time anymore, but knowing that if you die, you're going to have to get all your stuff back is just nerve-racking. Possibly the most atmospheric RPG ever made. Or if that's going too far, then easily the best music. The only thing that makes
    One of the most important games ever made.

    It is STILL scary if you play now. The butcher doesn't make me wet my pants like he did the first time anymore, but knowing that if you die, you're going to have to get all your stuff back is just nerve-racking.

    Possibly the most atmospheric RPG ever made. Or if that's going too far, then easily the best music.

    The only thing that makes it an adjustment to play today is the lack of run/walk.

    I play this at least once a year and have since it came out.
    Expand
  18. Oct 23, 2014
    10
    I remember when I first played demo of first DIABLO. It was just amazing. Music was just perfect. Its way better than those in all new instalments. Dark, heavy atmosphere - again perfect. Innovative loot system. Even story was quite interresting. in 1996 gameplay was really perfect for me. For couple of years to come this was really one of my favourite titles. When I come back to this gameI remember when I first played demo of first DIABLO. It was just amazing. Music was just perfect. Its way better than those in all new instalments. Dark, heavy atmosphere - again perfect. Innovative loot system. Even story was quite interresting. in 1996 gameplay was really perfect for me. For couple of years to come this was really one of my favourite titles. When I come back to this game now it seems almost like some indie game, its so slow compared to D3. But it still is one of the most important game in gaming history. Expand
  19. KarmaNinja
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This game is a true classic. It may not have extraordinary gameplay or graphics, but it still brings you in for more. As another commenter stated the atmosphere is brilliant. There's nothing scarier than the screams that pierce the night as you get further down the cathedral, or the first time you hear The Butcher. @Steven H, you seriously didn't use the Sorceror right if you This game is a true classic. It may not have extraordinary gameplay or graphics, but it still brings you in for more. As another commenter stated the atmosphere is brilliant. There's nothing scarier than the screams that pierce the night as you get further down the cathedral, or the first time you hear The Butcher. @Steven H, you seriously didn't use the Sorceror right if you only saw it as a "comedy option". Sorceror is by far the most OP class in the game. Expand
  20. Aaron
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    D2 was much better then D1 but hey if u like it better not my fault :-P. I think the Expansion is the best i play like 60 hours a week{seruisly}.
  21. GhastMaster
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    I still play this game, ten years after it was made. It was a groundbreaking game when it was first introduced. I still have not found all the items I want.
  22. Belltoller
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    This game is a classic; it was groundbreaking in a myriad of different ways. The people who rated it a zero are probably 12 year old little boys.
  23. AlecR.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    A perfect game, even today. It's very dark (though not very scary) and the gameplay is awesome. Besides Diablo 2 and maybe Titan Quest, no game has ever done hack-and-slash RPG action better than this. Thosa, who gave the game a 0 said that he only played 3 levels and quit, made Thosa sound incredibly stupid, which I hope he isn't. If you play Diablo, you have to understand that A perfect game, even today. It's very dark (though not very scary) and the gameplay is awesome. Besides Diablo 2 and maybe Titan Quest, no game has ever done hack-and-slash RPG action better than this. Thosa, who gave the game a 0 said that he only played 3 levels and quit, made Thosa sound incredibly stupid, which I hope he isn't. If you play Diablo, you have to understand that this game was made 11 years ago, so I found one reviewers remark that the graphics were feeble so funny. And second, you don't need good graphics to make a good game, which today's youth are obsessed about. Speaking of which, the reviews who gave it a zero, must be younger than 12 years old. They must be 8 years old and terrified of games that are rated Mature. I can't stop playing this game and the sequel. Death to the reviews who have it a zero! Expand
  24. Simon
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    Unbeatable atmosphere and storyline, combined with the best graphics of its day. Diablo was and is a true classic.
  25. C.C.
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    This game took the carrot system to new heights. Many hours wasted/valuably used in front of my PC.
  26. MilenkoCastillo
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played in my life. You could even try to compare it to some of today's kind of games, and see it is just awesome. Very cool story, and the graphics(for his time) were complement to the whole dark ambient and its music. For those who say "The score about the Devil and hell and its title translated to spanish seems to be a bad taste joke", muerete hijoOne of the best games i have ever played in my life. You could even try to compare it to some of today's kind of games, and see it is just awesome. Very cool story, and the graphics(for his time) were complement to the whole dark ambient and its music. For those who say "The score about the Devil and hell and its title translated to spanish seems to be a bad taste joke", muerete hijo de la gran maraka. Expand
  27. Pete
    Aug 11, 2007
    8
    I would have to give this a 7.5 to 8 and going down the more add-ons you keep introducing. Nothing seems to get upgraded, and the weapons configurations seem so random and difficult to figure out. Also the cube recipies...come on get real.
  28. GhastMaster
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    I'm still playing diablo 11 years later... It's my favorite game of all time. It has great replay value, mood, and awesome item randomization. I wish more modern games would go back to the root of gaming and devolop a game like this with updated(not necessarily 3d) graphics and bug fixes. Diablo was rife with bugs. I would pay 1000 dollars for a decent game, but they don't I'm still playing diablo 11 years later... It's my favorite game of all time. It has great replay value, mood, and awesome item randomization. I wish more modern games would go back to the root of gaming and devolop a game like this with updated(not necessarily 3d) graphics and bug fixes. Diablo was rife with bugs. I would pay 1000 dollars for a decent game, but they don't make them too often. If Diablo was updated and they fixed the glitches/bugs, and kept the style but at the same time updated the graphics, I would pay 1000 dollars for it. Basically, if this game was remade today with all the new fancy technology, it would rate around 97. Cheers. Expand
  29. Crane
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    This game is quite a legend, i spent many days playing this title and i never got bored. Diablo hasn't got the best graphics especially these days, but the atmosphere is outstanding. Personally i don't understand guys that rated this game with 1 or 0. I suppose that they're a bunch of retards or kids jerking off in front of WoW or other dumm MMORPG. Hey boys! This game is This game is quite a legend, i spent many days playing this title and i never got bored. Diablo hasn't got the best graphics especially these days, but the atmosphere is outstanding. Personally i don't understand guys that rated this game with 1 or 0. I suppose that they're a bunch of retards or kids jerking off in front of WoW or other dumm MMORPG. Hey boys! This game is not about lvling and and skilling your characters, it's about a great story and challange. I used to play Diablo several times with the same hero to get top items from other quests (quests are a bit random too). Every single time it was the same fun. Screw the mass shit, hail to the legend - DIABLO! Expand
  30. SomeAnonymousGuy
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    Ugh really all the people that rated this 0 or 1 really ought to actually try to play this game! I mean it is pretty brutal when it comes to fights but it is still an absolutely amazing! You can not find a better Hack 'n' Slash/RPG.
    I bide my time for Diablo 3.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    A feast of atmospheric entertainment. While it might tire after a while, you'll likely get your money's worth long before that point, and moreso if you venture into the chaos that is Battle.net, where life takes on a whole new meaning and the hours slip mysteriously away. Diablo is a landmark game.
  2. About as close to Hell as you're going to get - whether you believe in it or not. Everything about this game just rules and it will blow you away. The gameplay is the easiest I've ever come across in an RPG which is just fantastic.
  3. If you're looking for an action RPG with medieval roots and influences, dark and moody settings, and unique game play, then run to your nearest retailer and pick up a copy of Diablo!