Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Divinity II is a very solid game, and all that Gothic 3 should have been.
  2. 88
    It was a long wait for Divinity II but it was worth it. It's a solid RPG in a wonderfully constructed world. It's alive and bustling; fighting is well-designed and novelties like 'mindread' are actually a surplus instead of some gimmick. Flying around like a dragon, spewing fire is the icing on the cake.
  3. The wait to live as a dragon has been worth it.
  4. Strong narrative and open-ended design are the highlights of this fantasy experience. Divinity II: Ego Draconis will likely be overlooked by many due to the timing of its release, but it offers a genuinely engrossing world for RPG buffs to wallow in.
  5. It's not a perfect game, but the surprise of the year: A lot of great gameplay, lots of fresh ideas and a lot of fun. You may like some things more than others, but where else can you annoy a dragon again and again by shouting the name of his nemesis?
  6. The strongest aspects of Divinity II are the excellent story, so long as you are willing to dig it out, and the incredibly open-ended character skills customization. While this game certainly has its flaws, the pros far outweigh the cons, and it is a game that cannot be sipped but must be gulped or possibly even quaffed!
  7. Divine Divinity 2: Ego Draconis is an insider tip of Larian Studios. It’s like Divine Divinity – with better graphics and a story where you can`t quit.
  8. Belgian developers have managed to pull out of the hat an excellent role-playing game. Less extreme than Risen and less classic than Dragon Age, Divinity II - Ego Draconis is able to give an interpretation not revolutionary, but definitely cool to the genre, providing many hours of fun to fans and proposing an adventure accessible to novices. The excellent soundtrack added to the peculiar characterization of the various characters, plunges you into the world of Rivellon making very difficult to go back to the real.
  9. Larian Studios have managed to create good quests that make fun because of all the odd characters and the great self-depreciating humor. But at the same time the game lacks comfort, so that the player has to have a lot of patience in order to see the end.
  10. A nice RPG with good characters and an intense storyline. The only flaw is that it takes to long to get going.
  11. An excellent ARPG that takes the best elements of Divine Divinity and updates them in a imaginative game full of flavor and personality. Engaging combat system, a rich character development, interesting sidequests... all that are the bricks of a very solid game that could be even better without some major problems, like the ending.
  12. Divinity 2 is a pleasant surprise. Is a solid RPG with a funny gameplay and a nice and genuine proposal.
  13. Despite some technical problems and a not so complex lore, Divinity 2: Ego Draconis provides a well crafted mix between RPG elements and action.
  14. Overall Divinity II – Ego Draconis, despite some frustrating aspects proves to be an enjoyable playing experience.
  15. Very long life span is only one of the many pros Ego Draconis has to offer. Fresh dialogues, sense of humor, dragon form and good story together with “diablesque” playability create a first-rate RPG to remember. [Issue#186]
  16. Some will fall in love with its stats and leveling, whereas others will abandon it due to its lacklustre story and polish. [Jan 2010, p.80]
  17. The inability to roast anything on two legs from an overpowering distance away aside, Divinity 2 is a solid RPG if you are looking for a nice real-time romp though a fleshed out fantasy world.
  18. Divinity II - Ego Draconis is definitely a very solid roleplaying game, which is unfortunately lacking at some points. For roleplaying fans nevertheless a must have.
  19. The biggest problem with Divinity 2: Ego Draconis is that it’s been released soon after Dragon Age: Origins. Although it has better graphics than Bioware’s title, it lacks some of its depth, and its gameplay is sometimes too simplistic.
  20. 75
    Divinity II genuinely surprised me; loathe as I am to admit it, I may have entertained the slightest of preconceived notions about the quality of the game, but Divinity II totally shattered them. It may not be ready to take on BioWare's finest, but if you're feeling an RPG (or dragon-riding) jones, you could come up with helluva worse ways to spend your coin.
  21. Though you could obtain a more polished experience, you'll be hardpressed to find an RPG that offers the same innovative direction. If it weren't for minor glitches and some finicky controls, Divinity II: Ego Draconis could easily sit amongst some of the genre's greatest.
  22. The pacing is poor and it's a technical wreck. [Feb 2010, p.82]
  23. Not the best fantasy RPG available this year, but good enough to sate those looking for more quests and characters. [Feb 2010, p.90]
  24. Divinity 2 is an RPG but it isn’t particularly long or blessed with a big game world. The way you can turn into a dragon makes up for it in a lot of ways, though, and the ability to read someone else’s thoughts adds some life in the boring quests. For people who want to play an RPG but don’t have the time to play through a massive adventure, Divinity 2 is a decent option.
  25. Nothing game-breaking, but there's so many oddities, annoyances and moments of utter frustration that keep this game from being as great as it could have been. Nevertheless, there's plenty here to entertain, and it's not every day that a game can stand up against Bioware and not be utterly crushed.
  26. Divinity II isn’t without its charms, but weak game design sullies the thrill of digging into the many secrets of its outstanding world.
  27. You'll have to get comfortable with the game's difficulty and spartan UI. You'll need to tame the camera and overlook the sometimes low-budget visuals, sketchy tech, long load times and a host of little bugs. It sounds like a lot of work, but Divinity 2 does have its charms and more often than not, I felt surprisingly compelled to see what was waiting around the next turn of the road.
  28. 70
    Every bit of quirky humor and personality built into the game is matched by clichés in other areas that'll make veteran gamers roll their eyes, but the promise of better accessories, weapons and armor are enough to keep you roaming across the game's zones, smashing apart enemies and uncovering new dungeons. It's an entertaining, rainy day role-playing game.
  29. The rose-tinted refresher combined with clever new features make Divinity II an RPG that's hard to put down. [Issue#29, p.50]
  30. Ultimately, I was impressed by the length and complexity of Ego Draconis, and also by the stubbornness with which the producers wanted to present a high quality title. Indeed, if the game would have been bug-free, had a better voice acting and a more polished interface, it could have been a serious thorn in the back of Dragon Age: Origins.
  31. RPG fans who don't mind puzzles and platforms mixed in with their dual-wielding, deep customization options and brutal enemies may find enough rewarding experiences here to be worth the struggle.
  32. Divinity II is the kind of game that falls neatly into the category of "guilty pleasure" for me. It's an RPG that doesn't really break new ground, but plays well enough and provides a challenge.
  33. Tedious side quests. [Mar 2010, p.78]
  34. 65
    Yes, it's pretty rough around the edges and yes, it can be frustrating to interface with. What it is, however, is a very good story with an engaging combat engine, lots of content and a good bias towards action.
  35. This role-playing sequel is a reasonably good time, but it doesn't nail some important basics.
  36. It's completely let down by the actual developers. [Feb 2010, p.94]
  37. 63
    The game feels broken at times and often gives the impression that the developers were rushed, or stopped caring halfway through. There also seems to be a lot of heart put into the game, but during several instances, the development feels blatantly careless.
  38. The story is compelling and well told, and there's certainly enough flow to put it in the category of "just ten more minutes" games - but you'll need a lot of patience to get the most out of Ego Draconis.
  39. A decent-enough fantasy action-RPG, Divinity II: Ego Draconis misses the mark a few times too many.
  40. There is plenty to do in Divinity II, and if you don't mind putting up with the poor visuals or combat, there are plenty of side-quests to take on to extend your experience.
  41. Yet another European RPG is weighted down by cement shoes of its ambitions and the developer’s lack of proper experience.
  42. All in all, if you have the time, patience, and the will to endure the technical issues, you may find the bits of this game that makes it unique from games like it. Divinity II isn't going to set the world on fire, no matter how many dragons you can transform into, but it is a worthy look if you enjoy quest oriented RPGs.
  43. 50
    There is fun to be had in Divinity II, especially in terms of exploration and customization. Unfortunately, the game's poorly plotted story and uneven difficulty will challenge the patience of most players, even those who enjoy parts of the game.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. SolarC.
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    A total surprise for me !! I was waiting for Dragon Age to come out, so I bought this game while waiting and it was a very agreeable surpriseA total surprise for me !! I was waiting for Dragon Age to come out, so I bought this game while waiting and it was a very agreeable surprise : funny original quests, dynamic combat with some quite decent graphics. A pity the gameplay somtimes seems to be unbalanced (sometimes a bit too easy), but this game was really worth my money :) Full Review »
