User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 147

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    A gem of an RPG! Deep RPG elements, great combat system, atmospheric environments and Dragons! Fell in love right from the very first moment. Larian makes great RPGs indeed! The camera was really intelligent as well, going from 3rd person to top down depending on the situation and it makes that decision well. Lost 1 point from not having hero voice over though, thats my gripe with Kingdoms of Amalur as well. Kingdoms of Amalur is one game that plays like this one but this has much deeper RPG elements. Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2014
    9
    I put off playing this game for years. I read a mix of hate for how hard the game is and after finishing up most my other rpg games I sank into Divinity 2. I played it for a weekend and was having so much fun I picked up the Dev edition off steam to get the expansion and fixes. I will sell my vanilla version on ebay now .
    The review is based after about 20 hours of game play. I still
    have plenty to see but the game runs smoothly on my older rig. I have the visuals about maxed and the game looks really very good compared to the choppy and less detailed view of the vanilla version. The gameplay is fun, deep and more action oriented instead of stat oriented. You have a character to build in anyway you want and can mix and match skills to have a warrior/mage etc. The game is challenging but in no way a Dark Souls challenge. You just have to play smart and the story is there to keep you interested. All in all if you love rpgs this is one to pick up. Expand
  3. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    I Love this game!!, and people who say they dont are the reason the creators started making easy games that are very brainless no side stuff that you as a gamer has to think about. i was one of the first people to play the game when it still had bugs still even with the bugs i was jest happy to play a game i enjoyed if u dont like the game dont ruin it for other people. Most people that dont like the game where all people that only played for a couple of hours didnt even get to the challenging parts and never became the dragon but me as a normal gamer who loves rpgs i would say its a good game that everyone who likes rpgs should try its a great game Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    I made the mistake of picking this up to give me a low cost taste of setting and style before purchasing Dragon Commander. Now regret this purchase, and would not touch anything else made by Larian with a barge pole. The game feels lazy and half finished, the inspired concept of turning into a Dragon accounts for a tiny fraction of time spent in game culminating in a final mission thats a god awful escort quest- I can only suspect that the folks who made this stopped playing actual games a long long time ago.

    The game is also pretty useless at explaining the lore of the setting, producing memorable characters, or just explaining what the hell is going on. Boring, confused, rambling nonsense is how I would sum up this game.
    Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2012
    1
    I´m glad i got this game for a cheap price on steam. It sucks in so many ways. But it all comes to the most boring combat i have ever seen in a game. It is like a hack n slash gameplay with mobs too low in numbers and too high in life to kill in a few blows. Boring to its very core. A few hours in the game and i deleted it from my pc. Don´t waste your time or money in such a bad game.
  6. May 25, 2012
    6
    A considerable improvement over Ego Draconis. The game has one of the best written dialogues even compared to more famed RPGs out there. The story itself isn't bad, although it could use a bit better delivery. The graphics isn't great, with dated textures and uninspiring design. Special effects animations are also scarce and unimpressive. The performance is significantly improved over Ego Draconis, but the highest graphics settings still require a high-end computer. Combat could've been smoother and slower; often everything's happening too fast and unsatisfying. Side-quests are various and non-monotonic, although more focus would be great. Loot and crafting (gems, enchantments, alchemy) are diverse and well-randomized, but don't expect something as satisfying as Diablo II or Dragon Age. Overall the game is still entertaining, but it lacks the sense of satisfaction that keeps players addicted. Expand
  7. May 24, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is surprisingly good and addictive. The story is interesting in itself, with memorable characters and engaging plot twists, fights are nice and require agility, a bit of planning and strategic thinking, and the world is lush and pretty. But not too pretty, mind you :) I didn't expect much of this one, and I was very pleasantly surprised. There are a lot of (meaningful!) dialogues, quests are good, and you can transform to a dragon. It is even more fun that it sounds, because you can practically freely fly around the map then - but still looking out for some things that can hurt you. I thorougly enjoyed this game. Expand
  8. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    I find this game, in a recent sale in game £9,99 and to be honest i didn't expect it to be any good but for that price i thought i'd give it ago. I was very happily surprised fun fast combat nice voice acting and interesting story, allot of content so many side quests. i would highly recommend this game to anyone who likes role-playing games.
  9. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    This is a very good game indeed and it deserves a lot more attention than it gets. Can't say I'd heard much about it before I played it. Great fun from beginning to end and a lot of the game flies in the face of the modern paradigm of RPGs which is more than fine by me. For example, enemies are tougher by geographical area so they can be as challenging as you want them to be. Also, some quests are hard to find and the game has quirky humour and some obscure references (Pink Floyd anyone?). Again, all very welcome in my eyes. The second half of the game could easily have been a let down but certainly wasn't and you can customise your abilities in many ways. Very passable storyline, some memorable characters (together with personalities), good gear, a variety of enemies, solid combat, great landscapes, this game has an awful lot going for it. Here's to the next one, which, with a bit of effort could score even higher from me. I notice that this game currently has a higher average than Skyrim which restores my faith in the gaming community in general. I'm off to see how I get on as a mage. Have fun with this - I'm sure you will. Expand
  10. Mar 12, 2012
    6
    This game has a unique feel about it. The skill tree is second to none, and the ability to read minds is a fantastic feature. The world is a little more open than fable and a little more closed off than KOA-reckoning. Loot is randomized and often quite satisfying. The game's design is a little scattershot, veering from interesting to poor in equal turn. Combat is simplistic, however the amount of interchangeable skills counterbalances this. Art direction is also inconsistent, with some sights being breathtaking and others being generic. The music is sweet - however it's also disconnecting and times, and never feels empowering. A strong game that has some extreme lows and extreme highs in rapid succession. Recommended to those who want something a little different in tone, and are willing to put up with some major pacing issues. Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall this game was great, it's only real flaw was the graphics and that little stump of lag you'd get every now and then for no reason. The graphics weren't great, but they weren't bad either. The visuals were not trying to be the best they could be but still try to look decent. My major peeve is the game felt small despite all the sub quests and such, there's only one respectable town and it's a village and it gets destroyed halfway through the game. I feel if they added some more towns, locations, and a more open world, this game could of easily been a classic GOTY material game that could of even toppled Fable. It's writing was unbeatable, it's music was fabulous, and you'll never forget a single character you meet. Expand
  12. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    Excellent graphics and hundred of hours game play with lot of quests. Environments are stunning to look around while playing. It's hard to beat at great price!
  13. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    The game at first seems confusing,but as you go along,it deepens you into the story,then at some points it confuses you again,then frustrates you,then it deepens you again and again in the story,what i mean to say is that despite all the bugs and flaws,it is a very good RPG,especially for the lovers of the game genre,graphics are quite good,sound sometimes get's to your nerves,gameplay is good but not the best,some control lags especially on inventory shortcuts but despite all that,the story is very good,i give it a solid 9 Expand
  14. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    What the major gaming companies now consider to be desiderata in fantasy games is slowly but surely driving me away from them. Hence I thought I'd give this a try and I'm very glad I did. It's a bit of a rough diamond but I can live with that since it is eminently playable. Interesting story, highly customisable characters, decent replayabilty and the 'special' ability is implemented very well. It looks great too and doesn't hold your hand either. I was leaning towards an 8 but I'll give it 9 because, as already noted by other reviewers, it is not only different but unique and I'm disillusioned with the mass produced drivel that is currently being churned out. Try it and watch out for this developer in the future. Expand
  15. Sep 30, 2011
    6
    I was enjoying this game via Onlive until I met the archers who poison you.... and the preceding "I have been poisoned" "This poison is killing me" got a tad to annoying for me.. and also the fact you can not disable the voice?! Good game, but not via OnLive unless you dont mind being poisoned ^_^
  16. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    An excellent game ultimately undone by its own ambition. The developers strove for perfection in every aspect of this game and when it comes graphics, story, voice acting, and immersion they succeeded. The story is by far the most engrossing, original, and compelling story in a major RPG in a decade. The voice acting is awesome. The graphics and the action focus in combat make for true immersion. The problem, however, is that they couldn't sustain perfection in all aspects of the game and the result is at times wincing. My biggest gripe is the sheer complexity of the game. In Divinity 2 I found myself simply overwhelmed with choices: where to go, what to do, what to wear, what enhancement to put on what I'm wearing. To be truthful I found myself at times simply saying to myself, "oh the hell with it!" and going to the option screen and turning the difficulty slider down to "casual" to get through a rough fight rather than dealing with the sheer plethora of gems, charms, enchants, skills, and gear. The randomly generated loot is a particular annoyance. The AI for summoned creatures is horrible. More than anything else I was struck by the fact that it seemed like the developers took an excellent old-school RPG and mated it with some of the worst aspects of the World of Warcraft. Nevertheless, if you like RPGs you owe it to yourself to play this game. Outside The Witcher it's the best RPG I have played in the last five years. As much as I want to give this a 10 I just can't. I'm rating this game an eight but it's a "tough love" eight. I strongly think that if the developers had resisted some of their more grandiose ambitions I would be rating this the best RPG ever made. But they bit of more than they could chew, as the saying goes. Expand
  17. Sep 3, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first i thought this would be a good game, but then... There were a fet good appandages but i got bored very fast and so i cannot agree with the positiv scores all around here. So i want to write what destroys a game that could have been a good one, but failed in many points. At first the Graphic: All things are looking sterile and every place seems to have the (almost) the same fittings. The same amphoras are almost everywhere and it all looks to clean and shiny. But furthermore.. The Monsters: I hate the monsters in this game and that's why: They look different but are countless in numbers, are dumb like bread and have all the same skills. The skeleton mage hast the same skill like the goblin mage and the demon mage and so on and on.. there seems to be no really difference apart from the level. And you can nuke them away with a single...

    -> Skill of yours. So thats the next problem.. you have dozens of skills but you need only one or two on the highest level to simply nuke all enemys away. It works (almost) everywhere and thats no fun at all. But.. in contradiction therefore if you took points into a wrong skill the enemys can defeat you easily and it was impossible to get through the game till the developer made a patch for that problem. Now you can reskill your char for quiet a bit money and that is a system which is ok in a MMORPG but not in a Single-Player Game were you eventually spent all your money before and cant get anymore cause the all enemys on your level are defeatet already. But the biggest drawback in this game is the story. Thats the mainpoint i did not like. At first i have to tell that there are many many good apandages but they are all destroyed by the speed you are pulled through the story. This speed feels like you are handcuffed in a rollercoaster without the possibility to realy enjoy the ride. There is no time for character depths neither yours nor the enemy. You only get some little ruins of story if you met one of them or get some of the many books you can find all around the game but its still very very less information and nothing that could create some action. You get the feeling you did not really know why you kill dozens of stupid enemys and bosses and whats it all about.
    That happens very early in the game. Its like you are there and whoaaa.. you have to kill the last dragens because of some things really far ago and then... whooaa.. you are a dragonknight instead which seems to change nothing at all (ok you have a few new enemys to kill which were your friends before- but thats accented my point of view cause it destroys the possibility of charackter depth once more)

    Ok you could say.. : "Yes, the game has no charakter depth and very funny stupid monsters which re-enact all over ( like diablo monsters?)

    but i say: The skill system is really bad, so the game cant get a point..
    you probably could say: Ok, the story is really really bad but look at games like gothic and so on.. that games storys are bad too. and they are fun anyway..

    Yes, but Divinity 2 sucks in that point too, cause there is no interesting world around you, you could explore.. the world is really, really small and sterile..

    Last but not Least: The dragon form: It is no fun at all to fly around as a dragon at getting attacked by roughly 100 turrets that don't get one hit on you. The big number of that turrets seems to be really absurd and points on the weak AI of the game. But thats not all. You cannot destroy anything else besides this turrets or enemy dragons (or flys-whatever) cause the engine sucks at that point. The area is static and indestructable even small doors can withstand your dragon power and all the enemy on the ground get invisible when you are in this form, so you cannot attack them, but still change to human to see them appear again which is (also again) very very laughable. Whats the point beeing a dragon if you cannot use your power anyway? It really sucks and looks like the games long back in the past of computer gaming. i wouldn't care if divinity2 was an indie game but it isn't
    instead it is a game i payd plenty of money for and all i get is a really bad state of quality (even worse than my english and thats very bad)
    So i got to the point i stopped playing the game cause i get to bored to play furthermore. I get stucked in one of that billion monster fights and asked myself what my charakter had for a reason to do that. But then i knew what i had to do. Changing my charakter into a dragon and fly anway from this game that was only a waste of time. Cause thats what dragons do.. searching for a real challenge and they could not find it in Divinity 2 (and they also like to destroy things others then turrets and probably goblin hoods or demon flys) At the end there is not much to say. If you are new to Action-RP-Games you could probably like this game but i recommend others like baldurs gate 1+2, gothic and even oblivion (still the Monster system there sucks)
    Expand
  18. Jul 30, 2011
    6
    Interesting story combined with new gameplay mechanics had this game going...too bad the developers dropped the ball in movement controls, quest-lines, and overall polish. Level/terrain design, smoothness of combat, and overall functions also hindered this game.13 hours in and I finally had to give it up.
  19. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    When Steam recently had their summer sale, I took a chance on this title after reading the reviews here, particularly those who said to pick it instead of DA2. Very wise decision -- this game far exceeded my expectations. In a sentence, I'd say the gameplay is roughly similar to Fallout3/NV set in a medieval fantasy world, which isn't surprising given they share the Gamebryo engine. What is surprising is that the game is remarkably well-textured, well-scripted, well-voiced and overall well-executed and never crashed one single time throughout 40+ hours of gameplay. (So, FO:NV, you have no excuse why you can't run longer than 30 minutes at a time without barfing)

    The game is a somewhat slow boil to get fully going, but that actually made me enjoy it quite a bit more. DKS2 builds anticipation in the player to get to the next set of milestones, and it's handled in a natural manner. It takes ~15-20 hours of gameplay to earn your wings, so to speak, while feeling that you're really working for it instead of just going through the motions or filler quests. Some of the side quests are somewhat filler, but they weren't much different (good or bad) from similar games. The core main quests were pretty awesome from beginning to end, and always advanced the plot accordingly. It truly feels like you are pursuing a destiny and not just point-click-shoot. It's immersive enough that I could lose hours of time, and that hasn't happened for a long time. The boss battles were mostly hard for my archer, including 2 battles where I died 15+ times -- to finally beat the boss reminded me of days back on the NES when you had tears of joy for finally beating a hard part. The game does get easier about 2/3 through, where you're not exactly invincible but not in mortal danger either.

    As a huge FO3/FO:NV fan, I compare the open world and texturing to it, and find DKS superior enough that I didn't believe they were on the same engine until I looked it up. DKS is a mostly open world as well (you do move between major portions of the world as the story advances) and plays out superbly in 3-dimensions with the addition of flight. My only minor gripe is on the NPC animations when they are talking. They all talk with their arms flailing and strange head rolls/tilts. It's just a bit disconcerting and silly at times.

    The dialogue was also well-written and voice actors did a good job overall as well. There were humorous dialog choices, including some that will reference decisions and characters from 20-30 gameplay hours ago. It was a pleasant, unexpected touch.

    The Flames of Vengeance expansion add-on wasn't as epic, but I suppose that's to be expected for an add-on. It was longer than a lot of DLC, adding on a solid 15 hours (doing all side quests), but the map and scope were more limited and it felt more repetitive. Also, in the FoV add-on, you get showered with top-of-the-line equipment and upgrades non-stop. Want a skill point? Here, take 3! It greatly reduced the challenge of the add-on. Independently, I'd only give FoV a 7 or 8, but they did a nice job tying it in with the main plot line instead of just being a random "now, let's do something crazy different" like most add-ons/DLC out there. I would probably score this game a highly respectable 9, but I give it a 10 just because it's so much better than most well-publicized games out there that I want to make sure it gets some love.
    Expand
  20. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    I was undedcided whether to give this an 8 or a 9 but then I saw how many hours I'd spent on it so a 9 it is.Value for money is king and this game gives it to you in bucketfuls. The North American market seems to be churning out highly polished games with trite gameplay at present (in this genre), whereas this game is quite the reverse and better for it. Sure, it has several minor faults but had it not had these it would be close to a 10. I won't go into details - if you are thinking about buying this then do so, give it a chance, and you won't be disappointed. It is very engrossing, original and entertaining. Expand
  21. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    I would have to say, after much debate before purchasing this game, I am very glad I did. The game is VERY creative and open if you can get through the first hour or 2. I realize that the item drops contain very detailed information (much like Titan Quest) and I really get into putting together top notch gear combinations. The gameplay is very smooth and fluid. The world is open and large, very navigatable. When in dragon form, it is very different, but also somewhat addicting. The skill system is also one of its strong points. There are 5 (?) different class sections that contain different skills from each class. The nice thing is that you can learn skills from any class you want. You can TRULY customize how your character plays and that simple fact takes this game very far. When I play a computer game, the story is important yes, but moreover, the sounds, the visuals, and the gameplay are more important. Im running at 24" BenQ at 1920x1200 native HD and 5.1 Surround. This game is great to play as the sun is setting, at lower light levels and sounds turned up. You really can get immersed. Expand
  22. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Excellent game. I tried Divinity 2 Ego Draconis and had issues with framerates and bugs that after the first town, I called it quits. It was a game I wanted to love, but couldn't get past the issues. Hearing that DKS contained not only the expansion but a remake of ED, I gave it another shot and I am damn glad I did! All my issues previously were fixed, and the game was awesome! I devoted almost 80 hours into both the Ego Dragonis remix and Flames of Vengance add-on and it was a few weeks well spent! My only issue was gear replacements should have been spread out more. I went 10-15 levels before replacing my armor because nothing really was worth it...and then suddenly I had to choose between 3 sets...would have been nicer to space them out and get upgrades here and there, but that did not detract from the game. Well worth it particularly if you can find it on sale like I did on Steam for 50% off... Expand
  23. May 27, 2011
    10
    I found this game on steam during the Christmas sale and thought the content seemed interesting, though I was fairly sure that a game with as cool a premise as being a dragon that I had never even heard of would be little more than fodder. Still it was £14.99 and I was flush with cash, so I went for it..

    Its not something I regret, most often in RPGs you will be given a
    gimmick, that while it sounds cool has little practical effect beyond a few abilities. Such as being a Demigod in a popular Black Isle MMO, this never really threaded into the gameplay, but sure it was the whole reason behind the plot.

    In DKS it is regrettably similar, you won't just be chomping people as an enormous flying lizard, or at all for the most part, it is similar to a flying mount. But it is very cool, and really makes you feel powerful when you do use it.

    The plot itself is quite intresting, to a degree. It feels quite Dragon Agey to some degree at first, you are a Slayer looking to put an end to a Dragon, but that goes awry rather quickly and the real plot is revealed. There is alot of fine humor in the game, and the single thing that stands out is that it is not a party based game, where PC is guarded and supported by companions and only represents a small portion of the fighting power, yet takes full credit. You will be doing the fighting with your own hands or spells, and barring the slightly bumpy start really get the feeling you are an ancient, godlike being. Able to toast people, cast spells, shoot arrows, stab, read minds and whatever else you fancy.

    Its hard to credit the game with being non linear, what it can be credited with is being really, really good, and i'd heartily recommend it. Especially when it languishes in the shadow of the comparatively poorer Dragon Age II. This is how action RPG should be done, in this game you can and must dodge attacks using your characters great agility, rather than have your feet glued to the ground.

    Amazing game, I enjoyed it far far more than I expected.

    Another bonus I am really anal about is that you have some character customization options, such as gender, voice and hair, which can really break an RPG for me. I like a bit of, or a lot of choice.

    Being able to choose deliciously evil or snarky dialogue in nearly every conversation was something I liked, and I got to pick my own words. Not 'click here to reveal'.
    Expand
  24. May 7, 2011
    9
    D2: DKS is probably the best RPG you've never heard about. It's criminally under-appreciated, especially given the hype that inferior games like Dragon Age 2 receive. Actual combat plays like an action game - fluid, fast, and intuitive. But preparing for battle (i.e., character building, equipment management, enchantments, charms, potions, allies) can be as intricate and hardcore-ish as you choose to make it. Couple this with a wide-open world, non-linear quests, great writing, tough but fair puzzles, excellent sound. interesting story and lore. Maybe I was so impressed with this game because I started it with no expectations, but any Western RPG fan should play this game before the AAA titles get released later this year. Expand
  25. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    I have just recently picked up this game, looking for an old-style Western RPG. I was not disappointed with what I found. While, on occasion, the graphics bug up, they're overall quite excellent. The open-world, the gigantic sandbox they let you run around in, is just beautiful. The NPCs really make this game shine, though, the range of interaction and degree of characterization help immensely to connect and care for them. Which means when they die (As they do on occasion), it comes as quite a blow. I cannot, however, reccomend this game enough. Expand
  26. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Not to repeat everything the others have already pointed out I just wanted to say how surprised, very pleasantly, I was with this game. After what was a huge disappointment for me, Dragon Age II, where I expected a lot and got a fist in the face, this was quite the opposite. The graphics are simply spectacular for an RPG, and right up there for any genre. I've read that some people had problems, but I was simply amazed. As simple (or even ugly) as the characters can look the environments are amazing and lighting is some of the best of any game. The world is quite huge and varied, the quests plentiful, the storyline interesting, NPCs mostly very funny and/or engaging - what's not to like! Expand
  27. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    This one of these games that should be appreciated for being different and unique.A RPG that gives the player a very interesting feeling of belonging there.The player is not spoon-fed, the game leaves lots of exploration freedom with many unique crafting , enchanting and NPC interaction features. A very interesting sense of humor, that pulls in the player and creates the feeling that something is accomplished . The Player Character is someone with impact, that is something that is becoming rare in modern RPG's where a cutscene defines the impact, instead of the players decision.There is lots of love in the detail, many interesting NPC's and player abilities that are actually fun. Combat is action heavy, a very rare case where the combat is doing exactly what I expect it to do-in this specific case to entertain me. The included expansion Flames of Vengeance is more character oriented, evolving around the player, and His decisions and is a welcome addition that adds more focus to the initial game.
    Overall lots of quests, funny dialogues with great voice overs ,great music and beautiful visuals that are just a expansion of the interesting atmosphere.
    A 8 as score only because I liked better the more difficult and even unpolished approach of Ego Draconis, namely some specific locations that are combat wise made simpler in DKS.
    Expand
  28. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    Crashes out now and then, but that can easily be remedied by saving. I usually took a crash as an indication I had been playing too long! I would rank this right up there with Dragon Age. The skill tree isn't as complex, but there are lots of cool things like building creatures and stuff to make up for it. Also, the combat is more engaging and I like how it's just you and not a big party that you have to manage. I would say this game definitely rises above Oblivion in all regards. Expand
  29. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    I really liked this game! The start is really slow and clunky and I almost tossed it but the more I stayed with it, the more the story line and combat became more interesting. I was really surprised how enjoyable it was.
  30. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    I have tried the Ego Draconis demo (twice), but despite having liked the original Divine Divinity, it failed to impress me. After hearing good things about the DKS, I tried it one more time, and it clicked. It takes a while to get used to the slightly over-the-top fantasy world and the game's special sense of humour; moreover, the combat system in the starting areas appears deceptively simple. It definitely pays not to give up early, as the game only gets better as it progresses (the "Flames of Vengeance" part is especially great). Overall, a very fun game and the best action RPG I have played in ages. It's got good quests, excellent exploration, surprisingly good writing and voice acting, and interesting mechanics (mindreading). I recommend playing on "nightmare" (which is nowhere as difficult as the name would suggest), otherwise the game might become too easy relatively soon. Expand
  31. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    This is my first foray into the Divinity universe. I must say at first I was quite impressed with the striking visuals, fleshed-out characters and deep world. However, after the first ten hours or so, I began to start feeling like I was playing an MMO -- I had amassed a huge quest log (complete with question marks floating over characters' heads) containing many mundane tasks ("Collect Goblin Hearts" or "Kill these 6 monsters"). I kind of get bored when I have so many "quests" going on that I don't remember what they are, who I got them from, or why on Rivelon I should care. I guess this is RPG bread and butter, but I couldn't shake that WoW-flavored malaise.

    That's not to say there aren't cool highlights. The combat is often quite fun for an RPG, with cover and maneuvering playing important roles in tough fights. Claiming your dragon powers lead to many hours of fun exploration (coupled with quite a bit of easy and repetitive aerial combat - just strafe in circles and fire away). Conquering the Battle Tower opens an interesting "home upgrade" system, which is ultimately not too customizable or rewarding.

    However, to me the biggest flaw in the game is the equipment. In a game where finding good loot is paramount, the game seriously falls on it's face. Almost every piece of weaponry, armor, jewelry, etc, provides 6 or 7 benefits - making comparison nearly impossible. The items are randomly generated, Diablo style, so seeing names like "Supportive Bronze Ridged Ring of the Warrior Gods" and "Overlord's Ornate Amethyst Ring of Eternal Burning" is common (Complete with color-coded rarity levels). By the way, those two rings I named each have seven benefits and are nearly identical in function. The overall effect of this is that I simply cannot be bothered to care what I'm equipped with after a while. After 10 minutes trying to compare the stats of a new warhammer and a shortsword, while on pause in the heat of battle, I often just randomly picked one. Or more often picked whichever looked cooler.

    All in all, it's worth a look if you're a big RPG nerd craving countless missions and statistical analysis. Others should probably steer to something a little more 'fun'.
    Expand
  32. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    Divinity 2 is an extremely exciting game that proves that it doesn't take a big budget studio to put out an excellent rpg. Since I stared playing Divinity 2 the first thing that really made it stand out to me was that while it had a serious storyline it didn't take itself too seriously and maintained the idea that it was a game without breaking any kind of flow. While the biggest drawback was the combat for me, where huge groups of enemies resulted in me just continuously back flipping away and shooting off exploding arrows or that the enemy has devastating heat seeking poison/exploding arrows it still maintains to be fun regardless of small frustrations. While it looks nice and it has a lot going for it, it does lack some sort of polish that would have made it even better, it is still worth getting and playing through. I can't think of any abilities in other recent games as satisfying as being able to jump off a cliff and turn into a dragon. Expand
  33. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Dragon Knight Saga is a great action RPG that will keep you entertained for many hours. The attention to detail in the environment which rewards exploration on a large and small scale is great. The controls sometimes feel a little loose and floaty but I wouldn't change them at all since they add a great fun feeling to the game. The jumping animation is so much fun that you will be jumping everywhere with a silly grin on your face. The RPG system and combat are also a pleasure, encouraging you to master a handful of skills across classes making sure that the gameplay flows in a nice way while giving you interesting options for character building. Expand
  34. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Divinity 2 surprised me how good it was, it starts off like a lot of typical Western RPG's but it suddenly gets epic, it actually takes you by surprise. Divinity 2 is real time action orientated though the RPG elements are fantastic. Highly recommended. The pop culture references and humour in this game also add to its charm.

    Fantastic characters and voice acting.
    Enemies do not level up
    with you unlike oblivion which I love.
    Tons of hidden stuff.
    Great humour and pop culture references.
    No hand holding.
    Difficult choices are required to be made.
    Expand
  35. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    Having played so many RPG games by so many developers that depended almost solely on graphic design rather than the story, I was prepared to be faced with another boring and repetitive game when I bought Divinity 2: Ego Draconis. I was pleasantly surprised when I've learned that this game was not one of them. I was so pulled in by the story that many times I've lost the track of time. When Divinity 2: DKS was released, I was overjoyed and again without any track of time. Without any doubt I can say that the developers of Divinity 2 just reached perfection with their game. Improved graphics and a brilliant story, what more could a gamer ask for? Indeed, the game still has it's flaws but those are far outweighed by the features. I believe that many RPG developers have much to learn from this game. Expand
  36. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    Take the linear play of Fable and openness of Two Worlds, and you have got Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga. The graphics are great and on par with Two Worlds II and the atmosphere and music are perfection. I find myself smiling a lot while playing this game, whether it is the ability to read minds or simply trying to find everything on the maps. The player is encouraged to explore, while not getting utterly lost in the direction similar in games like Dragon Age or Oblivion. While the geamplay is linear, your options at the end of each quest is not. You have choices and either choice rewards you with experience; good, bad, or neutral. I've had a blast with this game and the cinematics are incredible at times. I would definitely say it was worth the $40 I paid for it. Games I like that are similar to this are Two Worlds, Fable, and Dark Messiah Might and Magic, although this game clearly surpasses each of these. The only reason it does not get a 10 is that I do not believe anygame could acheive this rating of perfection. So, 9 is the highest I would give anything. Expand
  37. Jan 14, 2011
    8
    Divinity 2 is a really great find for any action/rpg fan.
    Pros â
  38. Jan 2, 2011
    4
    I want to like this game, it has the basis to be truly excellent - an original, deep storyline, stunning art, and great RPG element implementations. Unfortunately these qualities are crippled by unpolished spit. Movement is clunky; and combat is bland, repetitive and frustrating - too many enemies get thrown at you to allow for a strategic approach, and they're too tough to make it a hack'n'slash affair.
    To boot, the engine just doesn't render very nicely - anti-aliasing doesn't do its job on one mode, or blurs everything to nintendo-64 quality in other modes. Or perhaps my vision has just gone after straining to read the ridiculously small fonts. Show stopping problems I'm afraid.
    Expand
  39. Dec 6, 2010
    9
    I fancied this game a while back (Ego Draconis), but heard some poor reviews so I never played it. Having picked this up, I can only assume that the issues were fixed, as this is a thoroughly enjoyable game 25 hours in, and I have yet to play the expansion element, which I have heard is even better. The game is absolutely pack with things to do - I loved Fallout 3 and Oblivion, but the areas were so dauntingly large, with vast areas of nothing to do.. This has more of a Fable sense of scale, but with actually interesting quests with a more sophisticated and mature (not too mature) sense of humour.

    As for criticisms, whilst the graphics are mostly very attractive and the art direction is of a high quality, there are some texture drop-in issues. The character facial models you can choose from are a truly special kind of ugly, which is odd as the NPCs are often more attractive. Fortunately the in game armor is attractive, so you can cover your ugly mug with something impressive looking within a few hours. There is a slightly odd control issue - you map items to buttons by holding the button down for an extended amount of time - this is easy to do in the heat of combat. No gamebreaker though, it only happens occasionally.

    In summary, great graphics, great voice work, interesting quests, and a ton of interesting game mechanics (not gone into for the sake of avoiding spoilers, though the in game tips do give a lot away before you experience it) - its a little rough around the edges, but having just finished the big budget, high hype Fable 3, and I have enjoyed this a great deal more!
    Expand
  40. Dec 2, 2010
    8
    A good RPG, a little different to what most would be used to, the game does not hold your hand and you will spend a lot of time figuring things out and dying if you tackle a boss monster or mob that is too powerful for you. Graphically it is a feast even on the lower settings, pity monsters do not re spawn after you whack them the country side gets empty after awhile. The story line is good if a little loose in places but their is plenty of back story and side plots.Combat is fun and varied even the lower monster can gang up and whoop you good! The world is big but not Oblivion big. The manual is not particularly helpful and even the load up screens recommend checking the forum for hints. Character creation is okay but you have to pick a class and stick to it, planned leveling is important. All in all a lot of fun to be had. Expand
  41. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    The art direction and writing in this game really shine, especially in the expansion that comes bundled with it. While the combat can be hectic, the wide variety of skills leaves open plenty of options to make your character the way you want them. It lacks some of the polish of big-budget RPGs, but is packed with things to do in every nook and cranny. Unlike games which seem almost embarrassed to be fantasy games, as if they feel they have to make up for being fantastical with a serious mood, DKS just takes fantasy and runs with it. It's packed full of dry humor and subtle references, and I would recommend it to just about anyone looking for a action-RPG that doesn't hold their hand. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    80
    Dragon Knight Saga solves many of the problems of the original Ego Dragonis thanks to an updated engine, a heaviliy modified 360 version, and an expansion that completes the original title, letting shine many of the great things Larian achived with the original launch. The result is a fantastic Hack'n Slash with a surprising deepness, excellent mission design, great sense of humour, and tons of quality content.
  2. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    The Dragon Knight Saga contains two great role-playing games in one brilliant package. These are games every fan of the genre should try, provided they do not mind action-based combat instead of virtual dice.
  3. Jan 4, 2011
    82
    The Dragon Knight Saga is a solid RPG with a funny gameplay and a nice proposal.