Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    90
    If you liked Dishonored, but always thought it could have done with a more interesting protagonist and a dash more mystery, you're not only right, but also in luck: The Brigmore Witches delivers just that!
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    90
    Brigmore Witches brings about a satisfying conclusion to the Dishonored narrative, and like Knife of Dunwall before it, not only augments the over-arching story, but stands on its own. If you can pick up a copy of the game at some point with all the DLC in tow, I’d highly recommend it for Daud’s two DLC tales alone.
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    90
    All I really wanted was more Dishonored, but what I got was something that surpasses it. Intricate level design, nuanced worldbuilding, and gameplay that demands a thoughtful approach even when resulting in flashy, bloody violence -- The Brigmore Witches is setting the bar very high for future stealth romps.
  4. Aug 31, 2013
    85
    Coming in at about three to five hours length, The Brigmore Witches is still a great bit of DLC if you’re looking for a way to scratch your Dishonored itch. Yes, it is more of the same, but when it's good and comes with interesting new characters, who’s going to complain, right?
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    85
    Combined with The Knife of Dunwall, The Brigmore Witches and the story of Daud is exactly what Dishonored’s DLC needed to be – a fun side-story with an interesting character that adds to the main story but doesn’t take anything away.
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    Another great DLC, with three interesting missions, two new locations with a lot of stuff to do, an interesting storyline with deep connections to the original game and also a new, almost survival horror, general feel. If you're a fan of Dishonored, you cannot miss it.
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    85
    In an industry that values selling content in an effort to keep game discs rooted in their trays despite the constant ebb and flow of novelty, Brigmore Witches shows how developers can really get expansion content right, making the extra expense worth it and increasing the value of the experience delivered from the original title.
  8. Sep 16, 2013
    83
    A fine finale, which more than makes up for the failings of the first DLC and tells a great side-story of its own.
  9. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    Expands Dishonored’s lore and provides three missions that are not overly extensive but provide enough content to keep you occupied for an hour each. [11/2013, p.79]
  10. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    It might lack the brisk sense of mystery that propelled the first half of Daud’s story, but it ends on a far more satisfying and conclusive note that both expands upon the possibilities of the universe and sheds new light onto the events of the main game.
  11. Aug 15, 2013
    80
    The Brigmore Witches does honour to the base game it expands on.
  12. Aug 15, 2013
    80
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it: The Brigmore Witches keeps Dishonored's winning formula intact (with some twists) and extends it to a bunch of new missions, that won't add anything crucial to the original game but will still please its fans.
  13. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    An unmissable DLC for the Dishonored fans, with added gameplay ideas, powers to enjoy, and a story ending well worth its 5 or 6 hours of play and price. But you'll definitely need to have played The Knife of Dunwall to enjoy it fully.
  14. Aug 26, 2013
    72
    Arkane made a mistake of cutting Daud’s story into two separate DLCs because all the good stuff is in the second part.
  15. Aug 13, 2013
    65
    The Brigmore Witches ignores the tension and build-up that its predecessor established, both narratively and mechanically. Instead of continuing from where Knife left off tonally, Brigmore starts a few feet back and to the left, and it suffers until it manages to find design ideas to call its own.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This story is absolutely fantastic !
    Best of all Dishonored stories. It has a moral, it has emotions, it made me start original Dishonored
    game once again, just to be part of all that. I adore the choices game let you make. This and Deus Ex series are my favorites. Period. Full Review »
  2. LMW
    Aug 13, 2013
    9
    Just finished that DLC. It took me 6 hours to beat it on Elite with a Ghost achievement. I mention this just to give you an example of how long this DLC might last if you play completely stealthy and without killings. Now, a few words about the DLC itself. As you probably know, "The Brigmore Witches" continues the story of assassin Daud, killer of the Empress and Corvo's rival. His skills are basically the same and I didn't notice and major changes from the first DLC, "The Knife of Dunwall" in terms of atmosphere game mechanics. However, that does not make this DLC less fun it contains great story, dark and brutal cutscenes (which perfectly blend into the script), decent-looking environments and very satisfying overall experience. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoyed original Dishonored and "The Knife of Dunwall". Full Review »
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    I rarely will ever give a 10 much less to a DLC. That 10 comes with a caveat if you have not played or did not enjoy The Knife of Dunwall, or you did not think highly of Dishonored period, please avoid this as it is much more of the same, which to me is fantastic. While the game play stays the same, the story is really well told. The dialogue is very well done and really well delivered. The sound is great, the graphics are top notch and the game play continues to be rewarding and addictive. With Knife I got around 5 to 6 hours of game play and Witches gave me an additional 8 hours for a total of 40 hours for the full game and DLC for a single play through. Considering I got the game on sale for $20 and spent $20 on the DLCs, a dollar an hour for extremely enjoyable entertainment is very worth it. Full Review »