Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the time when both magic and technology were at their peak in the Divinity universe, Dragon Commander tells the story of a young dragon knight who fights for the survival of Rivellon when his father, the king, is brutally murdered for opposing the teachings of a new religion. Six nations - the elves, the dwarves, the imps, the undead, the lizards and the humans - must set aside their differences and unite to stop empress Aurora from taking over the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. 100
    Complicated, difficult, different. A true strategy game for the gamers with classical tastes, who have time and will. It's also a pleasant blast from the past, when a genre template was not an option. [Issue#233]
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    83
    Just don’t pick this up hoping to graduate from the campaign to a major and thriving online community – for all practical purposes, consider this to be a singleplayer game first and foremost. And a damn good one at that.
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    80
    Every individual component works so well that you might even wish the game would have focused more on a specific area or genre. This doesn’t hurt the game, but like its aerial controls, it leaves you wanting more. Still, Dragon Commander manages to combine all of its different gameplay elements and delivers one cohesive experience that's highly worth playing.
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    A wonderful and addictive combination of different genres, filled with humor and character. Well worth checking for gamers who are after something fresh.
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    75
    Divinity: Dragon Commander is an atypical but all in all interesting mix of different genres.
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    70
    A weird but interesting hybrid that mixes RTS, RPG, board game and trading card game mechanics in one delightful experience. Unfortunately, even if the mix works, the singular gameplay components aren’t deep enough and the game itself is mined by many minor issues.
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    40
    Without a solid foundation — namely, a better RTS at the bottom of everything — Dragon Commander is a frail novelty that will fall apart shortly after you’ve handled it.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 50
  2. Negative: 15 out of 50
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    This is not an RTS. Or rather, it's as much an RTS as Skyrim is a game about crafting weapons. It's a game that's hard to judge, because it's three very different things, an RPG, a TBS, and an RTS, all wrapped up with a card game on top and a garnish of action gameplay.

    The amazing thing is that in all of it, what comes out is a fantastic game. The graphics are beautiful, the characters are well-realized, and the disparate parts feel like separate parts of a whole experience. Yes, the strategy is a little shallow--but that's because it's not the whole game. The game as a whole is about being, fittingly, a dragon commander. And it's great.
    Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Phenomenal game. Combines a number of successful features from other games and blends it all into something unique and all it's own.

    It
    takes a number of cues from Starcraft 2, in particular exploring your ship and interacting with crew, upgrading your units and researching upgrades and then throws in certain political elements by giving you a council of advisors and 6 races to appease. Between missions those advisors often bring political issues to your attention and let you choose whether to approve or disapprove them, which will have ramifications on your standing with certain races/factions. The issues brought to your attention are reflective of modern quandaries, such as legalising marijuana, gay marriage or conscription.

    It's worth noting too that all of the characters are delightfully voice acted and extremely likeable/hateable. There's no sincere generic fantasy tropes or cheesy voice acting here. There *are* fantasy tropes but they're used mainly for humour, as well as to highlight the political issues (the elves are ultra liberals and a conservative's nightmare, the Dwarves ultra conservative, and the Undead religious fundamentalists).

    The campaign itself is functional enough, very reminiscent of Battle For Middle Earth 2's custom campaigns, whereby you upgrade provinces and buy units and invade enemy lands over a series of turns (build/buy and attack/defend). The battles themselves too are functional, with the units and combat bringing to mind Rise of Legends and the first Battle For Middle Earth respectively, with free building slot points scattered over the map that must be contested.

    In all, a unique game with nothing else quite like it out there, and oozes charm.
    Collapse
  3. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    8.7/10
    Its very enjoyable game a great mix of RTS and RPG. I really like political choices u have to make and how they affect gameplay. Im
    not big fan of RTS but in this game im enjoying it very much. The dragon form in RTS battles is very clever invention and handy in dire situations. Story is predictable but still good enough to keep u interested. Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2013
    7
    You know how people say that things like religion and politics are best left out of conversations with friends? Divinity: Dragon Commander puts these concerns front and center, and places you in the hot seat to make all the tough calls, delivering a real-time strategy experience that, though lacking refinement in some areas, makes your decisions in the throne room as important as the ones on the battlefield. Jumping into an AI skirmish to get a feel for the mechanics first, I was initially unnerved by what I saw. The lack of any fog of war, combined with the wide-open tech tree, made combat feel spineless and unstructured compared to the precise builds and attack timings of StarCraft 2. The art direction is similarly without organization, with pastel and base colors fighting a little war of their own while I tried to reconcile the steampunk unit designs with their arboreal, fantasy surroundings. After being all but slapped in the face with a generic looking “VICTORY!” screen, and being spat back out to the main menu, I anticipated a long, bumpy road ahead of me.
    Split into three different game phases a point-and-click exploration of your ship and its inhabitants, a risk-style world map around involves strategically placing units in turn-based gameplay, and sprawling battlefields where forward-thinking is crucial Divinity: Dragon Commander is clearly trying to appeal to gamers of widely varying preferences and sensibilities. Though the three separate gameplay phases are tied together and balanced quite well, the RPG elements of Divinity: Dragon Commander are significantly more understated than the RTS game mechanics. The player character’s background, for example, is fixed: you are the bastard son of the recently deceased Emperor Sigurd I and a beautiful woman called Aurora, who was a dragon in disguise. When the old emperor is betrayed and murdered by your more legitimate siblings, you are tasked with defending the kingdom from their squabbles and drives towards expansion.
    Character customization is quite limited to picking one of three dragon types, and the remainder of the role-playing is relegated to making decisions about political and social policies, such as whether or not to legalize doctor-prescribed narcotics, or to start taxing the region’s rich and powerful church. Of course, the player’s actual approach to battles and choosing skills to invest in also allow for a greater sense of connectedness with the character (will you research the best machinery available and command from a distance, or dive in headfirst and start flinging fireballs?) but since going to one extreme or the other is a surefire way to make things extremely difficult for yourself, most players would end up taking a middle-ground approach.

