Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1849 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your ownGather your party and get ready for a new, back-to-the-roots RPG adventure. Discuss your decisions with companions; fight foes in turn-based combat; explore an open world and interact with everything and everyone you see. Join up with a friend to play online in co-op and make your own adventures with the powerful RPG toolkit. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. 100
    Everything we loved about old RPGs in a complete, modern package. It's hard, it's well thought out, there's tons of options and most importantly, tons of fun. [Issue#244]
  2. Jul 26, 2014
    93
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    90
    Certainly, I have no hesitation in recommending Original Sin to RPG fans old and new, provided that you're up for a challenge from very early on and don't expect to romp through, Diablo-style.
  4. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    The classic RPG is making a comeback. After Shadowrun and Wasteland 2, this time it’s Divinity: Original Sin’s turn. This Kickstarter project from Belgium shows how fantasy elements can be used to their fullest extent. These developers understand what’s so great about magic and discovering a world. This is a tribute to the best Bioware, Obsidian, and D&D games that were produced with pen and paper over the last thirty years, had to offer.
  5. Jul 11, 2014
    87
    Thrilling old-school role playing game with total freedom and challenging battles.
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    82
    Divinity: Original Sin is able to both channel the roots of its old-school RPG ancestors such as Ultima and Baldur’s Gate, while also improving the genre as a whole in the process. From start to finish, Divinity: Original Sin is an incredible experience that is full of deep and engaging roleplaying. The true turn-based combat is a breath of fresh air in an industry obsessed with quick satisfaction and it brings you back to a time of tactics and thought. The roleplaying potential presented in quests and dialogue options puts Divinity: Original Sin decidedly above its peers in most aspects, but leaves room for improvement down the line. Larian Studios is on a strong path to returning their long-running franchise to the spotlight, for fans both new and old.
  7. Sep 4, 2014
    60
    It feels like there’s a very good game inside Divinity: Original Sin, but it’s hidden away behind a thousand glitches and gameplay problems.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 446
  1. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat +
    Most of the good things have been said alredy by previous reviewers. Literally the best RPG to come out in at least a decade.

    + Combat
    + Story
    + Maps
    + Excessive dialogue
    + Playful environment
    + Mods
    Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    A very strong candidate for game of the year. Great dialogue, dynamic combat and clever quests. It will easily take 60-120 hours of your lifeA very strong candidate for game of the year. Great dialogue, dynamic combat and clever quests. It will easily take 60-120 hours of your life and you will love it. I recommend it to anyone playing computer games. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    It has been so long i haven't had such fun on a game ! A great comeback to basics of rpg ! If you loved the firsts fallout (the real ones notIt has been so long i haven't had such fun on a game ! A great comeback to basics of rpg ! If you loved the firsts fallout (the real ones not the fps/rpg :p) or baldurs gate go for it !

    Some pro and cons to sum it up.

    pro :
    - real old school rpg
    -integrally customizable character (traits, spell etc)
    -story
    -game length
    -fight / gameplay
    -interactive environment

    Con:
    -maybe a bit excessive on dialogue length but nothing awful ^^.
    -portal name not indicated on maps...
    -some key item on secondary quest can be sold xD.
    Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    One realy pleasant surprise this gem of a game. It had a somewhat sketchy launch at 30-06-2014, but as of right now (04-07-2014), 5 days laterOne realy pleasant surprise this gem of a game. It had a somewhat sketchy launch at 30-06-2014, but as of right now (04-07-2014), 5 days later of launch, it already received a large number of hotfixes and updates to make the game even more polished and realy feels 100% as an AAA title in full right.

    Game is funny, full of exploration surprises, RPG elements realy interesting but not boring, combat is turned based but surprisingly fast and fun.

    I do believe that most (if not all) people complaining of negative ratings on this game must either have terribly optimized PC software/hardware or realy hate true RPGs not feeling them "action" enough.

    This game does not hand-hold you telling everytime where to go. There is no skyrim-like button you can press to know to way to go nor a mapmarker to tell you where to go next. There is no giant popups on screen telling you that an NPC wants to give you a quest on the next corner nor a glowing UI telling there is an object that needs to be picked up. Everything is done by exploring, conversating with NPCs, having "feelings" and "suspicious" that something is strange there and investigate.

    If you are used to games like diablo3 that is loot, loot, loot, kill, kill, kill, you will be disapointed with this game, it's more like older games that realy rewarded you for being inteligent, inquisitive, explorer and curious. In a sense it's not an interactive movie, but a treasure-finding game in every corner.

    Unfortunately, this latest gamming generation of people is more about easy and quick satisfaction instead of working towards a hidden goal that needs to use the brain, so probably you will find a lot of negative people saying that its "slow" or "non-intuitive" or "no quest markers, zomg!" or "no full voice textz, i need to readz, it's so 10 years ago, zomgz!".

    Don't play this game as an easy hack-n-slash expecting to end the game in 10 hours and get over with it, this is a game that will probably take you over 40hours if you are new to the (real)RPG elements and if you enjoy exploring and experiencing most of the hidden stuff.

    Also, there is the toolkit for the game engine that the developer released with the game, basically meaning that fans can build free content, mods that will probably change anything you might not fully enjoy in the game, etc. At the launch price with all this stuff, it's a given good value.

    As of now, i'm over 10 hours in the game, but i keep going back to see if i missed some corner unexplored and i still have some quests i', not sure how to proceed, but i'm folowing "gut-feelings" of where they might be.

    Bottom line: For an RPGer, i believe this is probably the best game launched in the last 10 years, probably only Dragon Age: Origins might be close behind.
    For a non-RPGer, it's harder to predict if you'll like it. You might love it, you might not. But if you have cash i highly recomend you try it because it's a potential "life-remembering" game.
    Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    I jumped on the game right after the steam sale, I am pleased. On a 2 week vacation and this has been great, reminds me of BG. The onlyI jumped on the game right after the steam sale, I am pleased. On a 2 week vacation and this has been great, reminds me of BG. The only reason I give it a 9 is there are some quests that, if done out of order, screw things up a bit. The developer has recognized this today and will be issuing a patch. Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2014
    8
    Great interactive world with an internal logic that lets you try all sorts of approaches to problems. Really really steep learning curve.Great interactive world with an internal logic that lets you try all sorts of approaches to problems. Really really steep learning curve. Seriously you will likely scrap your initial party and restart after playing a couple hours. Read some online hints to avoid it. If you're a hardcore player you'll probably love it. If you're used to more forgiving modern RPGs you're in for some frustration. Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2014
    0
    Terrible game. Buggy multiplayer - freezes every single time. The best RPG that has come out in a long time? Are you freaking kidding? ITerrible game. Buggy multiplayer - freezes every single time. The best RPG that has come out in a long time? Are you freaking kidding? I rarely spend the time to review, but I have to get my opinion out there - I didn't like this game at all, boring story, boring combat compared to other games (try Dragon Age series instead - they are much better). Expand

See all 446 User Reviews