User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 134
  2. Negative: 56 out of 134

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 30, 2012
    6
    Hmmm scrape all the leftover offal from the recent DIRT games and make a Flatout clone.... how could it possible go wrong? First off, most people hated all the Gymkhana crap so making a game dedicated to it with some demo derby stuff is okay I guess, it'll sell by droves on consoles, but on PC? not a chance. The music is beyond poor...large collection of tired "Bro-Rock" and "Dubstep" makes you knock that off within first hour of play. The damage model is actual very minimal considering it's using the DIRT3 EGO engine... stupid beyond belief to reduce physical damage models on a game that should have it even more extreme and visually destructive. The graphics are decent but unspectacular due to over colorfulness and bland texturing, the car models are good but that's about it. So what about the handling? oh jesus christ what did they do? cars all feel like they are made from fibreglass and not metal hulks, wheelspin is terrible and momentum issues give them no feeling of weight. The menu system is utterly crap, taking far to long to chug between options and get into the races, with very laboured movement and often non-skippable waffle. So whats the good points??? well no GFWL this time around, but uses Codemasters new "Racenet" so with that being a new system it may turn out just as bad, or maybe fantastic... will have to suck that and see over time. Overall the game feels very cheap and bolted together like frankenstein's monster of DIRT giblets... it doesnt have enough in it to be considered a full game as many tracks are taken directly out of previous DIRT series games and should have been a £10 DLC for Dirt 3. Collapse
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    Short-Therm fun. With friends really better, but not perfect.
  3. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    Departures from the main series games are never good. Is in this case is the same? No, the creators really, put their order to the main series Dirt fans feel at home, just a little different. The game offers us a great atmosphere. Why? Exploding fireworks, great colors, the emotions of people around whom we go, there is nothing, I, I fell into this game really great. For this is a nice solution Demolition derby is really cool and can be great fun with them. In addition to the new things we have here the dirt. He drives great, of course, terribly easy, as befits a series Dirt, but I think the fans like it. It is a pity, however, that the 3/4 game, however the game becomes monotonous (which can be a worry), things start to get bored. Developers need not just at the end we make the usual racing showdown that simply do not fit. I know that many miss this game a wide berth. I, however, started to it and I really liked it. I really recommend it to fans away from the major races in the dirt 3 and briefly caught up in the world of entertainment. My Rating - 8/10 Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    This is a really good racing game and a nice expansion. Not the usual rally, if that's what you're looking for, get DIRT 2 or the Colin McRae rally games that are splendid but avoid the horrible monstrosity that it is DIRT 3.

    I can't stand Ken Block or whoever is making cringeworthy comments all the time during the races, but that's just a minor thing.
  5. May 6, 2013
    9
    There are 4 things very wrong with this game, 1 There aren't many LICENSED cars, 2. There is no view, 3.It's hard to find multiplayer games and 4. This game shouldn't be called DiRT.

    This game has almost NO relation to the DiRT franchise in any way, DO NOT VIEW THIS AS DiRT 4, DO NOT VIEW THIS AS A RALLY GAME and certainly don't view it as a Simulator.

    Even though I went in
    expecting DiRT, I still came out very satisfied with only a few minor gripes, one being the commentator, another being the lack of licensed cars. Apart from those, I really loved DiRT Showdown, it's such an fun experience and it does everything it tries to do right, This game was more of experiment from codemasters, The only thing they have ever done that was even similar to this was the destruction derby mode on GRID(Which btw I LOVED), So it's no surprise here that they have made an entire game out of it and it's pretty damn good, it's got a fair length and very fun and competitive on-line, even more fun than DiRT 3 to be honest with you. There is a huge amount of tracks, I especially love the figure of eight tracks, you end up with very satisfying crashes that look great and keep you on the edge of your seat. This game feels like it should have been an entire NEW IP and they should have left the half-baked gymkahna mode out of this as it's the only thing from DiRT 3 that's still in this game(It's not as good as the gym mode in DiRT 3 either).

    For the cheap price tag on steam, great optimisation and general fun online, this is worth a pick up, Hardcore DiRT fans should stay away! BUT fans of games like flatout, Destruction Derby or even the DD mode in GRID, Should give this a go as it's sure to satisfy, I'm pleased with this game and it was worth every penny!
    Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2013
    7
    First of all we can't campare this game to FlatOut (in my opinion FlatOut 2 is 10/10). But Dirt Showdown is also very funny. Graphics and the gameplay are good, with cool cars and nice challenges.
  7. Jun 29, 2012
    4
    Game is kinda sad compared to all previous release's . The decision to go to arcade instead of old simulation style and also using imaginant cars make it much less fun to play than older parts . Ofc this goes to old players..newcomers would probably like the arcade this game has.
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Yes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in a very long time, and not only that, but you can go online and have crazy matches. I think this game is severely underrated because it has the Dirt name, which disappoints previous Dirt game fans, and scares away people that didn't like Dirt 1-3. Demos are out on all platforms, and even though there isn't much to see on them, anyone who likes smashing cars owes it to themselves to play at least the demo if not the full game. Expand
  9. Dec 23, 2013
    4
    If I could rename this game, I would have named it "Codemaster Derby". Putting the brand DiRT in the name is such a disgrace.

    As we all know, the DiRT series is about rally. Hmm, seems this game has gone far a little bit. The gameplay overall is a bit awkward as it features some races (traditional races, elimination(?)) but also some derby (last man standing, pushing cars off the
    platform, racing in a track full of crossroads). Altogether it don't blend well and I simply can't tell what genre this game exactly is. The game's a bit boring (yeah it's fun hitting cars in 5 mins and 3 rounds) and gymkhana still exists. Ugh.

    The graphics are not appealing or better (How possibly could a derby game have amazing graphics?) The locations are a bit dull. (smelter, somewhere near the sea, mostly sand and dirt) Even Flatout Ultimate Carnage has more locations and graphic features to offer. The music is medicore. The controls are acrade-style so I have nothing to complain about it.

    I really don't get why this game has the DiRT label in it. It's not a rally game and it's not good also.
    Expand
  10. May 27, 2012
    9
    full review http://www.insidepcgaming.com/dirt-showdown-review.php "A fantastic spin-off title worthy of the DiRT name!" 90% Score.. DiRT Showdown is arcade racing at it's best.
  11. May 26, 2012
    0
    This game is terrible.

    I completed the tour mode within a couple of hours,i cant connect to anybody online,its the same repetitive boring racing all the way through,its way too easy even on the hardest difficulty.

    They reuse alot of the tracks and the gymkhana stages from dirt 3 and tracks from dirt 1.

    Very dissapointed,will not be trusting with codemasters products in the future.
  12. Aug 10, 2013
    5
    The game doesn't really gives much satisfaction for completing a race. The game is much more arcade than previous versions of Dirt. The game has added a boost feature which has been used in various other games before. For a game out of the Dirt franchise I wasn't expecting this. Although it has some fun moments the main reason for buying a Dirt game is for the race experience. And that is what this game really lacks in, providing a decent racing experience. Expand
  13. May 28, 2012
    4
    Cheap FlatOut copy with awful destruction model (worse then FO:UC from 2008 and terrible physic). Hope this gymkhana Blocks **** stick with this Showdown series and next Dirt 4 will be real racing only, rally disciplne for best with season progress. Dev work close to zero, circus HUD,stealin thru all series for tracks, enviroments, cars etc. Maybe for 15$ is adequate game, but not for 40 Euro. Garbage. Expand
  14. Jun 5, 2012
    3
    Dirt Showdown should have been a £10-15 add-on for Dirt 3. The demo, albeit short, was enough to tell me that this game is lame. Codemasters should be ashamed of itself for charging full price for this. Shame on you, Codies. Nuff said.
  15. Jul 27, 2012
    8
    I don't understand why everyone hates this game. It's for people who love demo derbies. If you don't like demo derbies, don't play this one. Anyway, the game is very fun. The graphics are extremely beautiful, the car models are nice, the damage engine runs very well, and there are only a few flaws here and there. I have one major issue though: Profile corruption. When I play about 30-100 races, my profiles go corrupt, and I can't play it anymore and I have to start over, it happened many times and I finally started to quit this game. Overall, it was good while it lasted. Expand
  16. Oct 26, 2013
    4
    It's definitely a deviation from the DIRT series, which used to honor Colin McRae pretty well. Hopefully they return to a regular rally based game. There's no manual transmission option, no speedometer, just a health and refilling turbo bar in a cheesy looking tire image. The damage mechanics aren't too bad but get repetitive after a while. The cars don't feel like they have any actual variations besides models. Races themselves, especially demolition, feel like they're a crap shoot for points, the gymkhana inspired mode is perhaps the best. Overall it's quite passable. Expand
  17. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    It's a fun game. There's no noticable burdonsome DRMs. It has good controller support. Even though it uses the xbox controller you can remap the keys to suit you. It's a derby style game. It's like they took the derby from GRiD and added some dirt track racing and through in some crazy drifting stuff. It all just fits together and makes for a fun game. I just regret that it was not as serious as the other DiRT games. It's just "playful". I got it onsale, $30 should have been the very most this game cost. Expand
  18. May 30, 2012
    5
    This NOT a DIRT game, but since it has "Dirt" in its name I must take that into account when writing this review.

    (10/10) GRAPHICS: Very pretty visuals. Car models are great, particle effects are pretty good and damage is also rather well done. All in all this area of the game is nothing to complain about.

    (7/10) SOUND: Cars sound great and so do all the effects like spinning tires and
    so on... Now the SUPER-annoying "announcer" guy is the worst part of all the audio in the game and that is why it loses 3 points (also non-stop explosions and fireworks get old rather quick too). Try listening to "YAY! T-Bonalicious!!!! "BOOOOM!!!" "Awesome over-take DUDE!!!! BAM!!! ......and that happens non-stop in a supposedly driving game.

    (3/10) GAMEPLAY:This is the area where this game fails. Now understand that I might have been more lenient if his game was called simply "Showdown", but since there is a "Dirt" in there I , and many others expected a racing game with somewhat realistic handling. This is completely the opposite of what this game delivers. The handing is so terrible for a racing game I don't even know why it has a "Dirt" in the title, simply should have been called "Burnout Showdown". That's how these cars handle, very close to Burnout arcade style handling. So to sum it all up (because I can go on forever) this game is basically a bunch of "derby" style races and "gymkhana-inspired" events with lots of jumps, fireworks and an annoying guy yelling non-stop. This is NOT what a Dirt game is Codemasters.

    (5/10) Replayability: I would guess that someone who is into completely arcade style racing with dare I say a "hip" feel to it along with a narrator who should have gotten a job as an inspirational speaker might enjoy this game. All others who expected a real racing game should pass on it and not think twice about it.

    TOTAL SCORE 5/10
    Expand
  19. May 24, 2012
    10
    This is the best Game i ever played The phisics is great and the graphic too the sound is legendary the NFS is never so good like this Game Greatings Severin
  20. Oct 31, 2013
    5
    This game is your average demolition derby game. The graphics are great, but the damage of the cars could use improvement. Online mode is sometimes glitchy, but otherwise OK. The features in this game will first make you addicted in this game, but after, lets say 10hrs of game-play, you might just lose interest. Another average demolition game.
  21. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    An amazing combination of superb graphics and amazing control and physics (Gamespy is out of its mind with that review), DiRT Showdown is the absolute best in the series for those use a gaming wheel and for those with multiple monitors. Showdown's greatest strength is indeed in its party modes (Transporter, Speed Skirmish, Smash and Grab etc) and based upon the activity levels in DiRT 3, it's clear that these are exactly the modes that DiRT players covet the most. Pick up this excellent title now with a Steam download code for as little as $7 on eBay. Expand
  22. Jun 3, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is pure crap
    the old FlatOut's is much much better
    Rigs of Rods folks search it on youtube and u will be amazed about real physics
    this physic model must be in every race game
    Expand
  23. Jun 24, 2012
    1
    Utterly dire, little more than a tech demo for the ego engine, its the dirt franchise with all the gaming removed. Dirt 3 was bad enough trying to cater to the US market and ignoring everything that fans had loved since the first McCrae rally was released, now the series slips even further into banal obscurity; simplistic crap churned out for the redneck masses.
  24. May 31, 2012
    2
    I don't get all hot and bothered about names so i didn't mind playing a FlatOut style game named Dirt. Especially considering how much last FlatOut sucked. New Dirt however isn't much better. It's main problem isn't abandoning it's roots. It's the fact that it is just a poor game. Primitive tracks, primitive driving, primitive progress structure, primitive damage model. The appeal of destruction derby is missed completely. Cars get destroyed waaay too quickly. And then they respawn. There is no thinking involved. No careful trading of ones car health for opponents damage. No satisfaction of barely surviving. No challenge of driving severely damaged car (barely alive one drives like new). The only positive thing to me was car design. It's fairly imaginative. Obnoxious general style (I'm not your bro or dude FFS) forced down your throat and an annoying soundtrack from the kind of bands who are sure that any music is good if its played sufficiently loud and that lyrics do not matter as long as front man shouts them complete the picture.

    Not only isn't it a Dirt 4 (not a problem in my book) but it is also a very tasteless and pathetic attempt at a FlatOut. Avoid.
    Expand
  25. May 30, 2012
    9
    Good graphics and nice fun :)Yes maybe something come from Codemasters but its also nice game.Maybe not powerfull as NFS but its ok :) i recommend game for who like arcade play style racing
  26. May 24, 2012
    4
    Poor physics, cars seems like solid boxes, too arcade for something coming from Codemasters, annoying game menus, was expecting something much better for that price. I'm very disappointed.
  27. May 28, 2012
    8
    Very fun game! I played it a lot the first couple days. The single-player campaign ended up being about 12 hours long for me, of coarse that's with doing many of the events several times to get a 1st place. There isn't the customization of car handling that there was in the previous games, but I personally always found figuring that out to be a pain in the but, so I'm glad its gone, I can get right on to the main business of winning! I've always enjoyed the rally-cross and land-raid events the most in previous DiRT games, so this game hits the spot for me. I also didn't care for the presentation of DiRT 3 and they fixed that with this game too. There are fireworks everywhere there should be, and I've really been enjoying the soundtrack, which actually plays while you race too, and fits in perfectly to add to the epicness! I also wasn't a huge fan of the gymkhana events in DiRT 3, but they've managed to make them WAY more fun in Showdown, so that I actually enjoy doing them. The multiplayer works very well, when there is anybody to race against. There isn't the options that the previous games had though, you only get to choose from a catagory. Want to just play the 8-ball? TOO BAD! you have to play all the destruction events in the catagory, ect. And, there is only ever people in the "everything" catagory or the "destruction" catagory, so if you want to do something in the "party" catagory but ppl are in the "destruction" catagory, well too bad. They really could have managed the multiplayer better. And the Racenet "social website" doesn't even have a forum or anything, as far as I can tell its completely pointless. If it did have a forum, like the battlefield 3 site, that'd be dandy. It'd be great to have somewhere to **** about the lack of multiplayer options. Lowered from 10 to 7 after finishing the SP and going on to multiplayer because of the lack of players and options in multiplayer. Expand
  28. May 26, 2012
    0
    This game is absolutely atrocious. I can just imagine the developers saying, "Hey, did you like any of the previous games in the Dirt series? Well here's something completely different!" They're clearly just using the Dirt game to get people to care because it in no way resembles any of those games. Why can't anyone just make a racing game anymore without ruining it with unnecessarily frustrating and entirely unfun challenges? Expand
  29. Jun 2, 2012
    3
    I played the Demo with my Logitech G27 and love this game, except my "supported G27 wheel " does not work in the game. The Code Masters - Dirt3 - Dirt Showdown forum states that supported wheels (Logitech G27) work in game. I would rate a 10 if my wheel worked like advertised in the Demo. I lost $50 on false advertising. Do not buy if you have a Steering Wheel. It is a Bait and Switch deal to me.
  30. Jun 4, 2012
    1
    I've come to expect greatness from DiRT games and this one just doesn't live up to what it should (for the money). If the game was free it would be pretty damn cool but I can't recommend anybody paying for it. The physics on the game are horrible, very boxy. I felt like I was playing an arcade game. That being said, I'll give it some credit for having somewhat fun game modes but I honestly wanted to stop after the first hour and never pick it back up again. That's not a good thing. Expand
  31. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    Wow. I found this game to be an absolute disgrace of the Dirt franchise. Even for an arcade style game the cars drive like shopping trolleys, the TINY amount of tracks are repetitive and boring, and the demolition derby style events get old very fast. Really would recommend staying away from this one...
  32. May 2, 2013
    0
    A horrible waste of time!

    This game feels like taking Blur, dumbing down the graphics a couple of years, and going back to controls from the early 90's (Think Destruction Derby 1). However unlike Blur the levels are ridiculously small, the selection of cars laughable and handling decidedly bad (even when taking into account that this is a arcade-game, regardless of the false marketing
    claims in using "DiRT" in the title). This has NOTHING to do with the "real" DiRT-games, let alone the Colin McRae-rally-games. You can't even select which gear to use anymore! If only Codemasters had the decency of giving back the money i paid for this game, because it is by far the worst game i've played for years! Oh yeah, and the menus and music makes even Dirt 3 seem quick and nice-sounding. They're ridiculously slow, and the "hey, bro"-style of the commentators and general (unskippable...) speak is painfully bad, and makes me want to choke myself in my headphones' cord.

    No matter what you're looking for, you wont find it in this game, move along!
    Expand
  33. Mar 1, 2014
    0
    Game is completely unfair. Knockout person in first sits there, impossible to take down and even if you get there, their car rips your to shreds for no reason. The derby event where you knock the cars down, if there is a group of cars and you knock them all off, you get credit for 1 of them, not the 4 or 5 that you actually knocked down. Horrible game. I got it for like 1 dollar and still feel ripped off. Expand
  34. May 30, 2012
    0
    Hmmm scrape all the leftover offal from the recent DIRT games and make a Flatout clone.... how could it possible go wrong? First off, most people hated all the Gymkhana crap so making a game dedicated to it with some demo derby stuff is okay I guess, it'll sell by droves on consoles, but on PC? not a chance. The music is beyond poor...large collection of tired "Bro-Rock" and "Dubstep" makes you knock that off within first hour of play. The damage model is actual very minimal considering it's using the DIRT3 EGO engine... stupid beyond belief to reduce physical damage models on a game that should have it even more extreme and visually destructive. The graphics are decent but unspectacular due to over colorfulness and bland texturing, the car models are good but that's about it. So what about the handling? oh jesus christ what did they do? cars all feel like they are made from fibreglass and not metal hulks, wheelspin is terrible and momentum issues give them no feeling of weight. The menu system is utterly crap, taking far to long to chug between options and get into the races, with very laboured movement and often non-skippable waffle. So whats the good points??? well no GFWL this time around, but uses Codemasters new "Racenet" so with that being a new system it may turn out just as bad, or maybe fantastic... will have to suck that and see over time. Overall the game feels very cheap and bolted together like frankenstein's monster of DIRT giblets... it doesnt have enough in it to be considered a full game as many tracks are taken directly out of previous DIRT series games and should have been a £10 DLC for Dirt 3. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 28, 2012
    59
    Top Gear host Jeremy Clarkson once wrote in his blog that he honestly doesn't remember anything about a car that was sent to him for reviewing – it was that unremarkable. I had a similar moment with DiRT Showdown – I forgot to review it upon release.
  2. Jul 12, 2012
    78
    Dirt Showdown provides thrills while it lasts, but afterwards you're left wanting the deeper experience of its parents. [Sept 2012, p.60]
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    80
    We haven't had this much fun since Destruction Derby on the PS1. [July 2012, p.58]