    The AI isn't exactly genius level, but it doesn't have to be in order to meet you in the middle of the map for an all-out slugfest, which is what you'll inevitably be doing. Huge deathballs of units (reminiscent of Total Annihilation) collide amusingly while you assume direct control of your dragon, whose customizable ability bar allows him to act as something of a hero unit. Laying waste to armies as a dragon doesn't quite elicit immediate thrills though, owing mostly to how cumbersome it can be to order your legions about whilst in dragon mode. A heavy reliance on awkward hotkey combinations keeps things from ever feeling truly fluid, but once I got used to it, commanding the many unique and powerful units while swooping about and raining death on my foes proved to be a unique sort of fun. As a stand-alone RTS experience, its focus on going wherever your enemy is and getting bloody with them might have rung a bit hollow, but as one cog in a much bigger, more intricate machine, it works quite well.
    Divinity: Dragon Commander definitely shouldn’t be missed for fans of real-time strategy, excelling at the art of tense and exciting battles where planning and in-depth knowledge of available resources is essential. If you were only really interested in the story and RPG elements then the game will most likely leave you feeling a little dissatisfied, but you can always blow up some zeppelins and then fly away into the sunset to cheer yourself up.
    Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2013
    6
    It is odd to see the likes of this game emerge in modern gaming, it is odd and welcome. In these times of modern military/shooter, fantasy/RPG, and other safe bets, to see a game that challenges it and goes straight for a strategy title that focuses on decision making is a welcome change of pace.

    However, one can't simply deny that it's great weakness stops ducking under cover once all the talking is done, and it is time to face the strategy portions of the game. These ones lack any excitement and depth, and honestly, are quite boring at times. I found myself just building a bulk of an army and steamrolling all opposition with one of my generals instead of commanding the troops myself. Albeit, being a dragon and burning everything to ashes is interesting, the novelty wears quickly off.

    The game shines when it comes to the wife and council managing, however. As the emperor, you have to decide in issues and regulations that are en-par with current ones, shaping your empire as you would shape the Federal government. It's a pity to see, nonetheless, that decisions the player character makes do not impact the gameplay in a more substantial manner; you get some flavor text detailing how much of a jerk or a saint you are when deciding on a pressing issue, a headline on the local paper, and some changes in your income or morale.

    All in all, this game is good, it just needs more polish when it comes to the thick of it's real time strategy sections, and a little bit more impact in the decision making. When I started playing I expected so much more, and it fell a bit short, still, it is refreshing to see these kind of more sophisticated games getting green-lighted. I would definitely give it a chance once the price drops.
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2013
    4
    I can't understand people who gave 10 to this game. The game play is a normal RTS with some new ideas players can control the dragon in the battle..), however nothing very special. The graphics are average... for a 2013 PC only game i expect a lot better.
    The campaign is short, not well written and with strange events, for example: at the beginning of the game i had only 2 commanders, they were "hating" my character... then in the first turn i got a neutral territory, i came back to the story menu... suddenly 2 new commanders in addition to the first two are arrived. The old ones now don't hate my character and they said "great battle commander, you're a true warrior"... what battle!?!? I just moved my troops in neutral territory!!!
    This is an unpolished, unfinished, under average game. Not worth 10$. Dunno how they sold it at 40$!
    Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2013
    0
    As a fan of strategy games which I play endlessly on my free time I was happy to see a new game out. Sadly this game should be put back into Alpha and pulled from the Steam store. The biggest issues I've had with it so far on Easy is within 3 turns I've lost my main base despite building units before they come to attack and while inside. They attacked with a massive army, how the hell am I suppose to stop that? 25% chance to win on 3 turns? Secondly I had a fight that had stated that I only had 1% chance to win but I figure I might as well give it a try. It started off good and then 1 minute in I went from 1000 population down to 500...wait what? Where did they all go? I didn't spend them. Then as the fight progressed and I started losing since I've lost half my population within the first minute and had only built a few units I scramble to get a decent size army going. Within 3-4 of minutes after spending 300 so recruits I was getting repeated messages that I was losing 4 recruits because the enemy had more buildings than me? Despite the fact my army was crushing theirs and we were making progress. So I sold my army production buildings when I took back a resource so I can build a new one. The 4 recruits being removed goes so quick and repeatedly that I had lost 100 something recruits and only 1 resource building built before all recruits are gone. What the hell is that? Last but not least, the auto-resolve system. Why would you dare make a strategy game where I can't fight all battles? Why am I forced to auto-resolve battles? Terrible just terrible system. Probably the worst $40 dollars I have ever spent on Steam so far. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews