DiRT 3 PC

DiRT 3 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 458 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DiRT 3 will boast more cars, more locations, more routes and more events than any other game in the series, including over 50 rally cars representing the very best from five decades of the sport. DiRT 3 delivers mud, sweat and gears world over: from the intense weather-beaten rally stagesDiRT 3 will boast more cars, more locations, more routes and more events than any other game in the series, including over 50 rally cars representing the very best from five decades of the sport. DiRT 3 delivers mud, sweat and gears world over: from the intense weather-beaten rally stages of Europe, Africa and the US, to executing performance driving showcases and career challenges where car control is pushed to spectacular limits. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dirt 3 Compound Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    91
    A fantastic achievement for Codemasters that will do fans proud.
  2. Jun 2, 2011
    90
    Dirt 3 is a great game, a superb racing experience with stunning visuals and a long and varied career.
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Jun 24, 2011
    90
    Even if you kept ignoring DiRT games for quite some time, you should give this one a try. [July 2011, p.116]
  4. May 20, 2011
    88
    With Dirt 3 Codemasters finally re-focuses on what the Colin-Mc-Rae-series once stood for: real rally races, that make up about 60 percent of the game. The rest is a well-balanced mixture of evenly enjoyable race-types, inkluding the tricky Gymkhana events. The awesome car selection features a lot of classics from the 60's all the way to modern WRC cars - driving them is a ton of fun. Just don't expect a true simulation here.
  5. PC Format
    Jul 12, 2011
    86
    Not quite the inspired sequel we had all hoped for, but there's still enough in DiRT 3 to bring the fans back. [Aug 2011, p.96]
  6. PC Gamer
    Jul 14, 2011
    85
    Tremendously fun and mostly pothole free, this gorgeous and flexible off-roader has something for every driving fan. [Sept 2011, p.70]
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    67
    Looks like Codemasters really struggled with DiRT 3, piece by piece cutting everything that could have saved this game from going off the cliff.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 105
  2. Negative: 31 out of 105
  1. May 25, 2011
    10
    I caught myself laughing joyfully while racing an old Toyota down a sandy road into a kenyan sunset. Not many games can do that. This oneI caught myself laughing joyfully while racing an old Toyota down a sandy road into a kenyan sunset. Not many games can do that. This one let's me know again why I play games. Yes, it is a bit sad they abandoned the festival style menus and neutralized the atmosphere from Dirt 2 , but it's not all bad because the menus are now much quicker to navigate through. All the trolls are crying about it... and the graphics... and the controls but honestly, it's still the same engine as in grit and dirt 2! it handles exactly as you're used to from codemasters race games, which is formidable. if you can't handle it, try another car or turn on some of the various help functions. And it looks brilliant: the raceway with tessellation textures, the spectacular lighting, the water looks better and the new weather effects fit in perfectly. This is the Crysis of Race Games: untouchable. On the downside are the usual too easy and monotonous career mode and the high rate of course recycling (night/day, weather, backwards).
    But all in all: the best race game since Dirt 2. If you're a NfS Driver or GT5 and annoyed, stick to the engine you know and don't come here flaming. It's in the end always a matter of taste and preference. But Codemasters made my summer for sure :)
    Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2017
    9
    Codemasters lo vuelve a hacer con este titulo, mejorando todo los aspecto en relación con el anterior, mayor numero de vehículos, pistas,Codemasters lo vuelve a hacer con este titulo, mejorando todo los aspecto en relación con el anterior, mayor numero de vehículos, pistas, pruebas, mejoras de sonido y gráficos, una delicia. digno sucesor de lo que fue alguna vez Colin McRae Rally. Muy Recomendado Expand
  3. May 25, 2011
    9
    Great game so far. love it. well worth the wait! Make sure your TV is set to game mode so the handling response is at its best. I noticed aGreat game so far. love it. well worth the wait! Make sure your TV is set to game mode so the handling response is at its best. I noticed a big difference after changing this. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    From a not so car racing oriented PC gamer point of view, I really can't say precisely how much this really succeeds as a rally racing game,From a not so car racing oriented PC gamer point of view, I really can't say precisely how much this really succeeds as a rally racing game, since I've never played a lot myself and this is my FIRST try at C.M. series, but I do acknowledge it's quite arcade-ish since I've so happened to play a rally session in GT4...and the feel on that game was a tad more realistic. Other than that the graphics on maxed out settings look GREAT, the single player campaign (Tour) could be better if Ken Block's stunts&gimmicks would take a hike once in a while and the multiplayer modes are quite challenging and fun, especially if you have some friends to join in the race. Too bad though some maps could use some patching and the game is generally not yet 100% bug free. Audio and soundtrack is not bad, unfortunately the soundtrack is forced off during gameplay, so no music while you're racing!...why so serious Codemasters? Why not let me decide? I paid the damn thing didn't I? :/ To be short the looks are gorgeous but the substance is IMHO shamefully lacking...and if this comes from a newbie (in this genre) like myself, than some of you rally fans out there might just get seriously offended trying to play Dirt 3. #valid8# Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2011
    5
    Once again Codemasters makes a great Driving game and then totally destroys it by adding something that is absolutely ridiculous! Yes I amOnce again Codemasters makes a great Driving game and then totally destroys it by adding something that is absolutely ridiculous! Yes I am referring to the Gymkhana or however you spell it stunt driving crap! Where it not for this crap I would have rated Dirt 3 above Dirt 2 But it has totally ruined my enjoyment of the game because it has stopped my progress dead in Dirt Tour. I have a sim driving **** with a Logitech g25 wheel and have the hand break mapped to the clutch peddle and Dirt3 setting on hardest and I can tell you even with these highly sensitive analog controls this gymkhana nonsense is impossible to control! I don't mind coming 4th of 5th in a rally at top difficulty setting but this Gymkhana stuff is crap. Codemasters please remove it form the game. Here's how you make dirt 4. 1. Improve graphics for realism.
    2. Improve physics like rFactor. Stick to Rally Cross world championship! There! you have a winner. The only thing that is improving about Codemasters driving games is the graphics. Everything else is going backwards. If you haven't already bought this game take the advise of a long time sim racing enthusiast and get rFactor 2 instead. Alternatively if you are a console user drop dead!
    Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2011
    4
    since i first started playing racing games, no game was ever more enjoyable than any of the colin mcrae rally games, they consistently gotsince i first started playing racing games, no game was ever more enjoyable than any of the colin mcrae rally games, they consistently got better... and dirt 1 was the pinnacle. so naturally after clocking more hours than i can count on it. i got dirt 2, and was very let down.

    dirt 3, i don't have anything nice to say about it.. except for maybe the graphics.

    there is hardly any rally in this game, hardly any rally stages at all.. and the rally stages that are in this game last for about 2 minutes, which you can zip through, without crashing because theyre not challenging at all. the tracks are wide, hairpins and sharp turns are seemingly non existant. but worst of all is the gymkhana events. they are frustrating, and pointless. and you are forced to do them to progress through a season.

    if there is a dirt 4, i wont be buying it. i regret purchasing this.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    I feel Im getting punked, right now my issue is that I can`t get it to run in full screen mode although I went into the system files andI feel Im getting punked, right now my issue is that I can`t get it to run in full screen mode although I went into the system files and changed the fullscreen mod to true from false. before that I had the hassle to make an account so I can play this game on games for windows live, WTF? I play games for having fun, not to be harassed and frustrated. Expand

See all 105 User Reviews

Trailers