Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 316 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DiRT 3 will boast more cars, more locations, more routes and more events than any other game in the series, including over 50 rally cars representing the very best from five decades of the sport. DiRT 3 delivers mud, sweat and gears world over: from the intense weather-beaten rally stages of Europe, Africa and the US, to executing performance driving showcases and career challenges where car control is pushed to spectacular limits. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    91
    A fantastic achievement for Codemasters that will do fans proud.
  2. Jun 2, 2011
    90
    Dirt 3 is a great game, a superb racing experience with stunning visuals and a long and varied career.
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    90
    Even if you kept ignoring DiRT games for quite some time, you should give this one a try. [July 2011, p.116]
  4. May 20, 2011
    88
    With Dirt 3 Codemasters finally re-focuses on what the Colin-Mc-Rae-series once stood for: real rally races, that make up about 60 percent of the game. The rest is a well-balanced mixture of evenly enjoyable race-types, inkluding the tricky Gymkhana events. The awesome car selection features a lot of classics from the 60's all the way to modern WRC cars - driving them is a ton of fun. Just don't expect a true simulation here.
  5. Jul 12, 2011
    86
    Not quite the inspired sequel we had all hoped for, but there's still enough in DiRT 3 to bring the fans back. [Aug 2011, p.96]
  6. Jul 14, 2011
    85
    Tremendously fun and mostly pothole free, this gorgeous and flexible off-roader has something for every driving fan. [Sept 2011, p.70]
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    67
    Looks like Codemasters really struggled with DiRT 3, piece by piece cutting everything that could have saved this game from going off the cliff.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 87
  2. Negative: 22 out of 87
  1. May 25, 2011
    10
    I caught myself laughing joyfully while racing an old Toyota down a sandy road into a kenyan sunset. Not many games can do that. This one let's me know again why I play games. Yes, it is a bit sad they abandoned the festival style menus and neutralized the atmosphere from Dirt 2 , but it's not all bad because the menus are now much quicker to navigate through. All the trolls are crying about it... and the graphics... and the controls but honestly, it's still the same engine as in grit and dirt 2! it handles exactly as you're used to from codemasters race games, which is formidable. if you can't handle it, try another car or turn on some of the various help functions. And it looks brilliant: the raceway with tessellation textures, the spectacular lighting, the water looks better and the new weather effects fit in perfectly. This is the Crysis of Race Games: untouchable. On the downside are the usual too easy and monotonous career mode and the high rate of course recycling (night/day, weather, backwards).
    But all in all: the best race game since Dirt 2. If you're a NfS Driver or GT5 and annoyed, stick to the engine you know and don't come here flaming. It's in the end always a matter of taste and preference. But Codemasters made my summer for sure :)
    Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    (My Xbox 360 review available as well) First off, let me say that I am also one among many that hate the 'Windows Live' log in just so you can save your game and actually get stuff done. But it's a small step back for how fun this game is. Yes, there isn't a lot of traction and more often than not you'll slide off the track and crash into a tree. But, that's just part of challenge, besides, it's a rally racing game, so it has to be at least somewhat realistic. Overall, nice graphics, cool cars, and addicting challenges all over. 10/10 Expand
  3. May 27, 2011
    9
    Great graphics, sound, interface design, game play solo and multiplayer, and last but not least, the price is right. What's not to like? It's not a sim. Translation equals NOT BORING. It's fun! Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    DiRT 3 is not as great as previous Codemasters rally games which actually focused on the World Rally Championship more than other modes and there is still a question mark as to the game's future after Games for Windows Live is shutdown for good. However, the game is still entertaining with awesome visuals and audio to boot. Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    6
    Who the hell decided that it ought to be impossible to make the tutors stfu inbetween races.., I came here for driving, not wasting my time on worthless hints and bad jokes.

    Besides that, it seems fair enough. But come on, ABS brakes and speed control on by default? Makes as much sense as playing CoD with a paintball gun. (You can turn it off obviously though).
    Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2014
    5
    You'll really want to love this game, but as much as you try, it will beat you into submission.

    The problems start with a menu system that
    I can only describe as baffling, like they gave it to the intern and he got his degree at a trust fund art college. It's a series of unfolding triangles that give you zero sense of your overall progress. Are you improving? Moving up the rankings? Who knows. Cause if it's one thing we race game fans like it's to have absolutely zero sense of our progress.

    Next you get to see their DLC advertised obnoxiously throughout the game. It's a constant reminder that while you paid full price for the game, they lazily threw in a few extra cars and other dumb stuff that took them 15 minutes to program while they licked In-n-Out grease off their chubby fingers.

    But the biggest sin of Dirt 3 is the driving just isn't much fun or satisfying. Dirt 2 and Grid really nailed the driving, and at the end of the day that's all that matters. Dirt 3 is either condescendingly easy with all the driver assists turned on, or a sloppy ice rink mess when they're not. There are literally times on certain tracks when the car becomes uncontrollable for no reason, usually in the form of your breaks having no effect (but in other parts of the track it's like the calipers are stuck closed). So you end up strategically "sneaking up" on these sections of track, breaking way ahead of when you should need to, just so the game won't send you flying through the air like a rag doll.

    The drifting, in particular, is terrible. No combos or flags like in Grid. If you like to do handbrake turns, look elsewhere. They put you sideways every time and control is basically non-existent until you finally come to a stop.

    Bottom line: Frustrating, unsatisfying game play is enough not to recommend Dirt 3. But add on the terrible interface and DLC and you might have enough reason to think twice about Dirt 4.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    I feel Im getting punked, right now my issue is that I can`t get it to run in full screen mode although I went into the system files and changed the fullscreen mod to true from false. before that I had the hassle to make an account so I can play this game on games for windows live, WTF? I play games for having fun, not to be harassed and frustrated. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews