DiRT 3 PC

DiRT 3 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 447 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DiRT 3 will boast more cars, more locations, more routes and more events than any other game in the series, including over 50 rally cars representing the very best from five decades of the sport. DiRT 3 delivers mud, sweat and gears world over: from the intense weather-beaten rally stagesDiRT 3 will boast more cars, more locations, more routes and more events than any other game in the series, including over 50 rally cars representing the very best from five decades of the sport. DiRT 3 delivers mud, sweat and gears world over: from the intense weather-beaten rally stages of Europe, Africa and the US, to executing performance driving showcases and career challenges where car control is pushed to spectacular limits. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    91
    A fantastic achievement for Codemasters that will do fans proud.
  2. Jun 2, 2011
    90
    Dirt 3 is a great game, a superb racing experience with stunning visuals and a long and varied career.
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Jun 24, 2011
    90
    Even if you kept ignoring DiRT games for quite some time, you should give this one a try. [July 2011, p.116]
  4. May 20, 2011
    88
    With Dirt 3 Codemasters finally re-focuses on what the Colin-Mc-Rae-series once stood for: real rally races, that make up about 60 percent of the game. The rest is a well-balanced mixture of evenly enjoyable race-types, inkluding the tricky Gymkhana events. The awesome car selection features a lot of classics from the 60's all the way to modern WRC cars - driving them is a ton of fun. Just don't expect a true simulation here.
  5. PC Format
    Jul 12, 2011
    86
    Not quite the inspired sequel we had all hoped for, but there's still enough in DiRT 3 to bring the fans back. [Aug 2011, p.96]
  6. PC Gamer
    Jul 14, 2011
    85
    Tremendously fun and mostly pothole free, this gorgeous and flexible off-roader has something for every driving fan. [Sept 2011, p.70]
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    67
    Looks like Codemasters really struggled with DiRT 3, piece by piece cutting everything that could have saved this game from going off the cliff.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 104
  2. Negative: 31 out of 104
  1. May 25, 2011
    10
    I caught myself laughing joyfully while racing an old Toyota down a sandy road into a kenyan sunset. Not many games can do that. This oneI caught myself laughing joyfully while racing an old Toyota down a sandy road into a kenyan sunset. Not many games can do that. This one let's me know again why I play games. Yes, it is a bit sad they abandoned the festival style menus and neutralized the atmosphere from Dirt 2 , but it's not all bad because the menus are now much quicker to navigate through. All the trolls are crying about it... and the graphics... and the controls but honestly, it's still the same engine as in grit and dirt 2! it handles exactly as you're used to from codemasters race games, which is formidable. if you can't handle it, try another car or turn on some of the various help functions. And it looks brilliant: the raceway with tessellation textures, the spectacular lighting, the water looks better and the new weather effects fit in perfectly. This is the Crysis of Race Games: untouchable. On the downside are the usual too easy and monotonous career mode and the high rate of course recycling (night/day, weather, backwards).
    But all in all: the best race game since Dirt 2. If you're a NfS Driver or GT5 and annoyed, stick to the engine you know and don't come here flaming. It's in the end always a matter of taste and preference. But Codemasters made my summer for sure :)
    Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2017
    9
    Codemasters lo vuelve a hacer con este titulo, mejorando todo los aspecto en relación con el anterior, mayor numero de vehículos, pistas,Codemasters lo vuelve a hacer con este titulo, mejorando todo los aspecto en relación con el anterior, mayor numero de vehículos, pistas, pruebas, mejoras de sonido y gráficos, una delicia. digno sucesor de lo que fue alguna vez Colin McRae Rally. Muy Recomendado Expand
  3. May 25, 2011
    9
    Great game so far. love it. well worth the wait! Make sure your TV is set to game mode so the handling response is at its best. I noticed aGreat game so far. love it. well worth the wait! Make sure your TV is set to game mode so the handling response is at its best. I noticed a big difference after changing this. Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2011
    7
    Dirt3 has many improvements to the series such as better weather fx, improved handling and models, however there's still a few majorDirt3 has many improvements to the series such as better weather fx, improved handling and models, however there's still a few major issues.... firstly the rally events are far too short, codemasters need to roll back the clock to the vintage rally games where stages were 25mins long not a maximum of 5mins. Rallycross is pretty much fine, but again codemasters lack of tracks for most of the event types (and using way too many trimmed and mirrored routes) is dissapointing. To throw fuel on the fire, it's quite cheeky to release half a game then have to double the price of the purchase to get all the DLCs to make for a fully game, so depite loving this game there no way I'd give it top scores unless you find it acceptable to fork out £20 on DLCs less than a month or so after release Expand
  5. May 24, 2011
    5
    A waste of money for me. Not a simulation but too arcade, too easy, not that fun. Very little rally competitions, the game seems to beA waste of money for me. Not a simulation but too arcade, too easy, not that fun. Very little rally competitions, the game seems to be everything except for rally. Laoding times are excessive and they occur too frequently. Menus are a chaotic-melting-salad. Youtube sending option is a broken feature. Graphics are not that miracle, certainly a step backward in comparison with dirt 2 (they added weather conditions as a consolation prize). A really disappointing game. If you want to buy a good and challenging racing game this year i would suggest you to grab Shift 2 Unleashed. Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2013
    4
    Fancy an entertaining rally game with good driving model that you can turn on every now and then for a few rides? This probably isn't the gameFancy an entertaining rally game with good driving model that you can turn on every now and then for a few rides? This probably isn't the game for you.

    I wouldn't mind that rally itself makes 20% of the game content, because the driving model in this game is actually pretty well executed. There are, however, other annoying things that I do mind in a game I paid for. A game that, on the outside, makes it look like you're getting a complete package. Don't fool yourself, you're not.

    The game shoves it to your face pretty much everywhere you go, that you can buy additional content. The purchasable content doesn't actually extend the game as you may be used in other titles. It completes it. This game makes you feel like you're playing a demo version of an actual game, not a full AAA title. In pretty much every race series, there's a race to be bought. In every car class, there are cars to be bought—great many of them, unfortunately.

    Add to it the content reuse that you're gonna see in pretty much every game. Oh, you're driving in Finland again? Nothing bad with that, or is there? There is. You're gonna go through the same turns that you've seen in previous races, they're just put together in a different order than before.

    Fancy some freestyle driving with Ken Block at your back? Don't worry, he's not gonna give you any proper advice on how to drive. His role there is just to add a little diversity to the annoying voices you're going to be hearing every time you want to race, every time you finish a race and every time you're trying to click your way through the annoyingly put together menu. Transitions in the menu take so long that you're gonna spend 20 seconds clicking through, loading excluded, before you even get to get a go at a 90 second race.

    The game has a hotkey for uploading your races to YouTube. No idea who came up with that feature, but you're gonna be reminded of it every second race: 'That was great, Amigo! You should put it on YouTube'. Time developing this 'feature' would have been much better spent building real rally courses.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    I feel Im getting punked, right now my issue is that I can`t get it to run in full screen mode although I went into the system files andI feel Im getting punked, right now my issue is that I can`t get it to run in full screen mode although I went into the system files and changed the fullscreen mod to true from false. before that I had the hassle to make an account so I can play this game on games for windows live, WTF? I play games for having fun, not to be harassed and frustrated. Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Trailers