Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    93
    If you enjoyed Dishonored you know exactly what you are in for here.
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    90
    Play it with care and attention, and this is another six hours or so of Dishonored for a mere £8. In short, this is the DLC I've been waiting for since October of last year.
  3. May 13, 2013
    89
    The Knife of Dunwall is a very good DLC for a great game! [May 2013]
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    88
    Although playing as Daud might seem a strange choice, his complex life lends itself to an interesting narrative. This interesting narrative offers new insights into the city of Dunwall and one of the original game’s most unsympathetic characters.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    Knife of Dunwall is more or less the same as the base game of Dishonored; well put together, but can be short depending on your playstyle. The only area that felt 'new' to me was the slaughterhouse, and the abilities/items added didn't really do a good job of differentiating Daud from Corvo. Still, a story about Dunwall is always welcome. Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Very minor spoiler. The knife of Dunwall adds 3 big maps to the game.The first map is set in Rothchild Slaughterhouse, a huge factory where the not-so-good people of Dunwall process whale oil. I felt sorry for poor whales and fishes while I snaked my way through rooms filled with gutted sharks, meat hanging from hooks and blood everywhere. The whole map had a very inhumane and dark mood to it. You can also read books about the cruel methods of whaling here (Perfect anti whaling game). On this map you can fight with a new type of enemy that is hard to take down in combat. The second map is set on the wealthier city district, including a huge building which was fun to sneak through and rob. The third map is set on a map familiar from Dishonored: Daud's base. Every map is rather huge with many ways to approach every enemy and situation. Side quest, lethal or non-lethal mission are also present. There are some new weapons (electric mines, Choke Gas etc.) and some new powers and bone-charms. Overall I enjoyed the game, and will do a second play through. The story was good, but felt unfinished (I guess other campaign DLC's will explain and further develop some thing.) Overall Knife of Dunwall adds some memorable gaming hours to the original game, and further expand the lure of the world. Recommended. Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Now I had no problem with Corvo, but Daud was a much more interesting character to play. The claim of new powers is basically false, they are simply slightly altered versions of Corvo's powers. However the change to Blink added alot of fun and made up for it, imo. At 10 bucks for this DLC it is JUST worth the price, a dollar more and I would have had to down-rate it. Unlike when I ended Corvo's story, I found myself wanting more of Daud when I ended the DLC. Full Review »