  2. JonathanD.
    Jan 4, 2010
    5
    I have about 20 hours played with this title. I came into it with absolutely no expectations. I never read a review or anything and up untill I have about 20 hours played with this title. I came into it with absolutely no expectations. I never read a review or anything and up untill I saw it on the shelf in the store, I never knew it existed. So this is a stone cold review from a baseline of zero. This is also for the console port on the 360 rather than the PC version. Graphics were to as expected for a title of this generation of console. A liberal use of light and shadow along with various shadings of light to set certain moods. Example would be that while exploring a cave certain fungus put off phosforescent light but of a purple hue. And it shades everything around it. Honestly I enjoyed the graphics and felt the paper doll representing the player character, scenery, and the monsters to be as well done as I have seen. It is beautifully rendered on my 56" HD TV. The background music is just that. It stays in the background, changes in certain areas to help create moods of tension when combat is immenent. It gives a folk like environment when near a farm. It does all this without you noticing which is what background sound is supposed to do. Very professional job. Voice acting couldn't benifited from a few more different voices instead of one or two guys changing the way they talked so they could be "voice #2". Its not a game breaker. Only a mild annoyance. The controls were very fluid allthough when turning the camera and rolling during combat there was some chugging on the framerate and skips did occur. It was mild but noticable. And while not a game breaker, it is the one thing that keeps me from saying everythnig moves fluidly which it doesn't. That would be a lie. Spell effects are colorfull and varied enough to not appear to be the same animation again and again but in a different color. It works for this title. Character building is very unique in its flexibiliy and how varied. Some skills are for show as they are worthless to gameplay and some have serious balance issues. I won't name them because I don't want to spoil someone's game. But there are certainly some borderline balance issues. Combat is very simple. Its a button masher with jumping and rolling for defense. You have a limited tactical ability in using landscape as cover. Line of sight for mobs can be used to easily break up large quantities of enemies into smaller more easily digested singles. Meaning when you are close enough for the name to appear, mobs notice you unless you are sneaking. If two mobs are close enough then two will notice you and the others around them will ignore. Personally I found the combat to be unentertaining and just plain bad. There is no reward. You do not win because you are a jumping, rolling, dodging machine. You win because your level is the correct number. If you are too low then spells won't work and the enemy cut through you like butter. There is nothing you can do. If you are the same level it isn't even a challenge. If you are higher level then they basically can't hurt you. You basically monitor your health bar, hit the hot key button for a potion from time to time and mash a button. There are few real tactical advantages to be had by playing well. There is no playing well. You are either of the appropriate level to be there doing that and you will succeed or you won't and you will die. The saved game system is broken so when you die.....and you will die....you have to reload. You don't respawn at a nearby checkpoint. When you reload you may or may not be clear on the other side of the world where you previously saved the other night because the way this game overwrites saves doesn't "over write" everything and keeps things from previous saves.....which can sometimes kill your game and cause you to start completely over from scratch after putting in 12 hours of gameplay. Let me tell you how happy that made me feel. I have found that when you go to save that if you don't over write and instead delete old saved game and then save a "new" one, the saved game glitches are eliminated. So at least there is a work around. Otherwise this game isn't playable unless you never die, and play straight through till the end without stopping for a break. The story is poorly concieved and the player is left wondering what is going on and who the heck that was who talked to him. You get the general idea that certain people are bad and are in need of killing. So you go kill them. You don't get to play as a dragon untill you are around level 18 or so. And the content for the "dragon" is very structered to the point where it just seeme like a cool way to get from point A to point B alot faster and along the way you get to play a mini game of shoot the bugs down. This game offers so much. Oh you get to play a dragon. Oh you get an undead servant which helps out in battle and is customizable by what body parts you collect. You have guys who abstractly go out and collect alchemy componants and based on how you equip them effects their success, time spent collecting, and if they have to be healed. You have an upgradable war tower you use which has a real effects in the game depending on if you upgrade the various platforms. There are so many cool ideas and concepts about this game that you would think it should be great. It just isn't. They were great ideas poorly implemented in some cases and not finished in others. I think that is what this game suffers from. It was released before it was done. From quest NPCs dissappearing randomly, to broken quests that you can't finish, to the game killing save bug. So if it sucks so bad then why give it a 5? Its all about perspective. When I go out and spend 50-60 dollars American on a CONSOLE title, I am supposed to be buying a finished product. This was not a finished product nor was it tested. The game wasn't a complete failure. It definatly passed the look test but not much more than that. I would suggest to people to not buy this game. Rent it. Borrow it and play it first. If you can have fun with it then evaluate the flaws on your own terms and decide. This is a game that sounds good on paper but doesn't deliver so don't be fooled. Full Review »
  3. StevenB
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    Great Game, Great Storyline. Wonderful to fly around as a dragon in such a diverse and rich world.