User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 76
  2. Negative: 12 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JE
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Great game, can't see why people are having controller issues an complaining about 'floaty' feeling. These can all be solved by setting your car up better. With a few tweaks here and there you can solve handling problems. Great tracks and cars. Amazing graphics. More emphasis is placed on off roading U.S. style than good old European rallying. This is Colin McRae for the Great game, can't see why people are having controller issues an complaining about 'floaty' feeling. These can all be solved by setting your car up better. With a few tweaks here and there you can solve handling problems. Great tracks and cars. Amazing graphics. More emphasis is placed on off roading U.S. style than good old European rallying. This is Colin McRae for the American market. Expand
  2. MarcoL.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing game. the only reason people can be complaining about the controls is because they are only used to nascar/F1 racing games, if you know what I mean. I do understand however that some hardcore CM fans might be disappointed with this one though, since it focus more on variety than in hardcore rally, but i certainly like it more this way, I've been playing nothing but This is an amazing game. the only reason people can be complaining about the controls is because they are only used to nascar/F1 racing games, if you know what I mean. I do understand however that some hardcore CM fans might be disappointed with this one though, since it focus more on variety than in hardcore rally, but i certainly like it more this way, I've been playing nothing but this game for the past week. Simply staggering. Expand
  3. JayE
    Aug 10, 2009
    9
    Wow! This game is impressive. I've played all the Need For Speeds, Midnight Clubs, Test Drives, etc.. nothing comes close to the detail and gameplay of this game! The graphics are unbelievable and the sound is great, the vehicle dynamics are honestly the best I've ever experienced! Its very realistic, but not over the top and annoying like other games. I agree that the controls Wow! This game is impressive. I've played all the Need For Speeds, Midnight Clubs, Test Drives, etc.. nothing comes close to the detail and gameplay of this game! The graphics are unbelievable and the sound is great, the vehicle dynamics are honestly the best I've ever experienced! Its very realistic, but not over the top and annoying like other games. I agree that the controls are tricky and hard to get used to, so if you want to play a simplified arcade game like Sega Rally or Daytona, you have come to the wrong place. When you do master the controls (which should take a few hours+), its fun and challenging at the same time. Some tracks can be very hard to finish 1st, but its the kind of game where you don't get bored replaying the same track over and over. Every time you play, you improve your skill, and winning the race is rewarding. Driving on the German slopes in a Peugeot 307 with a Logitech G25 Steering Wheel set to 270 degrees rotation - amazing stuff! Expand
  4. DaveP.
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    Stunning game. Top-notch graphics, intense gameplay, LOTS of content. Simply the best racing game on PC.
  5. BP
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    It's much more of a "game" than GTR2, but that also makes it much more accessible, and just oh so beautiful. Each track is truly a delight to drive. Probably my favorite driving game in many years of playing racing games.
  6. DaveW.
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    This is the best driving/rally game I've played since the original Colin McRea Rally on the PS1. It controls well, looks better than any driving game released to date, has a ton of tracks over a variety of modes, and has a very full featured online rally mode. The interface also deserves props for being stylish and original. The only thing that stops me rating this 10 the lack of This is the best driving/rally game I've played since the original Colin McRea Rally on the PS1. It controls well, looks better than any driving game released to date, has a ton of tracks over a variety of modes, and has a very full featured online rally mode. The interface also deserves props for being stylish and original. The only thing that stops me rating this 10 the lack of support for the various racing modes online. Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    I am yet to play DiRT2 and DiRT3 but this is simply superb. A really good rally game with excellent graphics (considering that it was made in 2007), very good gameplay and the kind of game which gives you a satisfaction once you have completed all the races. I have finished this game twice and I am sure I will give it one more go :) Initially it may appear tough especially if you come fromI am yet to play DiRT2 and DiRT3 but this is simply superb. A really good rally game with excellent graphics (considering that it was made in 2007), very good gameplay and the kind of game which gives you a satisfaction once you have completed all the races. I have finished this game twice and I am sure I will give it one more go :) Initially it may appear tough especially if you come from the Need For Speed side of the world but once you get the hang of things and understand how the vehicles handle this is the game that you will recommend to one and all. Expand
  8. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This is a nice rally. Why, because it has a lots of RALLY in there! Not like Dirt 2 and Dirt 3, they don'thave more then 3 diferent maps and some rally. So this Dirt 1 is the best Dirt of all three.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. McRae's finest outing to date (minus, of course, Colin himself). The new types of racing offer far more variety of gameplay, the sound effects are impressive and there are eye-searingly gorgeous graphics and an excellent career mode to boot.
  2. As a graphical showpiece, DiRT is an unbridled success. It also happens to be an entirely enjoyable rally racer.
  3. So in all, DiRT definitely stands out as a premiere racing game. The gameplay is great—though it may take a bit of getting used to for those you stick to common racing games—and the graphics help push it along as well.